Every European video editing tool reviewed
Berlin, Germany
Founded 2003
Free of charge: the project states there are no licence fees, no registrations or subscriptions and no premium features that require payment; development is supported by donations
Not applicable: the full editor is free, with no paid tier
Best for: Anyone who wants a full desktop editor at no cost on Linux, Windows or macOS
Kdenlive, short for KDE Non-Linear Video Editor, is a free desktop editor that works on Linux, Windows, macOS and BSD. The project was launched in 2003 by Jason Wood and became an official KDE application in 2015; a Windows version followed in 2016.
Kdenlive offers multitrack editing on a timeline with a virtually unlimited number of video and audio tracks, proxy editing for 4K and larger footage, keyframeable effects with linear or smooth curves, nested timelines, 3-point editing, and audio and video scopes. Kdenlive also includes subtitling with AI-supported speech-to-text and animation through Glaxnimate integration. Version 26.08.1 was released on 11 September 2026.
Kdenlive is developed by a small, mostly volunteer team and belongs to the KDE Community, whose legal entity is KDE e.V., a registered German non-profit at Prinzenstrasse 85 F in Berlin, entered in the register of associations at Amtsgericht Berlin (Charlottenburg) under VR31685.
Kdenlive is free software under the GNU General Public License. It is written in C++ with Qt and the KDE libraries on top of the MLT framework, which relies on FFmpeg for decoding and encoding. Because Kdenlive is a local program that needs no registration, no footage has to leave your computer to edit or render it.
Kdenlive costs nothing: the project states that there are no licence fees, no registrations or subscriptions and no premium features that require payment, and it asks users to consider a donation instead.
Windows users need Windows 10 or newer and Mac users macOS 13 Ventura or newer, with separate builds for Apple Silicon and Intel. Kdenlive ranks first here because it combines a verifiable European non-profit, a free licence and the widest platform list of the seven. Editors who need a vendor with a paid support contract, or cloud collaboration with comments on a shared timeline, will not find that at Kdenlive.
What Kdenlive does well
- Kdenlive is released under the GNU General Public License and has no paid tier or premium features
- Kdenlive runs on Linux, Windows, macOS and BSD, with Apple Silicon and Intel builds for the Mac
- KDE e.V., the legal entity behind the KDE Community, is a registered non-profit in Berlin (VR31685)
- Kdenlive offers a virtually unlimited number of video and audio tracks and proxy editing for 4K footage
- Kdenlive requires no registration or account to download or use
Where Kdenlive falls short
- Kdenlive is developed by a small, mostly volunteer team, so there is no commercial support contract
- Kdenlive on macOS requires version 13 Ventura or newer, which excludes older Macs
- Kdenlive offers no hosted collaboration or cloud rendering; everything runs on your own hardware
- Kdenlive depends on donations and past crowdfunding rather than on recurring licence income
Standout feature. Kdenlive is the only editor in this list that pairs a dedicated video timeline with a GPL licence, four operating systems and a registered German non-profit as its legal home.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Founded 2002
Free of charge; Blender states its main income is Development Fund memberships and one-time donations
Not applicable: the full program is free
Best for: Editors who combine cutting with masking, colour grading, animation or 3D in one free program
Blender is a free and open source 3D creation suite that contains a video editor. Blender describes that editor as suitable for basic actions such as cuts and splicing and for more complex tasks such as video masking and colour grading.
The Blender video editor provides live preview, luma waveform, chroma vectorscope and histogram displays, audio mixing, syncing, scrubbing and waveform visualisation, and up to 32 slots for adding video, images, audio, scenes, masks and effects. Speed control, adjustment layers, transitions, keyframes and filters are included. The download page listed version 5.2.2 LTS, released on 15 September 2026, with two years of LTS updates.
Blender is maintained by Stichting Blender Foundation, established in 2002 and located at Buikslotermeerplein 161 in Amsterdam, the Netherlands.
The foundation manages the blender.org facilities and the source code, while the Blender Institute in Amsterdam employs the developers, engineers and designers who do the core development. The Blender source code is licensed under the GNU GPL version 2 or later and the binaries under version 3 or later. Blender states that everything you create with the program, including movies and project files, is your sole property and can be used commercially.
Blender is free, and the project names Development Fund memberships and one-time donations as its main income. Downloads exist for Windows on x64 and ARM, for macOS on Apple Silicon and for Linux.
Blender ranks second rather than first because video editing is one workspace inside a large 3D program, and the 32-slot limit is a hard ceiling that Kdenlive does not have. Blender suits people who already work with 3D, motion graphics or masks and want their edit in the same file. Someone who only needs to trim clips and add titles will face more interface than the job requires.
What Blender does well
- Blender costs nothing, with source code under GPL version 2 or later
- Stichting Blender Foundation is a Dutch foundation in Amsterdam, established in 2002
- The Blender video editor includes luma waveform, chroma vectorscope and histogram displays
- Blender states that all output, including movies, is the sole property of the user and may be used commercially
- Blender offers LTS releases with two years of updates, for Windows, macOS and Linux
Where Blender falls short
- Blender is a 3D suite first; the video editor is one part of a much larger interface
- The Blender video editor is limited to 32 slots for video, images, audio, scenes, masks and effects
- The Blender download page lists macOS for Apple Silicon only
- Blender has no vendor support desk; the project is funded through memberships and donations
Standout feature. Blender is the one entry where the video timeline sits inside a complete 3D, masking and colour grading suite, all under the GPL and run by a foundation in Amsterdam.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Three tiers: Free (GBP 0), Create and Pro; Create and Pro can be paid monthly, yearly or once, in USD, GBP or EUR, with yearly billing advertised as two months free; the public pricing page showed no amounts for Create and Pro when checked
Free tier without watermark, limited to MP4 export at up to 720p
Best for: Editors who want a commercial, professionally oriented timeline on Windows, macOS or Linux with a free starting tier
Lightworks is a commercial video editor for Windows, macOS and Linux that comes in three tiers: Free, Create and Pro.
Lightworks says the software has more than 30 years of development behind it and names feature films edited on it, among them Pulp Fiction, The Wolf of Wall Street, The Irishman and The King's Speech. The editor combines video, audio, effects and colour tools with a timeline that accepts footage of differing sizes and frame rates, and ships with more than 700 customisable titles and motion graphics. Lightworks links to cloud storage at Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive and Box.
Lightworks is published by LWKS Software Ltd, 16 Belmont Crescent, Swindon, United Kingdom, which trades as LWKS and Lightworks and is registered with the UK Information Commissioner's Office under ZA787819. The terms are governed by the laws of England and Wales.
The United Kingdom is outside the EU. The Lightworks privacy policy states that services and providers may process personal data internationally, including in the EU and the United States, and names no specific hosting location. No parent company is mentioned in the terms or the privacy policy.
Lightworks Free costs GBP 0, adds no watermark and exports MP4 at up to 720p. Lightworks Create exports up to 4K; Lightworks Pro exports up to 8K in AVI, MP4, image sequence, MOV, MXF and WAV and adds 10-bit support and plugin compatibility.
Create and Pro can be paid monthly, yearly with two months free, or once, in USD, GBP or EUR, but the public pricing page displayed no amounts for them when checked, which is why Lightworks does not rank higher. Lightworks fits editors who want a professional layout on three operating systems; anyone needing full-HD export for free should look at Kdenlive.
What Lightworks does well
- Lightworks Free adds no watermark to exported video
- Lightworks lists Windows, macOS and Linux for all three tiers
- Lightworks Pro exports up to 8K in AVI, MP4, image sequence, MOV, MXF and WAV
- Lightworks Create and Pro can be bought once as well as rented monthly or yearly
- LWKS Software Ltd is a UK company in Swindon, registered with the ICO under ZA787819
Where Lightworks falls short
- Lightworks Free is limited to MP4 export at up to 720p
- The public Lightworks pricing page showed no price amounts for Create and Pro when checked
- Lightworks notes that some Linux functionality may be restricted due to third-party limitations
- The Lightworks privacy policy says personal data may be processed in the United States as well as the EU
Standout feature. Lightworks is the only commercial editor in this comparison that runs on Windows, macOS and Linux and lets you choose between monthly, yearly and pay-once licences for the same tiers.
Iasi, Romania
Free plan at EUR 0; on monthly billing Starter EUR 17, Creator EUR 36 and Business EUR 63 per seat per month; on yearly billing EUR 8, EUR 16 and EUR 28 per seat per month
Free plan: 10 minutes of export per month at 720p with a Flixier watermark and 2 GB of storage
Best for: Teams and creators who edit in the browser on modest hardware and publish straight to social platforms
Flixier is an online video editor that runs in the browser with nothing to install. Flixier says it works on a Chromebook, Mac, PC or tablet and that rendering runs on its own machines, so a full-length export finishes in minutes on any laptop.
The Flixier editor has multiple video and audio tracks, screen, webcam and voice recording, a library of more than 4 million stock clips, photos and music tracks, automatic captions and subtitle translation in more than 130 languages, and AI video generation inside the timeline. Finished videos can be sent directly to YouTube, TikTok and Google Drive.
Flixier is owned and operated by Flixier SRL, a Romanian registered company at Toma Savescu No 15 in Iasi, with VAT number 41779049. The terms of use are governed by Romanian law, with disputes under the jurisdiction of the Romanian courts. Flixier SRL is the data controller.
The Flixier privacy policy does not name a hosting provider or a region, and says personal data may be processed by recipients outside the European Economic Area with appropriate safeguards, a copy of which is available on written request. Flixier publishes no certifications on the pages checked.
Flixier's free plan costs EUR 0 and allows 10 minutes of export per month at 720p with a watermark and 2 GB of storage.
On monthly billing Starter costs EUR 17 per seat per month for 60 export minutes at 1080p and 20 GB, Creator EUR 36 for unlimited export at 4K and 250 GB, and Business EUR 63 with unlimited subtitles and storage. Yearly billing shows EUR 8, EUR 16 and EUR 28. Flixier suits teams that comment on a shared timeline and share a brand kit. Editors with confidential footage should note that the hosting location is not published.
What Flixier does well
- Flixier runs in the browser on a Chromebook, Mac, PC or tablet, with rendering on Flixier's servers
- Flixier publishes every plan price, from EUR 8 per seat per month on yearly billing
- Flixier generates captions and translates subtitles in more than 130 languages
- Flixier lets team members place comments on the timeline at the second they refer to
- Flixier SRL is a Romanian company and the terms are governed by Romanian law
Where Flixier falls short
- The Flixier free plan adds a watermark and is limited to 10 export minutes per month at 720p
- The Flixier privacy policy names no hosting provider or region
- Flixier says personal data may be processed outside the European Economic Area
- Flixier is subscription-only per seat; 4K export starts at the Creator plan
Standout feature. Flixier is the only editor here that needs no installation at all: the timeline runs in a browser tab and the export is rendered on the servers of a Romanian company.
Berlin, Germany
Perpetual licence; US list prices USD 54.99 (Plus), USD 69.99 (Premium) and USD 119.99 (Ultimate), shown on sale at USD 44.99, USD 54.99 and USD 99.99 when checked
Free trial that can be used for 30 days
Best for: Windows users who want a consumer editor with a perpetual licence from a Berlin company
MAGIX Video deluxe is a consumer video editor for Windows that MAGIX positions as video editing for everyone, next to its Video Pro X for more demanding users. The US product page carries the name Video deluxe and sells the 2027 editions Plus, Premium and Ultimate.
All editions include AI tools, multicam editing, an effects library and access to stock content. Premium adds the proDAD VitaScene V5 Pro effects suite with more than 1,700 effects and filters, and Ultimate bundles Premium with 13 add-ons. MAGIX Video deluxe imports SD, HD, 4K and 8K material and can write DVD, Blu-ray and AVCHD discs.
MAGIX Video deluxe is published by MAGIX Software GmbH, Wrangelstrasse 100, 10997 Berlin, Germany. MAGIX describes itself as a former German start-up that has made software for more than 30 years and now has seven branches worldwide.
The MAGIX imprint and company page name no parent company or shareholder. MAGIX sold VEGAS Pro, Sound Forge and ACID Pro to the American company Boris FX, which announced the deal on 30 March 2026, so those products are no longer MAGIX products. MAGIX Video deluxe is installed locally, but needs a one-time registration and an internet connection for validation.
MAGIX Video deluxe is sold as a perpetual licence. The US list prices are USD 54.99 for Plus, USD 69.99 for Premium and USD 119.99 for Ultimate; on the day of checking they were shown at USD 44.99, USD 54.99 and USD 99.99. A free trial runs for 30 days.
MAGIX Video deluxe requires 64-bit Windows 10 or 11 and lists 16 GB of RAM for HD and 32 GB for 4K and AI features. It is a fit for home users who prefer owning a licence and still burn discs. Mac and Linux users are excluded, and who owns MAGIX is not published.
What MAGIX Video deluxe does well
- MAGIX Video deluxe is sold as a perpetual licence rather than a subscription
- MAGIX Software GmbH is established at Wrangelstrasse 100 in Berlin
- MAGIX Video deluxe offers a free trial that can be used for 30 days
- MAGIX Video deluxe imports SD, HD, 4K and 8K and exports to DVD, Blu-ray and AVCHD
- MAGIX Video deluxe Premium includes proDAD VitaScene V5 Pro with more than 1,700 effects and filters
Where MAGIX Video deluxe falls short
- MAGIX Video deluxe runs on 64-bit Windows 10 and 11 only
- MAGIX does not name its owner or parent company on its imprint or company page
- MAGIX Video deluxe requires registration and an internet connection for validation
- MAGIX lists 32 GB of RAM for 4K editing and for the AI features
Standout feature. MAGIX Video deluxe is the most fully featured one-time-purchase consumer editor in this list, with three editions, multicam editing and disc authoring under a Berlin imprint.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Nero Video 2026 has a list price of EUR 49.95, shown at EUR 39.96 when checked; the product page does not state the licence duration
A free trial button is offered in the Nero download centre; its terms are not stated there
Best for: Windows users who edit, burn to disc and play back video in a single low-priced program
Nero Video 2026 is a Windows video editor from Nero AG that covers editing, export, burning to disc, streaming and playback.
Nero advertises multi-track video editing in HD, 4K and 8K, more than 1,000 video templates with effects, support for vertical videos, green screen and picture-in-picture effects, a light and a dark interface mode, and OneDrive integration for opening files from the cloud.
Motion tracking is handled by a separate product, Nero AI Motion Tracker PRO, which Nero sells on its own or together with Nero Video in a Power Bundle. Nero Video 2026 lists Windows 11, 10 and 8 as supported systems.
Nero Video is published by Nero AG, Rueppurrer Strasse 1a, 76137 Karlsruhe, Germany.
Nero AG is a stock company registered at the register court in Mannheim under HRB 362519, with Patrick Heise named as CEO in the imprint and the VAT ID DE 811 936 156. The Nero website carries the line designed in Germany. The imprint names no parent company. Nero Video is a locally installed program; the only cloud connection Nero mentions on the product page is the optional OneDrive integration for opening files.
Nero Video 2026 has a list price of EUR 49.95 and was shown at EUR 39.96 on the day of checking, with a 30-day money-back guarantee.
The product page does not state whether that buys a permanent licence or a licence for a limited period, so check the order page before paying. The Nero download centre offers a free trial button for Nero Video without stating the trial terms. Nero Video suits Windows users who still author discs and want a modest price. It is not for Mac or Linux users, and its motion tracking costs extra.
What Nero Video does well
- Nero AG is a German stock company in Karlsruhe, registered under HRB 362519 in Mannheim
- Nero Video 2026 has a published list price of EUR 49.95
- Nero Video 2026 advertises multi-track editing in HD, 4K and 8K
- Nero Video 2026 combines editing with disc burning, streaming and playback
- Nero offers a 30-day money-back guarantee on Nero Video 2026
Where Nero Video falls short
- The Nero Video product page does not state the licence duration
- Nero Video 2026 lists Windows 11, 10 and 8 only
- Motion tracking requires the separately sold Nero AI Motion Tracker PRO
- The terms of the Nero Video free trial are not stated in the download centre
Standout feature. Nero Video is the editor in this list built around disc burning and playback as much as cutting, from a Karlsruhe stock company whose full register details are in its imprint.
Rastede, Germany
Founded 1999
One-time purchase; regular price USD 60, shown at USD 28 when checked
30-day free trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee
Best for: Home users on older or current Windows PCs who want simple cutting and conversion for a single payment
Ashampoo Movie Studio Pro 3 is a Windows video editor aimed at straightforward home projects. Ashampoo Movie Studio Pro 3 cuts and edits video, supports Full HD and 4K files and Dolby Digital, converts videos between hundreds of formats and resolutions, and integrates DVD and Blu-ray burning.
The program includes a collection of background music and audio effects, opening and closing credits, transitions, and a function for cutting commercials out of recordings. Export profiles are provided for YouTube, Facebook and mobile devices. Ashampoo states that conversion runs up to 400 percent faster with GPU acceleration on NVIDIA cards.
Ashampoo Movie Studio Pro 3 is published by Ashampoo GmbH & Co. KG, based in the //CRASH Building at Schafjueckenweg 2, 26180 Rastede, Germany.
Ashampoo has developed and distributed software since 1999 and reports more than 1.7 million customers in more than 160 countries. The managing directors are Sebastian Schwarz, Jens Klibingat and Sebastian Strzelecki, and Rolf Hilchner and Heinz-Wilhelm Bogena sit on the supervisory board. Orders are handled through the shop partner cleverbridge. Ashampoo Movie Studio Pro 3 is installed locally on the PC.
Ashampoo Movie Studio Pro 3 is a one-time purchase with a regular price of USD 60; it was shown at USD 28 on the day of checking. Ashampoo offers a 30-day free trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee.
The program lists Windows 11, 10, 8 and 7, which keeps it usable on older PCs. Ashampoo Movie Studio Pro 3 sits low in the ranking because its feature list is short, with no 8K or multicam editing mentioned. It suits occasional editors; people cutting long multi-camera projects should look at MAGIX Video deluxe or Kdenlive.
What Ashampoo Movie Studio Pro 3 does well
- Ashampoo Movie Studio Pro 3 is a one-time purchase, not a subscription
- Ashampoo GmbH & Co. KG is based in Rastede, Germany and has made software since 1999
- Ashampoo Movie Studio Pro 3 can be tried free for 30 days
- Ashampoo Movie Studio Pro 3 still supports Windows 7 and 8 next to Windows 10 and 11
- Ashampoo Movie Studio Pro 3 includes DVD and Blu-ray burning and a function for cutting commercials
Where Ashampoo Movie Studio Pro 3 falls short
- Ashampoo Movie Studio Pro 3 is available for Windows only
- The Ashampoo product page mentions 4K as the highest supported resolution and no multicam editing
- The Ashampoo product page does not say how many PCs one licence covers
- Ashampoo's displayed price changes with promotions, so the amount at checkout may differ from USD 28
Standout feature. Ashampoo Movie Studio Pro 3 pairs a single-payment licence with built-in DVD and Blu-ray burning and a function for cutting commercials out of recordings, at a regular price of USD 60.
Limassol, Cyprus
Founded 2004
Free version with a Movavi watermark and a limit of 60 seconds of video or half the audio length; paid access as a subscription with 1-month and 1-year options (the Movavi store showed EUR 18.95 including VAT for Video Editor when checked, without naming the period) or as a lifetime licence
Free version with watermark, 60-second or half-length export limit and some advanced export features locked
Best for: Beginners making short social or family videos on Windows or Mac
Movavi Video Editor is a beginner-oriented editor for Windows and Mac. Movavi describes it as a simple yet powerful editor with fast cutting, cropping, colour and speed adjustment, one-click AI tools such as automatic subtitles and noise removal, and hundreds of filters, transitions, titles and overlays.
The Movavi Video Suite 2027 headline feature is Movavi Templates, which are built from blocks: pre-edited video parts that can be moved and adjusted. The Windows version asks for 64-bit Windows 10 or 11, a dual-core 1.5 GHz processor, 4 GB of RAM and 400 MB of disk space for installation.
Movavi Video Editor is published by Movavi Software Limited, whose privacy policy gives Office 201, 3 Krinou Street, 4103 Limassol, Cyprus as registered office and places the policy under the legislation of the Republic of Cyprus.
Movavi says it was established in 2004 and reports users in more than 190 countries. Two points deserve a flag. The about page does not say who owns the company, and the contact details on the site also list a United States entity, Movavi Software Inc. The support phone number shown in the footer is a US number as well.
The free version of Movavi Video Editor can be downloaded and tried, but it adds a Movavi watermark, limits export to 60 seconds of video or half the audio length, and locks some advanced export features. Full access comes as a lifetime licence or an annual subscription.
The Movavi store listed Video Editor with 1-month and 1-year options and showed EUR 18.95 including VAT, without saying which period that figure refers to. Movavi Templates and Movavi Effects are sold as separate subscriptions. It suits beginners cutting short videos; anyone who needs multicam or 8K should look at MAGIX Video Pro X or Lightworks.
What Movavi Video Editor does well
- Windows and Mac versions, aimed at beginners, with cut, crop, colour and speed tools
- One-click AI tools include automatic subtitles and noise removal
- Hundreds of filters, transitions, titles and overlays are built in
- Movavi Software Limited names a Limassol registered office and Cypriot law in its privacy policy
- A free version can be tried first, and a lifetime licence exists next to the annual subscription
Where Movavi Video Editor falls short
- The free version adds a watermark and limits export to 60 seconds of video or half the audio length
- The store figure of EUR 18.95 does not state which billing period it covers
- The about page does not say who owns Movavi, and its contact details list a US entity
- Movavi Templates and Movavi Effects are separate paid subscriptions
Standout feature. Movavi Video Editor pairs a Windows and Mac beginner editor with block-based templates and AI subtitles, from a Cyprus company that does not state its owner.
Berlin, Germany
Video Pro X18 Classic GBP 199.99 list, shown at GBP 159.99; Ultimate GBP 239.99 list, shown at GBP 199.99; upgrade prices GBP 109.99 and GBP 159.99 for existing owners; the page does not state a licence duration
A free trial button is offered on the product page; its duration is not stated there
Best for: Windows users who want multicam, HDR and 8K from a licence purchase
MAGIX Video Pro X is the more advanced of the two Windows editors MAGIX sells. The product page describes it as building on Video deluxe, with all Video deluxe features plus advanced colour grading with HDR, LUTs and curves, more audio editing tools and wider professional format support.
The editing tools listed include 3- and 4-point editing, multicam editing for up to nine cameras, nested sequences, layer masks, 360-degree editing and 8K Ultra HD support. Version X18 adds offline AI voiceovers and subtitles that run on the local PC without AI credits, face recognition, RAW image support and smart search.
MAGIX Video Pro X is published by MAGIX Software GmbH, Wrangelstrasse 100, 10997 Berlin, Germany, the company behind Video deluxe.
The MAGIX imprint and company page name no parent company, and MAGIX sold VEGAS Pro, Sound Forge and ACID Pro to Boris FX in March 2026, which is why those products are not listed here. Video Pro X is available for Windows 11 or 10 only. MAGIX presents the offline voiceover and subtitle feature as a way to keep projects private, since the speech processing runs on the local computer instead of on a cloud service.
MAGIX sells Video Pro X18 in two editions on its UK page. Classic is GBP 199.99 at list price and was shown at GBP 159.99 on the day of checking.
Ultimate is GBP 239.99 and was shown at GBP 199.99; it adds five proDAD add-ons, Cinema LUTs, an Ultimate Content Pack, 3,000 soundtracks and 1,700 effects. Upgrade prices for earlier owners are GBP 109.99 and GBP 159.99. The page offers a free trial but states neither its length nor the licence duration. Video Pro X fits Windows users who want multicam and 8K and prefer buying a licence to renting.
What MAGIX Video Pro X does well
- 8K Ultra HD and HDR support with LUT-based colour grading
- Multicam editing for up to nine cameras, plus 3- and 4-point editing
- Offline AI voiceovers and subtitles in X18 run on the local PC without AI credits
- MAGIX Software GmbH publishes a Berlin imprint and names no parent company
- Upgrade pricing exists for earlier owners of Video Pro X
Where MAGIX Video Pro X falls short
- Windows 11 or 10 only, with no macOS or Linux version
- Classic lists at GBP 199.99 and Ultimate at GBP 239.99, among the highest list prices in this comparison
- The page states neither the trial length nor how long a licence runs
- Ultimate costs GBP 40 more at list price for add-ons and content bundles rather than a different editor
Standout feature. MAGIX Video Pro X brings 8K, HDR, LUT grading and nine-camera multicam to a Windows licence purchase, with offline AI voiceovers new in X18.
Limassol, Cyprus
Founded 2014
Free version; PRO as a 1-year licence at EUR 29.95 billed annually or a lifetime licence at EUR 49.95 (shown reduced from EUR 66.60); a Video PRO Package with a lifetime licence for all Icecream video products at EUR 78
Free version with most editing features and no watermark on short videos; PRO removes the 10-scene limit and the 5-minute watermark-free limit
Best for: Casual Windows users who want a free editor with a cheap lifetime upgrade
Icecream Video Editor is a Windows editor aimed at casual users. Icecream describes a single timeline on which video, photos and background audio can be combined, with trim, cut, split, crop, resize and rotate tools, more than 20 transitions, 10 motion effects for photos, playback speed from x0.25 to x10, text, stickers, subtitles from an SRT file and voice-over recording.
Projects can be exported as MP4 or WebM, audio as MP3, and finished videos can be uploaded to Icecream's cloud, where links can be shared and views tracked. The system requirements list 4 GB of RAM as a minimum and a 1280 by 720 display.
Icecream Video Editor is published by Icecream Apps. Its privacy policy names Icecream Apps Limited, Cyprus as data controller and places the policy under the legislation of the Republic of Cyprus, and gives Amathountos 120, Nicholas House, Agios Tychonas, 4532 Limassol as the address.
The copyright line on the site runs from 2014. Icecream publishes a family of tools around the editor, among them a screen recorder, a video converter and a PDF editor. The editor page lists Windows 11, 10, 8.1, 8 and 7 and shows no Mac or Linux version.
The free version of Icecream Video Editor includes the main editing features and adds no watermark to short videos. PRO removes the limit of 10 scenes on the timeline, allows export of videos longer than 5 minutes without watermark, and adds 10 GB of cloud storage, commercial use and priority support.
PRO costs EUR 29.95 for a 1-year licence billed annually or EUR 49.95 for a lifetime licence, shown reduced from EUR 66.60. A Video PRO Package with a lifetime licence for all Icecream video products is EUR 78. The editor suits simple projects on a modest PC and lists no multicam or 8K support.
What Icecream Video Editor does well
- The free version has most editing features and no watermark on short videos
- A lifetime PRO licence costs EUR 49.95, next to a 1-year licence at EUR 29.95
- Runs on Windows 7 through 11 with a 4 GB RAM minimum
- PRO includes 10 GB of cloud storage for sharing links and tracking views
- Icecream Apps Limited names its Limassol address and Cypriot law in the privacy policy
Where Icecream Video Editor falls short
- Windows only, with no Mac or Linux version shown
- The free version limits the timeline to 10 scenes and watermark-free export to 5 minutes
- The product page lists no multicam, 8K or professional colour grading
- Displayed prices come with an 80 per cent off banner, so the amounts at checkout may differ
Standout feature. Icecream Video Editor offers a free tier that stays watermark-free for short videos and a lifetime PRO licence under EUR 50, aimed at simple edits.
Riga, Latvia
Sold through AVS4YOU subscriptions covering five programs: a 1-year subscription at USD 149 list price and an unlimited subscription at USD 279 list price, shown at USD 49 and USD 79 on a September 2026 offer; no single-program price was found
Unregistered software adds a watermark to output files; the vendor advertises a 30-day money-back guarantee
Best for: Windows users who need video capture and 4K editing in a suite subscription
AVS Video Editor is a Windows editor sold by AVS4YOU as one of five programs in a suite.
AVS4YOU describes it as video editing software for Windows 11, 10, 8.1, 8, 7, Vista and XP that works in all key formats and in resolutions up to 4K Ultra HD and DCI 4K, opens H.265/HEVC, AV1 and VP9 files, and decodes with hardware acceleration on Intel HD Graphics or NVIDIA GeForce cards.
The editor also captures video from DV and HDV cameras, webcams and VHS, records the PC screen, and has an AI plugin that generates short clips from text descriptions. Version 26.0.2.17 was released on 19 February 2026.
AVS Video Editor is published under the AVS4YOU brand by Ascensio System SIA, the company that also stands behind the OnlyOffice suite listed on this site.
The AVS4YOU about page gives 20A-6 Ernesta Birznieka-Upish street, Riga, Latvia as its address, and the end-user licence agreement is with Ascensio System SIA. The privacy policy, however, describes the company as formed in London with its principal place of business on Tottenham Court Road, so the vendor's own pages disagree on the jurisdiction. Both places are in Europe, but the inconsistency is a reason to read the licence before buying.
AVS4YOU shows no price for AVS Video Editor alone on the pages checked.
Its suite of five programs is offered as a 1-year subscription at USD 149 list price and as an unlimited subscription at USD 279, described as a one-time payment with no yearly renewals; both were shown at USD 49 and USD 79 under a September 2026 offer.
When a 1-year subscription expires, the programs become unregistered and add a watermark to output files. AVS4YOU advertises a 30-day money-back guarantee. AVS Video Editor suits Windows users who also want the other programs in the suite.
What AVS Video Editor does well
- Supports 4K Ultra HD and DCI 4K, and opens H.265/HEVC, AV1 and VP9 files
- Captures from DV and HDV cameras, VHS and webcams, and records the screen
- The unlimited subscription is described as a one-time payment without yearly renewals
- Runs on Windows 11 down to Vista and XP
- A 30-day money-back guarantee is advertised
Where AVS Video Editor falls short
- Windows only, and the vendor states there is no Mac OS or Linux support
- No price for the editor alone was found; it is sold within a five-program suite
- After a 1-year subscription expires, output files carry a watermark
- The vendor's pages give Riga and London as the company's base, which are inconsistent
Standout feature. AVS Video Editor reaches back to Windows XP and takes input from DV, HDV and VHS sources, sold through a five-program suite subscription.