Every European meal kit service reviewed
Berlin, Germany
Regular box prices not shown on the pages we read; the German home page advertises up to 120 EUR discount and the UK menu page 50% off the first box
Demo on request
Best for: Households that want a large weekly menu from a company with a clear German imprint
HelloFresh runs its German service through HelloFresh Deutschland SE & Co. KG at Prinzenstrasse 89 in Berlin, and the imprint lists Amtsgericht Charlottenburg entries HRA 51246 B and, for the general partner HelloFresh SE, HRB 182382 B. The UK site is operated by a different company, Grocery Delivery E-Services UK Limited, under English law.
The UK menu page lists menu types such as vegetarian, family-friendly, calorie smart, pescatarian and high protein. The pages we read show an up to 120 EUR discount in Germany and 50% off the first box in the UK, but no regular box price, and no data location. The US business is a separate entity that this page does not cover.
What HelloFresh does well
- German partnership with register numbers published in the imprint
- A separate UK company that contracts under English law
- Vegetarian, high-protein and other diet menus listed on the UK menu page
- Gift vouchers and an employee meal programme
- An ordering app next to the website
Where HelloFresh falls short
- Regular box prices do not appear on the pages we read
- No storage location is given
- The home page is dominated by discount banners
- US operations run through a different entity
Standout feature. HelloFresh is the only service in this review that contracts through both a Berlin partnership and a separate UK company.
Not stated (UK), United Kingdom
Box price page: 2-person box GBP 23.25 per order (usually GBP 46.50), GBP 2.33 per portion (usually GBP 4.65); prices exclude delivery; new customer discounts of 50% off the first box
Demo on request
Best for: UK households that want to see per-portion prices before ordering
Gousto publishes a box price selector for 1 to 5 people and 2 to 5 recipes. The 2-person example shows GBP 23.25 per order for new customers, normally GBP 46.50, which is GBP 2.33 per portion against a usual GBP 4.65. The page says the prices exclude delivery.
SCA Investments Limited, trading as Gousto, is named as the party responsible for customer data in the privacy policy. The home page says you can skip or cancel for free, with delivery seven days a week, and lists over 175 recipes a week including Heat & Eat dishes. The service delivers within the UK and the pages do not state a data location.
What Gousto does well
- A public box price selector with per-portion figures
- Skipping or cancelling at no charge is stated
- Seven delivery days a week
- More than 175 weekly recipes
- Ready-to-heat dishes alongside the recipe boxes
Where Gousto falls short
- Deliveries stay inside the UK
- Displayed prices leave out the delivery fee
- Where data is kept is not stated
- The first boxes are discounted heavily, which blurs the regular cost
Standout feature. Gousto is the only service here with a price selector that shows the usual and the discounted price per portion side by side.
Berlin, Germany
Not shown on the pages we read
Demo on request
Best for: Customers in Germany or the Netherlands who want kits and prepared meals from one subscription
Marley Spoon SE at Wrangelstrasse 100 in Berlin operates the German site, under Amtsgericht Charlottenburg entry HRB 250627 B. In the Netherlands, Marley Spoon B.V. in Nieuwegein, KvK 61458651, publishes its own terms. The US site marleyspoon.com belongs to a different company, MMM Consumer Brands Inc., and is not covered.
The German home page shows breakfasts, lunches, prepared meals and dinners, with a menu view and mobile apps. The German privacy statement names Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL as the place where data is stored and names a data protection officer. It also mentions subsidiaries in the USA and Australia, and prices do not appear on the pages we read.
What Marley Spoon does well
- Imprints in Germany and the Netherlands with register numbers
- Prepared meals and breakfasts sold with the recipe kits
- Storage with AWS EMEA SARL named in the privacy statement
- A data protection officer is named
- Terms written separately for the German and Dutch markets
Where Marley Spoon falls short
- No prices on the pages we read
- The group has subsidiaries in the USA and Australia
- The ultimate owner of Marley Spoon SE is not stated
- The .com site is a US company and a different contract
Standout feature. Marley Spoon sells breakfasts, lunches, prepared meals and dinners from one account in two EU countries.
Gennevilliers, France
Not shown on the pages we read
Demo on request
Best for: French households that want organic ingredients and family recipes
Les Commis SAS is registered in Paris under SIREN 750 771 883, with its seat at 86 rue Paul Vaillant-Couturier in Gennevilliers. The legal notice names Clement Chaneac as the responsible person and says the website is hosted on OVH equipment in Roubaix.
The weekly basket comes with French and organic ingredients and a recipe sheet per dish, and the home page lists 24 new recipes a week with tags such as 100% Bio, Familiale, Express and Thermomix. The legal notice gives share capital of 100 000 EUR while the conditions of sale give 130 000 EUR. The site is in French and shows no prices on the pages we read.
What Les Commis does well
- French SAS with a SIREN and a seat address published
- Website hosted at OVH in France, according to the legal notice
- Twenty-four new recipes every week
- Organic sourcing is a stated focus
- Thermomix and family tags on the recipes
Where Les Commis falls short
- No basket prices on the pages we read
- Two pages give different share capital figures
- The site is available in French only
- Delivery areas were not read
Standout feature. Les Commis is the only service here that tags recipes for the Thermomix.
Barrit, Denmark
Examples on the home page: BudgetKassen (2 persons, 4 days) 405 DKK, member price 364,50 DKK; God Weekend (2 persons, 2 days) 499 DKK, member price 449,10 DKK
Demo on request
Best for: Danish households that want organic meal boxes with visible prices
Aarstiderne A/S, Barritskovvej 34 in Barrit, is a Danish Aktieselskab with CVR number 12542976 in its footer. The home page says the company became B Corp certified in 2022 and sells organic meal boxes, fruit and vegetable boxes and groceries.
Each box states how many people and days it covers. BudgetKassen for two persons over four days costs 405 DKK, or 364,50 DKK as a member of the paid Aarstiderne Plus programme, whose fee is not shown. Only the home page was read, so terms, privacy and the data location are not checked, and the site is in Danish.
What Aarstiderne does well
- Danish A/S with a CVR number printed in the footer
- Kroner prices next to each box on the home page
- B Corp status stated on the home page
- Boxes sized for 2 to 4 persons
- Produce and groceries on sale beside the meal boxes
Where Aarstiderne falls short
- We read the home page only
- The site is in Danish only
- The fee for Plus membership is not shown
- Storage location is not stated
Standout feature. Aarstiderne is the only service here that prints a lower member price beside the normal price of each box.
London, United Kingdom
Home page: first box GBP 5 including postage, usually GBP 12.98 per month; meals work out between GBP 2 and GBP 6 per person according to the site
Demo on request
Best for: Home cooks who already buy fresh ingredients and want seasoning kits
SimplyCook Ltd is registered in England and Wales under number 09364895, with a correspondence address at Unit D, Discovery House, Juniper Drive in London. Each box holds three flavour pots of up to 23 ingredients and a recipe card, and the customer buys the fresh ingredients.
The home page offers the first box for GBP 5 including postage and then usually GBP 12.98 per month, with meals working out between GBP 2 and GBP 6 per person. The terms describe a charge that recurs every week, two, four or six weeks until the customer cancels. No data location is stated.
What SimplyCook does well
- UK company with a registration number and an address
- A first box at GBP 5 including postage
- Delivery every week, two, four or six weeks
- A recipe card paired with a fixed set of pots
- Cancellation at any time is stated
Where SimplyCook falls short
- Fresh ingredients are not part of the box
- Focused on UK customers
- The charge runs on until the customer cancels
- The pages do not say where data is kept
Standout feature. SimplyCook is the only service here that delivers flavour pots instead of fresh ingredients.
Sundbyberg, Sweden
Home page: from 40 SEK per portion; 30% off first delivery, 20% off second, 10% off third
Demo on request
Best for: Swedish households that want a visible starting price per portion
Cheffelo Sweden AB, org.nr 556774-6101, Löfströms Allé 5 in Sundbyberg, is the party to the agreement in the Swedish terms and the controller in the privacy policy. The policy names IMY as the supervisory authority and a data protection officer, and sets customer record retention at 36 months from the last delivery.
The home page advertises meals from 40 SEK per portion, with 30% off the first delivery, 20% off the second and 10% off the third. The terms allow you to pause or end the subscription, with an order stop before each delivery, and loyalty partners such as SAS EuroBonus are separate controllers. The site is in Swedish.
What Linas Matkasse does well
- Swedish AB with an organisation number and an address
- A starting price per portion on the home page
- Pausing or ending is allowed at any time
- A 36-month retention period is spelled out
- IMY is named as supervisory authority
Where Linas Matkasse falls short
- Swedish is the only language
- We did not read a full price table
- No storage location is given
- The home page leans on discounts
Standout feature. Linas Matkasse is the only service here that ties a loyalty programme, SAS EuroBonus, to its subscription.
Oslo, Norway
Home page: from 41 NOK per portion; 30% off first delivery, 20% off second, 10% off third
Demo on request
Best for: Norwegian households that want a meal kit with a stated price per portion
Cheffelo Norway AS, org.nr 899 306 562, Tordenskiolds gate 8 in Oslo, is the controller in the Godtlevert privacy statement and the party in the terms. Norway belongs to the EEA but not the EU, and the statement names Datatilsynet as the supervisory authority and a privacy officer.
The home page starts at 41 NOK per portion, with the same 30%, 20% and 10% ladder over the first three deliveries. Customer records are kept for 24 months after the last delivery and accounting records for at least 7 years. Loyalty partners such as SAS EuroBonus and Scandic Friends are separate controllers.
What Godtlevert does well
- Norwegian AS with an organisation number and an address
- A starting price per portion on the home page
- The terms let you pause or end deliveries
- Customer records are kept 24 months, which the statement says
- Datatilsynet is named as supervisory authority
Where Godtlevert falls short
- Norwegian is the only language
- No complete price table was read
- No storage location is given
- The home page leads with discounts
Standout feature. Godtlevert is the only service here based in the EEA instead of the EU.
Helsingor, Denmark
Home page: from 38 DKK per portion; 25% off first delivery, 15% off second, 10% off third
Demo on request
Best for: Danish households that want a low starting price per portion
Cheffelo Denmark ApS at Ole Rømers Vej 4 in Helsingør is named as the party to the customer agreement in the Danish terms. We read the terms and the home page only, so the privacy policy and the data location are unchecked.
The home page shows meals from 38 DKK per portion, with 25% off the first delivery, 15% off the second and 10% off the third. The terms say you can pause or cancel at any time. No complete price table was read, and the pages are in Danish.
What Retnemt does well
- Danish ApS with its address written in the terms
- A starting price per portion on the home page
- Pausing or cancelling at any time is stated
- The terms can be read online
- A welcome discount that steps down over three deliveries
Where Retnemt falls short
- We did not read the privacy policy
- Danish is the only language
- No complete price table was read
- Where data is stored is not stated
Standout feature. Retnemt has the smallest first-delivery discount of the three Cheffelo services, at 25%.
London, United Kingdom
Box prices not rendered on the pages we read (the plan page shows GBP 0 placeholders); the menu page advertises 40% off
Demo on request
Best for: UK customers who want diet-specific boxes such as keto
Green Chef UK is operated by Grocery Delivery E-Services UK Limited, trading as Green Chef, under English law with the courts of England and Wales having non-exclusive jurisdiction. The privacy policy gives The Fresh Farm, 60 Worship Street in London as the data protection contact.
The menu page lists keto, lower carb, vegetarian, vegan, pescatarian and flexitarian menus, designed by registered nutritionists according to the page, and advertises 40% off. The plan page renders GBP 0 placeholders, so costs were not verified. The same company name appears in the HelloFresh UK terms, where HelloFresh SE in Berlin is named as group parent.
What Green Chef UK does well
- Six diet menus on the menu page
- A named UK company with an address
- Terms under English law
- The terms say prices include VAT where applicable
- Berlin parent HelloFresh SE named through the sister brand
Where Green Chef UK falls short
- Prices could not be read on the plan page
- Delivery is UK only
- The operating company is the same as at HelloFresh UK
- No storage location is stated
Standout feature. Green Chef UK is the only service here that built its range around a keto menu.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Examples: kids' meals 5 for GBP 16, pots for one 3 for GBP 13, pies 2 for GBP 11, Indian for 2 GBP 16
Demo on request
Best for: UK households that want ready meals without cooking from scratch
COOK Trading Ltd, company number 04611064, is registered at The Cook Kitchen, Eurolink Way in Sittingbourne, Kent. The site says most COOK shops are owned directly and some are run by franchisees, and the terms state that food is zero-rated for VAT.
COOK sells frozen meals for one, two, four and six to eight people, plus kids' meals, pies, sauces and sides, with multi-buy prices such as 5 kids' meals for GBP 16 or pies 2 for GBP 11. Online orders go by next-day carrier, and a Book Slot option and a subscription start page for home delivery exist. Delivery charges were not read.
What COOK does well
- A company number and registered address in the terms
- Physical shops as well as online delivery
- Multi-buy prices shown in the menu
- Vegetarian, vegan, free-from and high-protein categories
- The site menu mentions B Corp
Where COOK falls short
- No recipe kit is offered
- UK only
- We did not read the delivery charges
- The pages do not state where data is kept
Standout feature. COOK is the only service here that you can also buy over a shop counter.
England (UK), United Kingdom
Home page: fruit and veg boxes from GBP 11.99, veg boxes from GBP 12.99, fruit booster from GBP 14.49
Demo on request
Best for: UK households that want surplus produce with recipes as a side
Oddbox Delivery Ltd is incorporated in England and Wales under company number 09638976. The home page lists fruit and veg boxes from GBP 11.99, veg boxes from GBP 12.99 and a fruit booster from GBP 14.49, and the standard box holds up to nine types of veg and four types of fruit.
Boxes are filled from a weekly rescue list with swaps and extras, and delivery is overnight. The privacy policy says customer data may be stored on the GetSwift Inc. platform, which operates outside the UK and EEA, and names Braze and Xero as processors. Oddbox sells no portioned recipe kits.
What Oddbox does well
- Box prices starting at GBP 11.99 are shown
- A company number is stated
- Customers can swap items and add extras
- Rescuing surplus produce is the stated purpose
- Overnight delivery
Where Oddbox falls short
- There is no recipe kit
- A processor outside the UK and EEA is named
- Delivery is limited to the UK
- Only Visa or MasterCard cards are accepted for payment
Standout feature. Oddbox is the only service here whose boxes are filled from a weekly rescue list of surplus produce.