Smilenotes
Low-cost clinical notes and diary for solo practitioners, from £5 a month
Quick Overview
| Company | Smile Notes Ltd |
|---|---|
| Category | Physiotherapy Practice Software |
| Headquarters | not stated on the pages we read, United Kingdom |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - United Kingdom |
| Data Location | Site states data centres are in the UK and the European Union |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes |
| Self-Hosting | No |
| Main Features | Appointment diary, body charts, client records, automated reminders, two-factor authentication, file storage |
| Pricing | Lite £5 a month (£49 a year), Plus £8 a month (£96 a year), Pro £12 a month (£139 a year), Team £25 a month with up to 3 users and £10 per extra user; prices include VAT; 30-day free trial |
| Best For | Solo physiotherapists who mainly need notes, body charts and a diary at the lowest price |
| Replaces | Jane App |
Detailed Review
Smile Notes Ltd is registered in England and Wales under company number 9447490, as the footer of its About page states. The terms are written under English law.
Smilenotes lists physiotherapy among its professions. Its plans are small and priced per month, with VAT included in the stated figures.
What the Smilenotes plans contain
Lite is £5 a month with 20 client records, body charts and an appointment diary. Plus adds unlimited client records at £8 a month, and Pro adds automated reminders and 10GB of storage at £12 a month.
Team costs £25 a month for up to 3 users, with extra users at £10 each.
Hosting and security in Smilenotes
Smilenotes states that its data centres are in the UK and the European Union. Every plan lists two-factor authentication.
The pages we read do not name the hosting provider.
Smilenotes compared with Jane App
Jane App bundles scheduling, billing, insurance and payments from CAD $59 a month. Smilenotes costs a fraction of that but is a notes and diary tool.
The pricing page lists no payments, insurance billing or online booking, so a clinic that needs those should compare other tools in this list.
Limitations to Consider
The plan tables list a diary, notes, body charts and reminders only, with no online booking, payments or insurance billing shown on the pages we read. The company address and hosting provider are not stated on those pages. Storage is limited on the cheaper tiers (50Mb on Lite and Plus). For a fuller system compare WriteUpp.
Who Should Use Smilenotes
Solo practitioners who want body-chart notes and a diary at the lowest monthly cost and handle invoicing elsewhere.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Entry plan at £5 a month
- VAT included in stated prices
- Body charts on every plan
- Two-factor authentication on every plan
- 30-day free trial
Cons
- No online booking or payments listed
- Limited storage on Lite and Plus
- Lite caps client records at 20
- Company address and hosting provider not stated
Alternatives to Smilenotes
Other European physiotherapy practice software worth comparing before you decide:
See all European physiotherapy practice software or compare them directly against Jane App on our alternatives page.
Frequently Asked Questions
For notes and diary work, yes. Smile Notes Ltd is registered in England and Wales and states its data centres are in the UK and EU. It does not list billing or online booking.
Plans are £5, £8 and £12 a month for single users, and £25 a month for a team of up to 3. Prices include VAT.
Yes. The pricing page lists a 30-day free trial with no credit card required.