Freetrade
London commission-free investing app with ISA, SIPP and GIA accounts and three subscription plans, part of IG Group
Quick Overview
| Company | Freetrade Limited |
|---|---|
| Category | Stock Trading Apps and Online Brokers |
| Headquarters | London, United Kingdom |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - United Kingdom |
| Data Location | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes |
| Self-Hosting | No |
| Main Features | Commission-free stocks, ETFs and trusts, ISA, Junior ISA, SIPP, general account, gilts, funds, cash interest |
| Pricing | Basic GBP 0, Standard GBP 4.99 per month (billed annually), Plus GBP 9.99 per month (billed annually) |
| Best For | UK investors who want a tax-wrapped, app-first account without commission |
| Replaces | Robinhood, Webull |
Detailed Review
Freetrade lists over 9,000 investment choices (funds, stocks, ETFs, bonds) and says it started a portfolio from GBP 1. Its site states that it was chosen by 1.6 million users.
Freetrade is a trading name of Freetrade Limited, registered in England and Wales (no. 09797821), authorised by the FCA (reg. no. 783189) and a London Stock Exchange member firm. The site states it is part of IG Group.
Three Plans
Basic costs GBP 0 per month and includes the ISA, Junior ISA, SIPP and general account, with an FX fee of 0.99% on non-GBP trades and 1% AER on up to GBP 1,000 uninvested cash.
Standard (GBP 4.99 billed annually, GBP 5.99 monthly) lowers the FX fee to 0.59% and pays 2.5% AER on up to GBP 2,000. Plus (GBP 9.99 billed annually) has a 0.39% FX fee and 3.5% AER on up to GBP 3,000.
UK Tax Wrappers
The ISA, Junior ISA and SIPP make Freetrade a UK-resident product. Eligible investments are protected up to GBP 85,000 under the FSCS.
Ownership
The site states that Freetrade is part of IG Group, a FTSE 100 listed company. That is a UK parent, so the contracting entity remains British.
Limitations to Consider
The service is aimed at UK residents and is built around GBP, ISA and SIPP products, so it does not suit most EU residents. The interest and FX benefits rise only with paid plans. The brand now belongs to a larger group, IG, so it is no longer an independent start-up. Compare Lightyear for a multi-currency EU option.
Who Should Use Freetrade
UK residents who want commission-free investing inside an ISA or SIPP from an FCA-regulated firm.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- No commission on stocks, ETFs and trusts
- ISA, Junior ISA and SIPP available
- Free Basic plan
- FSCS protection up to GBP 85,000
- Gilts and funds as well as shares
Cons
- UK residents only in practice
- FX fee 0.99% on Basic
- Better interest needs a paid plan
- Now part of IG Group
Alternatives to Freetrade
Other European stock trading apps and online brokers worth comparing before you decide:
Lightyear
Estonia · Investing platform with zero ETF execution fees
Scalable Capital
Germany · Broker and bank with savings plans from EUR 1
Nordnet
Sweden · Nordic bank and broker with four courtage classes
DEGIRO
Netherlands · Online broker with Core Selection ETFs and low per-trade fees
See all European stock trading apps and online brokers or compare them directly against Robinhood on our alternatives page.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. Its site states that Freetrade is part of IG Group, a FTSE 100 listed company. The contracting entity is Freetrade Limited in England and Wales.
Basic is GBP 0 per month, Standard GBP 4.99 per month billed annually and Plus GBP 9.99 per month billed annually, as listed on the compare-plans page.
Stocks and shares ISA, Junior ISA, personal pension (SIPP) and a general investment account.