European Alternatives to OptinMonster

Looking for a European alternative to OptinMonster? The service is operated by Retyp, LLC from facilities in the United States, its terms are governed by Florida law with disputes in the courts of West Palm Beach, and its plans are capped by campaign impressions (2,500 on Basic) with an introductory price that renews higher (Basic is $108 billed today and renews at $210 a year).

These European popup builders are run by companies in France, Hungary, Denmark, Cyprus and Lithuania, and several offer a free plan or one login with your email tool, where OptinMonster starts at $9 a month and keeps Exit Intent for its $37 Pro plan.

10 Alternatives
100% GDPR Compliant
How we rank these tools — 4-step process
  1. 1
    European ownership, verified

    The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA, the UK, Switzerland or Israel, and processes customer data in Europe or Israel. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.

  2. 2
    Category fit and hands-on review

    What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.

  3. 3
    Compliance and pricing check

    GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.

  4. 4
    Position on this page

    Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. It never buys a good review: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Paid placement can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. Editorial policy

10 European Alternatives to OptinMonster

Wisepops

Behaviour-based popups, banners and web push for online stores

#1 for replacing OptinMonster
France

OptiMonk

Popup builder with an AI agent that drafts and launches campaigns

#2 for replacing OptinMonster
Hungary

Sleeknote

Danish popup and on-site messaging tool with EU-hosted data

#3 for replacing OptinMonster
Denmark

ChilliPopup

Popups, quizzes and prize games with a permanent free plan

#4 for replacing OptinMonster
France

Getsitecontrol

Low-priced popup widgets with unlimited views on top plan

#5 for replacing OptinMonster
Cyprus

Omnisend

Ecommerce email platform with exit-intent popups and wheel forms

#6 for replacing OptinMonster
Lithuania

MailerLite

Newsletter tool with unlimited pop-ups on every plan

#7 for replacing OptinMonster
Lithuania

Sender

Email platform with popups and forms on a free plan

#8 for replacing OptinMonster
Lithuania

GetResponse

Email platform whose popup creator has 30+ trigger rules

#9 for replacing OptinMonster
Poland

Brevo

CRM and email suite that added pop-up forms to its builder

#10 for replacing OptinMonster
France

Key takeaways

  • OptinMonster is operated by Retyp, LLC, its terms are governed by Florida law, and disputes go to the courts of West Palm Beach.
  • OptinMonster caps plans by campaign impressions (2,500 on Basic, 10,000 on Plus, 25,000 on Pro, 100,000 on Growth), not by website pageviews.
  • OptinMonster shows Basic at $9 a month for the first year, billed as $108, and the same plan renews at $210 a year.
  • OptinMonster includes Exit Intent only from the $37 Pro plan, and A/B testing only from the $27 Plus plan.
  • ChilliPopup (France), OptiMonk (Hungary) and Getsitecontrol (Cyprus) all publish a free plan, while OptinMonster has no free plan on its pricing page.

Why people leave OptinMonster

OptinMonster sells on-site lead capture: lightbox popups, floating bars, slide-ins, inline forms, welcome mats, countdown timers and coupon wheels, built from a library of more than 700 templates and wired to the email tool you already pay for. Its pricing page also lists page-level targeting, A/B testing, exit-intent detection and revenue attribution. It is one of the older names in the category, and many agencies and WordPress site owners learned popup marketing on it.

The service is operated by Retyp, LLC, trading as OptinMonster. Its Terms of Service are governed by the law of Florida, disputes go to the courts of West Palm Beach, and the site states that it is controlled from facilities in the United States.

The privacy policy says staff, contractors and affiliated organisations may sit outside your home country and that using the service counts as consent to that transfer. For a European site owner this is a US processor under US law, in a category where the script runs on every page.

Price is the other reason people look around. Plans are capped by campaign impressions, not by visitors, and the first year is sold at an introductory rate. This page maps what an OptinMonster customer actually uses to the European tools that cover it, says where OptinMonster is still the stronger product, and lists what has to be rebuilt by hand when you move.

  • A US contract and US courts The counterparty is Retyp, LLC, the law is Florida law and the venue is West Palm Beach. There is no EU entity in the terms. A US company is also reachable by US legal process such as the CLOUD Act whichever data centre it uses. A European vendor puts the contract under EU law and gives you a supervisory authority you can write to. Neither removes your own duty to collect consent before a popup captures an address.
  • The cheap price is a first-year price Basic is shown at $9 a month, which is $108 billed today and renews at $210 a year. Plus is $324 now and $570 on renewal, Pro $444 now and $870 on renewal, Growth $804 now and $1,470 on renewal. The page says all renewals are at full price and that new plans are billed annually by default. Compare the renewal figure, not the headline.
  • The features that matter sit on higher plans Exit Intent, revenue attribution and countdown timers start on Pro at $37 a month. A/B testing starts on Plus. Geolocation targeting, the coupon wheel and the Shopify, WooCommerce and Magento integrations are reserved for Growth at $67. A shop that bought OptinMonster for exit-intent coupons therefore ends up on the second most expensive plan.
  • Impressions are a different unit An impression is counted every time a visitor sees a campaign. Basic allows 2,500 of them, Pro 25,000 and Growth 100,000. The vendor says it will not switch campaigns off when you go over, and that it upgrades you to the next tier when one is available. That is kind to a busy month and still a bill you did not plan.

What you have to replace, not just match

The visible part is the campaign library: popups, bars and wheels, plus the targeting rules behind them. That is the part every tool below covers in some form. Check the triggers first.

Exit intent, time on page and scroll depth are common. Referrer rules, cookie and query targeting, returning-visitor logic and scheduling are not, and OptinMonster lists them on its Pro and Growth plans. Write down the five campaigns that earn money for you and test those, not a feature list.

The less visible part is the plumbing. Your forms post to an email platform through an integration, and the site lists more than 50 integrations, while the Pro plan adds Zapier, webhooks and Google Analytics. Revenue attribution ties a campaign to orders.

Sub-accounts let an agency run client sites. A European replacement has to match the integration with your list tool, not only the design. If the new popup tool feeds the same list, nothing downstream changes. If it replaces the list tool too, you are migrating subscribers as well.

The third part is history. The terms say OptinMonster has no obligation to keep your account information or content after you cancel, so export your campaign settings, screenshots and results before you close the account. Your own sign-up data lives in your email tool, which is the data that matters. Campaign statistics do not transfer between vendors, and a new tool starts its A/B tests from zero.

The alternatives compared

European OptinMonster alternatives, in the order this page ranks them, compared on headquarters, pricing and jurisdiction
PositionToolHeadquartersPricingJurisdiction
#1 Wisepops Paris, France Pricing on request; the pricing page leads to a demo booking EU (France)
#2 OptiMonk Budapest, Hungary Free $0 (10,000 pageviews/month, 1 domain, all features); Essential $19/month ($228/year); Growth $69/month ($828/year); Premium $179/month ($2,148/year); Master custom, on request EU (Hungary)
#3 Sleeknote Aarhus, Denmark From EUR 49/month billed annually (EUR 62 billed monthly) for up to 25,000 monthly visitors; 14-day free trial EU (Denmark)
#4 ChilliPopup Paris, France Free (1,000 visitors/month); Pro $29/month (50,000 visitors); Business $79/month (250,000 visitors); prices in USD EU (France)
#5 Getsitecontrol Nicosia, Cyprus Free (10,000 widget views/month); Pro $19/month (100,000 views); Pro Max $29/month (unlimited views); prices in USD EU (Cyprus)
#6 Omnisend Vilnius, Lithuania Free plan (500 emails, 250 contacts, 500 web push notifications/month, no card); Standard from $11.20/month; Pro from $41.30/month, both with unlimited web push; Custom pricing above 150,000 contacts EU (Lithuania)
#7 MailerLite Dublin, Ireland Free (250 subscribers, 2,500 emails/month) / Comfort from €9.90/month billed yearly EU (Ireland)
#8 Sender.net Vilnius, Lithuania Free Forever: 2,500 subscribers, 15,000 emails/month / Standard from $6.30/month (500 subscribers, billed annually) / Professional from $10.50/month / Enterprise on request EU (Lithuania)
#9 GetResponse Gdansk, Poland Free (500 contacts) / from about €16/month; automation from €54 EU (Poland)
#10 Brevo Paris, France Free (300 emails/day, unlimited contacts) / from about €8/month EU (France)

How each alternative compares to OptinMonster

#1

Wisepops

the closest in scope for stores that test and measure revenue

Paris, FrancePricing on request; the pricing page leads to a demo booking#1 in Website Popup Builder Software

  • Which law reaches it. EU (France). OptinMonster is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on the pages reviewed.
  • Source code. Closed source, as OptinMonster is.

Best for: Online stores with enough traffic to run experiments against a control group

Wisepops matches the part of OptinMonster that stores pay Pro and Growth prices for: exit intent on desktop and mobile, targeting by visitor properties you define yourself, and experiments that hold back a share of visitors to show what a campaign adds. Revenue tracking is automatic on Shopify and events can be sent to Google Analytics 4, which lines up with OptinMonster's revenue attribution.

The company is Wisepops SAS in Paris, registered under RCS 792 748 477, with French law and the Paris Court of Appeal as venue. There is no price list. The pricing page leads to a demo booking where the vendor analyses your visitor data first, so a quote comes from sales. The privacy policy also says some providers may sit outside the EEA.

What Wisepops does better than OptinMonster

  • Control-group tests measure what a campaign adds beyond attribution
  • Custom visitor properties act as targeting rules
  • French contract and French courts in place of Florida
  • A customer success team can build campaigns for you

Where Wisepops is a step down from OptinMonster

  • No published price, so no budget check before a sales call
  • Hosting region is not stated on the pages reviewed
  • More platform than a simple email popup needs

Standout against OptinMonster. It is the only tool here that can show how much revenue a popup created by hiding it from part of your traffic.

wisepops.com Visit Wisepops
#2

OptiMonk

the nearest feature match with a free plan and a published price list

Budapest, HungaryFree $0 (10,000 pageviews/month, 1 domain, all features); Essential $19/month ($228/year); Growth $69/month ($828/year); Premium $179/month ($2,148/year); Master custom, on request#3 in A/B Testing

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Hungary). OptinMonster is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. Hosting sub-processor is DigitalOcean, LLC, a US company; the privacy policy states OptiMonk uses only DigitalOcean's EU data centres, in Frankfurt.
  • Source code. Closed source, as OptinMonster is.

Best for: Ecommerce brands that want OptinMonster-style campaigns, free to start and priced by pageviews

OptiMonk is the dedicated builder where the price list is easiest to set beside OptinMonster's. Free costs $0 for 10,000 pageviews a month and one domain, Essential is $19, Growth $69 and Premium $179, with a custom Master tier. The EP page lists A/B testing, unlimited campaigns and AI-written campaign copy from the free plan upward, where OptinMonster starts testing at $27 a month.

OptiMonk International Zrt is a Hungarian company that began in 2014. Its privacy policy names DigitalOcean's EU data centres in Frankfurt as the hosting, even though DigitalOcean itself is a US company. The pages checked state no security certification, and the product is built for shop popups and on-site messaging rather than for rigorous experimentation.

What OptiMonk does better than OptinMonster

  • A free plan with every feature, where OptinMonster has none
  • A full price list published on the page
  • Hosting in Frankfurt is stated outright
  • AI-written copy and variants are included from the free tier

Where OptiMonk is a step down from OptinMonster

  • Prices count pageviews, a different unit from impressions
  • The named hosting sub-processor is a US company
  • No security certification stated on the pages checked

Standout against OptinMonster. It is the only dedicated popup tool here with every feature on a free plan.

optimonk.com Visit OptiMonk
#3

Sleeknote

for teams that want stated EU hosting, phone support and an invoice

Aarhus, DenmarkFrom EUR 49/month billed annually (EUR 62 billed monthly) for up to 25,000 monthly visitors; 14-day free trial#3 in Website Popup Builder Software

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Denmark). OptinMonster is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. AWS Ireland and Germany, Google Cloud Germany, Belgium and Finland.
  • Source code. Closed source, as OptinMonster is.

Best for: Agencies and shops that need unlimited campaigns on stated European servers

Sleeknote answers two complaints about OptinMonster at once. Every plan has unlimited campaigns and unlimited domains, so there is no per-site fee, and pricing follows monthly visitors: EUR 49 a month on annual billing for up to 25,000 visitors, or EUR 62 monthly. Core and Gamification, which adds the wheel and scratch games, costs EUR 68 annual or EUR 85 monthly. A 14-day trial opens every feature, and you can pay by invoice.

Sleeknote ApS is registered in Aarhus under CVR 35840699, with Danish law and the courts of Aarhus. Its data processing agreement lists Amazon Web Services in Ireland and Germany, Google Cloud in Germany, Belgium and Finland, and ImageKit in Germany. There is no free plan, and the privacy policy page still shows a 2018 update date.

What Sleeknote does better than OptinMonster

  • Unlimited campaigns and domains on every plan
  • The data processing agreement names hosting locations
  • Invoice payment and phone support
  • SiteData can fire a campaign from basket value or a search query

Where Sleeknote is a step down from OptinMonster

  • No free plan, only a 14-day trial
  • Gamified popups need the dearer tier
  • Prices climb with visitor bands

Standout against OptinMonster. It is the one tool here whose data processing agreement lists AWS and Google Cloud regions for the popup data.

sleeknote.com Visit Sleeknote
#4

ChilliPopup

a young tool that gives the full editor to small sites for free

Paris, FranceFree (1,000 visitors/month); Pro $29/month (50,000 visitors); Business $79/month (250,000 visitors); prices in USD#4 in Website Popup Builder Software

  • Which law reaches it. EU (France). OptinMonster is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. EU hosting provider (not named); vendor says it aims to host and process within the EU.
  • Source code. Closed source, as OptinMonster is.

Best for: Small sites that want quizzes and prize games without paying per feature

ChilliPopup flips the OptinMonster plan ladder. The pricing page says the product is identical on all three plans and only capacity changes: Free is $0 for 1,000 visitors a month, one domain and one team member, Pro is $29 for 50,000 visitors and Business is $79 for 250,000. A/B testing, six display triggers and the four prize games come with all of them, so nobody pays extra to unlock exit intent.

The operator is Kompassify SARL, registered in Paris under SIREN 999 317 324, and the terms and privacy policy are dated July 2026. That makes it the youngest tool on the page and the one with the shortest track record. Prices are in dollars, the hosting provider is not named, and the policy says the vendor aims to keep data in the EU rather than promising it.

What ChilliPopup does better than OptinMonster

  • Every feature on every plan, including the free one
  • Quizzes, surveys and four prize games in one editor
  • A French contracting entity under French law
  • Installers for WordPress, Shopify, Wix and Google Tag Manager

Where ChilliPopup is a step down from OptinMonster

  • Terms dated July 2026, so very little track record
  • The hosting provider is not named
  • Smaller template gallery, 77 templates against OptinMonster's 700 and more

Standout against OptinMonster. It is the only tool here that holds back no feature from its free plan and adds quizzes and prize games to it.

chillipopup.com Visit ChilliPopup
#5

Getsitecontrol

the low-price widget tool with a cap you can remove for $29

Nicosia, CyprusFree (10,000 widget views/month); Pro $19/month (100,000 views); Pro Max $29/month (unlimited views); prices in USD#5 in Website Popup Builder Software

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Cyprus). OptinMonster is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. Amazon servers in the US, per its standard contractual clauses.
  • Source code. Closed source, as OptinMonster is.

Best for: Small shops that want unlimited views at a flat price and Shopify cart actions

Getsitecontrol undercuts OptinMonster on the number that grows with your traffic. Free allows 10,000 widget views a month, Pro is $19 for 100,000 views and Pro Max is $29 with unlimited views, so a busy month cannot push you up a tier. Widgets include an AI builder, spin-to-win and scratch cards, and for Shopify stores a click can add an item to the cart and apply a discount.

The provider is Getwebcraft Limited in Nicosia, under Cypriot law and courts. Its terms also describe transfers of EU and UK customer data to Amazon servers in the US under standard contractual clauses, and they show a last update of 23 August 2023. Email sending is billed on top, from $1.40 per 1,000 emails on Pro Max.

What Getsitecontrol does better than OptinMonster

  • Unlimited widget views at $29 a month
  • A free plan with 10,000 views
  • Cypriot contract in place of Florida law

Where Getsitecontrol is a step down from OptinMonster

  • The terms describe transfers to Amazon servers in the US
  • Prices are in USD and email sending is extra
  • Terms last updated in 2023

Standout against OptinMonster. It is the only tool here that removes the view cap altogether at $29 a month.

getsitecontrol.com Visit Getsitecontrol
#6

Omnisend

for stores that would rather have the popup inside the email platform

Vilnius, LithuaniaFree plan (500 emails, 250 contacts, 500 web push notifications/month, no card); Standard from $11.20/month; Pro from $41.30/month, both with unlimited web push; Custom pricing above 150,000 contacts#1 in Push Notifications

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Lithuania). OptinMonster is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. Google Cloud Platform; no region named in the Data Processing Agreement.
  • Source code. Closed source, as OptinMonster is.

Best for: Ecommerce brands that want wheel forms and exit-intent popups on the same login as email and SMS

Omnisend replaces an OptinMonster plus email tool pairing with one account. Its forms page lists popups, teasers, flyouts, multi-step forms, landing pages and a Wheel of Fortune, with exit-intent targeting, countdown timers and AI form creation. A sign-up lands directly in the Omnisend list, so the integration layer that OptinMonster needs disappears.

Omnisend UAB is registered in Vilnius under legal entity code 302530363. The free plan has no card: 500 emails, 250 contacts and 500 web push notifications a month, and Standard starts at $11.20 a month. The Data Processing Agreement names Google Cloud Platform without a region, no security certification is published, and popup controls are fewer than at the dedicated builders.

What Omnisend does better than OptinMonster

  • Popup, email, SMS and web push share one account and one list
  • A permanent free plan without a card
  • Published legal entity code and a clear price from $11.20

Where Omnisend is a step down from OptinMonster

  • Fewer targeting rules than a dedicated popup builder
  • No hosting region named for Google Cloud
  • Prices are in dollars

Standout against OptinMonster. It is the only tool here with a Wheel of Fortune form on the same free plan as email and web push.

omnisend.com Visit Omnisend
#7

MailerLite

for small senders who want pop-ups next to a newsletter tool

Dublin, IrelandFree (250 subscribers, 2,500 emails/month) / Comfort from €9.90/month billed yearly#2 in Email Marketing

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Ireland). OptinMonster is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. EU.
  • Source code. Closed source, as OptinMonster is.
  • Independently checked. ISO/IEC 27001:2022.

Best for: Creators and small businesses that mostly want newsletter sign-ups from the site

MailerLite offers lightbox, slide-in, half-screen, floating and full-screen pop-ups, plus a spin-the-wheel option and a teaser that holds the pop-up back for likelier subscribers. Its pop-up page lists triggers by time on page, scroll depth or before closing a page, with frequency rules, page and device targeting and scheduling, and one-click display on WordPress, Squarespace and Shopify.

Customers with a billing address in the EEA, the UK or Switzerland contract with MailerLite Limited in Dublin under Irish law, according to the EP email marketing page. Which plan carries pop-ups is worth confirming in writing, since the EP pages differ on it. There is no A/B test or revenue attribution of the OptinMonster kind in what was checked.

What MailerLite does better than OptinMonster

  • Pop-up and newsletter share one subscriber list
  • Teaser and spin-the-wheel options are built in
  • Contract with an Irish entity for EEA customers
  • Scheduling and frequency rules are listed on the vendor page

Where MailerLite is a step down from OptinMonster

  • No revenue attribution described in the pages checked
  • Priced by subscribers, so dormant contacts cost money
  • Fewer targeting rules than a dedicated builder

Standout against OptinMonster. It is the only tool here with a teaser that keeps the pop-up for visitors most likely to subscribe.

mailerlite.com Visit MailerLite
#8

Sender.net

the cheapest way to get pop-ups on a free email plan

Vilnius, LithuaniaFree Forever: 2,500 subscribers, 15,000 emails/month / Standard from $6.30/month (500 subscribers, billed annually) / Professional from $10.50/month / Enterprise on request#9 in Newsletter Platforms

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Lithuania). OptinMonster is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Source code. Closed source, as OptinMonster is.

Best for: Newsletter starters who want free pop-ups and forms with a large free list allowance

Sender sells email marketing and lists free popups and forms on its homepage next to a Free Forever plan for 2,500 subscribers and up to 15,000 emails a month, with no daily limit. Paid Standard starts at $6.30 a month for 500 subscribers billed annually, and Professional at $10.50. For a site that only needs a single sign-up popup, that is a smaller bill than any OptinMonster plan.

The contracting entity is UAB Sender.lt in Vilnius, named in the legal pages rather than the marketing site. The pages checked do not describe popup targeting rules, A/B tests or integrations in detail, so treat this as a sign-up tool, not an OptinMonster substitute for conversion work. Prices are quoted in dollars.

What Sender.net does better than OptinMonster

  • Free popups and forms on a plan for 2,500 subscribers
  • Paid plans from $6.30 a month, billed annually
  • Lithuanian contract in place of Florida law

Where Sender.net is a step down from OptinMonster

  • Popup targeting is not documented in what was checked
  • Less feature depth than Brevo or GetResponse

Standout against OptinMonster. It is the only tool here that pairs free popups with 2,500 free subscribers.

sender.net Visit Sender.net
#9

GetResponse

for marketers who want trigger rules plus webinars and funnels in one account

Gdansk, PolandFree (500 contacts) / from about €16/month; automation from €54#3 in Email Marketing

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Poland). OptinMonster is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. EU data centres.
  • Source code. Closed source, as OptinMonster is.
  • Independently checked. GDPR.

Best for: Teams that already run email, landing pages and webinars and want popups to feed them

GetResponse puts a separate popup creator in its list-building menu: a drag-and-drop editor for popups, bars, lightboxes and banners, with more than 30 triggering rules and one embed code to manage everything. That rule count is higher than most of the email platforms on this page, and the EP card lists exit and inactivity among them, the triggers OptinMonster customers ask for.

GetResponse is a Polish company that has operated since 1998 and lists a free tier and a 14-day trial, with paid plans from around €15 a month. A long-standing platform, though large: the webinar, funnel and automation modules make the account heavier to learn. Popup A/B testing and revenue attribution were not confirmed on the page checked.

What GetResponse does better than OptinMonster

  • More than 30 trigger rules inside an email platform
  • Landing pages, funnels and webinars in the same account
  • Polish entity with more than 25 years of operation

Where GetResponse is a step down from OptinMonster

  • Popup A/B tests were not confirmed on the vendor page
  • Priced per contact, so list growth raises the bill
  • Heavy for a team that only wants a popup

Standout against OptinMonster. It is the only email platform here whose popup page advertises more than 30 trigger rules.

getresponse.com Visit GetResponse
#10

Brevo

a late arrival to popups that suits teams already sending through Brevo

Paris, FranceFree (300 emails/day, unlimited contacts) / from about €8/month#1 in Email Marketing

  • Which law reaches it. EU (France). OptinMonster is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. EU.
  • Source code. Closed source, as OptinMonster is.
  • Independently checked. GDPR.

Best for: Brevo users who want a sign-up popup without adding a separate tool

Brevo added pop-up forms in a release note dated 23 September 2025, with targeting by page and timed triggers, next to its embedded forms and landing pages. The note says the feature is for Pro and Enterprise clients, so check what your plan includes. For a store already sending email, SMS and WhatsApp through Brevo, it removes one subscription.

Brevo is a Paris company founded in 2012 that prices by emails sent, not by stored contacts. As a popup builder it is the thinnest option here, with page and timing rules but no coupon wheel, quiz or control-group testing in the pages checked. Pick it for consolidation, not as an OptinMonster rival.

What Brevo does better than OptinMonster

  • Popups, CRM, SMS and WhatsApp sit in one French platform
  • Unlimited contacts priced by emails sent
  • Contract and processing under French and EU law

Where Brevo is a step down from OptinMonster

  • Pop-up forms are limited to higher plans per the release note
  • No gamified popups in the pages checked

Standout against OptinMonster. It is the only tool here that puts the popup in the same account as a CRM and WhatsApp messaging.

brevo.com Visit Brevo

What actually breaks when you switch

Campaigns rarely move across. A campaign in OptinMonster combines a design, a trigger, a target and a destination, and none of these export to another vendor's editor, so you rebuild each live campaign by hand and re-run the tests. Start with the one or two that earn the most, run them in parallel for a week and compare sign-up rates before you switch the rest off. Copy the wording, discount codes and success messages out of the old campaigns first.

Check the plumbing before you cancel. Replace the integration to your email tool, the webhook or Zapier hooks, and any Google Analytics events, then test a real sign-up end to end. Agencies that use sub-accounts need one account per client in the new tool. The terms say OptinMonster does not have to keep your account data after cancellation, and the renewal is automatic, so note the renewal date and export campaign settings and results while the account is open.

What does OptinMonster cost after the first year?

The pricing page advertises an introductory rate and prints the renewal next to it. Basic renews at $210 a year, Plus at $570, Pro at $870 and Growth at $1,470, all in USD. Monthly billing exists, but the page says new plans are billed annually by default, and the cheapest figures belong to the annual option.

A fair comparison therefore sets the renewal price against European tools with a flat published price. Sleeknote shows EUR 49 a month on annual billing for up to 25,000 monthly visitors, OptiMonk lists Essential at $19 a month, and Getsitecontrol lists Pro Max with unlimited views at $29. The units differ (visitors, pageviews, widget views, impressions), so read each definition before you compare totals.

Can a European popup tool do exit intent and A/B tests like OptinMonster?

Yes, with different packaging. Wisepops lists exit intent on mobile and desktop and A/B/n tests with a control group. ChilliPopup puts A/B testing on every plan, Sleeknote includes A/B split testing and exit intent in its plans, and GetResponse lists more than 30 triggering rules in its popup creator.

What differs is the plan gating. OptinMonster ties Exit Intent to Pro. At the European vendors that publish prices, the same trigger sits in the base product, which changes the real cost for a small shop. Check that the trigger you rely on works on your phone traffic, because exit intent behaves differently on mobile.

Which one to pick

If you bought OptinMonster for stores, choose Wisepops when you can test against a control group, or OptiMonk when you want to start free and have a price list in front of you. Choose Sleeknote when stated European hosting, unlimited campaigns and phone support matter more than price. ChilliPopup and Getsitecontrol suit small sites that want to pay little or nothing.

If popups are only a way to grow a newsletter, use the email platform you already have: Omnisend for stores, MailerLite or Sender for small lists, GetResponse for trigger rules, Brevo for teams that send through it. OptinMonster stays stronger on template depth, integration count and the longer track record, and none of the ten matches its Growth plan feature for feature.

Frequently Asked Questions

For an online store with enough traffic to test, Wisepops from Paris is the nearest in scope, with popups, banners, web push and control-group experiments. OptiMonk from Hungary and Sleeknote from Denmark are the other two dedicated builders with deep targeting. For a small site on a budget, ChilliPopup from France and Getsitecontrol from Cyprus both have free plans, and the email platforms Omnisend, MailerLite, Sender, GetResponse and Brevo add popups to their sign-up forms.

The Terms of Service name Retyp, LLC, doing business as OptinMonster, as the owner and operator of the site and services. The terms are governed by the law of the State of Florida, with exclusive jurisdiction in the courts of West Palm Beach, Palm Beach County. The terms also say the site is controlled from facilities in the United States. No street address is given in the terms.

Not on its pricing page, which lists four paid plans (Basic, Plus, Pro and Growth) and an Enterprise option on request. Every plan carries a 14-day money-back guarantee, and the terms confirm a refund if you cancel within 14 days of opening the account. Free plans are available at ChilliPopup, OptiMonk and Getsitecontrol, and at Omnisend, MailerLite and Sender as part of an email platform.

By campaign impressions: the count goes up each time a visitor sees one of your campaigns. The vendor says it does not charge by site pageviews and recommends a plan with 20 to 30 percent more impressions than your pageviews. OptiMonk, in contrast, prices by pageviews, Sleeknote by monthly visitors, ChilliPopup by visitors and Getsitecontrol by widget views.

Usually not. OptinMonster sends sign-ups to your email platform, and a dedicated European popup tool such as Wisepops, Sleeknote or Getsitecontrol connects to the same platform. You only migrate subscribers if you also switch to Omnisend, MailerLite, Sender, GetResponse or Brevo, which build the popup into the email tool. In either case, rebuild the campaigns and check consent wording.

About the author

Every comparison page on European Purpose is researched and drafted with AI assistance, with the compliance and pricing claims checked against the vendor's own documentation, and is published under the editorial responsibility of its founder.

Sebastiaan Smits

Sebastiaan Smits

Founder · Amsterdam, Netherlands

Founder of European Purpose. Researches and writes the reviews and checks where each company is actually established.

Read our editorial process for how we source, verify and update these pages, and how paid placement works.

Explore More European Alternatives

Discover privacy-focused European alternatives to other popular US tech services.

More Website Popup Builder Software Browse All Categories