Ponto
Open banking API from Isabel Group in Brussels, priced per linked account and per payment, with a free API for connecting your own accounts
Quick Overview
| Company | Isabel NV/SA |
|---|---|
| Category | Open Banking APIs |
| Headquarters | Brussels, Belgium |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - Belgium (EU) |
| Data Location | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes |
| Self-Hosting | No |
| Main Features | Account information service, payment initiation service, Ponto Connect and Ponto API, open banking API for end customers, sandbox, developer docs and Slack community |
| Pricing | Pay as you go per linked account and per executed payment (amounts not shown); 14-day free trial; API free for your own accounts |
| Best For | Accounting and business software, especially in Belgium, that wants per-account billing passed on to end users |
| Replaces | Plaid, Tink |
Detailed Review
Ponto sits inside Isabel Group, a Brussels company (enterprise number BE 0455 530 509) best known for the Isabel 6 multibanking service. The Ponto page advertises an open banking API to 1,800+ EU banks, and the group says 2,000+ banks rely on its solutions.
The pricing model is the distinctive part: a monthly subscription per linked account for account information, a fee per executed payment for payment initiation, billed to the end user or to the software that integrates Ponto.
Per-Account Billing
The customer-paying model page lists what an account subscription includes: account details and balances, real-time transaction history, 1,700 plus banks and a free 14-day trial, with an automatic discount when linking more than 10 accounts. Euro amounts are not shown on the page.
Free for Your Own Accounts
The vendor says developers who want to use the Ponto API for end customers themselves can use the API for free to integrate their own bank account, with no hidden costs beyond the usage fees described.
Isabel Group Context
Isabel also sells Isabel 6, Isabel Connect for embedding, Kube for corporate data and Intellisuite for fraud monitoring. The group lists 220+ software applications integrated with its products.
Limitations to Consider
No euro prices appear on the page, so cost per account must be requested or read from a partner's invoice. Bank counts differ between pages (1,700 plus and 1,800 plus), so verify your specific banks. The product is built around Belgian and Benelux business banking. For a wider country list see Enable Banking.
Who Should Use Ponto
Software vendors, especially accounting and ERP tools serving Belgian companies, that want the end user or the vendor to be billed per connected account.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Billing per linked account and per payment
- API free for your own accounts
- 14-day free trial
- Backed by Isabel Group in Brussels
- 220+ integrated software applications
Cons
- Euro prices not published
- Bank counts differ between pages
- Belgium-centred brand
- Account information must be linked before payments
Alternatives to Ponto
Other European open banking apis worth comparing before you decide:
Yapily
United Kingdom · Open banking data and payments through one API, with FCA-authorised Connect option
finAPI
Germany · Munich open banking API with a published price list and BaFin licences
TrueLayer
United Kingdom · London Pay by Bank network with a Data API and verification products
Powens
France · French open finance platform for bank data, payments and identity checks
See all European open banking apis or compare them directly against Plaid on our alternatives page.
Frequently Asked Questions
Per linked account for account information, and per executed payment for payment initiation, either to the end user or to the software provider.
Yes. The vendor says you can use the Ponto API for free to integrate your own bank account, and account subscriptions have a 14-day trial.
Ponto is a product of Isabel Group, whose footer shows Isabel NV/SA in Brussels.