Every European data privacy management tool reviewed
Munich, Germany
Founded 2018
Base, Pro and Enterprise tiers, all quoted on request
No free tier stated
Best for: Mid-market and enterprise privacy teams wanting one full-suite platform
DataGuard is a Munich platform operated by DataCo GmbH and founded in 2018. It has grown by acquisition as well as product: DPOrganizer, the Swedish privacy tool once sold independently, was absorbed into it and its customers moved onto the DataGuard platform.
The company reports more than 4,000 client organisations in over 50 countries, which puts it among the largest European vendors here by customer count, level with Dastra. The count is the vendor's own and has not been audited, so treat it as a claim rather than a measurement.
The product covers a records of processing module for Article 30, DPIA and risk assessment workflows, a data subject request tool, third-party risk management and incident and breach handling, plus training, asset management and cookie consent.
Three tiers exist: Base as self-service software, Pro with expert support for building a programme, and Enterprise for multinationals. None publishes a price, so budgeting starts with a sales conversation, and there is no free tier. The company lists adjacent modules for security awareness training and asset management, so a privacy-only buyer should scope the contract narrowly.
What DataGuard does well
- Covers processing register, DPIA, data subject requests, vendor risk and breaches in one product
- Absorbed DPOrganizer rather than competing with it
- Expert support tier for teams without an in-house DPO
- German headquarters and EU hosting
- Among the largest customer bases in the category by the vendor's own count
Where DataGuard falls short
- No published pricing, every tier needs a sales call
- No free tier or self-serve trial stated
- A broad feature set can mean paying for unused modules
- ISO 27001 and TISAX are described as a programme, not a certificate
Standout feature. It is the platform DPOrganizer customers were migrated onto, a sign of consolidation rather than an unproven young product.
Rotterdam, Netherlands
Founded 2013
Forever Free EUR 0 / SME EUR 290 per month / Pro EUR 625 per month / Enterprise on request
Permanent free plan covering the processing inventory
Best for: Teams wanting module-by-module prices, starting from a free plan
PrivacyPerfect is a Rotterdam platform, registered at the Dutch chamber of commerce under KVK 58796398 and on the market since 2013, which makes it one of the longest-running dedicated GDPR software vendors in Europe.
The processing inventory sits at the centre, and the rest of the platform hangs off it. The inventory is available on every tier, including a permanent Forever Free plan at EUR 0. That makes it, with PrivacyEngine, one of only two tools in this directory where a team can document its processing activities before any budget is approved or any sales call is held.
Paid tiers add capacity and modules. SME costs EUR 290 a month and keeps the inventory with pre-assessments.
Pro costs EUR 625 a month and adds five full users, three read-only users, 250 records and one further module: assessment automation, the breach register, vendor risk or data subject requests. Enterprise has unlimited users and records and is quoted on request. The module structure means a full deployment costs more than the headline figure suggests. Enterprise adds holding-company architecture and multi-legislation support, which is the tier a corporate group with several jurisdictions would actually need.
What PrivacyPerfect does well
- Permanent free plan, not a time-limited trial
- Published prices at every self-serve tier
- Operating since 2013 with a Dutch register number
- Modular pricing lets a small team pay only for what it uses
Where PrivacyPerfect falls short
- A full deployment costs more than the EUR 625 headline
- Pro is capped at 250 records and five users
- Enterprise pricing is quote-only
- Hosting is described only as EU-hosted
Standout feature. It sells the processing inventory free forever and prices every further module separately, with each self-serve price published.
Dublin, Ireland
Founded 2013
Free for up to 5 staff / Starter EUR 4,999 per year / Standard EUR 7,999 per year / Advanced EUR 14,999 per year / Enterprise on request
Permanent free tier for up to 5 staff
Best for: Organisations wanting staff training bundled with register and DPIA tools
PrivacyEngine is operated by PrivacyEngine Ireland Limited, registered in Dublin under CRO 529183, and has been on the market since 2013. The company puts its customer base at over 80,000 users worldwide, a vendor claim.
Its free tier covers up to five staff and includes a learning management system, risk management, ROPA, mandatory logs and DPIA, capped at five records of each log type. The free plan is a working subset of the paid product rather than a demo, though it stops short of the consulting hours that start at Starter.
Paid tiers scale by staff count and add consulting hours and named Data Champions.
Starter is EUR 4,999 a year for up to 50 staff, Standard EUR 7,999 for up to 150 staff with single sign-on, and Advanced EUR 14,999 for 500 or more staff. Enterprise is custom. The built-in training system is the distinguishing feature, since most competitors sell training separately or not at all. That suits a company that wants one vendor for both the documentation and the awareness training that a data protection programme also requires.
What PrivacyEngine does well
- Free tier for five staff with ROPA, DPIA and training included
- Published annual prices up to 500 or more staff
- Built-in learning management system
- Irish company with a CRO number
- EU hosting in Ireland
Where PrivacyEngine falls short
- Staff-count pricing front-loads cost for large non-privacy workforces
- Data subject request and breach handling are not clearly itemised on the free plan
- Consulting hours are metered by tier
Standout feature. It is the only platform here whose free tier includes a full training system next to ROPA and DPIA.
Tallinn, Estonia
Essential EUR 410 per month (EUR 350 billed annually) / Pro EUR 520 per month (EUR 450 billed annually) / Governance on request
Free demo or trial, no permanent free tier
Best for: Organisations wanting the EU AI Act framework alongside GDPR tooling
GDPR Register is a Tallinn platform that brings GDPR and EU AI Act workflows into one product. The company reports more than 13,000 teams in over 30 countries and more than one million processing records documented through it, both vendor claims.
Essential costs EUR 410 a month, or EUR 350 billed annually, and covers records of processing, vendor and DPA management, breach and data subject request handling and a task manager. That means the entry tier already covers four of the five pillars this category is judged on, which is more than several competitors include at their cheapest paid tier.
Pro costs EUR 520 a month, or EUR 450 annually, and adds an AI assistant, legitimate interest assessment, DPIA and risk management. Governance is quoted on request and adds automatic vendor discovery, single sign-on, a separate instance and the EU AI Act framework.
Pricing is per legal entity with unlimited users at every tier, which can work out cheaper than per-seat models for a team with many users and few entities. Annual billing lowers each tier by roughly EUR 60 to EUR 70 a month, and the company offers a free demo before any commitment is made.
What GDPR Register does well
- Published monthly prices at both self-serve tiers
- Per-entity pricing with unlimited users
- Essential already covers register, vendors, breaches and requests
- EU AI Act framework offered alongside GDPR
Where GDPR Register falls short
- DPIA and risk management start only at Pro
- Governance, with single sign-on and a separate instance, is quote-only
- No permanent free tier
- Founding year and legal entity details are not stated on the pages reviewed
Standout feature. It prices per legal entity with unlimited users, so headcount does not drive the bill.
Baar, Canton of Zug, Switzerland
Founded 2017
Quoted on request
Best for: Corporate groups managing GDPR and Swiss FADP across subsidiaries
Priverion is a Swiss platform from Priverion Solutions AG in Baar, in the Canton of Zug.
It was founded in 2017 by the Staiger brothers and Oliver Stutz and is funded entirely by its founders, with no outside investors, an unusual structure in a category where most vendors have taken venture capital. It reports more than 50 customer organisations in 14 countries, a vendor claim. The size is modest next to the larger vendors, which is the usual trade for a platform aimed at corporate groups rather than the mass market.
The platform automates the Article 30 register, DPIA completion from templates, data subject request workflows with deadline tracking, vendor and processor management with DPA tracking, and breach notification workflows. It is built for multi-entity groups across several jurisdictions and hosts on ISO 27001-certified infrastructure in Switzerland.
Switzerland sits outside the EU and EEA but holds an EU adequacy decision, so an EU-only hosting policy should be checked. No prices are published. Quotes follow a demo and a sales conversation, and no free tier or self-serve trial is described on the pages reviewed for this directory.
What Priverion does well
- Founder-owned with no outside investors
- Full suite including breaches and vendor management
- Swiss hosting on ISO 27001-certified infrastructure
- Built for multi-entity, multi-jurisdiction groups
Where Priverion falls short
- No published pricing
- No free tier or self-serve trial stated
- Switzerland is outside the EU and EEA
- Small customer base compared with the larger vendors
Standout feature. It is the only founder-owned platform here and the only one headquartered in Switzerland.
Zaventem, Belgium
Quoted on request
Free trial, no permanent free tier
Best for: Teams wanting AI governance and training bundled with GDPR documentation
Responsum is a Belgian platform operated by Responsum BV, company number 0634.877.668, based in Zaventem near Brussels. It positions itself around full GDPR compliance rather than a single module.
The product bundles a register of processing activities, DPIA workflows alongside legitimate interest and transfer impact assessments, data subject request handling, incident and breach management, vendor management with DPA tracking and risk tools. The register can be linked to the other modules, so a vendor entry, an assessment and a breach record refer to the same processing activity.
Two adjacent modules set it apart: an AI governance module and awareness and training content, both of which several competitors sell separately. Pricing is not published, there is no permanent free tier, and the company offers a free trial before moving to a quote.
That makes it harder to budget for sight-unseen than PrivacyPerfect, PrivacyEngine or GDPR Register, and it is a smaller, less internationally documented vendor than DataGuard. Buyers comparing it with larger platforms should ask for reference customers in their own sector and country before moving beyond the trial.
What Responsum does well
- Full suite including LIA and TIA assessments
- AI governance module included
- Training content bundled with the compliance tools
- Free trial before a quote
Where Responsum falls short
- No published pricing
- No permanent free tier
- Hosting is described only as EU-hosted
- Founding year not stated by the vendor
Standout feature. It bundles AI governance and staff training into the core suite instead of selling them as add-ons.
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Founded 2018
Quoted on request
Best for: French organisations wanting RGPD tooling with Sapin II coverage
Data Legal Drive is a French privacy and anti-corruption platform founded in 2018 and based in Neuilly-sur-Seine. It is part of EQS Group AG of Munich.
In February 2024 EQS Group was taken private by the US private-equity firm Thoma Bravo, so the roadmap now answers to a larger, PE-owned portfolio rather than an independent founder. Through the acquisition EQS reported gaining roughly 10,000 clients and 50,000 users across 50 countries. Those figures are vendor-reported and describe the combined group after the acquisition, so they are not a count of Data Legal Drive customers alone.
The platform covers a processing register, a DPIA module, data subject request handling and an incidents and breaches module, with workflow automation, audits and e-learning.
Its distinguishing feature is Sapin II coverage, the French anti-corruption law that many GDPR-only platforms do not address. The interface and documentation are French first, and no pricing is published, so every quote needs a sales conversation. A non-French-speaking buyer should check which languages the interface, templates and support actually cover before committing to a contract term.
What Data Legal Drive does well
- Full suite in one product
- Sapin II anti-corruption coverage next to GDPR
- Backed by a Munich-headquartered compliance group
- Built around French law
Where Data Legal Drive falls short
- Parent EQS Group was taken private by a US firm in 2024
- No published pricing
- French-first interface and documentation
- No free tier stated
Standout feature. It is the only platform here built around French Sapin II anti-corruption compliance alongside GDPR.
Bonn, Germany
Starter EUR 49.90 per month (50 credits, 1 solution) / Essential EUR 199.90 (200 credits, 2 solutions) / Premium EUR 599.90 (600 credits, 3 solutions) / Professional EUR 1,490.90 (1,500 credits, 5 solutions), annual billing; Enterprise and Ultima on request; extra credits EUR 0.50 to EUR 1.50 each
Best for: Smaller teams paying only for the register and DPIA modules they use
Ailance is built by 2B Advice GmbH, registered at the district court of Bonn under HRB 12713, which reports 4,500 or more clients. It is sold on a credit model rather than a flat per-seat price, and the pricing is published in full.
Live modules include the processing register, DPIA, outsourced data protection officer services, IT asset management and an AI governance module. Ailance Ultima, the top edition, offers unlimited credits, and the pay-per-use model means a small team only buys the capacity of the modules it actually opens.
Six annual-billing tiers scale by monthly credits. Starter is EUR 49.90 a month for 50 credits and one solution, Essential EUR 199.90 for 200 credits and two solutions, Premium EUR 599.90 for 600 credits and three, and Professional EUR 1,490.90 for 1,500 credits and five.
Enterprise and Ultima are quoted on request, and extra credits cost EUR 0.50 to EUR 1.50. A standalone data subject request tool and vendor risk module are not clearly listed as live, and cookie consent is marked coming soon.
What Ailance does well
- Itemised prices from EUR 49.90 a month
- Live register and DPIA modules
- Outsourced data protection officer service available
- Pay-per-use credits for small teams
Where Ailance falls short
- No clearly named data subject request or vendor risk module
- Credit pricing needs converting from expected usage
- Cookie consent is still coming soon in the product
- Founding year not stated by the vendor
Standout feature. It publishes pay-per-use credit pricing in full, which almost nobody else in this category does.
Hannover, Germany
Quoted on request
Best for: Small German organisations wanting a lean records and DPIA tool
Privacy Suite is built by Privacy Solutions GmbH, registered at the district court of Hannover under HRB 216475, with its development team in Frankfurt. It was founded by Prof. Dr. Jochen Deister and Christoph Westermann and is marketed as data protection management made in Germany.
The modules cover records of processing, a screening tool, DPIA workflows, contract management and an emerging AI for Privacy module for risk assessment. The platform is aimed at data protection officers who want a structured, auditable system with a record of changes rather than a collection of spreadsheets.
It is the smallest and least internationally documented vendor in this category. No data subject request or breach module is described on the public site, no pricing is published, and founding date and customer counts are not stated.
A buyer should scope a demo against the specific pillars that could not be verified as live features, and compare it against the fuller suites before committing. The vendor does not state a customer count, a founding year or a price, so evidence of maturity has to come from references the buyer requests directly.
What Privacy Suite does well
- Named, credentialed founding team
- Solid core of register, screening and DPIA
- German-engineered and positioned for German data protection officers
- AI-assisted risk screening as an emerging module
Where Privacy Suite falls short
- No published pricing
- No data subject request or breach module described
- No founding date or customer counts stated
- Weakest suite coverage of the platforms listed here
Standout feature. It is the only vendor here whose public pages lead with a named, credentialed founding team.
Berlin, Germany
Founded 2020
Essential from EUR 79 per month (1 legal entity) / Professional from EUR 349 per month (3 legal entities) / Corporate from EUR 749 per month (8 legal entities) / Enterprise on request
Best for: Enterprise and corporate groups wanting entity-based pricing and German hosting
caralegal is a Berlin platform operated by caralegal GmbH, registered at the district court of Charlottenburg under HRB 217532 B and founded in 2020. It describes itself as a data responsibility platform developed and hosted in Germany, with four flows: Privacy, AI, Audit and Vendor, and Risk.
Its own pages list ProSiebenSat.1, RWE and Berlin Brandenburg Airport as customers and claim an average 64 percent cut in documentation effort, a vendor claim from April 2026. The Privacy Flow is the core of the product, and the other flows are sold as additions that tie risks and audits back to the same register.
Prices are published per month with unlimited users and documents: Essential from EUR 79 for one legal entity, Professional from EUR 349 for three, Corporate from EUR 749 for eight, and Enterprise on request. The Privacy Flow covers the processing register, DPIA, technical measures, processor management, data breaches and data subject requests.
The company page names Open Telekom Cloud by T-Systems in Frankfurt as host, and lists ISICO GmbH and the law firm SRD, both in Berlin, as its company group. Customers should note that a platform run by a company group with a law firm may suit lawyers and compliance teams better than a purely technical IT department.
What caralegal does well
- Hosting named: Open Telekom Cloud, Frankfurt am Main
- Published prices from EUR 79 a month with unlimited users
- Priced per legal entity, suited to groups
- Register, DPIA, vendors, breaches and requests in one flow
- Berlin GmbH with commercial register number
Where caralegal falls short
- Higher tiers needed for the full workflow features and white-label branding
- Price per legal entity climbs quickly for large groups
- No permanent free plan
- T-Systems cloud is operated by a large telecom group rather than an independent host
Standout feature. It is the only platform here that names its cloud provider and city while publishing entity-based prices.
Berlin, Germany
Founded 2020
Data Privacy Starter from EUR 65 per month (EUR 59 billed annually) / Professional from EUR 120 (EUR 99 annually) / Enterprise from EUR 178 (EUR 169 annually); final price depends on company size and modules
Best for: Small and growing companies wanting software plus an appointed data protection officer
heyData is a Berlin company, heyData GmbH, registered at the district court of Charlottenburg under HRB 242016 B and founded in 2020. It reports more than 2,500 customers and a team of over 70.
Beyond data privacy it sells information security, ISO 27001, NIS2, EU AI Act and whistleblower modules from the same platform, and a group of TUEV-certified data protection officers. The platform is aimed at small and mid-sized companies and start-ups, and it reports a rating of 4.5 out of 5 on G2.
The Data Privacy plans are published: Starter from EUR 65 a month (EUR 59 billed annually), Professional from EUR 120 (EUR 99), and Enterprise from EUR 178 (EUR 169), with the final price set by company size and modules.
Every plan includes the appointment of a data protection officer, a data protection audit and documentation. DPIA, training and the data protection seal start at Professional, and vendor risk management is limited. The host is described as ISO 27001 certified but is not named.
What heyData does well
- Published entry prices from EUR 59 a month billed annually
- External data protection officer appointment included in every plan
- DPIA, vendor risk and policy management on the same platform
- German GmbH with commercial register number
Where heyData falls short
- Entry tier is documentation-led, with limited vendor risk and no DPIA
- Final price depends on company size and modules
- The hosting provider is not named
- Liability caps per tier run from EUR 50,000 to EUR 250,000
Standout feature. It bundles an appointed data protection officer into every published monthly plan.
Saint-Mande, France
Starter, Pro and Enterprise tiers, none priced on the page; free to try
Described as free to try, no period stated
Best for: DPOs and external DPOs managing several clients in one workspace
Dastra is a French platform from DASTRA, registered at the Creteil trade and companies registry under RCS 888 411 741 and based in Saint-Mande. The vendor says it serves 4,000 companies and 19,000 users in nine languages, a vendor claim.
Modules include the processing register, data subject requests, tasks, data breaches, questionnaires, DPIA, risk management and a cookie consent widget, and a dedicated external DPO mode lets one person manage several client organisations. The vendor says the tool is free to try and offers a demo, and its pages describe the interface as built for non-specialists as well as full-time DPOs.
Three tiers exist: Starter with the register and privacy-by-design questionnaires, Pro adding rights requests, breaches, contracts and a trust center, and Enterprise adding frameworks such as GDPR, Europrivacy and ISO 27001 with single sign-on.
No price is published and the site says only that it is free to try. The legal notice states the site runs on Microsoft Azure servers in France, which is a US-owned provider in a European region. Enterprise adds SAML2 and OpenID single sign-on, advanced security options and evidence automation, which matters for regulated buyers with a formal control framework.
What Dastra does well
- External DPO mode for managing several clients
- Register, requests, breaches and DPIA in one product
- Servers in France per the legal notice
- French company with registry number and named president
Where Dastra falls short
- No published pricing
- Hosting is on Microsoft Azure, a US-owned provider
- No trial period or free tier described
- Customer figures are vendor claims
Standout feature. It has a dedicated external DPO mode for managing many client organisations in one workspace.
Herford, Germany
Founded 2010
Standard, Group and Whitelabel editions, all quoted on request
30-day free trial
Best for: German Mittelstand and DPOs needing a register tool with a 30-day trial
audatis MANAGER comes from audatis Group GmbH in Herford, registered at the district court of Bad Oeynhausen under HRB 18427. The business began in 2010 as a security consultancy and took the audatis name in 2011.
The platform covers data subject requests, processing agreements, DPIA, breaches, the processing register, technical measures, legitimate interest assessments and joint controller records, in German and English. The software is positioned for the German Mittelstand and for external data protection officers who manage many client organisations from one place.
It comes in three editions, all priced on request: Standard for one company with 10 users, Group for several legal entities or external DPOs, and Whitelabel with 46 tenants and your own domain.
The price page states a data centre in Germany and availability above 99.5 percent, and the trust center says audatis is ISO 27001 certified. A 30-day free trial is offered. The legal base listed includes German church data protection law, which most competitors ignore. Prices are only given on request, so a buyer should ask which edition fits the number of legal entities and users before booking the trial.
What audatis MANAGER does well
- German data centre stated on the price page
- ISO 27001 certification stated in the trust center
- 30-day free trial
- Group and white-label editions for external DPOs
- Covers German church data protection law
Where audatis MANAGER falls short
- No published prices
- Interface and materials lead in German
- Editions are priced per company or tenant, so a quote is needed
- Customer numbers are not stated on the pages reviewed
Standout feature. It lists German church data protection law among its supported legal bases, which is rare in this category.