Every European online tutoring marketplace reviewed
Sheffield, United Kingdom
No upfront fees, no contracts; pay after the lesson; tutor prices not shown on the pages we read
Demo on request
Best for: UK parents and adult learners who want a pay-per-lesson tutor without a subscription
Tutorful is the trading name of Tutora Ltd, a company in Sheffield registered in England and Wales under number 09370702, with its registered office at Dearing House on Young Street. The terms apply English law and give the English courts exclusive jurisdiction. A parent signs with a UK company, and the UK sits outside the EEA under an adequacy decision.
Booking starts from a short questionnaire on subject, level and goals, after which Tutorful returns a shortlist it describes as experienced and background-checked. Lessons run in a classroom with an interactive whiteboard and shared documents, and Tutorful says they are recorded for rewatching. The guarantee is that Tutorful pays for the next lesson with a new tutor if the first one disappoints. Tutor prices and hosting are not shown on the pages we read.
What Tutorful does well
- Company number and registered address published
- No upfront fees, contracts or commitments
- Payment after the lesson
- First-lesson guarantee with a replacement tutor
- Online classroom with recorded lessons
Where Tutorful falls short
- Tutor prices not shown on the pages we read
- Strong UK school focus (Key Stage, GCSE, National 5)
- Data hosting location not stated
- Shortlist is chosen by Tutorful rather than a free search on the pages we read
Standout feature. Tutorful pairs pay-after-lesson booking with recorded lessons in its own classroom, a combination no other tool on this list states.
London, United Kingdom
5% platform fee (the page's own figure); sample listing at £28/hr; trials free or £5 with most tutors
Demo on request
Best for: UK GCSE and A-Level students who want a low advertised platform fee
TheTutorLink is run by ND Media Ltd in London, which its terms describe as registered in England and Wales; the terms were last updated on 1 May 2026 and English law applies. No company number or street address appears on the pages we read, so the entity is documented less fully than Tutorful or Spires.
The home page states a 5% platform fee against an industry average of 20%, a claim we did not check. A sample listing shows £28 an hour. Most tutors offer a free or £5 trial, although a statistics line says every tutor offers a free one. Two moderators verify identity, qualifications and an interview, and payouts to tutors come within 48 hours. Each listed subject shows only 12 tutors.
What TheTutorLink does well
- 5% platform fee advertised
- Free or £5 trial lessons with most tutors
- Two moderator checks on tutors
- Built-in classroom without software
- Tutor payouts within 48 hours
Where TheTutorLink falls short
- No company number on the pages we read
- Only 12 tutors shown per listed subject
- Trial wording inconsistent (free versus £5)
- Hosting location not stated
Standout feature. TheTutorLink is the only tool here that leads with a percentage platform fee, 5% according to the vendor.
London, United Kingdom
Not shown on the pages we read (a separate prices page exists but gave no figures)
Demo on request
Best for: UK students who want to compare several tutor bids for a school or admissions subject
Spires is operated by SOTC Ltd, registered in England under number 09328574 with its office on Ashburton Triangle in London, and the footer shows a VAT number. The terms apply English law and the courts of England and Wales. The site is organised by Key Stage, GCSE, IGCSE, A-Level and IB, plus 11+, UCAS and Oxbridge admissions tests.
A student posts a request, tutors answer with bids, and the student reads profiles and reviews before messaging anyone. Spires states that every class is recorded for later viewing and that video chat tools let people work together. No prices or commission appear on the pages we read, and the terms contain a clause that turns damages for breaches named in a notice into a £500 debt.
What Spires does well
- Company number, address and VAT number published
- Tutors respond with bids and profiles
- Classes recorded for later viewing
- Admissions tests covered, including Oxbridge and UCAS
- Messaging with tutors before choosing
Where Spires falls short
- No prices shown on the pages we read
- Commission not stated
- UK exam levels dominate the structure
- £500 debt clause in the terms for identified breaches
Standout feature. Spires is the one marketplace here where tutors send bids to the student instead of waiting to be browsed.
London, United Kingdom
From £26/hr; tutors from £25+, £45+ and £65+ by experience; no sign-up fees, no subscriptions
Demo on request
Best for: UK parents who want to meet a tutor first and pay only for lessons used
MyTutor is the brand of My TutorWeb Limited, registered in England and Wales under number 08580263, with its office on Farringdon Street in London. English law applies and the courts of England and Wales have jurisdiction. The terms mention MTW credits and payments that include VAT, and note that tutors are not VAT registered.
The pricing page opens with online tutoring from £26 an hour and lists three tiers by experience, marked £25+, £45+ and £65+. Parents can book a free 15-minute meeting with a tutor before paying for anything. MyTutor states no sign-up fees, no subscriptions, use by 1500+ schools and over 10,000 free study notes. Its navigation centres on Maths, English, sciences, GCSE, A-Level and IB.
What MyTutor does well
- Company number and registered address published
- Price tiers shown on the pricing page
- Free 15-minute meeting before booking
- No sign-up fees or subscriptions
- Free study notes for revision
Where MyTutor falls short
- Entry price of £25+ per hour is not low
- UK school exam focus
- Hosting location not stated
- Final price depends on the tutor tier
Standout feature. MyTutor shows its price tiers on a public pricing page and lets you meet the tutor for free first.
London, United Kingdom
Founded 2013
Not shown on the pages we read; the Dutch site displays prices in EUR
Demo on request
Best for: Learners who want one marketplace for school tutoring, languages and music
Apprentus is operated by Apprentus Ltd, with company number 08897308 and its registered office at Wenlock Road in London. The legal notice names the courts of the judicial district of London. The founder's note on the about page says the company launched in Brussels in October 2013, and the Dutch site shows prices in euros.
The marketplace spans school support, music and languages. The home page counts 83,807 teachers for school support, 20,365 for music and 78,606 for languages, plus 101,131 offering online lessons, and the company claims more than 130,000 teachers overall. Those counts overlap because one teacher can sit in several groups. The pages we read show no fees, commission or hourly rates, and teacher vetting is not described.
What Apprentus does well
- Company number and registered office published
- Covers school subjects, languages and music
- 130,000+ teachers stated
- Online lessons offered
- Prices displayed in euros on the Dutch site
Where Apprentus falls short
- No fees or hourly rates on the pages we read
- Teacher vetting not described
- Hosting location not stated
- Counts per category overlap
Standout feature. Apprentus is the only tool here that puts school help, languages and music in one marketplace of more than 100,000 teachers.
Granollers (Barcelona), Spain
Not shown on the pages we read; the page states no tuition fees or minimum number of hours
Demo on request
Best for: Language learners who want a short free trial class before choosing
Classgap is a service of Tus Media S.L., tax number B-65640930, entered in the Mercantile Register of Barcelona and based at Pallars 3-5 in Granollers. Spanish law applies to the terms. The privacy text says teacher profile data may be shared with GoStudent GmbH and its affiliates for commercial communications, which points to a link between the two companies.
The offer is a free 20-minute trial class, and Classgap says it will help find another teacher if the first class disappoints. The home page cites more than 12,000 teachers, with 8,239 in English, 3,456 in Spanish and 1,433 in French, so the base is mostly languages. Display currencies include euro, pound and dollar. No prices or payment protection wording appear on the pages we read.
What Classgap does well
- Tax number and register entry published
- Free 20-minute trial
- 12,000+ teachers stated
- Replacement teacher if the first class disappoints
- Euro, pound and dollar display currencies
Where Classgap falls short
- No prices on the pages we read
- Teacher base is mostly languages
- Payment protection not described
- Link to GoStudent in the privacy text is unexplained
Standout feature. Classgap is the only marketplace here whose free trial is a 20-minute class aimed at languages.
Vienna, Austria
From €19.99 per unit (page also says from €20); examples up to €36.01 per unit; base price €15.90 per 50-minute unit; GoStudent Learning €14.90 a month after a free month
Demo on request
Best for: Families in German-speaking countries who want a fixed monthly lesson plan
GoStudent is the brand of GoStudent Online Tutoring GmbH at Ernst-Melchior-Gasse 22 in Vienna, entered as FN 447118b at the Handelsgericht Wien with VAT number ATU70362118. The Impressum names Gregor Müller and Felix Ohswald as managing directors. The site has country versions for the UK, Germany, Austria, France, Italy, Spain, Turkey, Poland, the Netherlands and Greece.
Lessons are 50-minute online units sold in memberships of 4, 6, 8 or 12 a month, and more units lower the price per unit. The price page says from €19.99 and elsewhere from €20, the FAQ gives a base price of €15.90, and examples reach €36.01 on four units. A trial lesson is free without a credit card. The pages do not state notice periods, and the examples assume 12 months.
What GoStudent does well
- Company register number and VAT number published
- Free trial lesson, no credit card
- Prices in euros per unit
- Country versions in ten markets
- Choice of 4, 6, 8 or 12 units a month
Where GoStudent falls short
- Lowest price tied to long plans
- Cancellation rules not on the pricing page
- Price stated as both €19.99 and €20
- Hosting location not stated
Standout feature. GoStudent sells one-to-one tutoring as a monthly plan of 4, 6, 8 or 12 units, not as single bookings.
Barcelona, Spain
Headline rates from £12/hr (tutor prices); student fees not stated on the pages we read; tutor sign-up free
Demo on request
Best for: Students who want to browse many local or online tutor ads at low hourly rates
FindTutors is a directory owned by Tus Media S.L. of Barcelona, the company behind Classgap, and it appears under the same Mercantile Registry entry. The terms apply Spanish law, and courts in Barcelona hear disputes when the user lives outside Spain. The home page counts 4,098,720 ads in over 350 subjects.
Teachers and educational centres post ads, and students search by subject and place or choose video-call lessons. Tutor sign-up is free and headline rates start at £12 an hour, which is a tutor's asking rate. The student fee structure is not stated on the pages we read. The teacher terms make teachers solely responsible for their own professional registration and mention passing profile data to GoStudent entities.
What FindTutors does well
- Register entry of the owner published
- 4 million+ ads stated
- 350+ subjects
- Free tutor sign-up
- Online lessons by video call
Where FindTutors falls short
- Student fee structure not on the pages we read
- No vetting or payment protection described
- Ad quality will vary
- Lessons run in outside tools such as Zoom
Standout feature. FindTutors is a classified directory with 4,098,720 ads, which is a different product from the booking platforms around it.
London, United Kingdom
Indicative from £50/hr (school and online), £60/hr (university), £70/hr (admissions and professional); one-off £90 membership for consultant matching
Demo on request
Best for: UK families who want a consultant to match a tutor for exams and admissions
Tavistock Tutors is operated by Tavistock Tutors Limited, company number 06898986, registered in England and Wales. The footer shows an address on Schomberg House and the privacy policy another on Brewer Street, both in London. The privacy policy lists partner companies, among them SOTC Ltd, which runs Spires.
The pricing page shows indicative rates from £50 an hour for school and online lessons, £60 for university and £70 for admissions and professional subjects, and says tutors set their own rates. A one-off £90 membership buys a dedicated consultant for the whole family, with no expiry date, while searching alone costs nothing. Tavistock states that it accepts the top 5% of applicants.
What Tavistock Tutors does well
- Company number published
- Indicative rates by level on the pricing page
- Optional consultant matching
- Self-search with no membership fee
- Admissions and professional subjects covered
Where Tavistock Tutors falls short
- Entry rate of £50 per hour
- £90 membership for consultant matching
- Two London addresses on different pages
- Hosting location not stated
Standout feature. Tavistock Tutors is the only provider here where a paid consultant, not the customer, chooses the tutor.
Gelsenkirchen, Germany
From €8.76 per lesson (small group, location-dependent, long term); one-to-one from €24.12 per hour; registration fee up to €69; first trial lesson free
Demo on request
Best for: German families who want group tutoring at a low per-lesson price
Schülerhilfe is run by ZGS Bildungs-GmbH at Ludwig-Erhard-Straße 2 in Gelsenkirchen, registered at the Amtsgericht Gelsenkirchen-Buer under HRB 10129. The imprint says local sites belong to Schülerhilfe GmbH & Co. KG, a subsidiary, or to franchise partners, and in Austria to Schülerhilfe Österreich GmbH. The service is in German.
Small-group lessons start at €8.76 and one-to-one at €24.12 an hour. The footnotes tie the lowest price to a 24-month term and to the location, and a registration fee of up to €69 may apply. Contracts are cancellable monthly, but leaving early means paying what a shorter contract would have cost. The first trial lesson is free, lessons can run online, and the AI assistant Kira is included at selected locations.
What Schülerhilfe does well
- Imprint with register number published
- From €8.76 per lesson in small groups
- Monthly cancellable contracts
- First trial lesson free
- Online and on-site formats
Where Schülerhilfe falls short
- Lowest price needs a 24-month term
- Registration fee of up to €69
- Prices vary by location
- German-language service focus
Standout feature. Schülerhilfe quotes the lowest small-group lesson price on this list, from €8.76, but only on a 24-month term.
Bochum, Germany
On-site from €8.40 per 45 minutes (two sessions a week, 12 months, small group); online single tutoring from €18.45; pause up to three months a year
Demo on request
Best for: German families who want a local centre or online lessons under one provider
Studienkreis is run by Studienkreis GmbH at Universitätsstraße 104 in Bochum, registered at the AG Bochum under HRB 4581. The imprint also names Tutor Holding GmbH and Studienkreis Partnersysteme GmbH and lists Felix Ohswald and Paul Fell as managing directors. The terms are dated January 2026 and cover contracts made online and at about 1,000 locations.
On-site lessons start at €8.40 per 45 minutes, a price that assumes two sessions a week, a 12-month contract, a small group and included materials. Online single tutoring starts at €18.45, and subscriptions can change monthly hours or pause for up to three months a year. Two free 45-minute trial lessons are offered on-site. Courses address reading and spelling difficulties, dyscalculia and exams such as Abitur and MSA.
What Studienkreis does well
- Imprint with register numbers published
- On-site from €8.40 per 45 minutes
- Two free trial lessons on-site
- Online subscriptions can be paused
- Courses for LRS and dyscalculia
Where Studienkreis falls short
- Exact price only via consultation
- Lowest price needs a 12-month contract
- Notice periods not on the pages we read
- German-language service
Standout feature. Studienkreis combines about 1,000 local centres with online subscriptions that can be paused for up to three months a year.
not stated on the pages we read, France
Centre group courses €76 to €145 TTC a month; online group courses €69 to €114 TTC a month; home lessons without minimum duration, 50% instant tax credit
Demo on request
Best for: French families who want home lessons with an instant tax credit or group courses in a centre
Acadomia is the brand of DOMIA GROUP SA, named as publisher in the legal notice with share capital of €2,107,258.80. The tutoring subsidiary AIS 2 SAS is registered at the RCS Nice under 483 820 080. The legal notice states that the site is hosted by AWS EMEA SARL, the only hosting statement found on any of these tools' pages. The seat of DOMIA GROUP SA was not extracted.
Families can choose home lessons, weekly centre classes of 4 to 8 pupils or online group courses. Centre courses cost €76 to €145 TTC a month and online group courses €69 to €114, as indicative 2026/2027 prices. Home lessons have no minimum duration and carry a 50% instant tax credit; group courses are excluded. Acadomia gives no free trial lesson but offers a free pedagogical assessment, and it counts 110 centres in France.
What Acadomia does well
- Legal notice with register numbers published
- 110 centres in France
- 50% instant tax credit on home lessons
- Home lessons without minimum duration
- Free pedagogical assessment
Where Acadomia falls short
- No free trial lesson
- Group courses excluded from the tax credit
- French-language service
- Own hourly home rates not shown on the page we read
Standout feature. Acadomia applies a 50% tax credit at the moment of payment for home lessons, which no other tool here does.