European Alternatives to Plaid

Looking for a European alternative to Plaid? Plaid Inc. is a US company, and on its EU pricing page the free plan allows 200 live API calls per product before you move to custom pricing, while the US page lists Pay as You Go, Growth and Custom plans with fees per account or per request depending on the product.

The European providers below hold their own PSD2 authorisations and publish their entity details, from Munich and London to Oslo and Warsaw, and several sell data and payments from the same API.

11 Alternatives
100% GDPR Compliant
How we rank these tools — 4-step process
  1. 1
    European ownership, verified

    The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA, the UK, Switzerland or Israel, and processes customer data in Europe or Israel. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.

  2. 2
    Category fit and hands-on review

    What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.

  3. 3
    Compliance and pricing check

    GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.

  4. 4
    Position on this page

    Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. It never buys a good review: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Paid placement can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. Editorial policy

11 European Alternatives to Plaid

Yapily

Open banking data and payments through one API, with FCA-authorised Connect option

United Kingdom

finAPI

Munich open banking API with a published price list and BaFin licences

Germany

TrueLayer

London Pay by Bank network with a Data API and verification products

United Kingdom

Powens

French open finance platform for bank data, payments and identity checks

France

Enable Banking

Finnish AISP with one PSD2 API to 2,700+ banks in 30 countries

Finland

GoCardless Bank Account Data

Account information API from GoCardless, authorised in the EEA and UK

United Kingdom

Neonomics

Oslo open finance platform for bank data, verification and Pay by Bank

Norway

Ponto

Belgian open banking API from Isabel Group, free for your own accounts

Belgium

Bridge (Perspecteev)

Paris payment institution with bank data, Pay by Bank and AI signals

France

Kontomatik

Warsaw account information provider with 17 years of CEE bank imports

Poland

Fintecture

French payment institution for open banking transfers and reconciliation

France

Key takeaways

  • Plaid Inc. is a US company, and the end user privacy policy of 8 December 2025 covers Plaid Inc., Plaid Financial Ltd. (UK) and Plaid B.V. (Netherlands).
  • Plaid B.V. is registered in the Netherlands under number 74716603 and supervised by De Nederlandsche Bank under R179714; Plaid Financial Limited holds FCA reference 804718.
  • Plaid's European pricing page offers a Free plan with 200 live API calls per product and a Custom plan on quote.
  • finAPI publishes monthly licence prices from EUR 60 for up to 200 users, which makes it the easiest European alternative to cost without a sales call.
  • Enable Banking states 2,700+ banks in 30 countries, Neonomics states 3,500+ banks across Europe, and Plaid states 12,000+ institutions worldwide.

Why people leave Plaid

Plaid is the account-linking layer behind a large share of American fintech. A developer adds Plaid Link to an app, the customer picks a bank and logs in, and the app receives account numbers, balances, transactions or income data through one API.

According to its own company page, Plaid employs more than 900 people in six offices, supports over 12,000 financial institutions and counts more than 9,000 fintechs among its customers. Those are Plaid's own figures, and the product list behind them is wide.

European buyers usually look beyond Plaid for reasons of contract rather than capability.

The site carries a copyright line for Plaid Inc., and its end user privacy policy of 8 December 2025 covers three entities at once: Plaid Inc., Plaid Financial Ltd. and Plaid B.V. The Dutch entity is registered with the Chamber of Commerce under number 74716603 and holds a Dutch central bank registration, so Plaid does have a licensed European presence. What it does not offer is a European-owned vendor to sign with.

The second reason is commercial. The European pricing page lists a free tier with 200 live API calls per product and then sends you to a custom quote, while the American page shows self-serve plans.

A team that wants to compare a per-account fee against a flat monthly licence has to ask for numbers before it can compare anything. Several of the European providers on this page publish more, and some publish nothing at all, which is worth knowing before you start.

  • A US group sits behind the European licences Plaid's European footprint is real: Plaid B.V. is authorised and supervised by De Nederlandsche Bank under registration R179714, and Plaid Financial Limited is regulated by the FCA under firm reference 804718. The footer of the pricing page still ends with Plaid Inc. and a copyright line for the US company. If your procurement policy asks who ultimately owns the vendor, the answer on Plaid's own pages points to the United States, whichever licence you integrate under.
  • The EU price page ends in a quote On the European pricing page the plans are Free and Custom. Free gives unlimited sandbox calls and 200 live API calls per product, and Custom promises unlimited live calls, premium support and integration assistance for a price you get from sales. The US page is more open, with Pay as You Go, Growth and Custom, and a note that products are billed once per connected account, monthly per connected account, or per successful request. Budgeting a European launch means a sales conversation.
  • Coverage built around North America Plaid's headline numbers, 12,000+ institutions and nine thousand fintech customers, describe a platform that grew up on US bank connections. A European product needs the PSD2 banks of its own markets to work well, including smaller savings banks and business accounts. The European specialists on this page are narrower on the product side but organise their documentation, bank quirks and support around exactly that map.
  • Terms split across entities and languages Plaid publishes end user terms for the US, the UK and the EEA, with the EEA version also in Dutch and German, plus separate Modulr terms for the EU and the UK. That is thorough, but it also means a European customer reads several documents to learn which entity processes which data. A single European contracting party, as at finAPI or Fintecture, makes that review shorter.

What you have to replace, not just match

Plaid is not one API. The pricing page lists Auth, Balance, Identity, Identity Match, Assets, Income, Statements, Enrich, Investments, Liabilities, Transactions, Identity Verification and Monitor, with Layer, Signal, Transfer, Consumer Report and Protect as higher-tier products. Before you pick a replacement, write down which of these your product actually calls. Most European integrations use three or four: account data, balances, account ownership checks and sometimes payment initiation.

Account data and transaction history map well. Yapily, Powens, Enable Banking, GoCardless Bank Account Data and finAPI all read accounts, balances and transactions under PSD2. Ownership checks map to Bank ID Check at Powens, Validate at Yapily, GiroIdent at finAPI, and account or payee verification at Neonomics. Plaid's Transfer and payment initiation map to Pay by Bank at TrueLayer, Fintecture, Yapily and Bridge. Income and underwriting data map to the lender-oriented modules at Kontomatik and Neonomics.

Some pieces have no direct European twin on this list. Signal-style return-risk scoring for US ACH payments, Plaid Link's US credential flow and its connection to American credit unions have no equivalent in PSD2 markets, because those markets work differently. If your product serves American consumers as well, keep Plaid for that side and use a European provider for the EEA and UK users.

The alternatives compared

European Plaid alternatives, in the order this page ranks them, compared on headquarters, pricing and jurisdiction
PositionToolHeadquartersPricingJurisdiction
#1 Yapily London, United Kingdom Pricing on request; the public pricing page lists no figures United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
#2 finAPI Munich, Germany From EUR 60 per month (B2C basic licence up to 200 users); EUR 100 per month for B2X; 30-day free trial EU (Germany)
#3 TrueLayer London, United Kingdom Pricing on request; no price list on the vendor site United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
#4 Powens France (SIREN 749 867 206), France Pricing on request; free account for the sandbox EU (France)
#5 Enable Banking Espoo, Finland Quote through the vendor's Get a Quote tool; no price list EU (Finland)
#6 GoCardless Bank Account Data London, United Kingdom See website United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
#7 Neonomics Oslo, Norway Pricing on request; the site shows no price list EEA, not EU (Norway)
#8 Ponto Brussels, Belgium Pay as you go per linked account and per executed payment (amounts not shown); 14-day free trial; API free for your own accounts EU (Belgium)
#9 Bridge (Perspecteev) Paris, France Pricing on request; no price list on the site EU (France)
#10 Kontomatik Warsaw, Poland Pricing on request; contract agreed after a demo EU (Poland)
#11 Fintecture Saint-Mande, France Pricing on request; contact sales EU (France)

How each alternative compares to Plaid

#1

Yapily

The closest all-round match for data plus payments on UK and EEA banks

London, United KingdomPricing on request; the public pricing page lists no figures#1 in Open Banking APIs

Best for: Fintechs that need account data and Pay by Bank from one contract across the UK and EEA.

Yapily is built the way many Plaid customers use Plaid: bank data first, payments added later. Its catalogue lists Data, Data Plus for categorisation and enrichment, and Validate for account checks, next to Payments, variable recurring payments and bulk payments. Against Plaid, the difference is the licence route. Yapily Connect lets an unlicensed company operate under the Connect entities, FCA-regulated in the UK and Lithuanian for the EEA.

Yapily Ltd states that it is not itself regulated, so the licensing sits in the Connect companies. Yapily publishes no prices, as with Plaid's Custom plan, and variable recurring payments only work for UK accounts. Plaid's institution count is far larger on paper, but Yapily lists the markets a European product actually serves.

What Yapily does better than Plaid

  • European-facing licence route through Yapily Connect
  • Data and payments in a single integration
  • Explicit business account coverage
  • Documentation aimed at AI coding agents as well as people

Where Yapily is a step down from Plaid

  • No public price list, same as Plaid's Custom plan
  • Nothing like Plaid's US institution network
  • VRP is limited to UK accounts

Standout against Plaid. Yapily Connect is the only route on this page that lets you ship an open banking product without holding any licence of your own.

yapily.com Visit Yapily
#2

finAPI

The one European alternative you can cost before talking to anyone

Munich, GermanyFrom EUR 60 per month (B2C basic licence up to 200 users); EUR 100 per month for B2X; 30-day free trial#2 in Open Banking APIs

Best for: German and Austrian companies that want a licensed vendor, local servers and prices they can calculate.

finAPI answers the pricing question that Plaid's European page leaves open. Access B2C starts at EUR 60 per month for up to 200 users and EUR 300 for up to 1,000; Access B2X, which adds business accounts, is EUR 100 and EUR 500. Past 1,000 users the price is per user, from EUR 0.30 down to EUR 0.15 for B2C. The vendor says its servers are located in Germany and it describes itself as operational since 2008.

The product goes further than plain aggregation, with BaFin-licensed AISP and PISP roles, categorisation and cash-flow modules, and GiroIdent for identity checks using SCHUFA data. The cost is focus. Extra countries are an add-on, the documentation leans on German banking terms, and a per-user model gets expensive for a consumer app with millions of users. Plaid scales more comfortably on that axis.

What finAPI does better than Plaid

  • Published monthly licence prices
  • Servers in Germany, according to the vendor
  • SCHUFA-backed identity check absent from Plaid
  • German BaFin licences held directly

Where finAPI is a step down from Plaid

  • Country coverage beyond DACH is an add-on
  • Per-user pricing can climb at consumer scale
  • Smaller product catalogue than Plaid

Standout against Plaid. finAPI is the only provider here that prints per-user tiers on a public page, down to EUR 0.15 per user.

finapi.io Visit finAPI
#3

TrueLayer

Payment-led alternative for Pay by Bank, with a Data API behind it

London, United KingdomPricing on request; no price list on the vendor site#3 in Open Banking APIs

Best for: Merchants and lenders in the UK and Ireland that want Pay by Bank and a Data API from one vendor.

TrueLayer's homepage is written around Pay by Bank. The company claims a network of more than 30 million consumers and a 47 percent share of Pay by Bank transactions, both its own figures. For a Plaid customer who mostly calls payment initiation, that focus is an advantage; payouts, Bank on File and Signup+ sit in the same menu.

The contract is the other point to check. The user terms of 12 May 2026 name TrueLayer Limited for UK users and TrueLayer (Ireland) Limited for the EEA, so an EU product contracts with the Irish entity. Data is a smaller piece of the pitch now, no prices are published, and coverage by country was not stated on the pages checked. A lender that wants transaction history should compare it with a data-first vendor.

What TrueLayer does better than Plaid

  • Payments and payouts are the main product
  • Separate Irish entity for EEA customers
  • Localised sites in five EU markets

Where TrueLayer is a step down from Plaid

  • Data is secondary to payments in the current pitch
  • No public pricing
  • No country coverage figures on the pages checked

Standout against Plaid. TrueLayer states a 47 percent share of Pay by Bank transactions, the strongest payments claim of any provider listed.

truelayer.com Visit TrueLayer
#4

Powens

French platform with aggregation, payments and ownership checks in one stack

France (SIREN 749 867 206), FrancePricing on request; free account for the sandbox#4 in Open Banking APIs

Best for: Accounting, lending and wealth apps in France and Spain that need daily-refreshed bank data.

Powens covers more than aggregation. It lists transactions, business transactions, wealth and loans data, Bank ID Check for account ownership, accounts with virtual IBANs, instant SEPA transfers and direct debit. Plaid sells ownership checks and transfers as separate products; here they sit beside the data API. The vendor cites 1,800+ banks with daily refreshed data and 300+ clients, and the sandbox opens with a free account.

Contracting needs care. Powens SAS is the French payment institution regulated by the ACPR, while the footer also lists a Spanish e-money institution under the former Unnax name and a Mexican company. Some products, such as the employment verification in Mexico, fall outside EU scope. No prices are published, and documentation is split between the Powens and Unnax sites.

What Powens does better than Plaid

  • Accounts and virtual IBANs next to aggregation
  • Wealth and loan data under the same API
  • Sandbox open to a free account
  • ACPR-regulated French payment institution

Where Powens is a step down from Plaid

  • No public pricing
  • Fewer banks than Plaid claims worldwide
  • Several contracting entities to review

Standout against Plaid. Powens is the only provider here that lets you open accounts with virtual IBANs from the same API that reads them.

powens.com Visit Powens
#5

Enable Banking

The broadest stated PSD2 coverage, sold as plain data and basic payments

Espoo, FinlandQuote through the vendor's Get a Quote tool; no price list#5 in Open Banking APIs

Best for: Accounting, ERP and credit teams that need many EEA countries through one integration.

Enable Banking claims one PSD2 API to 2,700+ banks in 30 European countries, covering personal and business accounts. The company is based in Espoo and its footer says it is a registered AISP regulated by the Finnish FIN-FSA. Its documentation has a market-by-market section on authentication flows and the quirks of individual banks, a type of detail Plaid's global docs cannot go into for every country.

A distinctive option is the TPP infrastructure service for companies that hold their own eIDAS certificates. That reverses the Plaid model, where you rely on the vendor's licence. The limits are plain: transaction history is stated as up to 12 months, enrichment is thin, there is no price list (you use a Get a Quote tool), and the homepage copyright line still reads 2022.

What Enable Banking does better than Plaid

  • Country-by-country documentation of bank behaviour
  • Option to use your own eIDAS certificates
  • Wide stated EEA coverage in 30 countries
  • Finnish AISP registration visible on the site

Where Enable Banking is a step down from Plaid

  • History stated as up to 12 months
  • Little enrichment or scoring
  • Quote-only pricing

Standout against Plaid. Enable Banking lets companies with their own eIDAS certificates use its API as a third party provider, so they do not depend on its licence.

enablebanking.com Visit Enable Banking
#6

GoCardless Bank Account Data

Read-only account data from a company known for direct debit

London, United KingdomSee website#6 in Open Banking APIs

Best for: Developers who need read-only account information from EEA banks and already use GoCardless.

GoCardless Bank Account Data is an account information API only. The developer docs describe JSON responses for account details, balances and transactions, a bank selection UI, a sandbox and a Postman collection. The overview page states up to 24 months of transaction history, with continuous access of up to 90 days per consent, which matches the 24 months Plaid advertises for its Transactions product.

On licensing, the docs name GoCardless SAS as the EEA AISP and GoCardless Ltd for the UK. The practical question is availability. The main GoCardless site no longer carries a dedicated product page, the pricing page we tried returned not found, and the portal is a separate login. Confirm signup and costs with the vendor before you plan a migration around it.

What GoCardless Bank Account Data does better than Plaid

  • Up to 24 months of history stated
  • Small, read-only surface that is quick to integrate
  • Postman collection and endpoint reference

Where GoCardless Bank Account Data is a step down from Plaid

  • No payment initiation in this product
  • Pricing and signup not verified
  • Separate portal from the main GoCardless site

Standout against Plaid. GoCardless states 24 months of transaction history under PSD2 access, longer than the 12 months Enable Banking cites.

#7

Neonomics

Nordic specialist with verification and lending data modules

Oslo, NorwayPricing on request; the site shows no price list#7 in Open Banking APIs

Best for: Nordic lenders, fundraising platforms and invoicing tools that want bank data and Pay by Bank.

Neonomics groups its products as Nello Data, Nello AI and Nello Pay. Data covers account and payee verification, transaction data and balance checks; AI covers categorisation plus income and expense verification for lending; Pay covers Pay Date, card payments and batch payments. Against Plaid, the Nordic depth is the point: the company cites bank coverage of 95 percent plus in the Nordics and says it was founded in Oslo in 2017.

Norway is in the EEA but not the EU, and the licence is from the Norwegian FSA with passporting, so check that it covers your target markets. The legal page checked shows neither an address nor an organisation number, no prices are published, and the vendor's 3,500+ bank claim is a headline figure outside the Nordics. Treat the Nordic strength as real and the rest as to be tested.

What Neonomics does better than Plaid

  • Nordic bank coverage stated at 95 percent plus
  • Payee verification for payout flows
  • Income and expense checks aimed at lenders

Where Neonomics is a step down from Plaid

  • No public pricing
  • Legal page lacks address and organisation number
  • Smaller footprint outside the Nordics

Standout against Plaid. Neonomics offers payee verification and income verification as named products, aimed at lenders deciding on real account data.

neonomics.io Visit Neonomics
#8

Ponto

Per-account billing from Belgium, designed to pass cost on to end users

Brussels, BelgiumPay as you go per linked account and per executed payment (amounts not shown); 14-day free trial; API free for your own accounts#8 in Open Banking APIs

Best for: Accounting and ERP vendors, especially in Belgium, that want per-account billing.

Ponto belongs to Isabel Group in Brussels, known for the Isabel 6 multibanking service. Its distinctive idea is billing: a monthly subscription per linked account for account information and a fee per executed payment, charged either to the end user or to the software vendor. The vendor says developers can use the API free to connect their own accounts. Plaid's three models (one-time, subscription, per request) are less friendly to passing costs through.

The Ponto page advertises 1,800+ EU banks, though another page says 1,700 plus, so verify your banks. Euro amounts are not on the page, there is an automatic discount above 10 linked accounts, and the product is built around Belgian and Benelux business banking. If your customers are international, a wider provider fits better.

What Ponto does better than Plaid

  • Billing per linked account that you can hand to end users
  • Free API for your own accounts
  • 14-day free trial

Where Ponto is a step down from Plaid

  • Euro prices not published
  • Bank counts differ between pages
  • Belgium-centred outside Benelux

Standout against Plaid. Ponto is the only provider here whose pricing model is designed to be paid by your end customer instead of by you.

isabel.eu/en/products/ponto Visit Ponto
#9

Bridge (Perspecteev)

Paris provider combining reconciliation data with bank-transfer payments

Paris, FrancePricing on request; no price list on the site#9 in Open Banking APIs

Best for: French accounting, invoicing and payroll software that wants data and transfers in one API.

Bridge is the brand and Perspecteev SAS the publisher: a simplified joint-stock company registered at the Paris RCS under number 529 196 313, with the legal notice naming a Paris address. The product list covers IBAN-based identity verification, creditworthiness evaluation, continuous bank reconciliation, payment and refund by bank transfer, payment links by email, SMS or QR code, and bulk payments for invoices and salaries.

It compares with Plaid mainly on business use cases, since the solution pages target accounting, payroll, property and marketplaces. The site states ACPR authorisation and PSD2 compliance. Limits: the site is mostly in French, prices are not published, and country coverage was not stated on the pages checked. The split between brand and legal entity also needs attention when you draft the contract.

What Bridge (Perspecteev) does better than Plaid

  • Bulk payment of invoices and salaries
  • Payment links by email, SMS or QR code
  • Complete French legal entity details published

Where Bridge (Perspecteev) is a step down from Plaid

  • No public pricing
  • Mostly French site
  • Coverage by country not stated

Standout against Plaid. Bridge sells bulk payment of invoices and payroll through the same API as bank reconciliation.

#10

Kontomatik

Lender-focused aggregator for Central and Eastern Europe

Warsaw, PolandPricing on request; contract agreed after a demo#10 in Open Banking APIs

Best for: Consumer and SME lenders in Poland and the Baltics that decide credit on bank data.

Kontomatik says it has aggregated bank data since 2009, with more than 20,000,000 imports and 150 clients. The homepage names the Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Romania and Spain. Products are aimed at credit: income and spending check, scoring, transaction labelling and PDF statement analysis, which is a useful fallback where a bank has no API.

It is a narrower tool than Plaid in two ways. It states that it holds no PISP licence, so payments are out of scope, and the country list is short. Start is by demo and contract, with no self-service pricing. The vendor says it was the first entry in the Polish AISP register and holds ISO 27001. For a Polish lender that is a precise fit, but other markets need a second vendor.

What Kontomatik does better than Plaid

  • PDF statement analysis as a fallback
  • Income and scoring modules for lenders
  • ISO 27001 certificate stated

Where Kontomatik is a step down from Plaid

  • No payment initiation
  • Short, CEE-centred country list
  • Demo and contract needed to begin

Standout against Plaid. Kontomatik turns uploaded PDF statements into structured data, a fallback no other provider here lists.

kontomatik.com Visit Kontomatik
#11

Fintecture

Payments-only alternative for bank-transfer collection and payouts

Saint-Mande, FrancePricing on request; contact sales#11 in Open Banking APIs

Best for: Merchants collecting large bank transfers, such as vehicles or distance sales.

Fintecture replaces only the payments side of Plaid. It sells Immediate Transfer, where the payer authorises a transfer through the bank without typing an IBAN, Smart Transfer, which collects on a virtual IBAN with real-time reconciliation, and Verified Disbursement for refunds to bank-verified accounts. It does not aggregate account data at all.

The terms are concluded with Fintecture SAS, registered at the Creteil RCS under SIREN 834 500 548 and authorised by the ACPR as a payment institution. The site names automotive, e-commerce and distance selling as verticals and cites more than 3,000,000 payers on the French homepage. Prices are on request and the site is French-first. Pair it with a data provider if you need both halves.

What Fintecture does better than Plaid

  • Reconciled collection on virtual IBANs
  • Verified disbursement for refunds and payouts
  • Payment links for remote selling

Where Fintecture is a step down from Plaid

  • No account data aggregation
  • No public pricing
  • French-first site and narrow product set

Standout against Plaid. Fintecture lets a payer authorise a bank transfer without entering an IBAN, with reconciliation done against a unique virtual IBAN.

fintecture.com Visit Fintecture

What actually breaks when you switch

The first cost of leaving Plaid is the Link flow. Customers have already connected accounts through Plaid's interface, and those connections do not move. Expect a re-consent step where every end user links their bank again through the new provider's screens. Plan the cutover per customer group, and keep Plaid running in parallel for a period instead of switching on one date.

The second cost is the data model. Plaid's transaction categories, account identifiers and webhooks differ from each European API, and PSD2 rules add their own limits: strong customer authentication, consent that has to be renewed, and history windows that vary by provider (12 months at Enable Banking, 24 at GoCardless). Budget time for a mapping layer, and check contract terms such as minimum commitments before you sign anything new.

Does Plaid already operate in Europe, and why switch?

Yes. Plaid B.V. in the Netherlands and Plaid Financial Limited in the United Kingdom are both regulated, and the EEA end user terms are published in English, Dutch and German. A European company can integrate Plaid and stay inside PSD2 rules. The reasons to switch are about ownership and fit, not about legality.

The ownership point depends on your policy. If you only need a PSD2-regulated entity in the contract, Plaid can meet it. If you need a vendor owned and managed in Europe, none of Plaid's entities qualify, and the providers listed here do. Fit matters just as much: a Polish lender and a Belgian accountant have different bank lists, and a specialist often covers that list better than a global platform.

Can one European provider replace all of Plaid?

For a typical European use case, often. Yapily, Powens and Bridge each sell account data and payments from one vendor, and finAPI adds identity checks and analysis modules. For a product that uses Plaid mainly for balances and transactions, the switch is mostly a rewrite of the Link flow.

For a product that uses Plaid's wide US catalogue, no. Signal, Income, Consumer Report and the US institution network have no European counterpart on this list. Split the traffic by market and choose per region, rather than looking for one vendor that matches everything.

Which one to pick

If you want one vendor for data and payments on UK and EEA banks, start with Yapily or Powens. If you need to explain the cost to a finance team before a demo, finAPI is the one with a price list. If coverage across many EEA countries matters more than extras, Enable Banking and Neonomics state the largest bank counts, with Neonomics strongest in the Nordics.

If the payment side is what you use Plaid for, look at TrueLayer for Pay by Bank or Fintecture for reconciled collection. Lenders in Central and Eastern Europe should test Kontomatik, French accounting software should look at Bridge, and Belgian business software should look at Ponto. If your product also serves American users, keep Plaid for that market and add a European provider for the rest.

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on what you call Plaid for. Yapily sells data and payments from one integration across the UK and EEA, and finAPI is the easiest to price because it publishes its licences. Enable Banking states the broadest country list with 2,700+ banks in 30 countries, and TrueLayer is the pick if Pay by Bank is your main product.

finAPI offers a 30-day free trial and Ponto a 14-day free trial, and Powens opens its sandbox to a free account. Plaid's own EU plan gives 200 live API calls per product at no charge. Yapily, TrueLayer, Neonomics, Enable Banking, Bridge, Kontomatik and Fintecture ask you to book a demo or request a quote first.

Not necessarily. Yapily Connect and finAPI let customers operate under the vendor's authorisation, and Enable Banking has a separate route for companies that bring their own eIDAS certificates. Kontomatik provides read-only account information under its own AISP registration, while Plaid's EU services run through Plaid B.V. and Plaid Financial Limited.

Neonomics, from Oslo, cites Nordic bank coverage of 95 percent plus and was licensed by the Norwegian FSA. Kontomatik, from Warsaw, covers Poland, the Baltics, the Czech Republic, Romania, Portugal and Spain on its homepage. Enable Banking from Finland also lists the Nordic and Baltic countries among its 30.

Fintecture replaces payments only. It offers Immediate Transfer, Smart Transfer on a virtual IBAN and Verified Disbursement, and it does not aggregate account data. TrueLayer is payment-led as well, with Pay by Bank, payouts and Bank on File, and a Data API as a secondary layer.

About the author

Every comparison page on European Purpose is researched and drafted with AI assistance, with the compliance and pricing claims checked against the vendor's own documentation, and is published under the editorial responsibility of its founder.

Sebastiaan Smits

Sebastiaan Smits

Founder · Amsterdam, Netherlands

Founder of European Purpose. Researches and writes the reviews and checks where each company is actually established.

Read our editorial process for how we source, verify and update these pages, and how paid placement works.

Explore More European Alternatives

Discover privacy-focused European alternatives to other popular US tech services.

More Open Banking APIs Browse All Categories