Payl8r
FCA-authorised UK retail finance that works as a first or second line, lending £50 to £3,000 over 3 to 24 months
Quick Overview
| Company | Social Money Ltd (trading as Payl8r) |
|---|---|
| Category | Buy Now Pay Later Providers |
| Headquarters | United Kingdom, United Kingdom |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - United Kingdom |
| Data Location | Not stated |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes (UK GDPR) |
| Self-Hosting | No |
| Main Features | Loans £50 to £3,000, 3 to 24 months, first-line and second-line finance, Open Banking affordability checks, counter offers, payment links, plugins, merchant portal, one-day payout |
| Pricing | Not published on the pages checked |
| Best For | UK retailers whose higher-ticket customers are declined by other lenders |
| Replaces | Affirm instalment loans, Zilch |
Detailed Review
The terms and conditions identify Social Money Ltd trading as Payl8r, registered in England under company number 08054296, authorised and regulated by the FCA (reference 675283). Unlike a pay-in-3 button, it is regulated lending that spans £50 to £3,000 over 3 to 24 months.
Its second-line positioning is the distinctive part: it takes applications that another lender has declined.
Introducer model
A merchant does not need its own credit licence: it becomes an introducer appointed representative under Payl8r's FCA permissions, signs an agreement and completes compliance training on advertising finance. Requirements are a UK limited company or sole trader with three months of trading, a website or storefront, and an average order value under £3,000.
Approvals and payouts
Payl8r runs real-time affordability checks using Open Banking, can make a counter offer with a different amount, and states a guaranteed payout to merchants within one business day. It has no turnover threshold.
Integration
Online shops add it through plugins or bespoke developer support, while shops that sell in person or by phone send finance links by email from the merchant portal.
Limitations to Consider
Payl8r serves only UK-based B2C merchants, so it is useless for a euro-area shop, and its loans are regulated credit rather than interest-free splits. The pricing page was not read for this review, and the IAR set-up needs a signed agreement and training before go-live. For a euro-area alternative with a public fee table see Alma.
Who Should Use Payl8r
UK retailers and service businesses selling items between £50 and £3,000 who want to recover customers other lenders turned down.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- FCA-authorised with a stated reference number
- Second-line finance catches declined applicants
- No merchant licence needed (IAR route)
- One-business-day payout stated
- Open Banking affordability checks
Cons
- UK merchants only
- Maximum £3,000 order value
- Regulated loans, not interest-free splits
- Setup needs agreement and training
Alternatives to Payl8r
Other European buy now pay later providers worth comparing before you decide:
Alma
France · Instalment and pay-later checkout with published merchant fees
Mondu
Netherlands · B2B invoice, instalment and trade-account payments
Scalapay
Italy · Interest-free pay in 3 or 4 for Italian and EU shops
SeQura
Spain · Pay-later and instalment checkout built in Barcelona
See all European buy now pay later providers or compare them directly against Affirm instalment loans on our alternatives page.
Frequently Asked Questions
It can: Payl8r describes both first-line and second-line use, the second line working alongside an existing provider by taking its declines.
Finance from £50 to £3,000 over 3 to 24 months, and merchants should have average orders under £3,000.
The pages checked describe UK merchants and UK retail finance only.