Every European Cross-Browser and test automation tool reviewed
Moerbeke, Belgium
Live from EUR 20/month, Automated from EUR 50/month, Automated Pro from EUR 90/month (billed annually); pay-as-you-go packs from EUR 60 for 1,000 minutes; prices exclude VAT
Demo on request
Best for: Teams that run existing Selenium or Playwright suites and want the browser cloud contracted in the EU
TestingBot rents out browsers and devices, and the quickest way to see what that means is to look at the connection: you keep your Selenium, Playwright, Cypress, Puppeteer or WebdriverIO script and change the endpoint. The catalogue it publishes runs to 6100+ combinations, from current Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Safari back to Internet Explorer 8, plus real iPhones, iPads, Galaxy and Pixel devices for Appium, Espresso, XCUITest and Maestro runs.
The contracting entity is Norento BV, trading as TestingBot, in Moerbeke, Belgium. The vendor states that test data, videos and logs stay on EU infrastructure, and calls itself GDPR compliant and CSA STAR Level 1 registered.
Its founding year is not stated on the pages reviewed. A hosted AI test agent turns plain-language descriptions into steps, and an MCP server lets Claude Code or Cursor read test runs. Visual and accessibility checks are included, the latter linked by the vendor to the European Accessibility Act.
What TestingBot does well
- Contracting entity in Belgium, data on EU infrastructure
- Plans and pay-as-you-go packs listed in euros
- Supports Selenium, Playwright, Cypress, Puppeteer, Appium, Espresso, XCUITest and Maestro
- Old browser versions such as IE8 to IE11 still available
- MCP server for AI coding assistants
Where TestingBot falls short
- Grid only, no test authoring beyond the AI agent
- Smaller real-device fleet than the largest US clouds
- No self-hosted option
- Smaller vendor than the large US clouds
Standout feature. It is the only entry in this category that gives you a hosted grid of real browsers and devices under a Belgian contract.
Espoo, Finland
Quote only (request a quote or free evaluation)
Demo on request
Best for: Teams testing native desktop, automotive and embedded GUIs next to web
Squish tests applications through their GUI objects instead of matching images or scraping a DOM, which is why the browser is only one of its targets. The product page lists Qt desktop programs, Java, Windows software, web and mobile apps, Android Automotive and microcontroller displays, and a moved or restyled control does not break a script that refers to it by property.
Squish belongs to Qt Group in Finland. Under the Qt terms, customers outside the United States contract with The Qt Company Oy in Espoo, while US customers contract with The Qt Company Inc. Scripts are written in Python, JavaScript, Ruby or Perl, or as behaviour-driven scenarios, and runs plug into Jenkins, GitLab and Bamboo. The vendor names automotive, medical devices, aerospace, industrial vehicles and industrial automation as use cases and offers a Tool Qualification Kit. Pricing is by quote.
What Squish does well
- Covers desktop, web, mobile and embedded GUIs
- Object-based recognition survives layout changes
- Several scripting languages and BDD
- Tool Qualification Kit for regulated industries
- Contracting entity in Finland for non-US customers
Where Squish falls short
- No hosted browser grid
- Quote-only pricing
- Needs trained automation engineers
- Heavier than a recorder for plain web tests
Standout feature. It tests the same product across Qt desktop software, embedded displays and the web, with a qualification kit for regulated industries.
Berlin, Germany
Founded 2018
Free tier / From €30/month
Demo on request
Best for: Developer teams monitoring APIs and sites
Checkly watches production with the same Playwright tests your developers write before release. Browser checks are ordinary Playwright files, API checks are multi-step with assertions, and both are defined as code in your repository and deployed with the Checkly CLI in JavaScript or TypeScript, so a pull request can change a monitor together with the feature it watches.
The company is based in Berlin and was founded in 2018 by Hannes Lenke and Tim Nolet. According to its tool page it raised a USD 20 million Series B led by Balderton Capital in 2024, with Accel and CRV taking part.
A free tier exists and paid plans start at EUR 30 a month, with pricing growing with check frequency and volume. It is a monitoring product, so it carries no infrastructure metrics or APM, and the same page lists Pingdom and Datadog Synthetics as the tools it replaces.
What Checkly does well
- Browser checks written as Playwright tests, reusing E2E work
- Monitoring as code in your repository via CLI
- CI/CD integration catches breakage before production
- Multi-step API checks with assertions
- German company, EU data handling, free tier
Where Checkly falls short
- Narrow scope, no infrastructure or APM
- Pricing scales with check frequency and volume
- Requires Playwright familiarity for browser checks
- Not open source or self-hostable
Standout feature. It reuses an end-to-end test as a scheduled production monitor, with the definition kept in version control.
Tarnowskie Gory, Poland
Free plan; Core $99/month and Pro $189/month billed annually (prices exclude VAT); Business on request
Demo on request
Best for: Small product teams that want end-to-end browser tests without writing a framework
BugBug begins in a Chrome extension: you click through a flow, the recorder turns it into a test, and the test runs locally or on a schedule in the vendor cloud. There is no framework to install. Tests are edited visually, built from reusable components such as a shared login, exported to YAML for version control, and can be repaired by an AI agent connected over MCP.
The service provider is TestRevolution sp. z o.o. in Poland. The vendor's FAQ states that primary infrastructure is hosted in the EU with servers in Gdansk, and the terms are governed by Polish law.
Plans are fixed per month with no seat fees: Free has one user and 15 tests on local runs, Core costs USD 99 a month and Pro USD 189 a month, billed annually, with Business on request. Each paid plan includes an inbox for flows that send email. It tests in Chrome only.
What BugBug does well
- Codeless recorder inside the browser
- Polish contracting entity, servers in Gdansk
- Unlimited users on Pro, no seat pricing
- Built-in email testing
- YAML export for version control
Where BugBug falls short
- Chrome-based, not a multi-browser grid
- Free plan allows 15 tests and local runs only
- Prices in US dollars
- Visual regression and CI/CD only on Pro
Standout feature. It bundles a mailbox for sign-up and password-reset tests, so email flows need no separate service.
Paris, France
Hobby $0 with up to 5,000 screenshots; Pro from $100/month with 35,000 screenshots; Enterprise on request
Demo on request
Best for: Front-end teams that already run Playwright or Storybook and want visual changes reviewed in pull requests
Argos captures screenshots from your Playwright, Storybook or Vitest run, compares them with the baseline from the main branch, and asks people to approve or reject what changed. The verdict is a commit status that branch protection can require. The SDK waits for fonts and images, hides carets and scrollbars and pauses GIFs, so the pixel diff separates real changes from rendering noise.
The operator is Smooth Code SAS, registered in Paris under number 830 511 788, and the site describes the product as open-source visual testing. Beyond pixels it diffs Markdown, JSON, YAML, HTML, CSS and JavaScript as text and checks ARIA snapshots.
One rejection blocks a build, otherwise one approval passes, whether from a person or an agent. The Hobby plan is USD 0 with up to 5,000 screenshots, Pro starts at USD 100 a month with 35,000 screenshots, and Enterprise is on request. The pages reviewed do not state a data location.
What Argos does well
- Built around pull request review
- Diffs ARIA snapshots and text files, not only pixels
- Works with Playwright, Storybook and Vitest
- Free Hobby plan allows commercial use
- Per-screenshot rates published openly
Where Argos falls short
- Not a browser or device cloud
- Data location not stated on the pages reviewed
- GitHub and GitLab only for integrations
- Prices in US dollars
Standout feature. It makes a visual diff a blocking review step in the pull request, and also diffs text files and ARIA snapshots.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Priced per concurrent agent by written quote; 14-day free trial of AskUI Desktop
Demo on request
Best for: Teams testing legacy desktop software, infotainment or industrial screens where selectors do not exist
AskUI looks at the screen the way a person does and decides the next action from what it sees, so tests do not depend on selectors that break when a button moves.
Steps are written in plain language, such as opening a radio screen and saving a station, and a step can also check a database, API, file or shell command behind the screen. Listed targets include legacy desktop software, web and mobile apps, automotive infotainment, game UIs and machine control screens.
The imprint names askui GmbH at Zimmerstr. 3 in Karlsruhe, entered at Amtsgericht Mannheim under HRB 740125, and the vendor states that it is ISO 27001 certified and GDPR compliant. The Enterprise plan can run on-premise or air-gapped and supports a model you bring yourself. Team and Enterprise are billed per concurrent agent, by written quote, and a 14-day trial of AskUI Desktop is offered. Between runs the platform proposes edits to the suite, which a person must accept.
What AskUI does well
- Tests from pixels, so no selectors to maintain
- Handles desktop, mobile and embedded UIs
- On-premise and air-gapped deployment
- Bring your own model
- Imprint and register entry in Germany
Where AskUI falls short
- Quote-only pricing
- Not a browser or device cloud
- Agentic output needs human review
- Smaller community than Selenium or Playwright
Standout feature. It runs tests on any screen it can see, including air-gapped networks, without selectors.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Pricing on request (no public pricing page found)
Demo on request
Best for: Enterprise QA teams testing business applications such as SAP and Salesforce without code
Leapwork lets testers build automated flows visually instead of in code, and extends that to enterprise software where the browser is only part of the picture: SAP, Salesforce, Dynamics 365, Oracle and ServiceNow. Playwright, visual automation, AI-driven validation and performance testing sit under one set of governance controls, so web, desktop and API checks can be orchestrated together.
The imprint names Leapwork ApS at Store Kongensgade 72C in Copenhagen with VAT number DK38168495, and the terms mention both SaaS and on-premises products, though the terms text reviewed does not name the contracting entity.
The vendor describes execution as deterministic, with AI applied where it speeds up quality work, and quotes customers including Handelsblatt, Bestseller and BNP Paribas. A free Leapwork Play option is mentioned for developers. No public price list was found, and the pages reviewed state no data location.
What Leapwork does well
- Visual builder with no code
- Covers SAP, Salesforce, Dynamics, Oracle and ServiceNow
- Desktop, API and performance testing in the same platform
- On-premises products available
- Copenhagen imprint with Danish VAT number
Where Leapwork falls short
- No public pricing
- Enterprise-scale, heavy for small teams
- Terms text does not name the contracting entity
- Data location not stated on the pages reviewed
Standout feature. It automates SAP and Salesforce business processes through a visual builder, with governance and evidence as the sales point.
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Basic EUR 89/month (EUR 99 monthly billing), Team EUR 356/month (EUR 396 monthly billing), Enterprise on request
Demo on request
Best for: Developer teams adding load tests to a CI pipeline before releases
Gatling covers the part of testing where the question is how many users a system survives. Tests are written as code and run from one or several load generators, with a hosted Enterprise edition for teams. It does not render pages in many browsers, so it complements a functional grid by testing capacity rather than appearance.
The terms name Gatling Corp, a French simplified joint-stock company with its registered office at 99 Avenue Achille Peretti in Neuilly-sur-Seine, registered in Nanterre under number 812 810 216.
Basic costs EUR 89 a month (EUR 99 with monthly billing) for 60,000 virtual users, 1 hour of testing, 1 load generator and 2 seats. Team costs EUR 356 a month (EUR 396 monthly) for 180,000 virtual users, 5 hours, 3 generators, 10 seats and distributed testing. Enterprise limits are set by quote, and an MCP server lets coding agents deploy tests.
What Gatling does well
- Plans and limits published in euros
- Tests written as code and kept in the repository
- Distributed load generation on the Team plan
- French registered company with register number
- MCP server for coding agents
Where Gatling falls short
- Load testing only, not functional browser testing
- Virtual user and hour caps per plan
- Data location and self-hosting not stated
- Basic plan has community support only
Standout feature. It publishes load test limits in virtual users, hours and seats, priced in euros.
Munich, Germany
Pricing on request; self-service exploratory bug test starts at 10 testers, nothing charged until the test is set live
Demo on request
Best for: Product teams that need human testers on varied real devices and in real conditions
Testbirds sells people rather than infrastructure: a crowd of testers uses your website or app on their own devices, and you receive reported bugs and usability findings instead of a pass or fail from a script. Offerings include exploratory bug testing, structured testing, localisation, regression and payment testing, usability studies, competitor analysis and accessibility testing.
The imprint names Testbirds GmbH in Munich, Amtsgericht München HRB 199376, and the site shows an international head office entry for Testbirds B.V. in the Netherlands.
The logo describes the company as part of the Unguess Group, which was not checked beyond the logo. A self-service exploratory bug test needs no project or lead time, starts at 10 testers and returns results within 48 hours, according to the site, with nothing charged until it is set live. The Bring-Your-Own-Crowd option lets teams test with their own users.
What Testbirds does well
- Real people on real devices
- QA and UX testing in one provider
- Self-service bug test with no lead time
- Imprint and register entry in Munich
- Accessibility and payment testing offered
Where Testbirds falls short
- Manual and project-based, not CI-friendly
- Pricing not public beyond a 10-tester minimum
- Group ownership only visible from the logo
- Data location not stated on the pages reviewed
Standout feature. It supplies real users on varied devices who find usability problems that no script reports.
Graz, Austria
Free for up to 3 users; paid per user per month, billed yearly: Starter USD 15.42, Business USD 17.08, Enterprise USD 25.00; 21-day trial
Demo on request
Best for: Small and mid-size QA teams that want published prices, EU hosting and a way to import from TestRail
Testiny keeps manual and automated testing in one place. Teams write test cases and plans, run them with assignees and milestones, and import results from Playwright, Cypress, Selenium or JUnit so that automation outcomes appear next to manual runs. Issues link to Jira, Linear, GitHub, GitLab or Azure DevOps, and single sign-on through any OIDC provider starts on the Business plan.
The contracting entity is Mategra GmbH in Graz, named in the legal notice. Hosting sits with Hetzner in Germany, according to the vendor's security page, which also gives the backup interval. Testiny holds no certificate of its own and points to the ISO/IEC 27001 of its host. Seats are billed in US dollars, with a free tier for three users and a trial of 21 days. A self-hosted Server edition is available only on custom terms.
What Testiny does well
- Free plan for up to 3 users
- Hosted at Hetzner in Germany, with backups in a second German data center
- Import from TestRail, Zephyr and Xray is documented
- A self-hosted Testiny Server edition exists
- Per-seat prices are published on the pricing page
Where Testiny falls short
- Prices are shown in US dollars
- Self-hosting needs custom Enterprise terms
- It does not run automated tests itself
- No security certifications of its own; it relies on the hosting provider's
Standout feature. It brings over a team's existing test cases through a documented API import, attachments included.
Montrouge, France
Founded 2011
Free Community edition; the Premium, Ultimate and Cloud editions are sold through a price grid and quote (see the vendor website)
Demo on request
Best for: Public-sector and enterprise QA teams that want an open-core tool to host themselves, with support in French
Squash TM is a test repository that supports manual, exploratory, BDD and automated practices in one place, with requirement-to-test traceability as a central use. Bug trackers from Jira to Bugzilla can be linked. The Community edition is open source and free, and the vendor describes the model as open core.
Henix, a French services company, publishes the tool and says on its about page that it has done so since 2011. The legal notice names Henix SAS at Montrouge. Premium and Ultimate run on your own servers, and Cloud Premium and Cloud Ultimate are hosted by Henix, with Cloud Premium on French servers. Premium adds support, reporting and proprietary bug tracker integrations, Ultimate adds AI-assisted test design and BDD action libraries. Paid prices sit in a downloadable grid.
What Squash TM does well
- Free Community edition, open source
- A Cloud edition runs on French servers
- Connects to Jira, GitLab, Azure DevOps and Tuleap
- Covers manual, BDD and automated testing
- An independent French publisher since 2011
Where Squash TM falls short
- Paid edition prices are not published on the page
- Site and documentation are French-first
- Advanced features require Premium or Ultimate
- Some of the plugins are proprietary
Standout feature. It offers a free open-source test repository that can run on your own servers.