Every European motion graphics software tool reviewed
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Founded 2002
Free of charge; Blender states its main income is Development Fund memberships and one-time donations
Demo on request
Best for: Artists who work in 3D and want modelling, masks and a video timeline in one free program
Blender began as a Dutch project and today belongs to the Stichting Blender Foundation, set up in 2002 at Buikslotermeerplein 161 in Amsterdam. Licensing is split: GPL 2 or later for source, GPL 3 or later for binaries. Builds target Windows (x64 and ARM), Linux and, on the Mac, Apple Silicon only.
For motion work, Blender offers 3D animation plus a sequencer with keyframes, masks and adjustment layers, capped at 32 slots. Its stated position is that movies and project files you make are yours alone and may be sold. Memberships and donations pay the developers at the Blender Institute, and nobody sells a support contract.
What Blender does well
- The Blender program is free, and its source is published under GPL 2 or later
- A Dutch foundation set up in 2002 in Amsterdam stands behind Blender
- Blender says the films and project files you make are yours and may be sold
- LTS releases of Blender get two years of updates on Windows, macOS and Linux
- The video editor has luma waveform, chroma vectorscope and histogram displays
Where Blender falls short
- The sequencer is tucked inside an interface designed around 3D work
- Only 32 sequencer slots are available for clips, stills, sound, scenes, masks and effects
- The macOS download is listed for Apple Silicon only
- Nobody sells support; memberships and donations fund the foundation
Standout feature. Blender is the one tool in this category where a full 3D scene and a video timeline live in the same free file.
Bad Homburg vor der Höhe, Germany
Free access to Autograph (Maxon's page wording); Universe plugins and Red Giant OFX tools need a licence
Demo on request
Best for: Motion designers who want a layer-based After Effects style tool without a licence fee
Autograph is a motion design, compositing and VFX application that Maxon Computer GmbH of Bad Homburg vor der Höhe publishes, with Maxon part of the Nemetschek Group. Maxon headlines it as free 2D and 3D motion graphics and VFX software. It combines motion design, compositing and a full 3D environment on a GPU-powered engine.
Maxon says text properties can be animated, text can become a 3D extruded mesh in one click, and SVG and PSD files import from Illustrator, Figma, Affinity and Photoshop. Red Giant OFX tools and Universe plugins run inside it but need a licence. The privacy policy lists Maxon Computer Inc. in the USA among group recipients, and the pages we read name no platforms or hosting.
What Autograph does well
- Free access to the application according to Maxon
- German contracting entity with address published
- Shape engine, animated text and SVG and PSD import
- Compositing, VFX and 3D in one application
- Links to Maxon's Red Giant and Universe plugins
Where Autograph falls short
- Smaller community and fewer tutorials than After Effects
- Plugins need a paid licence
- Platforms and hosting not stated on the pages we read
- Group affiliates and payment processors in the USA appear in the privacy policy
Standout feature. Autograph is the one tool in this category that pairs a layer-based shape and text engine with compositing and free access.
Germany, Germany
See maxon.net (not shown in server-rendered text)
Demo on request
Best for: Studios that build 3D titles and broadcast graphics inside a single program
Maxon Computer GmbH sells Cinema 4D as a single 3D program for building, animating, simulating and rendering scenes. MoGraph and procedural animation are aimed at broadcast graphics, brand animation and title sequences. A plan bundles Redshift, Maxon Capsules and five Team Render nodes.
Maxon says a native link to After Effects exists, and sister products ZBrush, Redshift, Autograph and Red Giant plug in. A MyMaxon account and the Maxon EULA come with it. The maxon.net terms name the German GmbH, while the Red Giant store and some other Maxon sites name a US Inc, so check the store before you buy.
What Cinema 4D does well
- One program covers modelling, animation, simulation and rendering
- Redshift rendering is part of the plan
- The plan carries five Team Render nodes
- Maxon says it connects natively to After Effects
- Terms on maxon.net name a German GmbH
Where Cinema 4D falls short
- The price was not visible in the page text we checked
- Some Maxon web properties contract with a US company
- It is a commercial licence only; we found no free plan
- A MyMaxon account is required to use it
Standout feature. Cinema 4D is the one tool in this category that Maxon says connects natively to After Effects.
London, United Kingdom
Prices shown per country on notch.one (USD for US visitors); amounts not captured on the pages we read
Demo on request
Best for: Motion designers and live-visual teams who want to render and composite in real time
10bit FX Limited, a London company numbered 09727850 on the English register, makes Notch for real-time graphics. Scenes are built in a node graph with a real-time viewport and a timeline, so changes show without a preview render. The terms are governed by English law.
The vendor lists a particle engine, procedural geometry, volumetrics, 2D compositing, green screen keying and AI-centric workflows. Notch Blocks are self-contained playback files that major media servers support, according to the vendor. The pages we read did not capture price amounts or platform requirements, and the terms state the site is directed at the United Kingdom.
What Notch does well
- UK company with number and registered office published
- Real-time viewport instead of preview renders
- GPU particles, volumetrics and procedural tools
- 2D compositing and keying included
- Playback in major media servers via Notch Blocks
Where Notch falls short
- Node workflow differs from After Effects layers
- Prices not captured on the pages we read
- Platform requirements not captured
- Terms page states the site is directed at the United Kingdom
Standout feature. Notch is the one tool in this category that renders in real time and plays its output inside media servers.
Vienna, Austria
Founded 2018
Free tier / Pro subscription from about EUR 8/month / perpetual licence available
Demo on request
Best for: Vector illustrators on Mac and iPad who also animate their artwork
Linearity, formerly called Vectornator, is a vector design and animation tool from Linearity GmbH in Vienna, founded in 2018. Curve handles illustration and Move animates the result, with export to video, GIF or Lottie. Both programs are built around Apple Pencil and touch rather than adapted from desktop software.
Pricing combines a free tier, a Pro subscription from about EUR 8 a month and a perpetual licence. Files stay on your device with optional cloud sync. Linearity runs on Apple platforms only, and its animation tool is far simpler than a compositor. The product has been repositioned more than once, including the rename from Vectornator.
What Linearity does well
- Designed for iPad and Apple Pencil from the start
- Illustration in Curve and animation in Move share one tool chain
- Move exports Lottie for apps and the web
- A perpetual licence exists next to the subscription
- Linearity GmbH is an Austrian company under EU jurisdiction
Where Linearity falls short
- It runs on Apple platforms only
- It is less capable than Illustrator for print production
- The company is small and the product has been renamed and repositioned
Standout feature. Linearity is the one tool in this category that draws and animates vectors on an iPad with Apple Pencil.
Zurich, Switzerland
Free License for individuals and companies of up to 3 people; Company License pay according to usage; Automators USD 0.01 per render with USD 100 a month minimum
Demo on request
Best for: Developers and teams that produce templated or automated video and motion graphics
Remotion is a video framework from Remotion AG, Neunbrunnenstrasse 38, 8050 Zurich, with terms under Swiss law and the courts of the Canton of Zurich as venue. Developers write React components, preview them in a Studio and render frames into video. The vendor lists an Elements library, a Player and captions.
Parameterised templates and server-side or Lambda rendering handle bulk output, and the vendor also lists agent and Studio workflows. The Free License covers individuals and companies of up to 3 people, and Automators pay USD 0.01 per render with a USD 100 monthly minimum. The licence is proprietary, and the Company License amount was not captured.
What Remotion does well
- Swiss company with address and governing law published
- Free for individuals and companies up to 3 people
- Server-side and Lambda rendering for bulk output
- Templates driven by parameters
- Agent and Studio workflows listed by the vendor
Where Remotion falls short
- Requires coding in React
- Proprietary licence, not open source
- Company License price not captured
- Not a hand-keyframing tool like After Effects
Standout feature. Remotion is the one tool in this category whose product is code, built for rendering video in bulk.
not stated on the pages we read (United Kingdom law applies), United Kingdom
Free plan; Pro per editor a month billed annually; Enterprise on request (amounts not readable on the pages we read, see website)
Demo on request
Best for: Product designers who ship animation to apps and websites as Lottie files
Lottielab is a browser-based animation editor from Lottielab Ltd, whose privacy policy names it as data controller and whose terms are governed by United Kingdom law. Designers import from Figma or start from scratch, then export. The vendor claims more than 500,000 designers use it, which is its own figure.
The free plan lists unlimited files, Lottie and SVG upload, Figma import and GIF and MP4 export, described for hobbyists and students. Pro adds Lottie export, HD and 4K video, shared files, comments, a team library and Lottie hosting with a CDN. The pages we read show no postal address, data location or readable price amounts.
What Lottielab does well
- Free plan with unlimited files
- Figma import
- Lottie, GIF, MP4 and 4K export
- Comments and shared team library
- Lottie hosting with CDN on Pro
Where Lottielab falls short
- Not a video compositing tool
- Lottie export needs the Pro plan
- No postal address shown on the pages we read
- Price amounts not readable
Standout feature. Lottielab is the one tool in this category that combines Figma import, Lottie export and CDN hosting in a browser.
Milan, Italy
not shown on the pages we read
Demo on request
Best for: Mobile creators who animate and add effects on a phone or tablet
Alight Motion is a mobile motion design app for smartphones and tablets, with iOS and Android store listings referenced. Its privacy policy names Bending Spoons S.p.A. of Via Nino Bonnet 10, Milan, as data controller and parent of Splice Video Editor S.r.l., written under the GDPR and Italian data protection law.
The vendor lists layers of graphics, video and audio, vector and bitmap editing, more than 100 customizable effect building blocks and keyframes for all settings. No price or hosting location appears on the pages we read, no desktop version is mentioned, and the homepage still carries a copyright line for Alight Creative, Inc from 2019 to 2021.
What Alight Motion does well
- Keyframes available for all settings
- 100+ building-block effects
- Vector and bitmap layers
- Controller in Italy under GDPR
- Works on phones and tablets
Where Alight Motion falls short
- No desktop version mentioned
- Pricing not shown on the pages we read
- Homepage still names Alight Creative, Inc (2019 to 2021)
- Hosting location not stated
Standout feature. Alight Motion is the one tool in this category built entirely around a phone or tablet screen.
London, United Kingdom
Free (720p, up to 3 minutes, watermark); Lite USD 15 a month billed yearly; Professional USD 40 a month billed yearly
Demo on request
Best for: Business and education teams that need quick animated explainers and presentations
Powtoon is an AI video platform from Powtoon Limited, incorporated in the United Kingdom and located at 28 Church Road, London, according to its terms. The About page states it was founded in 2012. It covers animated presentations, whiteboard explainers, infographics, footage-based videos and screen and camera recording.
The free plan is limited to 720p and 3 minutes with a watermark, Lite costs USD 15 a month on yearly billing and Professional USD 40. AI tools cover doc-to-video, speech, avatars and translation, and the plan page names providers such as Veo3, ElevenLabs and HeyGen for some of them. Powtoon is template-based, so it has no keyframes or compositing.
What Powtoon does well
- UK company with address in its terms
- Free plan to try the platform
- Templates and characters for fast explainers
- Screen and camera recording included
- AI doc-to-video and translation tools
Where Powtoon falls short
- Not a compositing or keyframe tool
- Plans priced in USD and billed yearly
- Some AI features name non-European providers
- Free plan has a watermark and 720p limit
Standout feature. Powtoon is the one tool in this category that gives non-designers templates, screen recording and AI doc-to-video in one place.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Free trial; subscription prices not shown on the pages we read
Demo on request
Best for: Teachers and business users who want drawn-style explainer animations without motion design skills
Sparkol Ltd of Bristol (company number 06762963, 2 Redcliffe Way) makes VideoScribe, its whiteboard animation product. Sparkol describes it as suitable for any skill level and quotes over 2 million users, a figure that comes from the vendor. The privacy policy was last updated on 21 January 2026.
VideoScribe is a subscription product with separate subscription terms and team subscriptions, plus a free trial, and the pages we read show no prices or platforms. Sparkol also sells production through Sparkol Studio and training through Sparkol Academy. It offers whiteboard-style animation only, with no compositing or effects pipeline.
What VideoScribe does well
- UK company number and office published
- Free trial
- Focused tool that is quick to learn
- Training and production services from the same vendor
- Team subscriptions available
Where VideoScribe falls short
- Only whiteboard-style animation
- Prices not shown on the pages we read
- No compositing or effects pipeline
- Platforms not stated on the pages we read
Standout feature. VideoScribe is the one tool in this category that does drawn whiteboard animation and nothing else.
Berlin, Germany
Founded 2003
Free of charge: the project states there are no licence fees, no registrations or subscriptions and no premium features that require payment; development is supported by donations
Demo on request
Best for: Editors who want a free multi-track timeline on Linux, Windows or macOS for the cut around their animation
Kdenlive is an open source editor from the KDE community, whose legal body KDE e.V. is a Berlin non-profit registered as VR31685. Anyone may download it without an account, and the project promises that no feature sits behind a payment. Versions exist for Linux, Windows, macOS and BSD.
Track count is not capped in practice, and proxy clips keep 4K footage editable on modest hardware. That makes Kdenlive the assembly bench for finished animated clips, not the place where they are animated. Volunteers do the work, so expect forums instead of a helpdesk. Mac users need Ventura (13) or later, and rendering never leaves your own machine.
What Kdenlive does well
- Kdenlive is GPL software with no paid tier
- Builds cover Linux, Windows, BSD and both Apple Silicon and Intel Macs
- KDE e.V. is registered in Berlin as a non-profit under VR31685
- Tracks are practically unlimited and proxy clips ease 4K editing
- Downloading and using it needs no account
Where Kdenlive falls short
- Mostly volunteers build it, so no commercial support contract exists
- Older Macs are excluded because macOS 13 Ventura is the minimum
- Collaboration and rendering are not hosted; everything runs on your own hardware
- Donations and past crowdfunding pay for it, not recurring licences
Standout feature. Kdenlive stands alone here as a multi-track editor whose every feature is free.
Iasi, Romania
Free plan at EUR 0; on monthly billing Starter EUR 17, Creator EUR 36 and Business EUR 63 per seat per month; on yearly billing EUR 8, EUR 16 and EUR 28 per seat per month
Demo on request
Best for: Teams that edit, caption and review video together in a browser on any device
Flixier SRL of Iasi, Romania, runs a video editor that lives entirely in the browser, and Romanian law governs its terms. Because rendering happens on Flixier's servers, a Chromebook or tablet is enough hardware. Pricing is published openly, with a free tier and three paid per-seat plans.
Subtitles are generated automatically and can be translated into over 130 languages, and colleagues pin comments to a precise second on the timeline. Yearly billing brings the three paid seats down to EUR 8, EUR 16 and EUR 28. On the free tier exports carry a watermark, stop at 10 minutes a month and top out at 720p, and 4K begins on Creator.
Where files physically sit stays open: the policy names no host or region, and Flixier warns of processing outside the EEA.
What Flixier does well
- A Chromebook, Mac, PC or tablet can run Flixier, since servers do the rendering
- All plan prices are listed, starting at EUR 8 per seat a month yearly
- Automatic captions and subtitle translation reach over 130 languages
- Notes can be pinned to one second of the timeline
- Romanian company, Romanian governing law
Where Flixier falls short
- Free exports are watermarked, 720p and capped at 10 minutes monthly
- No hosting provider or region is named in the privacy policy
- Flixier says personal data can be processed outside the EEA
- Seats are subscription-only, and 4K export starts on Creator
Standout feature. Flixier is the one tool in this category where reviewers leave comments pinned to the exact second of the timeline.