Moneybox
UK app for ISAs, Lifetime ISA, pension and investing with a GBP 1 monthly subscription
Quick Overview
| Company | Digital Moneybox Limited |
|---|---|
| Category | Robo-Advisors |
| Headquarters | United Kingdom (city not stated on the pages we read), United Kingdom |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - United Kingdom (FCA regulated) |
| Data Location | not stated on the pages we read |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes |
| Self-Hosting | No |
| Main Features | Cash ISA, Open Access Cash ISA, Simple Saver, Stocks and Shares ISA, Lifetime ISA, Personal Pension, phone app |
| Pricing | Service fee 0.15% a year on Moneybox Funds, 0.45% on other funds and US stocks; GBP 1 per month after three free months, with waivers |
| Best For | UK savers who want savings, ISA and pension in one phone app |
| Replaces | Betterment |
Detailed Review
Moneybox is a UK savings and investing app run by Digital Moneybox Limited, FCA no. 712935. The company is registered in England and Wales under company number 09597755.
Moneybox holds Cash ISA, Open Access Cash ISA and Simple Saver accounts, and investing products such as Stocks and Shares ISA, Lifetime ISA and Personal Pension, all managed from a phone.
Moneybox products in one app
Moneybox puts savings accounts and investing products in a single app. The Lifetime ISA and Personal Pension sit next to the Stocks and Shares ISA.
Moneybox service fees
Moneybox states a service fee of 0.15% per year for Moneybox Funds and 0.45% per year for other providers' funds and US stocks. Fund costs are set by each provider and are not quantified on the page.
Moneybox subscription
Investing products cost GBP 0 for the first three months, then GBP 1 per month. The subscription is waived below GBP 5 invested or above GBP 5,000 invested.
Limitations to Consider
Moneybox investing products carry a GBP 1 monthly subscription from month four unless a waiver applies. Most products are open only to UK residents aged 18 or over. Fund costs are set by each provider and not quantified on the fees page. The 0.45% fee on other funds is above the 0.25% base tier that Betterment lists.
Who Should Use Moneybox
UK residents aged 18 or over who want savings, ISAs and a pension managed from one phone app.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- FCA-regulated UK company with numbers published
- Savings, ISA, Lifetime ISA and pension in one app
- 0.15% a year on Moneybox Funds
- First three months of investing products free
- Subscription waived at low and high balances
Cons
- GBP 1 monthly subscription from month four
- 0.45% a year on other providers' funds and US stocks
- Mostly UK residents aged 18 or over
- Fund costs not quantified on the fees page
Alternatives to Moneybox
Other European robo-advisors worth comparing before you decide:
Scalable Capital
Germany · Munich broker with savings plans and own ETFs
quirion
Germany · Berlin robo-advisor with managed ETF portfolios
Indexa Capital
Spain · Madrid index-fund robo-advisor with pension plans
InvestEngine
United Kingdom · UK ETF platform with free DIY and managed portfolios
See all European robo-advisors or compare them directly against Betterment on our alternatives page.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. Digital Moneybox Limited is a UK company regulated by the FCA that offers Stocks and Shares ISA, Lifetime ISA and pension investing. Betterment is run from New York.
Moneybox states 0.15% a year on Moneybox Funds and 0.45% on other providers' funds and US stocks, plus GBP 1 a month after three free months.
The Moneybox fees page states the GBP 1 monthly subscription is waived below GBP 5 invested or above GBP 5,000 invested.