European Stock Trading Apps and Online Brokers

A broker holds your money, your positions and your tax data, so the legal entity behind it decides which regulator and which compensation scheme apply. These European brokers and investing apps are regulated by authorities in the EU, the UK or Switzerland and cover stocks, ETFs and savings plans in euros, pounds or Swiss francs.

How we rank these tools — 4-step process
  1. 1
    European ownership, verified

    The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA, the UK, Switzerland or Israel, and processes customer data in Europe or Israel. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.

  2. 2
    Category fit and hands-on review

    What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.

  3. 3
    Compliance and pricing check

    GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.

  4. 4
    Position on this page

    Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect the order tools appear in. It never buys a listing: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Vendors can pay for more visibility, higher up on the review pages; it never affects whether a tool is listed. Editorial policy

11 European Stock Trading Apps and Online Brokers

Lightyear

Investing platform with zero ETF execution fees

Estonia
No ETF execution fees EUR, USD, GBP accounts Interest on cash

Scalable Capital

Broker and bank with savings plans from EUR 1

Germany
Savings plans PRIME+ flat model BaFin supervised

Freetrade

Commission-free UK investing app with ISA and SIPP

United Kingdom
Commission-free ISA and SIPP Free Basic plan

Nordnet

Nordic bank and broker with four courtage classes

Sweden
Courtage classes ISK and pensions Nordic exchanges

DEGIRO

Online broker with Core Selection ETFs and low per-trade fees

Netherlands
Core Selection ETFs EUR 1 US trades BaFin, AFM, DNB

XTB

Warsaw-listed broker with 0% commission up to a limit

Poland
0% to EUR 100,000 Free deposits KNF regulated

Saxo

Danish bank with 23,000+ stocks on 50 exchanges

Denmark
50 exchanges Tiered accounts API access

BUX

Dutch investing app owned by ABN AMRO

Netherlands
Prime plan AFM regulated Interest on cash

Swissquote

Swiss online bank with trading from CHF 3

Switzerland
FINMA regulated 27+ currencies Crypto

eToro

Social trading with a CySEC-regulated EU entity

Cyprus
CopyTrader Free account opening Local currency accounts

Trade Republic

Berlin app for investing, cash interest and a card

Germany
From EUR 1 Cash interest Card with Saveback

Key takeaways

  • Lightyear in Tallinn lists no execution or custody fees on ETFs and a 0.35% currency conversion cost, which is the lowest conversion figure stated among the brokers in this category.
  • Scalable Capital in Munich is the only broker here that pairs free savings plan executions from EUR 1 with an optional EUR 4.99 per month flat-rate model, and it runs as a bank supervised by BaFin.
  • Freetrade in London is the only tool in this category whose free Basic plan includes an ISA, a Junior ISA and a SIPP, and its site states protection of eligible investments up to GBP 85,000 under the FSCS.
  • Saxo in Hellerup gives access to more than 23,000 stocks on 50 exchanges, but it charges a custody fee of 0.15%, 0.12% or 0.09% a year by tier, and Danish VAT of 25% applies to that fee for individuals residing in the EU.
  • Trade Republic in Berlin is the one entry that stays unverified: its pricing and legal pages are rendered client-side, so only the homepage claims of investing from EUR 1, 2.5% cash interest and a 1% Saveback card are cited.

European stock trading apps and online brokers are regulated investment services, run by a company established in the EU, the EEA, the UK or Switzerland, that let private investors buy shares and ETFs from a phone or browser, and the European part decides which supervisor, which compensation scheme and which tax wrappers apply to your account.

European stock trading apps and online brokers compared

European stock trading apps and online brokers compared on position, country, entry price and best use
PositionToolEstablishedEntry priceBest for
#1 Lightyear Estonia ETFs: no execution or custody fees. US stocks 0.1% (max $1, min $0.10), EUR stocks EUR 1 per order, currency conversion 0.35% Investors in the EU and UK who mainly buy ETFs and hold more than one currency
#2 Scalable Capital Germany FREE Broker and PRIME+ at EUR 4.99 per month; savings plan executions EUR 0; trades under EUR 250 cost EUR 0.99 German-speaking savers who want ETF savings plans plus a trading flat rate
#3 Freetrade United Kingdom Basic GBP 0, Standard GBP 4.99 per month (billed annually), Plus GBP 9.99 per month (billed annually) UK investors who want a tax-wrapped, app-first account without commission
#4 Nordnet Sweden Mini class 0.25% courtage (min SEK 1) on Nordic orders up to SEK 15,600; new customers trade Nordic exchanges free until 30 June 2027 Nordic residents who want one bank for shares, funds and pensions
#5 DEGIRO Netherlands Euronext Amsterdam stocks EUR 2 + EUR 1 handling, US stocks EUR 1 + EUR 1 handling, Core Selection ETFs EUR 0 + EUR 1 handling Dutch and German investors who place few, larger orders
#6 XTB Poland 0% commission on stocks and ETFs up to EUR 100,000 monthly turnover, then 0.2% (min EUR 10); 0.5% currency conversion Active investors in the EU who trade stocks, ETFs and forex from one platform
#7 Saxo Denmark US and Euronext stocks 0.08% (min USD 1 or EUR 2); custody fee 0.15% Classic, 0.12% Platinum, 0.09% VIP Experienced investors who need many exchanges and APIs
#8 BUX Netherlands BUX Prime EUR 7.99 per month; 5 commission-free buy orders per month; other fees on the pricing page Dutch beginners who want an app backed by a large Dutch bank
#9 Swissquote Switzerland Trading fees from CHF 3, minimum deposit CHF 500 for investing; free bank account with 27+ currencies Investors who want broker and bank services together under Swiss regulation
#10 eToro Cyprus Account opening and management free; withdrawals free or $5; conversion fees apply Investors who want to copy other traders and hold a USD base account
#11 Trade Republic Germany See website German-speaking savers who want investing, cash interest and a card in one app

Every European stock trading apps and online broker reviewed

#1 Lightyear

Tallinn, Estonia ETFs: no execution or custody fees. US stocks 0.1% (max $1, min $0.10), EUR stocks EUR 1 per order, currency conversion 0.35% Demo on request

Best for: Investors in the EU and UK who mainly buy ETFs and hold more than one currency

  • Operating company. Lightyear Europe AS
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Estonia)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on the pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Robinhood, Webull

Lightyear is the broker on this list that publishes its whole fee table in one place, and the table is short. ETF orders carry no execution or custody fees, US stocks cost 0.1% (maximum $1, minimum $0.10), EUR-denominated stocks cost EUR 1 per order, and currency conversion costs 0.35%. Account fees, deposits by bank transfer and the multi-currency account are free, according to the same page.

The EU service comes from Lightyear Europe AS in Tallinn, an investment firm with company number 16235024, licensed by the Estonian Financial Supervision Authority, while Lightyear UK Ltd serves British customers under FCA authorisation. The vendor says customer assets are held apart from the firm's own, that EU customers are covered up to EUR 20,000 by the Estonian Investor Protection Sectoral Fund, and that US securities sit with Alpaca. It is not a bank, so there is no card.

What Lightyear does well

  • No execution fees on ETFs
  • Short, fully listed fee table
  • EUR, USD and GBP accounts
  • Licensed in Estonia, authorised across the EU
  • Interest on uninvested cash

Where Lightyear falls short

  • Not a bank, no card or current account
  • US shares held via a US custodian
  • Crypto has no EU compensation scheme
  • Smaller product range than a full bank broker

Standout feature. Lightyear is the only broker here that states its US custodian, its conversion cost and its fee list side by side, so you can price a EUR, USD or GBP portfolio before you open an account.

#2 Scalable Capital

Munich, Germany Founded 2014 FREE Broker and PRIME+ at EUR 4.99 per month; savings plan executions EUR 0; trades under EUR 250 cost EUR 0.99 Demo on request

Best for: German-speaking savers who want ETF savings plans plus a trading flat rate

  • Operating company. Scalable Capital Bank GmbH
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on the pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Robinhood, Webull

Scalable Capital turns the monthly savings habit into the core product: the trading page advertises more than 8,000 stocks and over 2,700 ETFs as savings plans from EUR 1, and plan executions cost EUR 0 in every broker model. Trading is a choice between the FREE Broker, which charges EUR 0.99 for PRIME ETF purchases below EUR 250, and PRIME+ at EUR 4.99 per month with EUR 1.99 on Xetra and gettex.

The imprint names Scalable Capital Bank GmbH, Seitzstrasse 8e in Munich, register number HRB 217778, with BaFin as supervisor. The company dates from 2014 and now runs as a bank, which is why the site also shows overnight cash at 2.60% p.a., fixed-term savings through partner banks and credit of up to EUR 250,000. The English pages translate a service shaped by German retirement and tax products, and derivatives and crypto carry high risk, as the site says.

What Scalable Capital does well

  • Savings plans from EUR 1 with free executions
  • Over 8,000 stocks and 2,700 ETF savings plans
  • Optional flat monthly broker model
  • German bank supervised by BaFin
  • Cash interest and credit in the same app

Where Scalable Capital falls short

  • Fee conditions depend on order size and exchange
  • Built mostly around German products and taxes
  • PRIME+ costs EUR 4.99 per month
  • Derivatives and crypto carry high risk

Standout feature. Scalable Capital is the only broker here where a saver can invest from EUR 1 through a plan that costs nothing to execute and still pick between a free and a flat-rate trading model.

#3 Freetrade

London, United Kingdom Basic GBP 0, Standard GBP 4.99 per month (billed annually), Plus GBP 9.99 per month (billed annually) Demo on request

Best for: UK investors who want a tax-wrapped, app-first account without commission

  • Operating company. Freetrade Limited
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on the pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Robinhood, Webull

Freetrade is a London app that built its name on commission-free shares, and its Basic plan at GBP 0 already holds the ISA, Junior ISA, SIPP and general account. The cost sits in currency and interest: Basic charges 0.99% on non-GBP trades and pays 1% AER on up to GBP 1,000 of cash, Standard (GBP 4.99 billed annually) lowers the fee to 0.59% and Plus (GBP 9.99) to 0.39% with 3.5% AER on up to GBP 3,000.

Freetrade Limited is registered in England and Wales under 09797821, authorised by the FCA under 783189 and a member of the London Stock Exchange. The site lists over 9,000 investment choices, says 1.6 million users chose it and states that it is part of IG Group. Eligible investments are protected up to GBP 85,000 under the FSCS, and the whole service is built around UK residence.

What Freetrade does well

  • No commission on stocks, ETFs and trusts
  • ISA, Junior ISA and SIPP available
  • Free Basic plan
  • FSCS protection up to GBP 85,000
  • Gilts and funds as well as shares

Where Freetrade falls short

  • UK residents only in practice
  • FX fee 0.99% on Basic
  • Better interest needs a paid plan
  • Now part of IG Group

Standout feature. Freetrade is the only broker in this category that puts an ISA, a Junior ISA and a SIPP on its free plan.

#4 Nordnet

Stockholm, Sweden Mini class 0.25% courtage (min SEK 1) on Nordic orders up to SEK 15,600; new customers trade Nordic exchanges free until 30 June 2027 Demo on request

Best for: Nordic residents who want one bank for shares, funds and pensions

  • Operating company. Nordnet Bank AB
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Sweden)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on the pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Robinhood, Webull

Nordnet is a bank first and an app second: shares, funds, ETFs, bonds, structured products and crypto share a platform with an investment savings account, endowment insurance and pensions. Pricing uses four courtage classes named Mini, Liten, Mellan and Fast. Mini suits orders up to SEK 15,600 at 0.25% on Nordic exchanges with a SEK 1 minimum, and new customers trade Nordic exchanges commission-free until 30 June 2027.

The provider on the Swedish site is Nordnet Bank AB, Box 30099, Stockholm, with local sites for Sweden and Denmark. The pages we could read were in Swedish and Danish. Beyond plain investing there is Nordnet Social, where members follow other users, Nordnet Markets with Bull and Bear trackers, mini futures and turbos, an Active Trading offer, and mortgages and portfolio loans under lending.

What Nordnet does well

  • Full bank licence in Sweden
  • Four courtage classes for different order sizes
  • ISK, pension and savings accounts
  • Nordic-exchange commission-free offer until June 2027
  • Social and trading features

Where Nordnet falls short

  • Pages and pricing in local languages
  • Nordic tax products only fit Nordic residents
  • Fee depends on class and order size
  • Offer expires 30 June 2027

Standout feature. Nordnet is the only broker here that prices by a class chosen from your typical order size, with Nordic pension and ISK accounts behind it.

#5 DEGIRO

Amsterdam, Netherlands Euronext Amsterdam stocks EUR 2 + EUR 1 handling, US stocks EUR 1 + EUR 1 handling, Core Selection ETFs EUR 0 + EUR 1 handling Demo on request

Best for: Dutch and German investors who place few, larger orders

  • Operating company. flatexDEGIRO Bank SE (Dutch Branch)
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Netherlands)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on the pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Robinhood, Webull

DEGIRO charges for every transaction, which makes it the opposite of the app model. The Dutch tariff page lists Euronext Amsterdam shares at EUR 2 plus EUR 1 handling, US exchange shares at EUR 1 plus EUR 1 handling, worldwide ETFs at EUR 2 plus EUR 1 handling and Core Selection ETFs at EUR 0 plus EUR 1 handling. Currency, connectivity and third-party product costs may come on top.

The platform began in Amsterdam, joined flatex AG in 2020 and now sits in a group listed in the SDAX index in Germany, so customers deal with flatexDEGIRO Bank SE. BaFin supervises the bank, and the AFM and DNB oversee the Dutch branch, registered under Chamber of Commerce number 82510245. It also offers flatexDEGIRO cash accounts and trading on Tradegate Exchange, including pre-market and after-hours. The checked UK site says the bank is not FCA authorised.

What DEGIRO does well

  • Low per-trade commission for US stocks
  • Core Selection ETFs without commission
  • German bank with Dutch branch and AFM oversight
  • Access to Tradegate extended hours
  • Long track record

Where DEGIRO falls short

  • EUR 1 handling fee on every transaction
  • Extra currency and connectivity costs
  • Not available as a UK-authorised firm
  • Group is now German-owned, not Dutch

Standout feature. DEGIRO is the only broker here that mixes a EUR 1 US-stock commission with a handling fee on every order, which rewards few and larger trades.

#6 XTB

Warsaw, Poland 0% commission on stocks and ETFs up to EUR 100,000 monthly turnover, then 0.2% (min EUR 10); 0.5% currency conversion Demo on request

Best for: Active investors in the EU who trade stocks, ETFs and forex from one platform

  • Operating company. XTB S.A.
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Poland)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on the pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Robinhood, Webull

XTB takes the free-trade promise and puts a ceiling on it: 0% commission on stocks and ETFs up to EUR 100,000 of monthly turnover, then 0.2% with a EUR 10 minimum. Deposits and withdrawals are free, currency conversion costs 0.5%, and the support team speaks 18 languages by email, chat or phone on weekdays. The same app offers forex, which the site says carries a high risk of loss.

XTB S.A. holds a KNF brokerage licence from 2005, has been listed on the Warsaw Stock Exchange since 2016 and reports more than 2.9 million investors across 12 markets. The group page also names XTB Limited (FCA, FRN 522157) and XTB Sucursal (CNMV, Spain), so the contracting entity depends on the customer's country. The UK homepage mentions a Flexible Cash ISA with a headline 6% AER.

What XTB does well

  • 0% commission up to EUR 100,000 per month
  • Free deposits and withdrawals
  • Listed company, KNF regulated since 2005
  • Support in 18 languages
  • Large user base

Where XTB falls short

  • 0.5% currency conversion cost
  • Commission applies above the turnover limit
  • Forex products carry high risk
  • Different entities per country

Standout feature. XTB is the only broker here that is listed on a stock exchange and regulated since 2005 by a single national authority, the Polish KNF, while tying free trading to a turnover limit.

#7 Saxo

Hellerup, Denmark US and Euronext stocks 0.08% (min USD 1 or EUR 2); custody fee 0.15% Classic, 0.12% Platinum, 0.09% VIP Demo on request

Best for: Experienced investors who need many exchanges and APIs

  • Operating company. Saxo Bank A/S
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Denmark)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on the pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Robinhood, Webull

Saxo competes on reach: the site lists more than 23,000 stocks on 50 exchanges from one account, plus ETFs and bonds, API access and a TradingView integration. Commission on the main US exchanges and on Euronext in Amsterdam, Lisbon and Paris is 0.08%, with a minimum of USD 1 or EUR 2. Accounts come in Classic, Platinum and VIP tiers that cut the yearly custody fee from 0.15% to 0.12% and 0.09%.

Saxo Bank A/S sits at Philip Heymans Alle 15 in Hellerup. The site says clients may have cash and certain assets covered by the Danish Guarantee Fund, subject to eligibility and limits. The custody fee carries Danish VAT of 25% for individuals residing in the EU, commission minimums weigh on small orders, and fees vary by country of residence, so a beginner with a small portfolio is not the target customer.

What Saxo does well

  • 23,000+ stocks on 50 exchanges
  • Tiered pricing that falls with volume
  • API access and TradingView link
  • Danish bank with deposit guarantee scheme
  • Many asset classes

Where Saxo falls short

  • Custody fee of up to 0.15% a year
  • 25% Danish VAT on custody fees for EU individuals
  • Commission minimums hit small orders
  • Complex for beginners

Standout feature. Saxo is the only broker here whose pricing falls with account tier and which exposes an API next to 50 exchanges.

#8 BUX

Amsterdam, Netherlands BUX Prime EUR 7.99 per month; 5 commission-free buy orders per month; other fees on the pricing page Demo on request

Best for: Dutch beginners who want an app backed by a large Dutch bank

  • Operating company. BUX B.V.
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Netherlands)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on the pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Robinhood, Webull

BUX is a Dutch phone app that reserves its best pricing for a subscription. According to the Prime page, BUX Prime at EUR 7.99 per month brings the lowest commissions, 5 commission-free buy orders a month, investment plans and up to 2.00% interest on uninvested cash. The main pricing URL did not load when we checked, so other fees need confirmation on the vendor site.

BUX B.V. in Amsterdam is registered under Chamber of Commerce number 58403949, regulated by the AFM and described as a fintech scale-up that is a subsidiary of ABN AMRO Bank. The site states that BUX does not give investment advice, and it adds ETF explainers, a glossary and quotes aimed at new investors. The bank parent is a plus for buyers who want an established owner and a minus for those who value independence.

What BUX does well

  • AFM-regulated Dutch company
  • Backed by ABN AMRO
  • Prime plan with commission-free orders
  • Interest on uninvested cash
  • Learning content

Where BUX falls short

  • Lowest fees need the EUR 7.99 plan
  • Not independent
  • Smaller product range than a full broker
  • No investment advice

Standout feature. BUX is the only broker here owned by a large bank and sold as a beginner app on iOS and Android, with its cheapest pricing behind a Prime plan.

#9 Swissquote

Switzerland, Switzerland Trading fees from CHF 3, minimum deposit CHF 500 for investing; free bank account with 27+ currencies Demo on request

Best for: Investors who want broker and bank services together under Swiss regulation

  • Operating company. Swissquote
  • Jurisdiction. Switzerland (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on the pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Robinhood, Webull

Swissquote combines broker and bank under one login. The Swiss site lists trading fees from CHF 3, capped custody fees, a minimum deposit of CHF 500 for investing and a free bank account in 27+ currencies, and free debit cards and zero transaction fees appear under bank pricing. The EU page mentions 40 cryptos, and forex spreads start from 1.1 pip.

It presents itself as a digital bank listed on the Swiss stock exchange and regulated by FINMA. The service is split by region, so for European clients the site names Swissquote Bank Europe, regulated by the CSSF under supervision of the European Central Bank, and a CySEC-regulated entity for forex and CFD products. Switzerland is outside the EEA, and the full commission tables were not visible on the pages we could read.

What Swissquote does well

  • Bank and broker in one login
  • Free account in 27+ currencies
  • FINMA regulated, Swiss-listed
  • EU clients served by a CSSF-regulated bank
  • Crypto and forex available

Where Swissquote falls short

  • Fees from CHF 3 per trade
  • Minimum deposit of CHF 500 for investing
  • Entity differs per region
  • Forex and CFD offering carries high risk

Standout feature. Swissquote is the only broker here that names a Swiss bank, a CSSF-regulated EU bank and a Cypriot forex entity on one site.

#10 eToro

Limassol, Cyprus Founded 2007 Account opening and management free; withdrawals free or $5; conversion fees apply Demo on request

Best for: Investors who want to copy other traders and hold a USD base account

  • Operating company. etoro (Europe) Ltd
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Cyprus)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on the pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Robinhood, Webull

eToro is built around people rather than tickers: CopyTrader, Popular Investor programmes and smart portfolios sit at the centre of the product, and a demo account is available. Account opening and management are free and withdrawals are free or cost $5. Every client can hold a USD account, and eligible clients can also hold GBP, EUR, AUD or DKK accounts, but conversion fees apply when a trade or a transfer crosses currencies.

The company dates from 2007, says it serves millions of users in over 75 countries and went public on Nasdaq in 2025, according to its timeline page. EU customers contract with etoro (Europe) Ltd, authorised by CySEC under licence 109/10 and registered in Cyprus under HE 200585. The legal page states that the crypto service is not governed by a framework such as MiFID, so crypto clients are outside the Cyprus Investor Compensation Fund.

What eToro does well

  • Free account opening and management
  • CySEC-authorised EU entity
  • Copy trading and social features
  • Wide asset range
  • Local currency accounts for eligible clients

Where eToro falls short

  • USD base account causes conversion fees
  • Crypto outside MiFID protection
  • Withdrawal fee of $5 in some cases
  • Parent is Nasdaq listed

Standout feature. eToro is the only broker here whose core product is copying another investor's portfolio, run through an EU entity in Cyprus.

#11 Trade Republic

Berlin, Germany See website Demo on request

Best for: German-speaking savers who want investing, cash interest and a card in one app

  • Operating company. Trade Republic Bank
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on the pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Robinhood, Webull

Trade Republic presents one app to invest, spend and bank. Its homepage says you can invest with just EUR 1, earn 2.5% p.a. on cash and use a subscription-free card with 1% Saveback, and the navigation lists Offering, Spend, Save and Trust sections plus a pricing page. We could not read the content of those pages without JavaScript, so no fee, plan or protection figure is quoted here.

The footer names Trade Republic Bank, Brunnenstrasse 19-21, 10119 Berlin, with a 2026 copyright line that points to a banking entity, but the licence text was not readable on the pages checked. The headline interest rate can change, and the product is aimed at German-speaking markets. Check current fees on the vendor site before opening an account.

What Trade Republic does well

  • Investing from EUR 1
  • Interest on cash
  • Card with Saveback
  • Berlin bank
  • Single app for invest, spend and save

Where Trade Republic falls short

  • Fees not verifiable on server-rendered pages
  • Headline interest rate can change
  • Mostly German-speaking focus
  • Few details available without JavaScript

Standout feature. Trade Republic is the only broker here whose homepage joins a EUR 1 investing minimum, cash interest and a Saveback card in one app.

How do I choose between a commission-free app and a per-trade broker?

Start from your own order pattern, because the models reward different habits. Freetrade has no commission on stocks, ETFs and trusts, XTB charges 0% up to EUR 100,000 of monthly turnover, and Scalable Capital executes savings plans for EUR 0.

DEGIRO sits on the other side: US stocks cost EUR 1 plus a EUR 1 handling fee per transaction, and even its Core Selection ETFs carry the handling fee. Ten small orders a month cost more there than one large order does.

The second variable is the cost that is not called commission. Currency conversion is stated at 0.35% by Lightyear, 0.5% by XTB and 0.99% on the Freetrade Basic plan, and Saxo adds a custody fee. A zero in the commission column therefore says little until you add the conversion line and any yearly custody charge for the size of portfolio you actually hold.

Which pricing models do European brokers use, and what do they cost?

Four models appear. Pure free tiers: Freetrade Basic at GBP 0 and Scalable Capital FREE Broker.

Subscriptions that lower trading costs: Freetrade Standard at GBP 4.99 and Plus at GBP 9.99 per month (billed annually), Scalable Capital PRIME+ at EUR 4.99, and BUX Prime at EUR 7.99. Percentage commissions with minimums: Saxo at 0.08% (minimum USD 1 or EUR 2) and Nordnet at 0.25% with a SEK 1 minimum in its Mini class. And flat per-order fees: DEGIRO at EUR 1 to EUR 2 plus handling, Swissquote from CHF 3.

The subscription models only pay off above a certain activity. BUX Prime gives 5 commission-free buy orders per month, so a saver who buys twice a month gains little from it. XTB takes a different route and ties the free tier to turnover: above EUR 100,000 a month the commission becomes 0.2% with a EUR 10 minimum. Read the unit of the discount before comparing monthly prices.

Is my money safe if the broker is not a bank?

The answer depends on the entity, and the category mixes banks with investment firms. Scalable Capital Bank GmbH, Nordnet Bank AB, flatexDEGIRO Bank SE, Saxo Bank A/S and Trade Republic Bank are banks. Lightyear Europe AS is an investment firm licensed in Estonia, and Lightyear says plainly that it is not a bank, so it has no card or current account. According to the vendor, EU customers are covered up to EUR 20,000 by the Estonian Investor Protection Sectoral Fund.

Compensation schemes differ by country and by asset. Freetrade cites FSCS protection up to GBP 85,000, and Saxo says clients may be covered by the Danish Guarantee Fund subject to limits. Crypto is the common gap: Lightyear and eToro both state that crypto sits outside EU compensation, and eToro's legal page says its crypto service is not governed by a framework such as MiFID. Read the scheme named on the pages of the entity that holds your account.

How do I move from Robinhood to a European broker?

Begin with the question of whether you can move the shares at all. Not every European firm accepts a transfer in kind from a US broker, and several of them hold US stocks through a US custodian anyway: Lightyear names Alpaca, a FINRA-regulated partner. The alternative is to sell, move cash and rebuy, which can realise a gain in your tax year. Ask the receiving broker which route it supports and have your own tax adviser check the effect.

Then rebuild what is attached to the account. A dollar balance leaves you with a conversion step on arrival, so brokers with EUR, USD and GBP accounts such as Lightyear, or eToro with USD as its base, handle the currency question differently. Keep the old statements: cost basis and dividend history are what a European tax return will ask for.

When is it better to stay with a US broker or a nearer, local one?

Staying is reasonable if your use is options, futures or other products that the European apps here deliberately leave out. Lightyear has no derivatives on the pages checked, while Scalable Capital and XTB include products that carry high risk, as their sites say. A broker that suits a Dutch beginner, such as BUX, will not suit a Nordic investor who needs an ISK, and the reverse holds for Nordnet.

Local tax products are the second reason to be selective. Freetrade only makes sense for UK residents because of the ISA and SIPP, Nordnet's accounts are tied to Nordic rules, and Scalable Capital's retirement and tax features follow German law. Choose the broker whose wrapper matches your country of residence first, and compare commission second.

Which brokers give me more than shares and ETFs in the same app?

Trade Republic markets investing, spending and saving in one app: according to its homepage, a subscription-free card with 1% Saveback and 2.5% p.a. on cash next to investing from EUR 1. Swissquote puts a free bank account in 27+ currencies, debit cards, crypto and forex behind one login. Scalable Capital adds overnight savings at 2.60% p.a., fixed-term savings and credit of up to EUR 250,000.

Others stay narrower on purpose. Lightyear is an investment platform with an interest account at 2.45% APY, shown on its site, and ready-made plans, but no payment card. BUX offers up to 2.00% interest on uninvested cash and learning content. Saxo covers bonds and many asset classes, with an API and a TradingView link for experienced users. Match the list to the jobs you want one login to do.

How we selected and ranked these 11 tools

Every tool on this page is in the European Purpose directory, which means the operating company is established in Europe and we have verified that from the company register or the vendor's own legal notice rather than from a marketing page. Tools headquartered outside Europe are not eligible, however good they are.

  1. Feature verification (weight: 40%). We check each capability against the vendor's own documentation and product pages, and record what the tool does rather than what the category is assumed to include.
  2. Ease of adoption (weight: 30%). Integrations, published API access, trial availability and how much configuration stands between signing and a usable result.
  3. Value and transparency (weight: 30%). Published pricing counts in a vendor's favour; quote-only pricing is recorded as quote-only rather than estimated. We weigh what a buyer gets for the entry price, not the headline feature count.
  4. Editorial review. Every page is researched and drafted with AI assistance, and the compliance and pricing claims are checked against the vendor's documentation before it is published under the founder's editorial responsibility. The three weights above decide the order; a position is a ranking against the other European tools in this category, not an absolute score.

Vendor-reported outcomes — ROI figures, margin uplift, time saved — are labelled as vendor claims wherever they appear on this page. We have not audited them, and neither has anyone else who quotes them. Read our full editorial process for how pages are re-verified.

Frequently asked questions

Lightyear in Estonia ranks first on this site for EU investors who buy ETFs, followed by Scalable Capital in Germany, Freetrade in the United Kingdom, Nordnet in Sweden and DEGIRO in the Netherlands. The right answer still depends on your country of residence, because tax wrappers and compensation schemes differ.

Lightyear lists no execution or custody fees on ETFs, and DEGIRO charges EUR 0 commission on its Core Selection ETFs, though the EUR 1 handling fee still applies. Scalable Capital executes savings plans for EUR 0. Fund managers charge their own costs in every case.

Freetrade is authorised by the FCA in the United Kingdom, and Swissquote is regulated by FINMA in Switzerland, with an EU entity under the CSSF. Both sit outside the EEA, and this site accepts them through the UK adequacy decision and its Swiss eligibility rule. XTB and eToro also run UK entities.

The EU customers of eToro contract with etoro (Europe) Ltd, authorised by CySEC in Cyprus, and the platform was founded in 2007. The parent went public on Nasdaq in 2025, and its country of incorporation was not confirmed on the pages checked, so the European credit rests on the Cypriot entity.

Freetrade offers an ISA, a Junior ISA and a SIPP, and Nordnet offers an ISK, endowment insurance and pension accounts. These wrappers are tied to UK and Nordic tax residence, so they suit residents of those countries only.

Scalable Capital, Nordnet, DEGIRO, Saxo, Swissquote and Trade Republic are operated by banks. Lightyear states that it is an investment platform and not a bank, while Freetrade and eToro are authorised investment firms under the FCA and CySEC.