European Robo-Advisor Tools

A robo-advisor is an automated investing service that builds and rebalances a portfolio for you and takes a yearly fee on the assets. The European robo-advisors below are regulated by BaFin, the FCA or the CNMV, and they keep your account with a contracting entity in Europe instead of a US investment adviser.

How we rank these tools — 4-step process
  1. 1
    European ownership, verified

    The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA, the UK, Switzerland or Israel, and processes customer data in Europe or Israel. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.

  2. 2
    Category fit and hands-on review

    What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.

  3. 3
    Compliance and pricing check

    GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.

  4. 4
    Position on this page

    Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect the order tools appear in. It never buys a listing: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Vendors can pay for more visibility, higher up on the review pages; it never affects whether a tool is listed. Editorial policy

10 European Robo-Advisor Tools

Scalable Capital

Munich broker with savings plans and own ETFs

Germany
Savings plans from EUR 1 Own MSCI AC World ETFs Overnight account and deposits

quirion

Berlin robo-advisor with managed ETF portfolios

Germany
Ten risk levels Free automatic rebalancing Savings plan from EUR 25

Indexa Capital

Madrid index-fund robo-advisor with pension plans

Spain
Index-fund portfolios Automatic rebalancing Pension plans from EUR 50

InvestEngine

UK ETF platform with free DIY and managed portfolios

United Kingdom
Free DIY investing Managed Portfolios at 0.25% ISA, SIPP and GIA

Moneyfarm

London managed portfolios with a DIY option

United Kingdom
Managed ISA, JISA, SIPP, GIA DIY Investing Wealth manager support

Moneybox

UK app for ISAs, pensions and investing

United Kingdom
Stocks and Shares ISA Lifetime ISA and pension Single app

Wealthify

Welsh managed investing with ISA and pension

United Kingdom
Risk styles Cautious to Adventurous ISA, Junior ISA, pension Ethical theme

Ginmon

Frankfurt robo-advisor with ETF strategy and cash product

Germany
Invest ETF strategy TopZins cash product Junior and company products

LIQID

Berlin wealth manager with portfolios from EUR 100,000

Germany
SAVE and CORE portfolios Private markets (NXT, PRO) BaFin supervised

OSKAR

Karlsruhe ETF savings plan managed by Scalable Capital

Germany
ETF savings plan Five risk strategies Depot at Baader Bank

Key takeaways

  • Scalable Capital is ranked #1 in this directory because it is the only provider here that pairs savings plans from EUR 1 with a flat PRIME+ subscription at EUR 4.99 a month and a bank licence in Munich.
  • quirion and Indexa Capital are the two cleanest fee statements in the continental list: quirion names 0.48% a year with no monthly charge, and Indexa Capital splits an average 0.527% into management, custody and fund costs on its homepage.
  • InvestEngine, Moneyfarm, Moneybox and Wealthify are UK firms regulated by the FCA, so they offer ISA and SIPP wrappers but sit outside the EEA under a UK adequacy decision rather than inside EU law.
  • LIQID is the only provider in this category with a EUR 100,000 entry ticket for SAVE and CORE, which makes LIQID the closest match to Betterment Premium and a poor fit for anyone starting small.
  • OSKAR charges 1.0% below EUR 10,000 and hands portfolio management to Scalable Capital, so the same investment brain costs noticeably more through OSKAR than through the Scalable Capital app itself.

European robo-advisors are online investment services, run by firms established in Europe, that turn a risk profile and a monthly deposit into a managed ETF or fund portfolio, and the European part matters because your contract, your money and your personal data then sit under a local financial supervisor and EU or UK data protection law instead of a US adviser.

European Robo-Advisors compared

European Robo-Advisors compared on position, country, entry price and best use
PositionToolEstablishedEntry priceBest for
#1 Scalable Capital Germany Two broker models: FREE Broker, or PRIME+ for EUR 4.99 a month. Savings plan executions cost EUR 0, and a trade below EUR 250 costs EUR 0.99 Savers in Germany who want ETF savings plans together with a flat-rate way to trade
#2 quirion Germany One asset management fee of 0.48% a year and no monthly charge; a savings plan begins at EUR 25 a month Savers in Germany who want a managed ETF portfolio for a single published fee
#3 Indexa Capital Spain Fund portfolios average 0.527% a year in total cost, with a EUR 1,000 entry level; pension plans and EPSV start at EUR 50 Residents of Spain who want index-fund portfolios and indexed pension plans
#4 InvestEngine United Kingdom Self-directed investing costs nothing; Managed Portfolios charge 0.25% of the portfolio value yearly; ISAs, SIPPs and GIAs carry no account fee Investors in the UK who want cheap ETF access, either managed or self-directed
#5 Moneyfarm United Kingdom Wealth accounts: a 0.45% yearly management fee and a 0.25% yearly platform fee, with instrument costs of up to 0.21% on top; DIY: GBP 3.95 for each share, ETF or fund trade Savers in the UK who want managed ISA or pension portfolios backed by human support
#6 Moneybox United Kingdom Yearly service fee of 0.15% on Moneybox Funds and 0.45% on other funds and US stocks; GBP 1 a month once the three free months end, subject to waivers Savers in the UK who want savings, an ISA and a pension handled in one phone app
#7 Wealthify United Kingdom Annual management fee of 0.6%, dropping to 0.3% for pension balances above GBP 100,000; fund and trading costs run to roughly 0.14% (Original) or 0.46% (Ethical) Savers in the UK who want managed ISA or pension investing and an ethical theme
#8 Ginmon Germany The vendor states no commissions and no hidden costs; the TopZins service fee is cut to 0.30% a year; the complete fee table was not on the pages we read Savers in Germany who want ETF investing and a cash product in the same app
#9 LIQID Germany Fees are percentages that differ per product, for instance SAVE at 0.20 to 0.45% a year plus 0.21% product costs; new SAVE and CORE customers need EUR 100,000 Investors with at least EUR 100,000 who want managed portfolios and private markets
#10 OSKAR Germany Yearly service fee of 1.0% under EUR 10,000 and 0.8% over it; ETF product costs of roughly 0.14% a year; savings plans start at EUR 25 a month Savers in Germany who want a plain monthly ETF savings plan

Every European Robo-Advisor reviewed

#1 Scalable Capital

Munich, Germany Founded 2014 Two broker models: FREE Broker, or PRIME+ for EUR 4.99 a month. Savings plan executions cost EUR 0, and a trade below EUR 250 costs EUR 0.99 Demo on request

Best for: Savers in Germany who want ETF savings plans together with a flat-rate way to trade

  • Operating company. Scalable Capital Bank GmbH
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Location of the servers is not given on the pages we checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Robinhood, Webull

Scalable Capital is a broker and savings plan app from Munich that lets you buy individual shares and ETFs, set up a recurring plan from EUR 1, and park cash at interest in the same account. Scalable Capital offers two broker models, FREE Broker and PRIME+ at EUR 4.99 a month, and savings plan executions are free in both.

The provider is Scalable Capital Bank GmbH, registered as HRB 217778 at the Munich Local Court and founded in 2014. Trades from EUR 250 cost nothing on EIX, trades below EUR 250 cost EUR 0.99, and Xetra and gettex orders cost EUR 1.99. The vendor lists over 8,000 stocks and 2,700 ETF savings plans, and the product is built around German accounts and German tax handling.

What Scalable Capital does well

  • Savings plans start at EUR 1 and execute for free
  • More than 8,000 stocks and 2,700 ETF savings plans on offer
  • A flat monthly broker option exists
  • Bank supervised by BaFin in Germany
  • Interest on cash and credit sit in the same app

Where Scalable Capital falls short

  • The fee you pay varies with order size and venue
  • The product is designed mainly around German products and tax rules
  • The PRIME+ plan costs EUR 4.99 a month
  • Derivatives and crypto are high-risk instruments

Standout feature. Scalable Capital is the only provider in this category that runs a full broker, a savings plan and a cash interest account under one bank licence.

#2 quirion

Berlin, Germany One asset management fee of 0.48% a year and no monthly charge; a savings plan begins at EUR 25 a month Demo on request

Best for: Savers in Germany who want a managed ETF portfolio for a single published fee

  • Operating company. quirion AG
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Server location is absent from the pages we read
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Betterment

quirion is a robo-advisor from Berlin that builds and rebalances ETF portfolios for you at a stated 0.48% a year, with no monthly charge. The service offers ten risk levels, and automatic rebalancing is included in the fee instead of being sold separately.

The operator is quirion AG, supervised by BaFin. A savings plan can begin at EUR 25 a month, and the pages we read name no minimum for a one-time deposit. quirion shows no free plan or trial, does not state where its servers are, and does not trade single stocks, so the service suits people who want to leave the portfolio alone.

What quirion does well

  • A single published fee of 0.48% a year
  • No monthly charge
  • Ten risk levels to pick from
  • Rebalancing is covered by the fee
  • German company under BaFin supervision

Where quirion falls short

  • Single stocks cannot be traded
  • No free tier and no trial period
  • A poor match for active traders
  • Server location is not given on the pages we read

Standout feature. quirion is the only provider here that bundles ten risk levels and automatic rebalancing into one 0.48% line with no monthly charge.

#3 Indexa Capital

Madrid, Spain Fund portfolios average 0.527% a year in total cost, with a EUR 1,000 entry level; pension plans and EPSV start at EUR 50 Demo on request

Best for: Residents of Spain who want index-fund portfolios and indexed pension plans

  • Operating company. Indexa Capital AV, SA
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Spain)
  • Where the data sits. Server location is absent from the pages we read
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Betterment

Indexa Capital is a Madrid robo-advisor that assigns index-fund portfolios to a risk profile and rebalances them automatically. Indexa Capital publishes an average total cost of 0.527% a year on its homepage, made of about 0.338% management, 0.093% custody and 0.096% fund costs.

The legal entity is Indexa Capital AV, SA, an agency supervised by the CNMV whose NIF and registration number appear on the site. Fund portfolios need EUR 1,000, while pension plans and EPSV plans for residents of the Basque Country begin at EUR 50. Because the range follows Spanish rules, the service is a poor match for anyone outside Spain, and hosting is not stated.

What Indexa Capital does well

  • CNMV-supervised agency, with NIF and registration number shown
  • The homepage itemises the cost split
  • Rebalancing happens automatically
  • Indexed pension plans start at EUR 50
  • EPSV plans exist for Basque Country residents

Where Indexa Capital falls short

  • Fund portfolios need EUR 1,000 to open
  • The range is tied to Spanish regulation
  • Average total cost is 0.527% a year
  • The pages we read do not say where it is hosted

Standout feature. Indexa Capital is the only provider on this list that itemises management, custody and fund costs on its homepage and also sells EPSV pension plans.

#4 InvestEngine

United Kingdom (city not stated on the pages we read), United Kingdom Self-directed investing costs nothing; Managed Portfolios charge 0.25% of the portfolio value yearly; ISAs, SIPPs and GIAs carry no account fee Demo on request

Best for: Investors in the UK who want cheap ETF access, either managed or self-directed

  • Operating company. InvestEngine (UK) Limited
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Server location is absent from the pages we read
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Betterment

InvestEngine is a UK ETF platform where self-directed investing is free and Managed Portfolios cost 0.25% of portfolio value a year. Opening an ISA, a SIPP or a GIA carries no account fee, so the platform charge stays near zero for people who pick their own funds.

The company is InvestEngine (UK) Limited, regulated by the FCA, and cash is covered by the FSCS up to GBP 85,000. InvestEngine states plainly that it does not give investment advice, and ETF provider charges and spreads come on top without being quantified on the page. The pages we read do not mention the founding year, the city or the hosting.

What InvestEngine does well

  • Self-directed investing carries no charge
  • Managed Portfolios at 0.25% a year
  • ISAs, SIPPs and GIAs have no account fee
  • An FCA-regulated UK company with its numbers shown
  • Cash is protected by the FSCS up to GBP 85,000

Where InvestEngine falls short

  • No investment advice is given
  • ETF charges and spreads are not quantified on the page
  • On DIY the user picks the ETFs
  • Hosting is not given on the pages we read

Standout feature. InvestEngine is the only provider here that combines a free DIY route with a managed route at 0.25%, the same figure as the base tier of Betterment.

#5 Moneyfarm

London, United Kingdom Wealth accounts: a 0.45% yearly management fee and a 0.25% yearly platform fee, with instrument costs of up to 0.21% on top; DIY: GBP 3.95 for each share, ETF or fund trade Demo on request

Best for: Savers in the UK who want managed ISA or pension portfolios backed by human support

  • Operating company. MFM Investment Ltd (trading as Moneyfarm)
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Server location is absent from the pages we read
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Betterment

Moneyfarm is the trading name of MFM Investment Ltd, an FCA-authorised London firm that runs managed portfolios and a DIY option. The Wealth product holds an ISA, a JISA, a SIPP or a GIA, and its pricing page states no entry, exit, withdrawal or top-up fees.

Wealth accounts pay 0.45% management and 0.25% platform a year plus instrument costs up to 0.21%, so the page example reaches 0.91%. DIY Investing costs GBP 3.95 a trade, UK shares add 0.50% stamp duty, and currency conversion costs 0.70%. Managed accounts come with Qualified Wealth Manager support, and the pages we read give no hosting location or free plan.

What Moneyfarm does well

  • FCA-regulated UK firm that shows its company number
  • One place for a managed ISA, JISA, SIPP and GIA
  • Qualified Wealth Manager support on managed accounts
  • Wealth has no entry, exit, withdrawal or top-up fees
  • A DIY route exists for self-managed portfolios

Where Moneyfarm falls short

  • Managed cost can reach 0.91% a year in the example given
  • DIY trades have a flat fee each
  • UK shares add 0.50% stamp duty and currency conversion is 0.70%
  • No hosting location or free plan on the pages we read

Standout feature. Moneyfarm is the only UK provider in this list that puts a named Qualified Wealth Manager behind a managed ISA or pension.

#6 Moneybox

United Kingdom (city not stated on the pages we read), United Kingdom Yearly service fee of 0.15% on Moneybox Funds and 0.45% on other funds and US stocks; GBP 1 a month once the three free months end, subject to waivers Demo on request

Best for: Savers in the UK who want savings, an ISA and a pension handled in one phone app

  • Operating company. Digital Moneybox Limited
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Server location is absent from the pages we read
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Betterment

Moneybox is a UK app from Digital Moneybox Limited that keeps a savings pot, a Stocks and Shares ISA, a Lifetime ISA and a pension together. Moneybox charges 0.15% a year on Moneybox Funds and 0.45% on funds from other providers and on US stocks.

A GBP 1 monthly subscription starts after the first three months and is waived below GBP 5 invested or above GBP 5,000. The company is FCA-regulated and publishes its numbers, and its customers are mostly UK residents aged 18 or over. The fees page does not quantify the costs inside the funds, and the pages we read do not say where the app is hosted.

What Moneybox does well

  • An FCA-regulated UK company with its numbers shown
  • Savings, ISA, Lifetime ISA and pension share one app
  • Moneybox Funds cost 0.15% a year
  • Investing products are free for three months
  • The subscription is waived at very low and higher balances

Where Moneybox falls short

  • A GBP 1 monthly subscription starts in month four
  • Funds from other providers and US stocks cost 0.45% a year
  • Aimed mainly at UK residents aged 18 or over
  • The fees page leaves fund costs unquantified

Standout feature. Moneybox is the only provider here that places a Lifetime ISA beside a savings pot and a pension in one app.

#7 Wealthify

Penarth, United Kingdom Annual management fee of 0.6%, dropping to 0.3% for pension balances above GBP 100,000; fund and trading costs run to roughly 0.14% (Original) or 0.46% (Ethical) Demo on request

Best for: Savers in the UK who want managed ISA or pension investing and an ethical theme

  • Operating company. Wealthify Limited
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Server location is absent from the pages we read
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Betterment

Wealthify is a managed investing service from Penarth in Wales where experts pick the funds and the customer chooses a risk style and a theme. Risk styles run from Cautious to Adventurous, and the theme can be Original or Ethical.

Wealthify Limited is FCA-regulated and offers a Stocks and Shares ISA capped at GBP 20,000 a year, a Junior ISA capped at GBP 9,000 per child, and a pension. The annual management fee is 0.6%, or 0.3% on pension balances over GBP 100,000, with fund and trading costs of about 0.14% on Original and 0.46% on Ethical. A savings account needs GBP 1,000, and hosting is not stated.

What Wealthify does well

  • FCA-regulated UK company with its numbers shown
  • Stocks and Shares ISA, Junior ISA and a pension
  • Risk styles from Cautious up to Adventurous
  • An Ethical theme is on offer
  • The fee falls to 0.3% on pensions above GBP 100,000

Where Wealthify falls short

  • A 0.6% annual management fee comes before fund costs
  • Ethical plans carry roughly 0.46% a year in fund costs
  • The savings account needs GBP 1,000
  • No hosting location or free plan on the pages we read

Standout feature. Wealthify is the only provider here where the ethical theme and a Junior ISA come as ready-made choices in the same managed service.

#8 Ginmon

Frankfurt am Main, Germany The vendor states no commissions and no hidden costs; the TopZins service fee is cut to 0.30% a year; the complete fee table was not on the pages we read Demo on request

Best for: Savers in Germany who want ETF investing and a cash product in the same app

  • Operating company. Ginmon Vermoegensverwaltung GmbH
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Server location is absent from the pages we read
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Betterment

Ginmon is a Frankfurt robo-advisor that offers ETF investing next to a cash product called TopZins. Ginmon states that it charges no commissions and no hidden costs, and that strategy changes and payment changes are free of charge.

The firm is Ginmon Vermoegensverwaltung GmbH, a BaFin-licensed securities institution. The TopZins service fee is reduced to 0.30% a year, while the full fee schedule was not on the pages we read. Returns on the site are shown before management fees, a personal advisor is available from EUR 50,000 according to the homepage, and hosting is not stated.

What Ginmon does well

  • Securities institution licensed by BaFin
  • Commissions and hidden costs are stated to be absent
  • Changing strategy or payments costs nothing
  • TopZins cash runs beside the ETF portfolio
  • A personal advisor can be added from EUR 50,000

Where Ginmon falls short

  • Advertised returns appear before management fees
  • We did not read the whole fee schedule
  • The personal advisor starts at EUR 50,000
  • Server location is not given on the pages we read

Standout feature. Ginmon is the only provider here that pairs a TopZins cash product at a 0.30% service fee with managed ETF investing.

#9 LIQID

Berlin, Germany Fees are percentages that differ per product, for instance SAVE at 0.20 to 0.45% a year plus 0.21% product costs; new SAVE and CORE customers need EUR 100,000 Demo on request

Best for: Investors with at least EUR 100,000 who want managed portfolios and private markets

  • Operating company. LIQID Asset Management GmbH
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Data centres in the EU according to the privacy policy, which names processors running them
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Betterment Premium

LIQID is a Berlin wealth manager with four product lines that run from cash to private markets. SAVE costs 0.20 to 0.45% a year plus 0.21% product costs, CORE costs 0.25 to 0.90% plus 0.07 to 0.37%, and NXT and PRO charge product costs only.

The operator is LIQID Asset Management GmbH, supervised by BaFin. New customers need EUR 100,000 for SAVE and CORE, and NXT and PRO product costs reach 2.49% a year. The privacy policy says LIQID works mainly with processors in EU data centres and sends data to third countries only under adequacy decisions or standard contractual clauses. No free plan or trial is stated.

What LIQID does well

  • German wealth manager under BaFin supervision
  • Four product lines, from cash through private markets
  • The privacy policy names EU data centres
  • Third-country transfers only on adequacy or SCCs
  • The nearest match to the $100,000 minimum of Betterment Premium

Where LIQID falls short

  • SAVE and CORE need EUR 100,000
  • Fees are ranges, not a single rate
  • NXT and PRO product costs go up to 2.49% a year
  • No free plan or trial is stated

Standout feature. LIQID is the only provider here whose privacy policy commits to EU data centres, and the only one that sells private markets access.

#10 OSKAR

Karlsruhe, Germany Yearly service fee of 1.0% under EUR 10,000 and 0.8% over it; ETF product costs of roughly 0.14% a year; savings plans start at EUR 25 a month Demo on request

Best for: Savers in Germany who want a plain monthly ETF savings plan

  • Operating company. Oskar.de GmbH
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Server location not given; the homepage says Baader Bank AG holds depots and cash accounts
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Betterment

OSKAR is a digital ETF savings plan from Karlsruhe with five risk strategies, where Scalable Capital manages the portfolios. A plan begins at EUR 25 a month, and no one-time investment is shown on the site.

Oskar.de GmbH charges a service fee of 1.0% a year below EUR 10,000 and 0.8% above, plus roughly 0.14% in ETF product costs. The homepage says Baader Bank AG holds the depots and cash accounts. The page shows two different fee ranges, and we found no BaFin reference for Oskar.de GmbH itself, which is worth checking before signing up.

What OSKAR does well

  • Plans start at EUR 25 a month
  • Five risk strategies to choose from
  • Scalable Capital manages the portfolios
  • Baader Bank AG holds the depots
  • The fee drops to 0.8% above EUR 10,000

Where OSKAR falls short

  • A 1.0% service fee applies under EUR 10,000
  • The site shows two different fee ranges
  • A one-time investment is not shown
  • We found no BaFin reference for Oskar.de GmbH

Standout feature. OSKAR is the only provider here that sells the Scalable Capital portfolio management as a simple monthly plan, with depots at Baader Bank AG.

How do I choose between a robo-advisor and a broker with savings plans?

Decide first whether you want someone else to pick and rebalance the portfolio. quirion, Indexa Capital and Ginmon do that for you from a risk profile, while Scalable Capital and InvestEngine also let you choose your own ETFs and run a savings plan yourself.

The managed route costs more per year, since quirion states 0.48% and InvestEngine Managed Portfolios 0.25%, but you never touch the allocation. The self-directed route is cheap, since DIY investing at InvestEngine is free and Scalable Capital executes savings plans at EUR 0, but the choice of ETFs and the discipline to keep buying stay with you.

A short test helps. If you would not rebalance a portfolio on your own once a year, pay for a managed service. If you already know which ETFs you want, a broker model saves the percentage fee.

What does a European robo-advisor really cost per year?

The fee is rarely one number, so compare the all-in figure. Indexa Capital states an average total cost of 0.527% a year, made of about 0.338% management, 0.093% custody and 0.096% fund costs. Moneyfarm lists 0.45% management plus 0.25% platform plus up to 0.21% instrument costs, which is the top of its 0.91% example.

Wealthify quotes 0.6% a year with fund costs of about 0.14% on Original and 0.46% on Ethical, and falls to 0.3% on pension balances over GBP 100,000. Moneybox charges 0.15% on its own funds and 0.45% on other funds and US stocks, plus GBP 1 a month after the three free months.

Two providers sit at the edges. OSKAR charges 1.0% under EUR 10,000 and 0.8% above, plus roughly 0.14% in ETF costs. LIQID quotes ranges by product, up to 2.49% for NXT and PRO. On a EUR 5,000 balance a flat monthly charge matters more than a basis-point difference, so run the numbers at your own balance.

Is a UK robo-advisor acceptable if I want GDPR protection?

Yes for most people, with a caveat about the legal basis. InvestEngine, Moneyfarm, Moneybox and Wealthify are UK companies regulated by the FCA. The UK is not in the EEA, but the European Commission has issued an adequacy decision for it, so personal data can flow to and from these firms without extra safeguards.

That is a different position from the German and Spanish providers. quirion, Ginmon, LIQID, OSKAR and Scalable Capital are German and Indexa Capital is Spanish, so EU law applies to them directly. If your compliance rule says EU or EEA only, take those six and skip the UK four.

Hosting is the open point for nearly all of them. Only LIQID states EU data centres in its privacy policy. For the rest, the pages we read do not say where the servers are, so ask before you sign up if the location matters to you.

How do I move from Betterment to a European provider?

Start from the contract. Betterment Holdings Inc. is in New York and its advice comes from Betterment LLC, an SEC-registered adviser, so a move means opening an account in a new jurisdiction and, in most cases, selling and rebuying instead of transferring in kind. Check the tax effect of that sale before anything else.

Then match the product. Betterment lists $5 a month or 0.25% a year, which is why InvestEngine at 0.25% a year is the nearest fee match. For the Premium tier at 0.65% with a $100,000 minimum, LIQID is the closest equivalent, since new customers need EUR 100,000 for SAVE and CORE.

Residents of Germany or Spain will find that tax wrappers do not carry across. A UK resident can use ISAs and SIPPs at Moneyfarm, Moneybox or Wealthify, while a Spanish resident can use the indexed pension plans of Indexa Capital from EUR 50.

When should I not switch to a European robo-advisor?

Stay where you are if you live in the United States and need US tax wrappers, because none of these ten provider pages describes an account type for US taxpayers. A move would add a currency conversion and a tax reporting question without lowering your costs.

Also be careful with small balances at the higher fee tiers. OSKAR at 1.0% below EUR 10,000 costs four times what InvestEngine charges for Managed Portfolios, and Wealthify at 0.6% plus fund costs is dearer than Moneybox on its own funds. A cheaper platform with the same ETFs often exists.

Finally, do not switch only for the label. Several providers have no free plan and no trial, and the fee pages for Ginmon and Moneybox leave some costs unquantified. Read the full fee table first and compare it with what you pay now.

Which robo-advisor suits very large or very small balances?

Small balances go to savings plans. OSKAR and quirion start at EUR 25 a month, Scalable Capital starts at EUR 1, and Moneybox charges GBP 1 a month, a subscription it waives below GBP 5 invested or above GBP 5,000. Indexa Capital asks EUR 1,000 for fund portfolios but only EUR 50 for pension plans.

Large balances go to firms with human contact. LIQID requires EUR 100,000 for SAVE and CORE, Ginmon offers a personal advisor from EUR 50,000, and Moneyfarm gives Qualified Wealth Manager support on managed accounts.

Between those two ends the decision is mostly about wrapper and country. Pick the provider whose tax wrapper matches where you pay tax, then compare fees inside that short list.

How we selected and ranked these 10 tools

Every tool on this page is in the European Purpose directory, which means the operating company is established in Europe and we have verified that from the company register or the vendor's own legal notice rather than from a marketing page. Tools headquartered outside Europe are not eligible, however good they are.

  1. Feature verification (weight: 40%). We check each capability against the vendor's own documentation and product pages, and record what the tool does rather than what the category is assumed to include.
  2. Ease of adoption (weight: 30%). Integrations, published API access, trial availability and how much configuration stands between signing and a usable result.
  3. Value and transparency (weight: 30%). Published pricing counts in a vendor's favour; quote-only pricing is recorded as quote-only rather than estimated. We weigh what a buyer gets for the entry price, not the headline feature count.
  4. Editorial review. Every page is researched and drafted with AI assistance, and the compliance and pricing claims are checked against the vendor's documentation before it is published under the founder's editorial responsibility. The three weights above decide the order; a position is a ranking against the other European tools in this category, not an absolute score.

Vendor-reported outcomes — ROI figures, margin uplift, time saved — are labelled as vendor claims wherever they appear on this page. We have not audited them, and neither has anyone else who quotes them. Read our full editorial process for how pages are re-verified.

Frequently asked questions

Scalable Capital ranks first in this directory for savings plans from EUR 1 and a clear flat-fee option. For a single stated managed fee, look at quirion at 0.48% a year or Indexa Capital at an average 0.527%. UK savers should compare InvestEngine, Moneyfarm, Moneybox and Wealthify, and investors with EUR 100,000 should look at LIQID.

InvestEngine Managed Portfolios at 0.25% of portfolio value a year and DIY investing at no charge are the lowest published figures in this list. Moneybox charges 0.15% on its own funds, but adds a GBP 1 monthly subscription after three free months, and ETF charges and spreads apply on top at InvestEngine.

Safety rests on regulation. Scalable Capital, quirion, Ginmon and LIQID are supervised by BaFin, Indexa Capital by the CNMV, and InvestEngine, Moneyfarm, Moneybox and Wealthify by the FCA. InvestEngine also states FSCS protection on cash up to GBP 85,000. Investment value can still fall, and no regulator covers market losses.

Yes. Scalable Capital savings plans start from EUR 1 with free executions, OSKAR and quirion from EUR 25 a month, and Indexa Capital pension plans from EUR 50. quirion pages we read give no minimum for one-time deposits, while Indexa Capital asks EUR 1,000 for fund portfolios.

Moneyfarm, Moneybox and Wealthify offer ISAs and pensions in the UK, with Moneyfarm adding a JISA, Moneybox a Lifetime ISA and Wealthify a Junior ISA. InvestEngine covers ISAs, SIPPs and GIAs. In Spain, Indexa Capital offers indexed pension plans and EPSV plans.

Only LIQID states EU data centres in its privacy policy. Scalable Capital, quirion, Indexa Capital, Ginmon and OSKAR are established in the EU but do not state hosting on the pages we read, and the four UK providers sit under a UK adequacy decision, outside the EEA.