Riverty
Bertelsmann-rooted payment group whose invoice and instalment methods run through a Luxembourg bank
Quick Overview
| Company | Riverty Bank S.A. |
|---|---|
| Category | Buy Now Pay Later Providers |
| Headquarters | Luxembourg, Luxembourg |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - Luxembourg (EU) |
| Data Location | Not stated |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes |
| Self-Hosting | No |
| Main Features | 14 and 30 day invoice, monthly invoice, fixed instalments, pay in 3, direct debit, free-flow parking payments, ticket payments, debt collection, factoring, invoicing as a service |
| Pricing | Not published; contact sales |
| Best For | Mid-size and large retailers that want invoice payment with collections included |
| Replaces | Affirm Pay in 4 and instalment loans |
Detailed Review
Riverty's buyer terms name Riverty Bank S.A., 43 Boulevard Pierre Frieden, Luxembourg, as the party that offers Riverty Invoice or Riverty Direct Debit in cooperation with the merchant. The company's history page says a Luxembourg bank was established in 2026.
The group grew out of a finance arm of Bertelsmann's printing services, later trading as Arvato Financial Solutions, AfterPay and Paigo before the single Riverty brand in 2022.
More than a checkout button
Riverty's merchant range covers payment methods (14 and 30 day invoice, monthly invoice, fixed instalments, pay in 3, direct debit), but also free-flow parking and ticket payments, debt collection and purchase of debts, factoring and invoicing as a service. A merchant can keep the unpaid-invoice stage inside one supplier.
Scale
The business site cites over 7,000 retailers, more than a billion transactions a year and 32 locations across Europe. It also says that in 2024 it widened its BNPL reach through partnerships with Mollie and Adyen.
Regulatory frame
The shopper-facing terms describe credit checks and the consumer credit directive CCD2 and mention tools such as age verification.
Limitations to Consider
Riverty publishes no fees and its merchant pages stress breadth rather than a single simple product, so onboarding is a sales process. The same group that offers BNPL also runs debt collection, which some shops prefer to keep separate. It is a large organisation, so smaller challengers such as Alma may offer a shorter path for a small shop.
Who Should Use Riverty
Retailers with volume across Europe that want invoice and instalment methods plus dunning from a bank-backed group.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Contract with a named Luxembourg bank
- Invoice, monthly invoice, instalments, pay in 3, direct debit
- Collection and factoring in the same group
- Integrations with Mollie and Adyen
- 32 European locations
Cons
- No published merchant fees
- Broad range means longer onboarding
- Brand history includes several former names
- Consumer credit rules differ per country
Alternatives to Riverty
Other European buy now pay later providers worth comparing before you decide:
Alma
France · Instalment and pay-later checkout with published merchant fees
Mondu
Netherlands · B2B invoice, instalment and trade-account payments
Scalapay
Italy · Interest-free pay in 3 or 4 for Italian and EU shops
SeQura
Spain · Pay-later and instalment checkout built in Barcelona
See all European buy now pay later providers or compare them directly against Affirm Pay in 4 and instalment loans on our alternatives page.
Frequently Asked Questions
The buyer terms name Riverty Bank S.A. in Luxembourg.
Its history page lists Arvato Financial Solutions, AfterPay and Paigo among the brands brought together as Riverty in 2022.
Riverty's about page says it widened its BNPL offer in 2024 through partnerships with Mollie and Adyen.