Coinfinity
Graz-based Bitcoin platform with FMA MiCAR licence, savings plans, Lightning purchases and a EUR 0.49 minimum fee
Quick Overview
| Company | Coinfinity GmbH |
|---|---|
| Category | Crypto Exchanges |
| Headquarters | Graz, Austria |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - Austria (EU) |
| Data Location | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes |
| Self-Hosting | No |
| Main Features | Bitcoin buy and sell, savings plans, Lightning purchases, own wallet, business and wealth services, bug bounty |
| Pricing | Service fee per fee schedule, minimum EUR 0.49 per transaction; no spread claimed (see website for the percentage) |
| Best For | Bitcoin-only savers who want a small Austrian provider |
| Replaces | Coinbase |
Detailed Review
Coinfinity concentrates on Bitcoin. Its home page promises "100% transparency, 0% spread" and offers automated savings plans.
The imprint names Coinfinity GmbH at Griesgasse 10 in Graz (company register FN 415803 a) and the Austrian Financial Market Authority as supervisor.
Licence in the terms
The general terms state that Coinfinity is licensed as a crypto-asset service provider under Regulation (EU) 2023/1114 and supervised by the Austrian FMA. The imprint lists the same authority.
Fee structure
Clause 5 of the terms says a service fee applies to each transaction according to the fee schedule in force, with a minimum of EUR 0.49. The percentage itself sits on the transparency page, which we did not read as text, so we do not quote it.
Buying small amounts means the minimum fee can be a large share of the order.
Bitcoin tools
The site offers savings plans, buying over the Lightning network and its own wallet, and separate business and wealth sections for larger amounts.
Limitations to Consider
The offer is aimed at Bitcoin, so people who want many altcoins will find a narrower choice than at Bitvavo or Bitpanda. The percentage fee was not readable on the page we fetched, and the EUR 0.49 minimum penalises very small purchases. It is a small GmbH, and server location was not stated.
Who Should Use Coinfinity
Long-term Bitcoin holders in the EU who prefer an Austrian licensed provider and automated savings.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- MiCAR licence stated in the terms
- Austrian company with register number
- Savings plans and Lightning buying
- Own wallet option
- Clear minimum fee in the terms
Cons
- Bitcoin focus, narrow asset choice
- Percentage fee not verified
- Minimum fee hurts small orders
- Hosting not stated
Alternatives to Coinfinity
Other European crypto exchanges worth comparing before you decide:
Bitvavo
Netherlands · Euro exchange with 400+ assets and tiered fees
Finst
Netherlands · Flat 0.15% fee per trade with no added spread
Bitpanda
Austria · Crypto, stocks, ETFs and metals in one app
BISON
Germany · Boerse Stuttgart Group app without transaction fees
See all European crypto exchanges or compare them directly against Coinbase on our alternatives page.
Frequently Asked Questions
Its terms state it is licensed as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCAR and supervised by the Austrian FMA.
The home page claims 0% spread and says the fee is transparent. The service fee is set in a fee schedule with a EUR 0.49 minimum.
Yes, the site has a Lightning section for buying Bitcoin over the Lightning network.