Ui.Vision RPA
Open-source browser and desktop automation from Germany that runs on your own machine
Key data
| Company | a9t9 software GmbH |
|---|---|
| Category | RPA Software |
| Headquarters | Germany (city not stated on the pages we read), Germany |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - Germany (EU) |
| Data Location | Runs locally on the user's machine; no cloud component |
| Open Source | Open source (licence name not stated on the pages we read) |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes |
| Self-Hosting | Yes, the software runs locally on your PC, Mac or Linux machine |
| Main Features | Browser extension for Chrome, Edge and Firefox, Desktop Automation app (XModules), visual recording, Selenium-style commands, JavaScript API, computer vision and OCR, AI macro assistant, MCP bridge |
| Pricing | Free for personal and commercial use; PRO US$299.00 per year; Enterprise US$999+ per year (up to 5 users US$999.00); Enterprise Player US$1499.00 |
| Best For | Individuals and small teams that want free local browser and desktop automation |
| Replaces | UiPath, Automation Anywhere, Microsoft Power Automate |
Review in detail
Ui.Vision is an automation tool from a9t9 software GmbH. Its privacy policy states that the company is headquartered in Germany and that the GDPR applies. The core is open source, so the code that runs on your machine can be inspected.
Ui.Vision works as a browser extension for Chrome, Edge and Firefox. A separate Desktop Automation app (XModules) adds desktop applications and local file access. Version 10 adds an AI macro assistant and an MCP bridge that lets your own AI assistant create and run macros.
How Ui.Vision RPA works on a local machine
Ui.Vision records browser actions and replays them as macros. You can also write Selenium-style commands or use the JavaScript automation API. Computer vision and OCR let a macro act on what is on screen.
The privacy policy states that all data processing and storage happen locally and that the software does not send data back to a9t9. The company says the open-source core lets users verify this.
Ui.Vision pricing: free, PRO and Enterprise
The pricing page states Ui.Vision is open source and free for personal and commercial use. The PRO edition costs US$299.00 per year and adds email support. The Enterprise edition starts at US$999+ per year and adds update management and priority support by email, phone and screen sharing.
Orders are processed by the reseller Fastspring. Discounts exist for students and universities, and free Enterprise licences are available for open-source projects.
Ui.Vision as a European alternative to UiPath
Ui.Vision covers browser and desktop macros without a server, a licence key for the free edition or a US cloud. UiPath adds a hosted orchestrator, process intelligence and agentic AI on top of its robots, which Ui.Vision does not list on the pages we read.
Teams with a handful of robots on single machines fit Ui.Vision. Teams with hundreds of unattended robots and central governance will outgrow it.
Known limits
Ui.Vision lists no central orchestrator, role-based access or robot fleet management on the pages we read, so it suits single machines rather than large unattended fleets. Desktop automation needs the separate XModules app, and Enterprise prices are in US dollars. The city of a9t9 software GmbH and the licence name are not stated on the pages we read. For fleet orchestration compare OpenRPA.
Best suited to users of Ui.Vision RPA
Freelancers, small teams and developers who want free local browser and desktop automation from a German company and do not need a hosted control room.
What works, what does not
Pros
- Free for personal and commercial use
- Runs locally, no data sent back to the vendor
- Open-source core that can be inspected
- Works on Windows, macOS and Linux
- Public prices for PRO and Enterprise
Cons
- No central orchestrator listed on the pages we read
- Desktop automation needs a separate app
- Paid editions are priced in US dollars
- City and licence name not stated
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Free for personal and commercial use
- Runs locally, no data sent back to the vendor
- Open-source core that can be inspected
- Works on Windows, macOS and Linux
- Public prices for PRO and Enterprise
Cons
- No central orchestrator listed on the pages we read
- Desktop automation needs a separate app
- Paid editions are priced in US dollars
- City and licence name not stated
Alternatives to Ui.Vision RPA
Further European rpa software to compare:
See all European rpa software or compare them directly against UiPath on our alternatives page.
FAQ
Yes for browser and desktop robots. Ui.Vision is built by a9t9 software GmbH, which states it is headquartered in Germany. It does not list the orchestrator or agentic AI features that UiPath sells.
Yes. The pricing page states Ui.Vision is open source and free for personal and commercial use. PRO at US$299.00 per year and Enterprise from US$999+ per year add support and update management.
On your own machine. The privacy policy states Ui.Vision RPA runs locally, that all data processing and storage is local and that it sends no data back to the company. The website uses Google Analytics.