GoCardless Bank Account Data
GoCardless account information API for reading bank accounts across the EEA, operated by GoCardless SAS in the EEA and GoCardless Ltd in the UK
Quick Overview
| Company | GoCardless Ltd (UK) and GoCardless SAS (EEA) |
|---|---|
| Category | Open Banking APIs |
| Headquarters | London, United Kingdom |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - United Kingdom, with GoCardless SAS as the EEA AISP |
| Data Location | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes |
| Self-Hosting | No |
| Main Features | Account details, balances and transactions in JSON, bank selection UI, sandbox, Postman collection, endpoint reference, status and error codes |
| Pricing | See website |
| Best For | Developers who need read-only account data and want GoCardless's other payment products nearby |
| Replaces | Plaid, Tink |
Detailed Review
The GoCardless developer docs describe the Bank Account Data API as the way to connect to users' bank accounts and read account information from bank PSD2 APIs. Responses are JSON, every endpoint needs an authorisation token, and secrets come from the Bank Account Data portal.
The account information solution reads up to 24 months of transaction history and gives up to 90 days of continuous access to account information, according to the overview page.
Licensing
The docs say the account information solution is available in all EEA countries under PSD2 and that GoCardless operates as an authorised AISP, through GoCardless SAS in the EEA and GoCardless Ltd in the UK. GoCardless Ltd's footer gives company number 07495895 and FCA registration 597190.
What the API Returns
Output pages cover account details, balances and transaction details, and the guides include a bank selection UI, a sandbox and a Postman collection. The scope is read-only account data, not payments.
Relationship to the Wider Business
GoCardless's marketing pages now push Pay by Bank and recurring payments. The Bank Account Data portal is a separate login, and the product page on the main site redirected to a general open banking page when checked, so confirm current signup availability.
Limitations to Consider
The main GoCardless site no longer carries a dedicated Bank Account Data product page, and the pricing page we tried returned not found, so costs were not verified. The scope is account information only. For data plus payments consider Yapily or Powens.
Who Should Use GoCardless Bank Account Data
Developers who want read-only account data from EEA banks and already deal with GoCardless for direct debit or Pay by Bank.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Up to 24 months of transaction history
- EEA AISP via GoCardless SAS, UK via GoCardless Ltd
- Sandbox, Postman collection and endpoint docs
- Bank selection UI provided
- Read-only scope keeps integration small
Cons
- No pricing verified
- Separate portal from the main GoCardless site
- No payment initiation in this product
- Access limited to 90 days continuous per consent
Alternatives to GoCardless Bank Account Data
Other European open banking apis worth comparing before you decide:
Yapily
United Kingdom · Open banking data and payments through one API, with FCA-authorised Connect option
finAPI
Germany · Munich open banking API with a published price list and BaFin licences
TrueLayer
United Kingdom · London Pay by Bank network with a Data API and verification products
Powens
France · French open finance platform for bank data, payments and identity checks
See all European open banking apis or compare them directly against Plaid on our alternatives page.
Frequently Asked Questions
Account details, balances and transactions, in JSON, with up to 24 months of transaction history.
The docs name GoCardless SAS for the EEA and GoCardless Ltd for the UK.
No. This API covers account information only; payments sit in other GoCardless products.