Olvid

French messenger with no phone number and no central directory, holding an ANSSI CSPN visa

Quick Overview

Company Olvid SAS
Category Messaging Apps
Headquarters Paris, France
Founded 2019
EU Presence EU (France)
Data Location Amazon Web Services (AWS), region not stated by Olvid; the server only relays encrypted payloads
Open Source Yes
Compliance ANSSI CSPN security visas (iOS and Android apps)
Pricing Free / Pro €4.99/user/month incl. tax (in-app) / Business €9.90/user/month excl. tax / Enterprise €9.90/user/month + €4,990/year
Free Option Free tier; 1-month free trial of the in-app Pro option
Replaces WhatsApp, Signal, Microsoft Teams chat

Detailed Review

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • No phone number and no central user directory
  • Android and iOS apps open source under AGPL-3.0, with the distribution server code published
  • ANSSI CSPN security visas for the iOS and Android apps
  • Free tier, with a one-month trial of the in-app Pro option
  • Business and Enterprise plans, with SSO and MDM on Enterprise

Cons

  • Hosted on Amazon Web Services, a US infrastructure provider
  • Olvid does not state which AWS region the service runs in
  • No directory to search, so every contact has to be added deliberately
  • Enterprise adds €4,990 a year on top of €9.90 per user per month

Alternatives to Olvid

See all messaging apps →

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Olvid?

Olvid is a French messenger, made by Olvid SAS in Paris, that needs no phone number and keeps no central user directory, so an Olvid account is not listed anywhere a stranger could search for it. The Olvid apps for Android and iOS are open source under AGPL-3.0, and Olvid has published the code of its distribution server as well, which means the part that moves messages can be read and not only the part that encrypts them.

Where is Olvid based?

Olvid operates from Paris, France, which places it under EU (France). Compliance: ANSSI CSPN security visas (iOS and Android apps).

What does Olvid cost?

Free / Pro €4.99/user/month incl. tax (in-app) / Business €9.90/user/month excl. tax / Enterprise €9.90/user/month + €4,990/year. Free tier; 1-month free trial of the in-app Pro option.

Who is Olvid best for?

Individuals and organisations that want accounts with no phone number behind them and apps with a French security visa. Certification on the client: Olvid holds ANSSI CSPN security visas for the iOS and Android apps themselves, which is where a messenger does its encrypting.

What are the drawbacks of Olvid?

Hosted on Amazon Web Services, a US infrastructure provider. Olvid does not state which AWS region the service runs in. No directory to search, so every contact has to be added deliberately. Enterprise adds €4,990 a year on top of €9.90 per user per month.

Who worked on this review

Three people touch every tool page: one writes it, a second edits it, and a third checks the compliance and pricing claims against the vendor's own documentation.

Sebastiaan Smits
Written by

Sebastiaan Smits

Founder & Editor · Netherlands

Selects the tools, writes the reviews, and checks where each company is actually established.

Daniel Brandt
Edited by

Daniel Brandt

Privacy & Compliance Researcher · Berlin, Germany

Checks the compliance claims: where the company is established, where the data sits, and what the DPA actually says.

Marta Kowalczyk
Fact-checked by

Marta Kowalczyk

Senior Analyst, Infrastructure & Developer Tools · Warsaw, Poland

Covers hosting, developer tooling and the practical side of moving workloads to European providers.

Read our editorial process for how we source, verify and update these pages — and how we keep affiliate income separate from what we recommend.

Go to Olvid