European Alternatives to Acuity Scheduling
Looking for a European alternative to Acuity Scheduling? Acuity is a Squarespace product: customers in the United States contract with Squarespace, Inc. under New York law, customers elsewhere with Squarespace Ireland Limited under Irish law, and the privacy policy says personal data is transferred to Squarespace, Inc. in the US and may sit on servers there.
Eleven European booking tools cover the job for coaches, clinics, salons, studios and consultancies: companies in Germany, the Netherlands, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Switzerland and the United Kingdom, from free plans to salon systems with a till.
How we rank these tools — 4-step process
-
1
European ownership, verified
The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA or Switzerland, and processes customer data in Europe. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.
-
2
Category fit and hands-on review
What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.
-
3
Compliance and pricing check
GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.
-
4
Position on this page
Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. It never buys a good review: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Paid placement can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. Editorial policy
11 European Alternatives to Acuity Scheduling
meetergo
German scheduling with video, CRM and forms, a free plan, and paid plans from €9.90 a user a month
SimplyBook.me
Cypriot booking system with a free plan of 50 bookings and no transaction fees
SuperSaaS
Dutch booking priced by future appointments, not seats, with a free plan
Bookwhen
English booking for classes and sessions, with a free plan and plans from €12 a month
TIMIFY
Munich scheduling with a free Classic plan and Premium at €25 a month on yearly billing
cituro
Augsburg booking with plans from €17 a month and a 14-day trial without a card
Reservio
Brno booking system with a free plan, memberships and credit passes on higher plans
Calenso
Swiss booking for advisory firms, servers only in Switzerland, prices on request
Doodle
Zurich scheduler known for meeting polls, with booking pages under Swiss law
Terminland
Wiesbaden booking where most extras are priced as add-ons, with a free trial
Shore
Munich salon system combining booking, customer records and a till, from €59.90 a month
Key takeaways
- Acuity is a Squarespace product: Squarespace, Inc. and New York law for US customers, Squarespace Ireland Limited and Irish law for the rest, with personal data transferred to the US.
- Six of the eleven tools list a free plan: meetergo, SimplyBook.me, SuperSaaS, Bookwhen, TIMIFY and Reservio.
- meetergo (Germany) adds video calls, CRM and forms to scheduling, from a free plan up to €49.90 a user a month on yearly billing.
- SuperSaaS (Amsterdam) charges by future appointments, with unlimited staff, and keeps data on servers in the Netherlands and elsewhere in the EU and EEA.
- Shore is a salon system with a till, from €59.90 a month, and Terminland prices most extras as add-ons, so both fit narrower cases.
Why people leave Acuity Scheduling
Acuity Scheduling is booking software for people who sell their time: coaches, therapists, tutors, photographers, salons. Clients pick a slot on a page, pay or leave a deposit, get reminders, and the appointment lands in your calendar. On its pricing page it asks $16 a month for Starter (1 calendar, billed yearly), $27 for Standard (6 calendars, text reminders, packages and memberships) and $49 for Premium (36 calendars), with a 7-day trial and no card needed.
It is a Squarespace company, bought in 2019. Squarespace's terms put customers in the United States under Squarespace, Inc. and New York law, and everyone else under Squarespace Ireland Limited and Irish law. So an EU customer does sign with an Irish company. The catch is in the privacy policy: personal data is transferred to Squarespace, Inc. in the US under the Data Privacy Frameworks, and may be held on servers there.
This page is about the narrower question of where booking data goes. Eleven European tools do the same job, from companies in Germany, the Netherlands, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Two of them are Swiss and one is British, so three of the eleven sit outside the EU, with their own legal setups.
- The contract may be Irish, the data still goes to the US Outside the United States, Acuity customers contract with Squarespace Ireland Limited in Dublin. That helps with governing law. It does not decide where the booking data sits: the privacy policy says personal data is transferred to Squarespace, Inc. in the US under the Data Privacy Frameworks and may be stored on servers there. A client's name, phone number and reason for an appointment are exactly what you would rather keep in Europe.
- There is no free plan to start on Acuity gives a 7-day trial and then charges from $16 a month. Six of the eleven tools here (meetergo, SimplyBook.me, SuperSaaS, Bookwhen, TIMIFY and Reservio) list a free plan on their own pages, which is enough for a solo practitioner with a modest number of bookings.
- Calendars, not features, set the price Acuity's tiers are cut by number of calendars: 1, 6 and 36. If you run a small team, that decides your bill more than anything else. SuperSaaS prices by future appointments and allows unlimited staff, and SimplyBook.me prices by bookings and providers with no transaction fees, so the maths comes out differently.
- Health data needs a signed paper, not a promise Acuity sells a HIPAA business associate agreement on its Premium plan. That is an American health-privacy instrument. For European clinics the relevant question is a GDPR data processing agreement and where the data is held, which the European tools here answer in their own terms and policies.
What you have to replace, not just match
Write down what your Acuity account does today: appointment types, intake forms, packages, gift certificates, payment provider, reminders, and which calendars it syncs. Check each item against the tool you are considering, because packages and memberships are not a given: Acuity has them from Standard, Reservio from its Standard plan, and the others differ.
Export your client list from Acuity before you cancel, and keep both systems running side by side for a few weeks. Update the booking link on your website, email signature and social profiles, and tell regulars the new address before the old one stops working.
The alternatives compared
| Position | Tool | Headquarters | Pricing | Jurisdiction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| #1 | meetergo | Frankfurt, Germany | Free tier / from about €10/month | EU (Germany) |
| #2 | SimplyBook.me | Limassol, Cyprus | Free tier + per booking volume | EU (Cyprus) |
| #3 | SuperSaaS | Amsterdam, Netherlands | Free plan (50 future appointments) / paid plans from $9 to $180 per month by appointment volume, no per-seat fees | EU (Netherlands) |
| #4 | Bookwhen | Oxford, United Kingdom | Free plan (50 bookings/month) / Lite €12, Standard €19, Plus €39 per month (or billed annually); Enterprise on request | United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA) |
| #5 | TIMIFY | Munich, Germany | Free tier + per resource, per month | EU (Germany) |
| #6 | cituro | Augsburg, Germany | Basic €17, Standard €25, Professional €34, Premium €47 per month (15% off billed annually); Enterprise on request | EU (Germany) |
| #8 | Calenso | Frauenfeld, Switzerland | Per user, per month | Switzerland (adequacy decision, outside the EEA) |
| #9 | Doodle | Zurich, Switzerland | Free tier + per user, per month | Switzerland (adequacy decision, outside the EEA) |
| #10 | Terminland | Wiesbaden, Germany | Easy from €14.90/month, Profi from €29.90/month, Enterprise from €59.90/month, excl. VAT, per calendar (extra calendars and add-ons priced separately) | EU (Germany) |
| #11 | Shore | Munich, Germany | Per location, per month | EU (Germany) |
How each alternative compares to Acuity Scheduling
- Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Acuity Scheduling is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. Germany (Frankfurt).
- Source code. Closed source, as Acuity Scheduling is.
- Independently checked. GDPR.
Best for: Consultants and sales teams who want booking, video calls and CRM in one place
meetergo is run by meetergo GmbH, Hauptstrasse 44, Monheim am Rhein (HRB 104381, Amtsgericht Düsseldorf). It says its servers are in Germany and that it has no US parent company, which are its own statements. Its terms page could not be opened for this page, so governing law is not stated here.
Its pricing page lists Free, then Light at €9.90, Suite at €29.90 (regularly €34.90) and Premium at €49.90 (regularly €59.90) per user a month on yearly billing. The free plan has 3 meeting types, unlimited bookings and 10 CRM deals. Video calls, workflows and WhatsApp automation arrive on higher plans.
It is more than a booking page, which is a plus if you want video, forms and a CRM, and extra weight if you only want a calendar link.
What meetergo does better than Acuity Scheduling
- Free plan with unlimited bookings, where Acuity has only a trial
- German company that says its servers are in Germany
- Video calls and CRM inside the same subscription
- Prices per user published for every tier
Where meetergo is a step down from Acuity Scheduling
- Priced per user, so a larger team costs more than a calendar-based plan
- No dedicated packages or gift certificate feature on its pages
- Governing law could not be verified
- Much broader than a pure booking tool, which means more to set up
Standout against Acuity Scheduling. It folds scheduling, video, forms and a CRM into one subscription with a free plan.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Cyprus). Acuity Scheduling is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Source code. Closed source, as Acuity Scheduling is.
Best for: Small service businesses that want payments, reminders and several providers
SimplyBook.me is provided by SimplyBook.me Ltd, registration HE387490, Nafpliou 28 in Limassol, Cyprus. Its privacy policy lists data centres in Canada, France and Singapore and says data for EU-based businesses, including backups, is stored in the EU, though it may be transferred outside the EU as needed.
The pricing page lists Free (50 bookings, 1 provider), Basic at €11.90 a month on annual billing, Standard at €24.90 and Premium at €49.90, with monthly prices of €13.90, €29.90 and €59.90. It states no transaction fees on bookings or customer payments, and a 14-day trial of premium features. SMS and WhatsApp credits cost extra.
We could not find a governing-law clause for it.
What SimplyBook.me does better than Acuity Scheduling
- Free plan of 50 bookings, where Acuity has none
- No transaction fees on bookings or payments, by its own statement
- Tiers cut by bookings and providers, not by calendars
- Cypriot company, inside the EU
Where SimplyBook.me is a step down from Acuity Scheduling
- The free plan allows 1 provider and limited features
- SMS and WhatsApp reminders are paid credits
- Data centres include Canada and Singapore, even if EU data stays in the EU
- Governing law could not be verified
Standout against Acuity Scheduling. A free plan of 50 bookings with no transaction fee on payments.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Netherlands). Acuity Scheduling is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. Netherlands and elsewhere in the EU/EEA.
- Source code. Closed source, as Acuity Scheduling is.
Best for: Businesses with many staff or locations that do not want to pay per seat
SuperSaaS is provided by SuperSaaS B.V., Strawinskylaan 6 in Amsterdam (KvK 54329779). The terms (version March 2026) are governed by Dutch law with the courts of Amsterdam. Its privacy policy says personal data is processed on servers in the Netherlands and elsewhere in the EU or EEA.
The pricing page is built around future appointments, not seats. The free plan has 50 future appointments and 50 registered users. Paid plans run from €7 a month for 100 appointments, €14 for 300, €21 for 600, €28 for 900, €35 for 1,500 and €49 for 3,000, with no minimum term. Calendar sync and payment processing are included, and staff, locations and schedules are unlimited.
What SuperSaaS does better than Acuity Scheduling
- Unlimited staff and schedules, where Acuity prices by calendar
- Free plan, and plans from €7 a month with no minimum term
- Dutch law, Amsterdam courts and servers in the EU or EEA, stated in its own terms and policy
- Calendar sync and payments included on every plan
Where SuperSaaS is a step down from Acuity Scheduling
- The price rises with the number of future appointments, which suits low-volume more than high-volume businesses
- A utilitarian interface compared with newer products
- Does not name its sub-processors in the policy
- No AI booking assistant like Acuity's Premium plan
Standout against Acuity Scheduling. It charges by future appointments and lets you add staff without a surcharge.
- Which law reaches it. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA). Acuity Scheduling is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Source code. Closed source, as Acuity Scheduling is.
- Independently checked. ISO 27001:2022, Cyber Essentials Plus (stated by Bookwhen).
Best for: Yoga, fitness and workshop providers who sell places on sessions
Bookwhen is provided by Bookwhen Ltd, registered in England and Wales (company number 08914060), Belsyre Court, 57 Woodstock Road, Oxford. Its merchant terms are governed by the law of England and Wales with exclusive jurisdiction of the English courts. The United Kingdom is outside the EU.
Its pricing page lists prices in euros: Free (50 bookings a month, 1 team member, 1 booking page), Lite at €12 a month (300 bookings, 2 team members), Standard at €19 (800 bookings, 5 team members, 3 booking pages) and Plus at €39 (1,800 bookings, 10 team members, 6 booking pages). It says there is no minimum term, notice period or cancellation fee. Payment fees for Stripe or PayPal are separate.
What Bookwhen does better than Acuity Scheduling
- Built for sessions with capacities, which Acuity treats as an add-on
- Free plan with 50 bookings a month
- No minimum term and no cancellation fee
- Prices shown in euros for every tier
Where Bookwhen is a step down from Acuity Scheduling
- United Kingdom, outside the EU, under English law
- Team members are capped per plan (1, 2, 5, 10)
- Less suited to one-to-one client appointments with intake forms
- Fewer booking pages on the lower plans
Standout against Acuity Scheduling. It is designed around sessions and capacity, not one-to-one slots.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Acuity Scheduling is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Source code. Closed source, as Acuity Scheduling is.
Best for: Businesses that book staff, rooms and equipment together
TIMIFY is run by TerminApp GmbH, Balanstrasse 73 in Munich (HRB 199929). Its general terms apply German law with Munich as the exclusive court. The terms we could read do not state a hosting location, and its imprint names no parent.
The plans page lists Classic as free for solo entrepreneurs, Premium at €25 a month on yearly billing (€31 monthly) and Enterprise at €42 (€53), with Enterprise Plus on request. Pricing scales with the resources managed, such as employees, rooms and equipment. Premium adds a 14-day trial, mobile apps, reminders, calendar sync and group bookings.
What TIMIFY does better than Acuity Scheduling
- A free Classic plan, where Acuity has only a trial
- Resources such as rooms and equipment are first-class objects
- German law and a Munich court, stated in its terms
- Yearly billing saves about a fifth, in plain numbers
Where TIMIFY is a step down from Acuity Scheduling
- The free plan is limited to solo use
- Hosting location is not stated in the terms
- Price scales with the number of resources
- Fewer public details on payments and packages than Acuity lists
Standout against Acuity Scheduling. Rooms and equipment are booked as resources next to people.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Acuity Scheduling is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Source code. Closed source, as Acuity Scheduling is.
Best for: Small businesses that want clear plans and a trial before paying
cituro is provided by cituro GmbH, Peter-Dörfler-Straße 30 in Augsburg (HRB 36662). Its terms (14 October 2025) apply German law exclusively, and name 1&1 IONOS SE of Montabaur as the hosting and infrastructure provider.
Its pricing page lists Basic at €17, Standard at €25, Professional at €34 and Premium at €47 a month, with Enterprise on request and a 14-day trial with no card. Annual billing saves 15%. All plans include one calendar resource, with additional calendars as add-ons. There is no free plan.
What cituro does better than Acuity Scheduling
- German company with German law and German hosting named in its terms
- Four published price steps and a card-free trial
- Annual billing discount stated as 15%
- Monthly cancellation, with a minimum term of one month
Where cituro is a step down from Acuity Scheduling
- No free plan
- Extra calendars are paid add-ons
- Whether the listed prices are monthly or yearly is not clear on the page
- Interface and documentation lean towards German
Standout against Acuity Scheduling. The terms name the German hosting provider outright.
Reservio
a free plan with memberships and credit passes, from Brno
Best for: Studios and salons that sell passes or memberships
Reservio is provided by Reservio, s.r.o., Palachovo náměstí 799/5 in Brno, Czech Republic (business ID 293 76 033), and its page says it is a member of the ABUGO Group. The terms apply Czech law, with Czech courts agreed for disputes.
Its pricing page lists a free plan with 40 bookings per 30 days and 100 clients, and paid Starter, Standard and Pro plans with 200, 500 and unlimited bookings. Memberships, credit passes and a custom domain arrive on Standard, and the API on Pro.
The amounts for paid plans did not appear in the page text, so none is quoted. Payment processing fees are 3.00% plus 2.55 on Free, falling to 1.19% on Pro. A 14-day trial and a 15-day money-back guarantee on the first paid order are listed.
What Reservio does better than Acuity Scheduling
- Free plan with 100 clients
- Memberships and credit passes on mid-range plans
- Czech company with Czech courts in its terms
- 15-day money-back guarantee on the first paid order
Where Reservio is a step down from Acuity Scheduling
- Paid prices could not be verified
- Booking caps per 30 days, even on Standard
- Reservio's own payment fees are highest on the free plan
- Hosting location is not stated on the pages we read
Standout against Acuity Scheduling. A free plan that can already take payments, with the fee falling as you move up.
- Which law reaches it. Switzerland (adequacy decision, outside the EEA). Acuity Scheduling is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Source code. Closed source, as Acuity Scheduling is.
Best for: Consultancies and clinics that want Swiss hosting and certified security
Calenso is provided by Calenso AG, Sonnmatthof 3 in Rothenburg, Switzerland (CHE-360.668.485). Its homepage says its servers are located exclusively in Switzerland, with ISO 27001 certification, and GDPR and nDSG compliance. These are its own statements. Switzerland is outside the EU.
Its pricing page shows no amounts: it points to a quote or demo, and a 14-day free trial. The homepage lists one-to-one booking, group sessions, video meetings, room and resource booking, surveys and configurators.
We could not read a governing-law clause.
What Calenso does better than Acuity Scheduling
- Servers stated to be only in Switzerland
- Group sessions, rooms and resources alongside one-to-one booking
- ISO 27001 certification claimed on its homepage
- Swiss company with a UID that can be checked
Where Calenso is a step down from Acuity Scheduling
- No public prices, so budgeting needs a conversation
- No free plan, only a 14-day trial
- Switzerland is outside the EU
- Aimed at businesses rather than a solo practitioner on a tight budget
Standout against Acuity Scheduling. It says all its servers are in Switzerland.
- Which law reaches it. Switzerland (adequacy decision, outside the EEA). Acuity Scheduling is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Source code. Closed source, as Acuity Scheduling is.
Best for: People who mostly schedule meetings with colleagues and partners
Doodle is provided by Doodle AG, Werdstrasse 21 in Zurich. Its general terms (4 June 2026) are governed exclusively by Swiss law, with the courts of Zurich deciding disputes. The terms we read do not name a parent company.
It started as a poll where invitees vote on proposed times, and it also has booking pages. Its pricing page could not be read for this page, so no plan or amount is quoted here. Check the booking limits before you plan on it for a paying clientele.
What Doodle does better than Acuity Scheduling
- Polls for finding a time between several people, which Acuity does not do
- Swiss company with a clear governing-law clause
- Familiar to many invitees, so little explaining
- Courts of Zurich named in the terms
Where Doodle is a step down from Acuity Scheduling
- Less developed for selling slots, packages and deposits
- Prices could not be verified
- Switzerland is outside the EU
- Weaker on intake forms and client records than Acuity
Standout against Acuity Scheduling. It began as the poll you send to find a time that suits everyone.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Acuity Scheduling is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Source code. Closed source, as Acuity Scheduling is.
Best for: German-speaking organisations that want to switch on only the options they need
Terminland is provided by Terminland GmbH, Kreuzberger Ring 44a in Wiesbaden (AG Wiesbaden, HRB 30709). Its terms are a PDF that could not be read for this page, so governing law and hosting are not stated here.
Its pricing page lists three plans, Easy, Profi and Enterprise, billed monthly with two weeks' notice, each including one schedule and charging per extra schedule. Phone support, SMS, calendar sync, video meetings and online payments are priced as add-ons on the lower plans. A free trial is offered for Easy and Profi. The amounts appeared in a format we could not read reliably, so none is quoted.
What Terminland does better than Acuity Scheduling
- You pay only for the options you switch on
- Monthly billing with short notice
- Free trial on the lower plans
- German company with a verifiable register entry
Where Terminland is a step down from Acuity Scheduling
- Add-on pricing makes the total hard to predict
- Prices are not quoted here because they could not be verified
- Hosting and governing law could not be read
- Interface and documentation lean towards German
Standout against Acuity Scheduling. Almost every capability, from SMS to video, is a separate add-on.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Acuity Scheduling is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Source code. Closed source, as Acuity Scheduling is.
Best for: Hairdressers, beauty studios and similar shops that also take payments in person
Shore is provided by Shore GmbH, Lothstr. 19 in Munich (HRB 196674). Its imprint lists subsidiaries in Switzerland, the United States and Spain, and names no outside parent company.
Its pricing page lists Booking at €59.90 a month, Booking plus Marketing at €79.90, a POS package at €59.90, POS+ at €79.90 and All-in-One at €129.90, excluding VAT and for businesses only. Annual payment saves €120 a year. A website add-on costs €65 a month, and a card reader €69. A 14-day free trial is offered, with a 12-month minimum for annual plans.
What Shore does better than Acuity Scheduling
- Booking, customer records, marketing and a till in one system
- German company with a verifiable register entry
- Prices published, including hardware and add-ons
- Aimed at shops where the client is physically present
Where Shore is a step down from Acuity Scheduling
- Far more expensive than a plain booking tool
- No free plan
- A US subsidiary exists in its group
- Overpowered for a coach or consultant who only needs a calendar link
Standout against Acuity Scheduling. It sells the till and card reader together with the calendar.
What actually breaks when you switch
Packages, gift certificates and intake forms are where a move gets awkward. Acuity has them from Standard; the European tools handle them differently or on higher plans. List the ones you use and test each in a free plan or trial before you commit.
Past appointments and client notes are not carried over. Export the client list as a file, keep the old account read-only for as long as you need the history, and do not cancel until you have checked that reminders and payments work end to end.
Prices are not comparable across tools. Acuity charges by calendars, meetergo by users, SuperSaaS by future appointments, SimplyBook.me by bookings and providers, and Shore by package. Work out your own cost from your staff and booking numbers instead of reading the headline price.
Which of these is closest to Acuity?
SimplyBook.me and cituro are the nearest in shape: client booking pages, payments, reminders and a calendar for each provider, aimed at small service businesses. SimplyBook.me adds a free plan of 50 bookings and no transaction fees, and cituro starts with a 14-day trial.
Neither copies Acuity's every detail, so check intake forms, packages and gift certificates against your own list before moving.
Which tools suit classes and group sessions rather than one-to-one bookings?
Bookwhen is built for sessions with a capacity, such as yoga courses, workshops and multi-date events, and has a free plan of 50 bookings a month. Reservio and SimplyBook.me also handle classes and memberships on their higher plans. For one-to-one client appointments, meetergo, cituro and Calenso are the closer fit.
If you teach groups and also see clients one by one, test a class and a single booking in the free plan before paying.
Where is the data held?
It differs, and not every vendor says. SuperSaaS says it processes personal data on servers in the Netherlands and elsewhere in the EU or EEA. Calenso says its servers are only in Switzerland, and meetergo says its servers are in Germany. SimplyBook.me lists data centres in Canada, France and Singapore, with storage in the EU for EU-based businesses. cituro names 1&1 IONOS SE of Montabaur as its hosting provider.
For TIMIFY, Reservio, Doodle and Terminland the pages we could read did not state a hosting location, so ask before you rely on one.
Is a Swiss or British vendor as good as an EU one?
For contract purposes, a Swiss company (Calenso, Doodle) is under Swiss law with Swiss courts, and Bookwhen is under the law of England and Wales. These are not EU member states, so the legal footing differs from a German or Dutch company. For many clients that is fine; for a public body or a regulated practice it is worth a check with your own adviser.
Which one to pick
If you want the broadest all-round replacement with a free plan, start with meetergo or SimplyBook.me. If you have many staff and few bookings each, SuperSaaS is priced in your favour, and if you run classes, Bookwhen was built for them.
TIMIFY suits businesses that book rooms and equipment as well as people, cituro and Terminland suit German-speaking small businesses, and Reservio is a free-plan option from the Czech Republic. Calenso is the one to look at if Swiss hosting matters, and Shore if you need a till as well.
Be realistic about the trade. Acuity is a mature product with packages, gift certificates, an AI booking assistant and deep integrations, and some European tools lack a few of those. Switch if you want your booking data held and contracted in Europe, and keep Acuity if the features you rely on have no equivalent.
Frequently Asked Questions
For most solo practitioners and small teams, meetergo or SimplyBook.me: both list a free plan, publish their prices and cover payments and reminders. SuperSaaS is the better pick if you want to pay by appointments rather than per seat, and Bookwhen if you sell classes.
No. Acuity is a Squarespace company. Customers in the United States contract with Squarespace, Inc., and customers elsewhere with Squarespace Ireland Limited in Dublin. The privacy policy says personal data is transferred to Squarespace, Inc. in the US.
On its pricing page: Starter $16 a month on annual billing or $20 monthly, Standard $27 or $34, Premium $49 or $61, all in US dollars and excluding tax. There is a 7-day free trial with no card, and an Enterprise tier on request.
meetergo lists Free, then Light at €9.90, Suite at €29.90 and Premium at €49.90 per user a month on yearly billing. SimplyBook.me lists Free (50 bookings), Basic at €11.90 on annual billing (€13.90 monthly), Standard at €24.90 (€29.90) and Premium at €49.90 (€59.90). SuperSaaS lists a free plan with 50 future appointments and paid plans from €7 a month (100 appointments) to €49 (3,000).
Bookwhen lists Free (50 bookings a month), Lite at €12, Standard at €19 and Plus at €39 a month, with no minimum term. TIMIFY lists a free Classic plan, Premium at €25 a month on yearly billing (€31 monthly) and Enterprise at €42 (€53). cituro lists plans from €17 a month (Basic) to €47 (Premium) and a 14-day trial; its page does not make clear whether those figures are for monthly or yearly billing.
Shore lists Booking at €59.90 a month, Booking plus Marketing at €79.90, a POS package at €59.90, POS+ at €79.90 and All-in-One at €129.90, excluding VAT, with a 14-day trial. It is aimed at salons and similar businesses that want booking and a till in one system, so it is overpowered for a coach with a calendar.
cituro states exclusive German law in its terms (version of 14 October 2025), and TIMIFY states German law with Munich as the court. Terminland, Shore and meetergo are German companies registered in Wiesbaden, Munich and Monheim am Rhein, but we could not read a governing-law clause for them.
Yes on most. SimplyBook.me lists Stripe, PayPal and other providers and charges no transaction fee of its own. SuperSaaS includes payment processing on every plan, including the free one. Reservio's free plan carries a processing fee of 3.00% plus 2.55 on its own page, falling to 1.19% on its Pro plan. Check the payment provider's own fee as well.
Doodle is best known for meeting polls, where you offer several times and invitees vote. It also has booking pages, but its pricing page could not be read for this page, so check the plan limits yourself. It suits scheduling between colleagues better than selling slots to clients.
There is no standard transfer. Export your client list as a file from Acuity, set up appointment types in the new tool, and import the clients if it offers that. Existing future bookings usually have to be recreated or left in Acuity until they pass.
Related comparisons
Buying guides
Explore More European Alternatives
Discover privacy-focused European alternatives to other popular US tech services.