European Buy Now Pay Later Providers

A merchant BNPL provider takes the credit decision at checkout, pays the shop up front and collects from the shopper in instalments or on an invoice. Because the provider sees the buyer's identity, order and repayment behaviour, the legal entity behind it decides which regulator and which data protection regime applies. The twelve providers below contract through entities in the EU or the UK, and they split into consumer instalment tools and B2B trade-credit tools.

How we rank these tools — 4-step process
  1. 1
    European ownership, verified

    The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA, the UK, Switzerland or Israel, and processes customer data in Europe or Israel. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.

  2. 2
    Category fit and hands-on review

    What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.

  3. 3
    Compliance and pricing check

    GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.

  4. 4
    Position on this page

    Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect the order tools appear in. It never buys a listing: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Vendors can pay for more visibility, higher up on the review pages; it never affects whether a tool is listed. Editorial policy

12 European Buy Now Pay Later Providers

Alma

Instalment and pay-later checkout with published merchant fees

France
2x/3x/4x and pay later No set-up or monthly fee In-store and online

Mondu

B2B invoice, instalment and trade-account payments

Netherlands
Net 30 to 90 days Instalments 3, 6, 12 months Trade account

Scalapay

Interest-free pay in 3 or 4 for Italian and EU shops

Italy
Pay in 3 or 4 Pay-by-link Plugins and API

SeQura

Pay-later and instalment checkout built in Barcelona

Spain
Pay later up to 30 days Instalments up to 24 months Sector solutions

Billie

B2B pay later, pay in X and pay on account

Germany
Pay Later Pay in X Pay on Account

Two

B2B net terms with AI credit and fraud decisions

United Kingdom
Guest checkout credit Instalments 36+ months Risk-as-a-Service

Pledg

Payment facilities for web, shop and call centre

France
Online and in-store Crédit Agricole subsidiary Automatic reconciliation

Hokodo

Trade accounts and 30, 60 or 90 day terms for B2B

United Kingdom
Pay later 30/60/90 Instalments Trade accounts

Riverty

Bank-backed invoice, instalment and direct debit methods

Luxembourg
14 and 30 day invoice Pay in 3 Fixed instalments

Walley

Nordic checkout with invoice, instalments and Swish

Sweden
Pay now and later Swish, Vipps, MobilePay B2B checkout

Payl8r

FCA-regulated second-line retail finance for UK shops

United Kingdom
£50 to £3,000 3 to 24 months Open Banking checks

Zilch

UK card and wallet that sends shoppers to retailers

United Kingdom
Pay in 4 and 6 weeks Visa card and wallet Pay on purchase model

Key takeaways

  • Alma is the only provider in this category that prints its merchant rates, 3.60% excluding VAT for payment in 2 instalments and 4.20% for pay later at 15 days, while the other eleven ask for a contact form or a negotiation.
  • Mondu, Billie, Two and Hokodo serve company buyers, so a shop selling to private customers should look at Alma, Scalapay, SeQura, Pledg, Riverty or Walley instead.
  • Riverty Bank S.A. in Luxembourg and Norion Bank AB in Gothenburg are the two banks behind Riverty and Walley, which makes the credit counterparty a bank rather than a payment start-up.
  • Payl8r and Zilch are UK companies outside the EEA, covered by the UK adequacy decision, and both serve UK residents only.
  • Scalapay lists nine country sites and SeQura lists four, so Scalapay is the broader choice for a retailer selling across the euro area.

European buy now pay later providers are payment companies, each with a regulated entity in a European country, that let a shopper or a business buyer split a purchase or pay it later while the merchant is paid at once, and the European part matters because the lender, the regulator and the complaints route then sit in the same market as the customer.

European buy now pay later providers compared

European buy now pay later providers compared on position, country, entry price and best use
PositionToolEstablishedEntry priceBest for
#1 Alma France No set-up or monthly charge in the standard offer below €1M turnover; per-product rates sit on the pricing page, where 2 instalments show 3.60% excl. VAT and pay later at 15 days shows 4.20% Shops in France and the Benelux countries that want to read their rates before signing
#2 Mondu Netherlands No price list; each merchant agrees its own terms B2B shops, marketplaces and sales teams that invoice their customers
#3 Scalapay Italy No price list; the merchant page only offers a contact form Italian fashion, beauty and home shops that also want to sell in other euro-area countries
#4 SeQura Spain Not published Merchants in Spain, France, Italy and Portugal selling higher-priced goods or courses
#5 Billie Germany Fees are set in each merchant contract and not listed publicly B2B shops that already use Stripe, Adyen or Mollie and want to add invoice terms
#6 Two United Kingdom No price list; pricing follows a demo request B2B sellers that want invoice terms at checkout without their own credit-control team
#7 Pledg France No price list; pricing follows a demo request French travel, mobility, retail and leisure merchants selling by phone and in store as well as online
#8 Hokodo United Kingdom No price list; modules are billed on a 'pay for what you use' basis B2B marketplaces and suppliers of industrial, building and food products
#9 Riverty Luxembourg No price list; sales contact required Mid-size and large retailers that want invoice payment with collection handled by the same group
#10 Walley Sweden Not published Merchants in Sweden, Finland and Norway that want invoice credit from a bank
#11 Payl8r United Kingdom No price found on the pages checked UK shops whose higher-priced orders are refused by other lenders
#12 Zilch United Kingdom Retailers are charged per purchase at unpublished rates; shopper plans are Standard (free), Extra (£2.99 a month) and Plus (£4.99 a month) UK retailers who want to pay only when Zilch sends a completing customer

Every European buy now pay later provider reviewed

#1 Alma

Neuilly-sur-Seine, France No set-up or monthly charge in the standard offer below €1M turnover; per-product rates sit on the pricing page, where 2 instalments show 3.60% excl. VAT and pay later at 15 days shows 4.20% Demo on request

Best for: Shops in France and the Benelux countries that want to read their rates before signing

  • Operating company. Alma SAS
  • Jurisdiction. EU (France)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated for payment data
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Affirm, Oney, PayPal Pay in 3

Alma is the entry point for a European shop that wants to price a buy now pay later option without a sales call. The pricing page lists a rate for each payment product, states that the standard offer needs no application, set-up or monthly charge up to €1M of turnover, and says the shop is paid in full whether or not the shopper keeps to the plan. The rates rise for pay later and for American Express or business cards.

Alma SAS is registered in Neuilly-sur-Seine (RCS Nanterre 839 100 575), and its country selector lists eight countries from France to Portugal. The products are payment in 2, 3 or 4 instalments, pay later at 15 or 30 days and a cash payment. Its 10 and 12 instalment plans are still a waiting list, and there is no B2B offer, which the Alma page itself points to Mondu or Hokodo for.

What Alma does well

  • Publishes a fee for each payment product
  • No application, set-up or monthly charge in the standard offer
  • Pays the merchant in full even when shoppers are late
  • Handles online, store and payment-link sales
  • Free sandbox to test the integration

Where Alma falls short

  • Pay later and American Express or business cards cost more
  • The 10 to 12 instalment plan is a waiting list
  • No B2B terms, consumer sales only
  • Above €1M turnover the offer becomes custom

Standout feature. Alma gives a merchant a rate table before any conversation with sales.

#2 Mondu

Amsterdam, Netherlands No price list; each merchant agrees its own terms Demo on request

Best for: B2B shops, marketplaces and sales teams that invoice their customers

  • Operating company. Mondu Financial Services B.V.
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Netherlands)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Affirm BNPL for Business, in-house trade credit

Mondu covers the ways a business buyer pays: an invoice of 30 to 90 days, instalments over 3, 6 or 12 months, a digital trade account with one monthly statement, and an immediate account-to-account payment. In each case the seller receives the money up front, and the platform handles credit checks, dunning, reconciliation and links to ERP and CRM systems.

Mondu Financial Services B.V. is registered in Amsterdam (KvK 86653938) with an e-money institution licence from De Nederlandsche Bank, number R193672, and notes an FCA registration for the UK. The pages checked give no founding year and no fees. One unusual lever: a seller can approve an order Mondu declines and accept the non-payment risk itself.

What Mondu does well

  • Dutch e-money licence with the number printed
  • Invoice, instalments, trade account and immediate payment under one agreement
  • Seller paid up front
  • Seller may accept an order Mondu would decline
  • Dunning, reconciliation and ERP links included

Where Mondu falls short

  • Fees are not listed
  • Business buyers only
  • Payout terms differ per merchant
  • Founding year and headquarters not on the pages read

Standout feature. Mondu is the one provider where the seller can overrule a credit decline and take the risk.

#3 Scalapay

Milan, Italy No price list; the merchant page only offers a contact form Demo on request

Best for: Italian fashion, beauty and home shops that also want to sell in other euro-area countries

  • Operating company. SCALAPAY S.R.L.
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Italy)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Affirm Pay in 4, PayPal Pay in 3

Scalapay offers the plainest version of the product: the shopper picks it at checkout, opens an account in a couple of minutes and pays in three or four instalments without interest on a Visa, Mastercard or American Express card. Per its merchant page, the shop gets the full amount at once and Scalapay absorbs the risk of missed payments.

SCALAPAY S.R.L. has its seat at Via Nervesa 21 in Milan (REA MI-2606390). The country picker offers Italy, France, Germany, Spain, Portugal, Austria, Belgium, the Netherlands and Finland. Online shops use plugins or the developer portal, and physical shops use a barcode that the customer shows at the counter. Merchant counts on the site disagree, so none is quoted here.

What Scalapay does well

  • Shoppers pay in 3 or 4 without interest
  • The merchant receives the whole amount at once
  • Pay-by-link for sales over message or email
  • Nine country sites
  • Plugins and a developer portal

Where Scalapay falls short

  • No fees shown, only a contact form
  • Instalments only, no invoice option
  • Partner counts differ between its own pages
  • The most detailed merchant text is in Italian

Standout feature. Scalapay reaches nine European country sites from a single merchant contract in Milan.

#4 SeQura

Barcelona, Spain Not published Demo on request

Best for: Merchants in Spain, France, Italy and Portugal selling higher-priced goods or courses

  • Operating company. SEQURA WORLDWIDE, S.A.
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Spain)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Affirm, Aplazame

SeQura stretches the payment beyond the short split: pay later up to 30 days, monthly instalments up to 24 months and a split in 3, plus recurring plans for subscriptions. It also ships vertical packages, such as eduQa for course sellers, optiQa for opticians who bill glasses monthly, and a travel offer with up to 12 instalments including international flights.

The legal notice names SEQURA WORLDWIDE, S.A., tax number A66054164, at Calle Alí Bei 7-9 in Barcelona. The consumer pages carry a Spain, France, Italy and Portugal selector, and the merchant page says Germany and the US are coming. Several financial-service documents show as pending on the legal page, and no fees appear anywhere.

What SeQura does well

  • Pay later and plans reaching 24 months
  • Separate packages for education, optical, travel and repair sellers
  • Online, in-store and phone sales covered
  • Barcelona company with a register entry
  • Sandbox login available

Where SeQura falls short

  • Coverage limited to southern Europe for now
  • Fees not published
  • Some legal documents marked as pending
  • The cashback app is not relevant to every shop

Standout feature. SeQura sells ready-made payment packages for course providers, opticians and travel sellers.

#5 Billie

Berlin, Germany Founded 2017 Fees are set in each merchant contract and not listed publicly Demo on request

Best for: B2B shops that already use Stripe, Adyen or Mollie and want to add invoice terms

  • Operating company. Billie GmbH
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Germany
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Klarna, PayPal Invoice, trade credit/factoring

Billie pays the merchant immediately for every order and carries the buyer's payment risk itself. It offers three checkout choices for a business customer: Pay Later with net terms after delivery, Pay in X as instalments, and Pay on Account as a standing credit line. It is not a card processor, which is why it appears inside Stripe, Adyen, Mollie and Klarna as a payment method.

Billie GmbH is registered in Berlin (Amtsgericht Charlottenburg, HRB 182428 B), supervised by BaFin, and states Germany as its data location. It was incorporated in December 2016 and renamed Billie in March 2017. The company reports more than €3 billion in volume, over 9,000 merchants and 1.3 million active business buyers; those are its own figures.

What Billie does well

  • Seller is paid upfront whatever the buyer does
  • Pay later, instalments or a trade account at checkout
  • BaFin supervision in Germany
  • Appears as a payment method in Stripe, Adyen, Mollie and Klarna
  • Self-reported scale of 9,000 merchants and 1.3 million buyers

Where Billie falls short

  • Fees are set per contract and not listed
  • Business invoices only, no consumer or card processing
  • Credit and fraud checks add underwriting work
  • Younger and smaller than card and bank-transfer processors

Standout feature. Billie turns B2B invoice credit into a payment method that sits inside processors a shop already uses.

#6 Two

London, United Kingdom No price list; pricing follows a demo request Demo on request

Best for: B2B sellers that want invoice terms at checkout without their own credit-control team

  • Operating company. Two B2B Ltd (trading as Two)
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Affirm BNPL for Business, manual invoicing and trade credit

Two sells order-to-cash automation for business sales: the buyer gets terms in seconds, Two raises the invoice, sends reminders and collects, and the seller is paid upfront. Guest buyers need no sign-up, repeat buyers can use a trade account, and a separate instalments product spreads large orders across 36 or more months with the seller paid in full.

The buyer terms identify TWO B2B LTD, registered in England and Wales (company number 13078389) at 4 Crown Place in London, and the company lists offices in Oslo, London, Glasgow and Stockholm. Two names its credit engine Delphi and its fraud engine Frida, and quotes figures such as €1B+ in volume and 19 markets, all of which are its own statements.

What Two does well

  • Guest buyers get terms without registering
  • Seller paid upfront while Two takes the default risk
  • Instalments reach 36 months and beyond
  • Collection and reminders automated
  • Offices in Oslo, London and Stockholm

Where Two falls short

  • Pricing only after a demo request
  • Business buyers only
  • Merchant-side contracting entity not found on the pages read
  • Volume and performance numbers come from Two itself

Standout feature. Two extends invoice terms to a buyer who has never ordered before and never signed up.

#7 Pledg

Paris, France No price list; pricing follows a demo request Demo on request

Best for: French travel, mobility, retail and leisure merchants selling by phone and in store as well as online

  • Operating company. Pledg SAS
  • Jurisdiction. EU (France)
  • Where the data sits. Website hosted by OVH in France; where payment data is stored is not stated
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Affirm, Oney, Alma

Pledg presents payment as a configurable facility rather than one fixed button. The merchant picks the channel (web, store or call centre), the payment method and the schedule, from a split in 2, 3 or 4 to a deferred payment. Pledg says it runs scoring, collections, refunds and accounting reconciliation, and the shop is paid immediately for the full purchase.

Pledg SAS is at 55 rue de la Boétie in Paris (RCS Paris B 823 495 544), and since February 2024 it has been wholly owned by Crédit Agricole Personal Finance & Mobility, which operates the Sofinco brand. The legal notice names OVH in Roubaix as host of the website. The site is in French, shows no fees and lists no countries.

What Pledg does well

  • Owned by a French bank group (Crédit Agricole Personal Finance & Mobility)
  • Online, in-store and call-centre sales
  • Immediate payout and refunds handled by Pledg
  • Accounting reconciliation done automatically
  • Scoring and collections run in-house

Where Pledg falls short

  • Site is in French
  • No fees or country list given
  • Real estate and services verticals marked coming soon
  • Consumer credit only

Standout feature. Pledg sells the same split-payment facility through web checkout, shop counters and call-centre scripts.

#8 Hokodo

London, United Kingdom No price list; modules are billed on a 'pay for what you use' basis Demo on request

Best for: B2B marketplaces and suppliers of industrial, building and food products

  • Operating company. Hokodo Services Limited (with Hokodo SAS and UAB Hokodo)
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Affirm BNPL for Business, manual credit applications

Hokodo offers a short product list for business buyers: 30, 60 or 90 day terms, trade accounts with one consolidated invoice per billing period, instalments paid monthly or every two weeks, and a plan that takes part of the sum now and part later in one checkout. It states that the payments are insured through Lloyd's of London, and merchants pay only for the modules they use.

The footer lists three entities in three countries: Hokodo Services Limited with FCA registration 969484, Hokodo SAS on the ORIAS register (19001909) as an insurance intermediary, and UAB Hokodo, an e-money institution licensed by the Bank of Lithuania (licence 44). The terms PDF was not read, so which entity a merchant signs with is open.

What Hokodo does well

  • FCA, ORIAS and Bank of Lithuania registrations listed
  • Terms of 30, 60 or 90 days and trade accounts
  • Lloyd's of London insurance, as the site says
  • Pay for the modules you use
  • Privacy policy offered in Spanish

Where Hokodo falls short

  • No public pricing
  • It must be confirmed which entity contracts with the merchant
  • Business buyers only
  • Conversion and order-value claims are its own

Standout feature. Hokodo says insurers, not its own balance sheet, stand behind the payment risk.

#9 Riverty

Luxembourg, Luxembourg No price list; sales contact required Demo on request

Best for: Mid-size and large retailers that want invoice payment with collection handled by the same group

  • Operating company. Riverty Bank S.A.
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Luxembourg)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Affirm Pay in 4 and instalment loans

Riverty covers the checkout and what comes after it. The payment side lists invoice at 14 or 30 days, monthly invoice, fixed instalments, pay in 3 and direct debit, and the same group also offers debt collection, purchase of debts, factoring and invoicing as a service. A merchant can keep a late invoice inside one supplier from the first reminder to the collection case.

The buyer terms name Riverty Bank S.A., 43 Boulevard Pierre Frieden in Luxembourg, as the party that provides the invoice and direct-debit methods with the merchant. The group grew from a Bertelsmann finance arm and traded as Arvato Financial Solutions, AfterPay and Paigo before the Riverty name in 2022. The business site claims over 7,000 retailers and 32 locations.

What Riverty does well

  • A named Luxembourg bank as contract party
  • Invoice, monthly invoice, instalments, pay in 3 and direct debit
  • Collection and factoring in the same group
  • Reached through Mollie and Adyen
  • 32 locations across Europe, as the site states

Where Riverty falls short

  • Merchant fees not published
  • The wide range lengthens onboarding
  • Several former brand names to trace
  • Consumer credit rules vary by country

Standout feature. Riverty keeps checkout credit, collections and factoring under one roof.

#10 Walley

Gothenburg, Sweden Not published Demo on request

Best for: Merchants in Sweden, Finland and Norway that want invoice credit from a bank

  • Operating company. Norion Bank AB (brand Walley)
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Sweden)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Affirm checkout

Walley is the payments brand of Norion Bank AB, whose privacy notice names the bank as data controller and lists three brands: Norion Bank, Walley and Collector. A merchant can switch on pay now and pay later options, instalment variants, cards and invoices, together with Swish, Vipps and MobilePay. A separate B2B checkout is listed, and shoppers can postpone or split a purchase in the Walley app.

The Walley address is Lilla Bommens Torg 11 in Gothenburg and the organisation number is 556597-0513. A 2023 notice on the site refers to Collector Bank AB, the earlier name. The country choices are Sweden, Finland and Norway, nearly all pages are in Swedish and no price is shown.

What Walley does well

  • Run by a Swedish bank (Norion Bank AB)
  • Local methods Swish, Vipps and MobilePay next to invoice and instalments
  • A B2B checkout exists
  • The app lets shoppers move due dates
  • Merchant hub and developer portal

Where Walley falls short

  • Pages are largely in Swedish
  • Prices are not shown
  • Only the Nordic countries
  • Contracts follow a bank group with other brands

Standout feature. Walley puts Swish, Vipps and MobilePay in the same checkout as bank-run credit.

#11 Payl8r

United Kingdom, United Kingdom No price found on the pages checked Demo on request

Best for: UK shops whose higher-priced orders are refused by other lenders

  • Operating company. Social Money Ltd (trading as Payl8r)
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Affirm instalment loans, Zilch

Payl8r lends £50 to £3,000 over 3 to 24 months and positions itself as a first or second line: it takes applications another lender has declined. It runs real-time affordability checks through Open Banking, can make a counter offer with a different amount, and states a guaranteed payout to merchants within one business day, with no turnover threshold.

Social Money Ltd trades as Payl8r, registered in England (company number 08054296) and FCA-authorised under reference 675283. Merchants become introducer appointed representatives under its permissions, which avoids a credit licence of their own, but they must sign an agreement and complete training. They need a UK limited company or sole trader with three months of trading. The pricing page was not read.

What Payl8r does well

  • FCA reference number stated
  • Second-line lending for declined applicants
  • Merchant needs no credit licence of its own
  • Payout within one business day, as stated
  • Open Banking affordability checks

Where Payl8r falls short

  • Merchants in the UK only
  • Orders capped at £3,000
  • Shoppers take regulated loans, not interest-free splits
  • Agreement and training needed before go-live

Standout feature. Payl8r lends to applicants who have already been turned down elsewhere.

#12 Zilch

London, United Kingdom Founded 2018 Retailers are charged per purchase at unpublished rates; shopper plans are Standard (free), Extra (£2.99 a month) and Plus (£4.99 a month) Demo on request

Best for: UK retailers who want to pay only when Zilch sends a completing customer

  • Operating company. Zilch Technology Limited
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Affirm, Clearpay

Zilch is a wallet and Visa card first and a checkout module second. Shoppers get a digital or physical card, so it works wherever Visa is accepted and can sit in Apple Pay or Google Pay, with credit from £50 to £4,500 and a representative APR of 14.9% shown on the UK page. The plans are pay now, pay over 6 weeks and pay over 3 months.

Zilch Technology Limited is registered in England and Wales (company number 11488502) at 111 Buckingham Palace Road, London, authorised by the FCA, and says it was founded in 2018. Its retailer page says retailers pay nothing unless a customer buys, needs no integration and works through affiliate-style tracking, naming QVC, Iceland and Morrisons. The claim of more than 3 million customers is its own.

What Zilch does well

  • Retailer charged only on completed purchases
  • Usable anywhere Visa is accepted
  • FCA-authorised UK company with a number
  • Works inside Apple Pay and Google Pay
  • Rewards for paying members bring shoppers back

Where Zilch falls short

  • UK residents only
  • Retailer rates are not published
  • Little control over the shopper journey
  • Shoppers carry APR and fees

Standout feature. Zilch bills the retailer only for purchases, since the card brings its own shoppers.

How do I choose between the twelve providers?

Start with who your buyer is. If the customer is a private shopper, the candidates are Alma, Scalapay, SeQura, Pledg, Riverty, Walley and, for UK residents, Payl8r and Zilch. If the customer is a company, the candidates are Mondu, Billie, Two and Hokodo. That single question removes about half the list.

Then check the market. Alma lists eight country selectors, Scalapay nine, SeQura Spain, France, Italy and Portugal, Walley Sweden, Finland and Norway. Pledg is a French-language site with no country list. A retailer in one country can pick the specialist for that country, and a retailer in several will likely need two contracts.

Last, ask how you will find the price. Alma is the only provider that shows rates. For everyone else, count on a demo and a quote before you can compare.

How does pricing work, and what do these providers charge?

Consumer providers charge the merchant a percentage of each financed order. Alma's table shows 3.60% excluding VAT for payment in 2 instalments and 4.20% for pay later at 15 days, with rates rising for American Express and business cards and a customised offer above €1M turnover. Zilch charges retailers per completed purchase and does not list a rate.

The B2B providers price against the credit risk they take. Billie negotiates fees per contract, Hokodo bills by module, and Mondu, Two and Riverty give figures only after a conversation. Shoppers can pay too: Zilch shows Standard at no charge, Extra at £2.99 a month and Plus at £4.99 a month for its consumer plans, and Payl8r's loans are regulated credit, not interest-free splits.

Which providers are regulated, and by whom?

Each page names its legal entity, which is the first thing to read in a contract. Mondu Financial Services B.V. holds a Dutch e-money institution licence, number R193672, issued by De Nederlandsche Bank. Billie GmbH is supervised by BaFin in Germany. Riverty Bank S.A. is in Luxembourg and Norion Bank AB, behind Walley, is in Sweden.

Hokodo is spread over three entities: Hokodo Services Limited with an FCA registration, Hokodo SAS on the ORIAS register as an insurance intermediary, and UAB Hokodo, a Lithuanian e-money institution. Payl8r and Zilch are FCA-authorised. Pledg, owned by Crédit Agricole Personal Finance & Mobility, is a French SAS, and its pages do not name a regulator.

Data location is the weak spot. Billie states Germany, Pledg states OVH hosting in France for its website, and the others do not say where payment data lives.

How do I move from Affirm to a European provider?

Affirm lists the United States, Canada, Australia and the United Kingdom as its shopper regions and describes its loans as made by US lending partners, so a euro-area shop usually is not migrating shoppers but adding a first instalment option. The task is then to pick a provider that approves local cards and bank accounts.

Integration is manageable. Alma, Scalapay and SeQura publish a sandbox or developer portal, Billie plugs into Stripe, Adyen, Mollie and Klarna, and Riverty reaches merchants through Mollie and Adyen. Payl8r requires a signed introducer agreement and training before it goes live. Expect existing Affirm plans for UK or US shoppers to run to term next to the new provider.

When should I not switch to a European provider?

If most of your shoppers are in the United States, Canada or Australia, the European providers on this list do not serve them. Payl8r and Zilch accept only UK residents, Alma and Scalapay list European countries, and the Nordic bank Walley covers three. A shop with a global audience will keep a second provider.

Also hold back when you cannot yet tolerate a sales process. Eleven of the twelve providers publish no rates, and Hokodo and Two leave open which entity signs a merchant contract. If you need a price list this week, Alma is the one place to start.

Which providers fit a B2B seller?

Mondu offers invoice terms of 30 to 90 days, instalments over 3, 6 or 12 months and a trade account, and lets the seller approve orders Mondu declines. Billie gives Pay Later, Pay in X and Pay on Account, with the seller paid upfront. Two adds guest-buyer credit and instalments beyond 36 months. Hokodo offers 30, 60 and 90 day terms with insurance backing it states on its site.

Riverty and Walley also list business offers, though their core is consumer credit. Their B2B pages are less detailed than the four specialists.

How we selected and ranked these 12 tools

Every tool on this page is in the European Purpose directory, which means the operating company is established in Europe and we have verified that from the company register or the vendor's own legal notice rather than from a marketing page. Tools headquartered outside Europe are not eligible, however good they are.

  1. Feature verification (weight: 40%). We check each capability against the vendor's own documentation and product pages, and record what the tool does rather than what the category is assumed to include.
  2. Ease of adoption (weight: 30%). Integrations, published API access, trial availability and how much configuration stands between signing and a usable result.
  3. Value and transparency (weight: 30%). Published pricing counts in a vendor's favour; quote-only pricing is recorded as quote-only rather than estimated. We weigh what a buyer gets for the entry price, not the headline feature count.
  4. Editorial review. Every page is researched and drafted with AI assistance, and the compliance and pricing claims are checked against the vendor's documentation before it is published under the founder's editorial responsibility. The three weights above decide the order; a position is a ranking against the other European tools in this category, not an absolute score.

Vendor-reported outcomes — ROI figures, margin uplift, time saved — are labelled as vendor claims wherever they appear on this page. We have not audited them, and neither has anyone else who quotes them. Read our full editorial process for how pages are re-verified.

Frequently asked questions

It depends on who pays. For private shoppers in the euro area, Alma is the clearest on price, Scalapay covers the most countries and SeQura offers plans up to 24 months. For company buyers, Mondu, Billie, Two and Hokodo offer invoice terms. For the Nordics, Walley is run by a Swedish bank. The directory ranks Alma first because it publishes its fees.

Alma does, on its pricing page: 3.60% excluding VAT for payment in 2 instalments and 4.20% for pay later at 15 days, with no set-up or monthly charge for turnover up to €1M. Mondu, Scalapay, SeQura, Billie, Two, Pledg, Hokodo, Riverty, Walley and Payl8r do not publish rates, and Zilch publishes none either.

They are UK companies, not EU ones. Payl8r (Social Money Ltd) and Zilch Technology Limited are both FCA-authorised, and the UK holds an adequacy decision for data transfers from the EU, but both serve UK residents only. Merchants in the euro area should look at Alma, Scalapay, SeQura, Pledg or Riverty instead.

According to their own pages, the provider carries it at Alma, Scalapay, Pledg, Billie, Two and Mondu, which pay the shop up front. Hokodo says its payments are insured through Lloyd's of London. Mondu is the exception that lets a seller take an order the provider would decline, in which case the seller bears that risk.

Pledg covers online, in-store and call-centre sales. Scalapay offers pay-by-link and a barcode flow at the counter, and Alma has a payment-link flow for the cashier. SeQura lists online, in-store and assisted sales. Payl8r sends finance links by email from its merchant portal, which suits phone sales in the UK.