Pledg
French payment-facility provider owned by a Crédit Agricole finance arm, covering web, shop and call centre
Quick Overview
| Company | Pledg SAS |
|---|---|
| Category | Buy Now Pay Later Providers |
| Headquarters | Paris, France |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - France (EU) |
| Data Location | Website hosted by OVH in France; payment data location not stated |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes |
| Self-Hosting | No |
| Main Features | Split payment in 2, 3 or 4, deferred payment, online, in-store and call-centre channels, scoring, collections, payment-data reporting, refund handling, accounting reconciliation, documentation |
| Pricing | Not published; demo request |
| Best For | French travel, mobility, retail and leisure merchants that sell by phone or in store as well as online |
| Replaces | Affirm, Oney, Alma |
Detailed Review
The legal notice of pledg.co names Pledg SAS, 55 rue de la Boétie, Paris, registered at the RCS Paris under number 823 495 544, with the website hosted by OVH in Roubaix. A banner explains that since February 2024 Pledg is wholly owned by Crédit Agricole Personal Finance & Mobility, which operates the Sofinco brand.
The proposition is a configurable payment facility rather than a fixed checkout button: the merchant picks the channel, the payment method and the schedule.
One scoring and collections stack
Pledg describes four functional blocks: administration (payment data, reports and KPIs), collecting (automatic and human recovery, communications and direct-debit retries), scoring (covering the risk of non-payment, default, fraud and insolvency) and payment (the payment means supported for a facility). It says its algorithms weigh more than 100 criteria.
Three channels
Online and marketplace sellers, shops that want facilities at the till, and teams selling by phone each have a separate page. The merchant is paid immediately for the full purchase and accounting reconciliation is automatic, with refund handling done by Pledg.
Sectors
Mobility and travel, retail, hotels and accommodation, and leisure and sport are live verticals, with real estate and services marked as coming soon.
Limitations to Consider
The site is in French and the product pages are marketing-level with no fee table or country list, so a non-French merchant must ask for cover outside France. The blog examples are dated 2022 and 2023. Pledg describes no B2B product, and shoppers' credit decisions sit with a bank-owned group rather than a standalone fintech, which suits some merchants and not others.
Who Should Use Pledg
French merchants in travel, mobility, retail and leisure that want a configurable instalment product with a bank-group parent.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Bank-group ownership (Crédit Agricole Personal Finance & Mobility)
- Covers online, store and call centre
- Merchant paid immediately, refunds handled
- Automatic accounting reconciliation
- Scoring and collection run by the provider
Cons
- French-language site
- No published fees or country list
- Sector pages for real estate and services still coming soon
- Consumer credit only
Alternatives to Pledg
Other European buy now pay later providers worth comparing before you decide:
Alma
France · Instalment and pay-later checkout with published merchant fees
Mondu
Netherlands · B2B invoice, instalment and trade-account payments
Scalapay
Italy · Interest-free pay in 3 or 4 for Italian and EU shops
SeQura
Spain · Pay-later and instalment checkout built in Barcelona
See all European buy now pay later providers or compare them directly against Affirm on our alternatives page.
Frequently Asked Questions
According to the banner on its own site, Pledg has been a 100% subsidiary of Crédit Agricole Personal Finance & Mobility since February 2024.
Yes, there is a call-centre offer alongside the online and in-store ones.
No. The pages checked invite merchants to request a demo.