European Alternatives to Brightpearl

Looking for a European alternative to Brightpearl? Its privacy policy names Brightpearl, Inc. in Austin, Texas as the company behind the site, and its pricing page offers a bespoke set-up per customer with a request form instead of a price list.

The European tools below run from a EUR 9 per month order hub to a warehouse suite quoted per order volume, and every one names a contracting entity in the EU, the UK or Switzerland.

12 Alternatives
100% GDPR Compliant
How we rank these tools — 4-step process
  1. 1
    European ownership, verified

    The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA, the UK, Switzerland or Israel, and processes customer data in Europe or Israel. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.

  2. 2
    Category fit and hands-on review

    What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.

  3. 3
    Compliance and pricing check

    GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.

  4. 4
    Position on this page

    Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. It never buys a good review: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Vendors can pay for more visibility, higher up on the review pages; it never affects which tools are listed. Editorial policy

12 European Alternatives to Brightpearl

Picqer

Arnhem warehouse and order software priced per order, unlimited users

Netherlands

Billbee

Orders, invoices and stock for small sellers from EUR 9 a month

Germany

PlentyONE

Kassel cloud platform joining PIM, OMS and WMS with 150+ marketplaces

Germany

Xentral

Augsburg ERP built around the order and stock flow of online sellers

Germany

Helm WMS

Yorkshire OMS and WMS with a free plan up to 100 orders

United Kingdom

JTL-Wawi

Merchandise management with a free edition for your own Windows PC

Germany

Pickware

Darmstadt ERP and warehouse app for Shopware and Shopify shops

Germany

Afterbuy

Krefeld multichannel order system for eBay, Amazon, Kaufland and OTTO sellers

Germany

Mintsoft

Access Group order and warehouse system for brands and 3PLs

United Kingdom

Linnworks

Chichester multichannel inventory and order software, priced by order volume

United Kingdom

Shippingbo

French OMS, WMS and TMS suite with a Starter pack from EUR 19

France

Katana

Tallinn cloud inventory and production software with a 30-SKU free plan

Estonia

Key takeaways

  • Brightpearl does not publish prices: its pricing page offers a bespoke set-up through a request form, with unlimited users included.
  • Brightpearl, Inc. is based in Austin, Texas and is part of Sage Group plc, and its privacy policy refers European visitors to a separate EU policy.
  • Brightpearl states an average go-live of 90 to 120 days, against a 30-day trial at Billbee and Pickware.
  • Billbee has a monthly minimum of EUR 9 and PlentyONE starts at EUR 59 a month, both with public price pages.
  • JTL-Wawi can be installed on your own Windows PC with a local database, a deployment Brightpearl does not offer on its public pages.

Why people leave Brightpearl

Brightpearl calls itself a retail ERP for growing multichannel retailers. It puts inventory, orders, purchasing, fulfilment and finance in one system, and its homepage places the target customer at a turnover between 2 and 100 million pounds. That is a bigger promise than an order hub makes, and the price of that promise is a project, not a sign-up.

The company behind the site is Brightpearl, Inc., and the contact address in its privacy policy is Suite 110, 211 E 7th Street in Austin, Texas. The homepage adds that Brightpearl is part of Sage Group plc. The policy is dated 15 January 2019 and sends visitors in the EU to a separate EU privacy policy, so a European buyer has a second document to read and a US operator to put in the data processing agreement.

People who look past Brightpearl usually do not argue with the feature list. They run into the commercial shape: pricing that only appears after a demo and a scoping round, a go-live measured in months, and a retail ERP when what they need is an order hub that ships parcels. The tools on this page start at the other end, with a public price or a free tier, and with a legal entity in the EU, the UK or Switzerland.

  • No price until you have talked to sales The Brightpearl pricing page contains no figures. It offers a bespoke set-up for every customer, a request form, and a step-by-step process that ends with a cost breakdown and a technical solution proposal. Unlimited users are included. Against that, Billbee starts at a EUR 9 monthly minimum, Afterbuy at EUR 23, PlentyONE at EUR 59 and Pickware at EUR 99, all on public pages, so a budget can be compared before any call.
  • Go-live is planned in months Brightpearl states that customers go live in 90 to 120 days on average, and the homepage names 120 days. The route has discovery, configuration, data migration and training phases. A shop with a few hundred orders a month rarely has a quarter to spare. Billbee offers a 30-day trial without a credit card and Pickware a 30-day trial, so a small seller can test a tool on real orders in a week.
  • A US operator behind a European data processing agreement Brightpearl, Inc. in Austin runs the website, and its own privacy policy needs a separate EU version for European visitors. Stock levels, customer addresses and order history sit in that system. Picqer states that its application and stored data stay within the EEA, Billbee names Hetzner in Nuremberg, and JTL-Wawi can run on your own Windows machine, where the data never leaves your network.
  • More system than many sellers need The homepage lists forecasting, retail accounting, CRM, an automation engine and a warehouse scanner module. A seller whose accountant already works in DATEV, Exact or Xero, and whose main pain is that marketplace orders do not reach the pick list, pays for an ERP to fix a routing problem. The narrower European tools solve that routing problem first and leave finance where it is.

What you have to replace, not just match

Moving off Brightpearl means replacing a stack, not a screen. The core is orders, stock and purchasing across channels, and every tool on this page covers that. Brightpearl also lists a retail accounting module and connections to Sage, Xero and QuickBooks, forecasting through Inventory Planner, scan-based picking through ScanForce WMS and a rules engine for routing and allocation. Write down which of those your team uses weekly before you compare vendors, because the European tools split them differently.

For German-speaking sellers the pattern is an order hub plus the accounting package you already own. Billbee, Afterbuy and PlentyONE take marketplace and shop orders, print invoices and export to DATEV. Xentral and JTL-Wawi go further into merchandise management with purchasing, production planning and several warehouses. Picqer and Pickware are warehouse-first: pick batches, barcode checks, goods receipt and returns, with accounting handled through a connection such as Exact Online or DATEV.

In the UK, Helm WMS, Mintsoft and Linnworks sit closest to Brightpearl in the way they are built, and Mintsoft and Linnworks are explicit that accounting stays outside the product. Katana adds production and bills of materials for sellers who make what they sell. Shippingbo is the French option, combining order, warehouse and transport modules. None of them replaces the Brightpearl accounting module one for one, so plan a decision on the ledger as part of the switch.

The alternatives compared

European Brightpearl alternatives, in the order this page ranks them, compared on headquarters, pricing and jurisdiction
PositionToolHeadquartersPricingJurisdiction
#1 Picqer Arnhem, Netherlands Priced per order volume, not per user: Team EUR 379 per month including 3,000 orders (EUR 0.28 per extra order), Business EUR 825 including 7,500 orders, Premium EUR 1,349 including 15,000 orders, up to Enterprise at EUR 5,500 including 75,000 orders; unlimited users and stores on every plan EU (Netherlands)
#2 Billbee Twistetal, Germany Usage-based on order volume with a minimum fee of EUR 9 per month net of VAT; up to 200 orders a month is the Starter plan, above that the Growth plan, both with all features, all integrations and unlimited users; no minimum contract term EU (Germany)
#3 PlentyONE Kassel, Germany Monthly ladder of Lite from EUR 59, Lite+ from EUR 99, Expand from EUR 149 and Scale from EUR 229, with Ultimate priced on request; a free test system runs 30 days EU (Germany)
#4 Xentral Augsburg, Germany Paid plans, quoted per order volume EU (Germany)
#5 Helm WMS Driffield, United Kingdom Start Up costs nothing up to 100 orders. Paid tiers are Business from GBP 245 a month, Ultimate from GBP 395 and 3PL Fulfilment from GBP 495, with Enterprise on request; the figures leave out UK VAT and already contain a 20% discount for annual contracts United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
#6 JTL-Wawi Hückelhoven, Germany JTL Start from EUR 0 per month; JTL Advanced from EUR 119 per month billed monthly or from EUR 99 on yearly billing; JTL Pro from EUR 369 per month billed monthly or from EUR 329 on yearly billing; JTL Enterprise on request; marketplace and third-party shop orders are bought as order packages EU (Germany)
#7 Pickware Darmstadt, Germany Order allowance sets the tier: Starter is EUR 99 a month for 1,000 orders, Advanced EUR 299 for 1,500, Professional EUR 599 for 2,000, and Enterprise is quoted. The warehouse app adds EUR 199 per device each month. All amounts exclude VAT, and a 30-day trial is free EU (Germany)
#8 Afterbuy Krefeld, Germany Starter EUR 23 per month (EUR 19 on yearly billing), Growth EUR 71 (EUR 59), Pro EUR 179 (EUR 149), Partner on request; EUR 0.25 per transaction on Starter and Growth beyond the free packages, EUR 0.15 on Pro, EUR 0.10 on Partner; add-ons from EUR 24 per month; all prices net, monthly billing has a 1-month minimum term and yearly billing 12 months EU (Germany)
#9 Mintsoft Stratford St Mary, Colchester, United Kingdom Brands start at GBP 159 a month and 3PLs at GBP 375; Enterprise is quoted. Modules, onboarding and success plans are charged in addition United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
#10 Linnworks Chichester, United Kingdom By quotation only. Tiers are set by monthly order volume, overage applies above a tier, an onboarding fee is added, and the pages mention no free trial United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
#11 Shippingbo France, France Starter from EUR 19 ex VAT/month; Pro, Premium and Expert on quote EU (France)
#12 Katana Tallinn, Estonia Free plan for up to 30 SKUs; Core starts at USD 299 per month with unlimited SKUs and users and 1 inventory location, plus usage-based charges for additional locations and delivered sales orders; add-ons Manufacturing Management USD 199, Traceability USD 249 and Warehouse Management USD 149 per month; Advantage on custom pricing with an annual contract EU (Estonia)

How each alternative compares to Brightpearl

#1

Picqer

Warehouse-first order handling priced per order, with no user limits

Arnhem, NetherlandsPriced per order volume, not per user: Team EUR 379 per month including 3,000 orders (EUR 0.28 per extra order), Business EUR 825 including 7,500 orders, Premium EUR 1,349 including 15,000 orders, up to Enterprise at EUR 5,500 including 75,000 orders; unlimited users and stores on every plan#1 in Inventory Management

Best for: Online stores that pack their own parcels and want barcode-checked picking in an app.

Picqer starts from the warehouse floor, where Brightpearl starts from the retail business. Pickers work through batches in a mobile app that checks each item by barcode, purchase advice tells the buyer what to reorder, and shop connections include Shopify, Magento 2, WooCommerce and Bol. Accounting goes through Exact Online, so the ledger stays outside the tool.

The bill follows parcels. Team costs EUR 379 per month with 3,000 orders, Business EUR 825 with 7,500, and every plan has unlimited users and stores. Brightpearl also includes unlimited users but hides the price behind a request form. Picqer says the application and its stored data stay in the EEA and that it has no external investors.

What Picqer does better than Brightpearl

  • A full price list with the cost per extra order (EUR 0.28 on Team)
  • Application and stored data within the EEA, stated in the privacy policy
  • Ownership stated: no external investors, profitable according to Picqer
  • Carrier connections such as PostNL, DHL, GLS and DPD named on the site

Where Picqer is a step down from Brightpearl

  • No retail accounting module, only a connection to Exact Online
  • The entry plan at EUR 379 a month is steep for a small shop
  • No forecasting layer comparable to Brightpearl Inventory Planner

Standout against Brightpearl. Picqer is the only tool here that combines per-order pricing, unlimited users and a stated EEA-only application.

picqer.com Visit Picqer
#2

Billbee

Low-cost order hub for small sellers, from a EUR 9 monthly minimum

Twistetal, GermanyUsage-based on order volume with a minimum fee of EUR 9 per month net of VAT; up to 200 orders a month is the Starter plan, above that the Growth plan, both with all features, all integrations and unlimited users; no minimum contract term#2 in Inventory Management

Best for: Small and medium online sellers who need orders, invoices and shipping from several shops in one account.

Billbee is the opposite end of the market from Brightpearl. One account collects orders from Shopify, WooCommerce, Amazon, eBay, Etsy and Shopware, prints invoices and labels, and keeps one stock count across the shops. The vendor counts more than 150 connections and says over 20,000 sellers use it.

Pricing is by order volume with a minimum of EUR 9 per month net of VAT. Accounts under 200 orders a month sit in Starter, and both plans include all features and unlimited users, with no minimum contract term. The servers are in the Hetzner data center park in Nuremberg, a hosting detail Brightpearl does not give on its public pages.

What Billbee does better than Brightpearl

  • A public entry price of EUR 9 a month and no minimum contract term
  • A 30-day trial without a credit card or feature limits
  • Named hosting: Hetzner in Nuremberg, Germany
  • Self-service sign-up instead of a demo and a scoping round

Where Billbee is a step down from Brightpearl

  • Refunds, cancellations and credit notes count as billable orders
  • Deeper stock work needs VentoryOne, included only in Growth
  • No built-in forecasting or retail ledger

Standout against Brightpearl. Billbee gives all features and unlimited users on both plans, which makes the order count the only variable in the bill.

billbee.io Visit Billbee
#3

PlentyONE

One cloud system for product data, orders and stock across 150+ marketplaces

Kassel, GermanyMonthly ladder of Lite from EUR 59, Lite+ from EUR 99, Expand from EUR 149 and Scale from EUR 229, with Ultimate priced on request; a free test system runs 30 days#3 in Order Management Systems

Best for: Marketplace-heavy sellers in the German-speaking market who want product data kept once.

PlentyONE, the name plentymarkets now trades under, joins PIM, OMS, WMS and CRM in one system from the smallest plan. Product text and images are stored once and pushed to each shop or marketplace in the format that channel wants. That product-data layer is something Brightpearl does not list on the pages we read.

Five plans are priced openly, Lite from EUR 59 per month up to Scale at EUR 229, with Ultimate on request. Each plan has counted limits on marketplaces, variants, users, warehouses and monthly turnover, so the step to the next plan is visible in advance. The vendor offers a free 30-day test system, where Brightpearl offers a demo.

What PlentyONE does better than Brightpearl

  • Public plans from EUR 59 a month with limits you can count
  • A PIM layer for product data across 150+ marketplaces (vendor figure)
  • A free 30-day test system with all functions
  • A German GmbH with a full imprint and commercial register number

Where PlentyONE is a step down from Brightpearl

  • Turnover caps on every priced plan push fast growers up a step
  • No data location or certificate stated on the pages reviewed
  • No accounting module or demand forecasting named

Standout against Brightpearl. PlentyONE is the only tool here that treats product data as a core module next to orders and stock.

plentyone.com Visit PlentyONE
#4

Xentral

ERP built around the order and stock flow, quoted by order volume

Augsburg, GermanyPaid plans, quoted per order volume#3 in ERP

Best for: Companies selling physical goods across several channels that want an ERP centred on logistics.

Xentral comes closest to Brightpearl in ambition. It is an ERP, and its product is the stretch between an order arriving and a parcel leaving: reserving stock, instructing pickers, booking carriers and raising invoices. Shop, marketplace and carrier connections are treated as core, not as partner add-ons.

The company is Xentral ERP Software GmbH in Augsburg, founded in 2017, with data in Germany. Pricing is quoted per order volume, so the first step looks much like Brightpearl: a conversation before a number. The difference is the legal footprint, a German GmbH on German hosting against a US operator in Austin.

What Xentral does better than Brightpearl

  • A German company with German data hosting
  • Pricing that scales with order volume rather than headcount
  • Native shop, marketplace and carrier integrations as the core of the product

Where Xentral is a step down from Brightpearl

  • No published prices, the same quote step as Brightpearl
  • Financial and manufacturing depth is limited next to older ERP names
  • Founded in 2017, a younger vendor than Brightpearl or Linnworks

Standout against Brightpearl. Xentral is the only tool on this list that is an ERP and a German-hosted one at the same time.

xentral.com Visit Xentral
#5

Helm WMS

UK order and warehouse system with a free plan up to 100 orders

Driffield, United KingdomStart Up costs nothing up to 100 orders. Paid tiers are Business from GBP 245 a month, Ultimate from GBP 395 and 3PL Fulfilment from GBP 495, with Enterprise on request; the figures leave out UK VAT and already contain a 20% discount for annual contracts#5 in Order Management Systems

Best for: Small UK sellers growing into a packing operation, and small 3PLs billing clients.

Helm WMS is the product of The Despatch Company Ltd in Driffield and it grows by steps. The free Start Up plan covers batch dispatch labels, tracking and dashboards for up to 100 orders. Business adds a warehousing suite with digital picking and packing, and Ultimate adds multi-warehouse support and branded returns.

A separate Fulfilment plan from GBP 495 a month adds client billing and branded portals for companies that ship for other brands. The vendor lists unlimited users and integrations, 500+ channels and 160+ carriers, all vendor figures. Data sits in ISO 27001 compliant data centres inside the UK, so the company is British and outside the EEA.

What Helm WMS does better than Brightpearl

  • A free plan for up to 100 orders instead of a request form
  • A public price list in pounds, from GBP 245 a month for Business
  • A 3PL plan with client billing and portals
  • UK data centres stated in the privacy policy

Where Helm WMS is a step down from Brightpearl

  • Prices are excluding VAT and include a 20% annual discount
  • No EU hosting option stated
  • No retail accounting module or forecasting suite

Standout against Brightpearl. Helm WMS is the only tool here with both a free plan and a dedicated 3PL tier.

despatchcloud.com Visit Helm WMS
#6

JTL-Wawi

Merchandise management you can install on your own Windows PC

Hückelhoven, GermanyJTL Start from EUR 0 per month; JTL Advanced from EUR 119 per month billed monthly or from EUR 99 on yearly billing; JTL Pro from EUR 369 per month billed monthly or from EUR 329 on yearly billing; JTL Enterprise on request; marketplace and third-party shop orders are bought as order packages#3 in Inventory Management

Best for: German-speaking retailers who want merchandise management with control over where the database lives.

JTL-Wawi, from JTL-Software-GmbH in Hückelhoven, manages products, purchasing, sales and stock across an unlimited number of warehouses with stock transfers and FIFO reservations. It prints labels for DHL, DPD, Hermes and GLS and includes production planning and returns with condition tracking. The vendor says more than 15,000 online retailers use it.

The deployment is the difference. You can install it on a single Windows PC with a local database, run it multi-user in your network, or use hosted variants. JTL Start is listed from EUR 0 per month with unlimited users, Advanced from EUR 119 and Pro from EUR 369, with marketplace orders bought as order packages. The pages are in German.

What JTL-Wawi does better than Brightpearl

  • A free JTL Start edition with unlimited users
  • A local installation where stock data stays on your own machine
  • Unlimited warehouses with stock transfers and FIFO reservations
  • A named German company with investor and register details published

Where JTL-Wawi is a step down from Brightpearl

  • Marketplace orders need separately sized order packages
  • Broader than pure stock control, so setup takes longer
  • The German-language site and pricing page

Standout against Brightpearl. JTL-Wawi is the only tool here you can run entirely on your own Windows machine.

jtl-software.com Visit JTL-Wawi
#7

Pickware

Warehouse and ERP layer for Shopware and Shopify shops, priced by order allowance

Darmstadt, GermanyOrder allowance sets the tier: Starter is EUR 99 a month for 1,000 orders, Advanced EUR 299 for 1,500, Professional EUR 599 for 2,000, and Enterprise is quoted. The warehouse app adds EUR 199 per device each month. All amounts exclude VAT, and a 30-day trial is free#7 in Order Management Systems

Best for: Merchants on Shopware or Shopify who ship from their own stock with scanners.

Pickware adds to a shop what the shop lacks: pick lists, goods receipt, returns, stocktaking, purchasing and invoices with DATEV export. The imprint names Pickware GmbH in Darmstadt. It is narrower than Brightpearl because it is tied to two shop systems, and the Starter plan connects only one Shopify shop.

Plans carry a monthly order allowance: Starter EUR 99 with 1,000 orders, Advanced EUR 299 with 1,500, Professional EUR 599 with 2,000. Extra orders cost EUR 0.20 or EUR 0.15 each. The WMS app is EUR 199 per device and month on top. The 30-day trial needs no card, and prices exclude VAT.

What Pickware does better than Brightpearl

  • Published plans with the cost of each extra order
  • DATEV export for German accounting
  • A 30-day trial with no card
  • Picking, receiving and returns handled in the shop's own data

Where Pickware is a step down from Brightpearl

  • Only Shopware and Shopify are covered
  • The WMS app is licensed per device on top of the plan
  • No data location stated on the pages reviewed

Standout against Brightpearl. Pickware is the only tool here built as a layer on top of a Shopware or Shopify shop rather than beside it.

pickware.com Visit Pickware
#8

Afterbuy

Marketplace order system from Krefeld with warehouse, bin and variant handling

Krefeld, GermanyStarter EUR 23 per month (EUR 19 on yearly billing), Growth EUR 71 (EUR 59), Pro EUR 179 (EUR 149), Partner on request; EUR 0.25 per transaction on Starter and Growth beyond the free packages, EUR 0.15 on Pro, EUR 0.10 on Partner; add-ons from EUR 24 per month; all prices net, monthly billing has a 1-month minimum term and yearly billing 12 months#7 in Inventory Management

Best for: Marketplace sellers in Germany who want a mature order tool with a monthly price from EUR 23.

Afterbuy is run by ViA-Online GmbH in Krefeld, which dates itself to 1998 and has handled eBay orders since 2002. Stock is structured by warehouse, area, shelf and bin, variants and bundles are handled so that selling a bundle reduces component stock, and reorder suggestions appear once minimum stock and suppliers are set.

Four plans are priced: Starter at EUR 23, Growth at EUR 71, Pro at EUR 179 and Partner on request, with lower yearly prices and a per-transaction fee of EUR 0.25 on Starter and Growth beyond the free packages. A 30-day trial is available. Higher plans add a CRM ticket module and an accounting module with automatic payment matching.

What Afterbuy does better than Brightpearl

  • Monthly prices from EUR 23 on a public page
  • An accounting module with payment matching in the higher plans
  • A cloud stated to be in Germany
  • A registered GmbH with named managing directors

Where Afterbuy is a step down from Brightpearl

  • Per-transaction fees make the bill rise with volume
  • The hosting provider is not named
  • Investors behind the ECOMMERCE ONE group are not named, and the site is in German

Standout against Brightpearl. Afterbuy is the only tool here that lists an accounting module with automatic payment matching inside a marketplace order system.

afterbuy.de Visit Afterbuy
#9

Mintsoft

UK warehouse operations system for brands and fulfilment houses

Stratford St Mary, Colchester, United KingdomBrands start at GBP 159 a month and 3PLs at GBP 375; Enterprise is quoted. Modules, onboarding and success plans are charged in addition#9 in Order Management Systems

Best for: UK brands with their own warehouse and fulfilment houses serving clients.

Mintsoft is operated by Access UK Ltd and is part of The Access Group. It overlaps with Brightpearl in order and stock handling but leaves out the accounting layer; the weight is on warehouse operations: automated picking and packing, pallet and carton handling, stock counts and locations across several warehouses, and a mobile picking app.

Brand and wholesaler plans start at GBP 159 a month and 3PL plans at GBP 375, with unlimited browser users and 131 standard integrations. The 3PL plan adds a client portal and billing. Modules, onboarding and success plans are priced on top, and the core price depends on users and monthly orders.

What Mintsoft does better than Brightpearl

  • Public entry prices of GBP 159 and GBP 375 a month
  • A 3PL client portal and billing
  • Pallet and carton handling in the warehouse module
  • Unlimited browser users and 131 standard integrations

Where Mintsoft is a step down from Brightpearl

  • Modules and onboarding are priced separately, so the real cost needs a quote
  • No accounting inside the product
  • Data location is not stated on the pages reviewed

Standout against Brightpearl. Mintsoft is the only tool here sold in separate plans for brands and for 3PLs with a client billing module.

mintsoft.com Visit Mintsoft
#10

Linnworks

Routing layer between channels, own stock, 3PLs and dropshippers

Chichester, United KingdomBy quotation only. Tiers are set by monthly order volume, overage applies above a tier, an onboarding fee is added, and the pages mention no free trial#10 in Order Management Systems

Best for: Multichannel sellers with enough volume to justify a quote and onboarding.

Linnworks is operated by Linn Systems Limited in Chichester. Its product page describes rules for order routing, carrier selection, label printing and tracking, and fulfilment from your own warehouse, a 3PL or dropship suppliers. It lists 100+ channel integrations and 70+ shipping providers, both vendor figures.

It resembles Brightpearl commercially: no price is shown and onboarding is a one-off fee. The pricing page says plans are priced on order volume, not on revenue or on channel count, with overage above a tier. The pages read do not confirm the contracting entity in the customer terms, and there is no accounting layer.

What Linnworks does better than Brightpearl

  • Pricing that does not depend on the number of channels
  • Routing rules across own stock, 3PLs and dropshippers
  • A UK-registered operator named in the privacy policy

Where Linnworks is a step down from Brightpearl

  • No public prices and no free trial stated
  • An onboarding fee on top of the plan
  • Data location and certificates are not stated

Standout against Brightpearl. Linnworks is the only tool here whose main product is the rule layer that routes orders between warehouses, 3PLs and dropshippers.

linnworks.com Visit Linnworks
#11

Shippingbo

French suite of order, warehouse and transport modules from EUR 19 a month

France, FranceStarter from EUR 19 ex VAT/month; Pro, Premium and Expert on quote#9 in Shipping Software

Best for: E-commerce sellers who pack their own orders and want order, stock and shipping in one French-built tool.

Shippingbo, from SAS Facilecomm, combines an order management system, a warehouse management system and a transport management system. It centralises orders from several sources, takes native ERP connectors as order sources, and covers warehouse zones, aisles and locations with PDA scanning for picking and stock entries.

Four packs are offered: Starter from EUR 19 excluding VAT per month with a free trial, and Pro, Premium and Expert on quote. Some picking options cost extra. The site and legal notice are in French, and the data location is not stated on the pages reviewed.

What Shippingbo does better than Brightpearl

  • A public Starter price of EUR 19 a month with a free trial
  • Zones, aisles and PDA picking in a suite aimed at e-commerce
  • A French company named in the legal notice with its SIRET number

Where Shippingbo is a step down from Brightpearl

  • Higher packs are on quote and some options cost extra
  • No accounting module is described
  • French-language site and legal pages

Standout against Brightpearl. Shippingbo is the only tool here that bundles order, warehouse and transport modules as one suite with a EUR 19 entry pack.

shippingbo.com Visit Shippingbo
#12

Katana

Inventory and production software for sellers who make what they sell

Tallinn, EstoniaFree plan for up to 30 SKUs; Core starts at USD 299 per month with unlimited SKUs and users and 1 inventory location, plus usage-based charges for additional locations and delivered sales orders; add-ons Manufacturing Management USD 199, Traceability USD 249 and Warehouse Management USD 149 per month; Advantage on custom pricing with an annual contract#5 in Inventory Management

Best for: Small manufacturers and makers selling through Shopify or WooCommerce who need bills of materials.

Katana, from Katana Technologies OÜ in Tallinn, tracks products and materials across locations, sets reorder points, creates purchase orders from stock needs and lead times, and uses bills of materials to plan production in-house or at a contractor. It supports batch, lot and serial numbers with expiry dates.

Prices are in US dollars: a free plan for up to 30 SKUs, Core from USD 299 per month with unlimited SKUs and users, and add-ons for manufacturing, traceability and warehouse management. Katana states a SOC 2 Type II audit and EU storage of personal data, hosted primarily on AWS with no region named.

What Katana does better than Brightpearl

  • Bills of materials and production planning next to order handling
  • A SOC 2 Type II audit stated by the vendor
  • A free plan for up to 30 SKUs
  • Estonian law governing the terms and EU storage of personal data

Where Katana is a step down from Brightpearl

  • Prices are published in US dollars only
  • Hosting is primarily on AWS, a US cloud provider, region not named
  • Manufacturing, traceability and warehouse functions are paid add-ons

Standout against Brightpearl. Katana is the only tool here with a stated SOC 2 Type II audit, and it plans production from bills of materials.

katanamrp.com Visit Katana

What actually breaks when you switch

The first thing that breaks is the data you cannot see yet. Brightpearl holds product records, stock by location, open purchase orders and order history, and the export formats are a matter for your own agreement and the Brightpearl knowledge centre, neither of which is public. Ask for a full export early, and run a trial import into the new tool with a few hundred real SKUs so that variants, bundles and barcodes are checked before the cut-over.

The second break is the connections. Brightpearl rules for routing, allocation and invoicing do not travel; they have to be rebuilt in the new tool, and the European options differ in how much logic they hold. Marketplace connectors, carrier contracts and the accounting link all need new credentials. Plan the move outside peak season, since Brightpearl itself plans go-live back from the peak, and retrain pickers on the new scanner or app before the first full week of orders.

Can I run Brightpearl and a European tool side by side during the switch?

Yes, and for a seller with steady volume it is the safer route. Keep Brightpearl as the system of record for stock while you connect one sales channel to the new tool, then move channels one at a time. The risk is double allocation: two systems that both believe they own the stock count will oversell. Pick one channel with low volume as the pilot and freeze manual stock edits in the old system for that channel.

Check the contract before you start. Brightpearl states a scoped implementation and tailored pricing per customer, so the notice period and the data export terms are in your own agreement, not on a public page. Ask for them in writing before you plan a cut-over date, and ask the new vendor for its import formats for products, stock and open orders.

Which European tool has an accounting module like Brightpearl?

None of the tools on this page replaces the Brightpearl retail accounting module as a ledger. Afterbuy lists an accounting module with automatic payment matching in its higher plans, and Pickware and Billbee export to DATEV, but the books stay in your accountant's package. Mintsoft says plainly that accounting runs through integrations such as Xero or Sage.

If a ledger inside the order system is a must, Xentral is the nearest in this list because it is built as an ERP around the order flow, though its own page notes that financial depth is limited next to older ERP names. Otherwise, treat the finance link as a connector job and test the export on a month of real orders in the trial.

Which one to pick

Pick by the part of Brightpearl you really use. For a warehouse that packs its own parcels, Picqer is the closest match and PlentyONE or Pickware fit sellers tied to marketplaces or to Shopware and Shopify. For a small shop that mainly needs orders, invoices and labels, Billbee or Afterbuy cost a fraction of an ERP. If you want an ERP kept in Germany, look at Xentral or JTL-Wawi.

UK warehouses can choose Helm WMS, Mintsoft or Linnworks, and makers who need bills of materials should look at Katana. Stay on Brightpearl if the retail accounting module and Inventory Planner run your finance and buying, and your volume justifies a scoped, multi-month project. If the reason to leave is price opacity or a US operator, the tools above publish prices and name an entity in the EU, the UK or Switzerland.

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the shape of the business. Picqer from Arnhem is the pick for sellers who ship from their own warehouse, Billbee from Twistetal for small shops on a EUR 9 minimum, PlentyONE from Kassel for marketplace-heavy sellers, and Xentral from Augsburg for an ERP built around the order flow. Helm WMS and Mintsoft cover UK warehouses, and Katana covers production.

The Brightpearl homepage says the company is part of Sage Group plc, and its privacy policy names Brightpearl, Inc. in Austin, Texas as the operator of the site. The policy is dated 15 January 2019. The pages read do not describe the corporate structure in more detail, so ask your account contact for the contracting entity before you sign.

Brightpearl does not publish a price. The pricing page describes a bespoke set-up for every customer, with unlimited users included, and sends you to a request form that leads to a demo, a cost breakdown and a technical solution proposal. For comparison, Billbee starts at EUR 9 a month, PlentyONE at EUR 59 and Picqer at EUR 379 per month including 3,000 orders.

Yes, for small volumes. JTL-Wawi has a JTL Start edition from EUR 0 per month, Helm WMS is free for up to 100 orders, and Katana has a free plan for up to 30 SKUs. Each limit is real: JTL sells order packages for marketplaces, Helm stops at 100 orders and Katana at 30 SKUs after a short grace period.

Mostly, but check the page. Picqer states EEA storage, Billbee names Hetzner in Nuremberg, Xentral states Germany, and Afterbuy states a cloud in Germany. PlentyONE, Pickware, Mintsoft and Linnworks do not state a data location on the pages we read. Helm WMS names UK data centres, which sit outside the EEA under a UK adequacy decision.

About the author

Every comparison page on European Purpose is researched and drafted with AI assistance, with the compliance and pricing claims checked against the vendor's own documentation, and is published under the editorial responsibility of its founder.

Sebastiaan Smits

Sebastiaan Smits

Founder · Amsterdam, Netherlands

Founder of European Purpose. Researches and writes the reviews and checks where each company is actually established.

Read our editorial process for how we source, verify and update these pages, and how paid visibility works.

Explore More European Alternatives

Discover privacy-focused European alternatives to other popular US tech services.

More Order Management Systems Browse All Categories