European Alternatives to Brex

Looking for a European alternative to Brex? Brex LLC is a wholly owned subsidiary of Capital One, N.A., and its Platform Agreement is governed by Utah law with courts in Salt Lake County and arbitration available at either side's election, so a European buyer contracts under US rules.

Eleven European tools cover corporate cards, expense claims and bill payment: spend platforms and card issuers from Germany, the United Kingdom, Denmark, France and Belgium, plus a German invoice tool with its own Visa cards.

11 Alternatives
100% GDPR Compliant
How we rank these tools — 4-step process
  1. 1
    European ownership, verified

    The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA or Switzerland, and processes customer data in Europe. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.

  2. 2
    Category fit and hands-on review

    What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.

  3. 3
    Compliance and pricing check

    GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.

  4. 4
    Position on this page

    Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. It never buys a good review: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Paid placement can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. Editorial policy

11 European Alternatives to Brex

Moss

Berlin spend platform: BaFin-licensed cards, reimbursements and accounts payable, one platform fee, free trial

#1 for replacing Brex
Germany

Pleo

Copenhagen cards and expenses with three published tiers, accounts payable and a free trial

#2 for replacing Brex
Denmark

Payhawk

Cards, bill pay, travel and procure-to-pay in modules; Growth programme from £149 a month

#3 for replacing Brex
United Kingdom

Spendesk

Paris platform with unlimited cards, users and control settings in the base package

#4 for replacing Brex
France

Soldo

Wallets and cards with published monthly prices and a 30-day free trial on every plan

#5 for replacing Brex
United Kingdom

Qonto

French business account with cards and spend controls, plans with a one-month free trial

#6 for replacing Brex
France

Pliant

Berlin credit card platform with EU cards issued by its Finnish e-money institution

#7 for replacing Brex
Germany

Mooncard

French spend cards with automatic receipts and accounting export; card issue fee €10, load fee 0%

#8 for replacing Brex
France

ExpenseIn

London expense platform with unlimited expense cards on every plan and cashback on higher tiers

#9 for replacing Brex
United Kingdom

Candis

Berlin invoice and document platform with optional Visa corporate cards from €149 a month

#10 for replacing Brex
Germany

Mobilexpense

Brussels expense and spend platform with business credit cards from €4 per user a month

#11 for replacing Brex
Belgium

Key takeaways

  • Brex LLC is a subsidiary of Capital One, N.A., and its Platform Agreement is governed by Utah law, with courts in Salt Lake County and arbitration available at either side's election.
  • Moss (Berlin) is the most complete card-led match: cards, reimbursements and accounts payable on one platform fee, a BaFin licence number on its imprint and a free trial.
  • Pleo (Copenhagen) and Soldo (UK) are the easiest to try: Pleo offers a free trial on its Start and Build plans and Soldo gives 30 days on every plan with published monthly prices.
  • Payhawk and Spendesk are the modular platforms for larger teams: Payhawk lists a Growth programme from £149 a month, and Spendesk includes unlimited cards and users in its base package, both with quote-based pricing above that.
  • Qonto, Pliant, Mooncard, ExpenseIn, Candis and Mobilexpense each fit a narrower case, from a business account with cards to a German invoice platform with Visa cards.

Why people leave Brex

Brex sells corporate cards with built-in expense management, travel booking, bill pay and a cash account in one platform. Its US pricing page lists Essentials at $0 per user per month, Premium at $12 and custom Enterprise pricing, and it says its cards are accepted in 210+ countries with local-currency cards and billing in 50+ countries. It is the benchmark that many European spend platforms are measured against.

The contract is the issue for European buyers. Its Platform Agreement names Brex LLC, "a wholly owned subsidiary of Capital One, N.A." (Capital One completed its acquisition of Brex in April 2026), at an address in Salt Lake City. The agreement is governed by Utah law, litigation goes to courts in Salt Lake County, and either side can require binding arbitration, with a waiver of class and representative actions.

This page covers card-led spend management for companies: cards, reimbursements and invoice payments in one place. Eleven European tools qualify. They differ more than the Brex list suggests: some are card issuers that grew into software, some are expense tools with a card attached, and one is an invoice platform with an optional Visa card.

  • Your agreement sits under Utah law and arbitration The Brex Platform Agreement chooses Utah law and courts in Salt Lake County, and lets either party insist on binding arbitration with no class actions. The tools below name a European or UK entity in their own imprint or terms, so a dispute is settled where the company is registered. For Brex we could not see which entity and law apply to a customer in Europe, so ask before signing.
  • The card issuer matters as much as the software Moss names Moss GmbH with a BaFin licence, Pliant issues through Pliant Oy in Finland, Payhawk through Payhawk Financial Services UAB in the EEA, Soldo through an Irish DAC regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland, and Pleo has a UK entity authorised by the FCA. Knowing who issues the card and who supervises it is part of the due diligence, and the vendors here publish it.
  • Brex bundles a bank-like layer that few Europeans copy Brex advertises banking and treasury with yield on cash balances. The European tools mostly stop at cards, expense claims and bill payment, with Qonto as the one that is also your business account. If you keep your cash at Brex today, the cash side moves to a bank or account provider, not only the software.
  • Pricing models differ from Brex's per-user plans Brex publishes a per-user price. Moss and Spendesk charge a platform fee plus variable transaction fees with no per-user cost, Payhawk sells modules, Soldo and Candis publish fixed monthly prices, and Pliant publishes nothing. Compare the total at your volume, not the headline price.

What you have to replace, not just match

List what Brex does for you today: how many cards, which currencies, whether you use reimbursements, bill pay, travel or the cash account, and which accounting package gets the data. Then check each tool's own pages for those specific items, because the eleven here cover different parts of the Brex bundle.

Run both in parallel for one month. Issue new cards from the European platform for one team, keep Brex cards for the rest, then close Brex cards once the receipts, approvals and accounting export work as expected. Check the credit limit you need, since some tools here are prepaid wallets and others offer credit.

The alternatives compared

European Brex alternatives, in the order this page ranks them, compared on headquarters, pricing and jurisdiction
PositionToolHeadquartersPricingJurisdiction
#1 Moss Berlin, Germany Per user, per month EU (Germany)
#2 Pleo Copenhagen, Denmark Per active user, per month EU (Denmark)
#3 Payhawk London, United Kingdom (engineering in Sofia, Bulgaria) Subscription + per user United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
#4 Spendesk Paris, France Subscription + per user EU (France)
#5 Soldo London, United Kingdom, with a Milan office Standard £21 a month plus VAT (1 wallet, 3 users, 3 cards, up to 20 bank transfers a month), Plus £33 a month plus VAT (3 wallets, up to 30 transfers), Unlimited quoted; minimum three users and extra cards cost extra UK, with EEA card issuing under Irish supervision
#6 Qonto Paris, France Self-employed plans Basic €9, Smart €19 and Premium €39 a month; team plans Essential €49, Business €109 and Enterprise €199 a month; all excl. VAT and billed annually (€108, €228, €468, €588, €1,308 and €2,388 a year) EU (France)
#7 Pliant Berlin, Germany Three plans — Light, Standard and Custom — all calculated individually; no prices are published. The Standard plan includes unlimited cashback, with the percentage not stated EU (Germany, with card issuing in Finland)
#8 Mooncard Paris, France Per card, per month EU (France)
#9 ExpenseIn London, United Kingdom Core, Advanced and Complete tiers, priced per user per month; Advanced adds 0.5% cashback on card spend and Complete 0.75%; pricing on request United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
#10 Candis Berlin, Germany Base from €389/month, Plus from €599/month, Max from €789/month, priced by document volume with unlimited users and entities; Visa corporate cards from €149/month EU (Germany)
#11 Mobilexpense Brussels, Belgium Declaree from €8/user/month, minimum 20 users; MXP custom-quoted, minimum 20 users; business credit cards from €4/user/month as an add-on EU (Belgium)

How each alternative compares to Brex

#1

Moss

the most complete card-led match, from Berlin

Berlin, GermanyPer user, per month#3 in Expense Management

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Brex is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Brex is.

Best for: Companies that want cards, reimbursements and accounts payable on one platform with one fee

Moss runs through several named entities. Nufin GmbH in Berlin (HRB 209209) is the platform operator, Moss GmbH (HRB 219201) issues the e-money and cards under BaFin licence number 159024, Airwallex (Netherlands) B.V. is a payment services partner regulated by the Dutch central bank, and GetMoss NL B.V. in Amsterdam handles credit facilities.

Its pricing page describes a platform fee plus a variable fee based on monthly volume of card transactions, invoices and reimbursements, with no per-user charge. Cards, reimbursements and accounts payable are the base, and procurement, controlling, ERP and AI accounting are add-ons. A free trial is offered starting with cards or accounts payable.

No amounts are published, so the cost at your volume needs a quote. The accounting features are aimed at German bookkeeping, with DATEV named on its site.

What Moss does better than Brex

  • Publishes the issuing entity, register numbers and BaFin licence number on its imprint
  • No per-user charge, so adding employees does not raise the bill
  • Cards, reimbursements and accounts payable in one base platform
  • States a free trial on its pricing page

Where Moss is a step down from Brex

  • No prices published, so the Brex price comparison cannot be made without a quote
  • No cash account with yield, which Brex advertises
  • Accounting automation is strongest for German bookkeeping

Standout against Brex. It names its card issuer, its licence number and its payment partner in the same imprint.

getmoss.com Visit Moss
#2

Pleo

cards and expenses with a free trial, from Copenhagen

Copenhagen, DenmarkPer active user, per month#1 in Expense Management

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Denmark). Brex is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Brex is.

Best for: Small and mid-sized teams that want to try cards and expenses without a sales call

Pleo is operated by Pleo Technologies A/S in Copenhagen (CVR 36538686), with Pleo Financial Services UK Ltd authorised by the FCA under firm reference 1020730. Its cards are issued under a licence from Mastercard.

Its pricing page shows three plans, Start, Build and Optimise, with a "Try for free" option on Start and Build. Physical and virtual cards are on every plan, reimbursements and mileage start on Build, and cashback is listed on Optimise for eligible customers. Its home page also lists accounts payable and multi-currency accounts.

The amounts on the pricing page we saw were in pounds, which suggests they depend on the visitor's country, so no figure is quoted here.

What Pleo does better than Brex

  • Free trial on the entry plans
  • Three published tiers with clear feature steps
  • Cards, reimbursements, accounts payable and multi-currency in one product
  • Entities and regulator reference published on its legal page

Where Pleo is a step down from Brex

  • Prices depend on country and could not be quoted here
  • Cashback only on the top plan for eligible customers
  • Less depth in procurement than Payhawk or Moss

Standout against Brex. It is the one with an explicit free trial on the plans most small teams would start on.

pleo.io Visit Pleo
#3

Payhawk

a modular platform for several entities and currencies, from London

London, United Kingdom (engineering in Sofia, Bulgaria)Subscription + per user#4 in Expense Management

  • Which law reaches it. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA). Brex is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Brex is.

Best for: Companies with several legal entities that need cards, bill pay and procurement

The contracting entity is Payhawk Limited, registered at Companies House under 11747263 with a Chancery Lane address. Cards are issued by Payhawk Financial Services UAB in the EEA, Payhawk Financial Services Limited in the UK and, for US customers, Cross River Bank.

Pricing is modular: four modules (Travel, Cards & Expenses, Bill Pay, Procure to Pay) with per-unit fees for cards, reimbursements, purchase orders and invoices. A Growth programme starts at £149 a month for UK and EEA businesses under 20 employees, with 10 cards, 10 seats and up to 15 invoices and reimbursements a month, for a single entity.

It lists PCI DSS Level 1, ISO 27001 and SOC 2, multi-currency money accounts in EUR, GBP, USD, DKK, PLN and CHF, and live integrations with Xero, QuickBooks Online and Exact Online. Beyond Growth, pricing is by quote.

What Payhawk does better than Brex

  • Covers travel, cards, bill pay and procure-to-pay as separate modules
  • Multi-currency accounts in six currencies
  • A published entry price for small UK and EEA companies
  • Names a separate issuer for the EEA and the UK

Where Payhawk is a step down from Brex

  • The UK parent sits outside the EU
  • Standard and larger plans are quote-based
  • Growth is limited to a single entity and no procure-to-pay

Standout against Brex. It is the one that sells travel, cards, bill pay and procurement as separate modules.

payhawk.com Visit Payhawk
#4

Spendesk

unlimited cards and users in the base package, from Paris

Paris, FranceSubscription + per user#2 in Expense Management

  • Which law reaches it. EU (France). Brex is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Brex is.

Best for: Finance teams that want to approve spend before it happens

The French company register lists SPENDESK at 7 rue de Madrid in Paris (SIREN 821 893 286) and SPENDESK FINANCIAL SERVICES at the same address (SIREN 900 518 101), both active. Spendesk's own legal notice page returned an error when we tried it, so the legal form and regulator are not confirmed here.

Its pricing page describes a fixed monthly platform subscription with variable fees by transaction volume. The base package includes unlimited cards, users and control settings, physical and virtual cards, receipt automation, budget monitoring, API access and multi-entity management. Procurement, accounts payable and advanced workflows are add-ons.

Pricing is by quote and no free trial is mentioned on the pricing page.

What Spendesk does better than Brex

  • Unlimited cards, users and control settings in the base package
  • Budget monitoring and multi-entity management included
  • No per-user or physical card fees, according to its pricing page

Where Spendesk is a step down from Brex

  • No published prices and no free trial mentioned
  • Legal notice page could not be opened to confirm the regulator
  • Procurement and accounts payable cost extra

Standout against Brex. It puts no cap on cards, users or control settings in the base package.

spendesk.com Visit Spendesk
#5

Soldo

published monthly prices and a 30-day trial, from London

London, United Kingdom, with a Milan officeStandard £21 a month plus VAT (1 wallet, 3 users, 3 cards, up to 20 bank transfers a month), Plus £33 a month plus VAT (3 wallets, up to 30 transfers), Unlimited quoted; minimum three users and extra cards cost extra

  • Which law reaches it. UK, with EEA card issuing under Irish supervision. Brex is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. Not disclosed — Soldo publishes certifications but does not name a cloud provider or region.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Brex is.
  • Independently checked. ISO/IEC 27001 group-wide since 2019, ISO 9001 since 2019, PCI DSS Level 1 Service Provider since 2017, Cyber Essentials Plus; Soldo Financial Services Ireland DAC is regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland and Soldo Financial Services Ltd is an FCA-authorised EMI, FRN 900459.

Best for: Small teams that want a fixed monthly bill

Soldo's legal page describes Soldo Software Ltd (company 09233754, registered office on Marylebone Road in London, incorporated 24 September 2014 per Companies House) for software, Soldo Financial Services Ltd regulated by the FCA, Soldo Financial Services Ireland DAC regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland, and Soldo Italia S.r.l.

Its pricing page lists Standard at £27 a month (one wallet, three users, three cards), Plus at £39 (three wallets, OCR receipt matching) and Unlimited on request, with a 30-day free trial on all plans. Financial services, such as cards and transfers, are charged separately by the financial services entity.

Prices are in pounds and the page states that card and payment fees are extra, so the monthly figure is not the full cost. It also lists an integration with SAP Concur.

What Soldo does better than Brex

  • Fixed published prices for the two smaller plans
  • 30-day free trial on all plans
  • Separate EEA and UK regulated entities, both named

Where Soldo is a step down from Brex

  • Card and payment fees are charged on top of the plan
  • Prices in pounds only
  • Smaller plans are limited to three users and three cards

Standout against Brex. It is the only one here that publishes two fixed monthly prices and a 30-day trial on every plan.

soldo.com Visit Soldo
#6

Qonto

the business account and the cards in one provider, from Paris

Paris, FranceSelf-employed plans Basic €9, Smart €19 and Premium €39 a month; team plans Essential €49, Business €109 and Enterprise €199 a month; all excl. VAT and billed annually (€108, €228, €468, €588, €1,308 and €2,388 a year)

  • Which law reaches it. EU (France). Brex is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Brex is.
  • Independently checked. Licensed payment institution authorised by the French ACPR, registration 16958 granted 21/06/2018 (not a bank).

Best for: European SMEs that want their account, cards and spend controls from one company

Qonto SA is a French société anonyme registered at the Paris Trade Register under 819 489 626, with headquarters at 6 Impasse Bonne Nouvelle in Paris. It is a payment institution authorised by the ACPR under number 16958 since 21 June 2018, and the French company register confirms the registration as active.

Its legal notice states that customer funds are safeguarded, with a part held by partner banks. That is not a bank licence, which matters if you compare it with Brex's cash account, and deposit protection works differently from a bank deposit.

Its pricing page shows plans with a one-month free trial. We did not quote amounts because the page shows several tabs and country settings.

What Qonto does better than Brex

  • Account, cards and spend controls from one regulated provider
  • One-month free trial on its plans
  • Entity, register number and regulator on its legal notice

Where Qonto is a step down from Brex

  • A payment institution, not a bank
  • Lighter on accounts payable and procurement than Moss or Payhawk
  • Hosting location and certifications not found on the pages we opened

Standout against Brex. It is the only one where switching spend tools does not mean reconciling against someone else's account.

qonto.com Visit Qonto
#7

Pliant

a credit card platform with a Finnish issuer, from Berlin

Berlin, GermanyThree plans — Light, Standard and Custom — all calculated individually; no prices are published. The Standard plan includes unlimited cashback, with the percentage not stated

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Germany, with card issuing in Finland). Brex is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. Not disclosed — Pliant publishes its licences and certifications but not its hosting location.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Brex is.
  • Independently checked. ISO 27001:2022 and PCI DSS service provider; EU cards issued by Pliant Oy (business ID 3266913-9) in Helsinki under Finnish Financial Supervisory Authority supervision, UK cards by Transact Payments Limited under the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission.

Best for: German and EU companies that want a credit card rather than a prepaid wallet

Pliant GmbH is registered in Berlin (HRB 217281 B) at Prenzlauer Allee 242-247, with managing directors Malte Rau, Fabian Terner and Friedrich Hubel. Subsidiaries include Pliant Oy in Helsinki (3266913-9) and Pliant SAS in Paris (RCS 949 584 643).

Its imprint says cards are issued by Pliant Oy under a licence from Visa Europe, recognised as an authorised e-money institution under the Finnish financial supervisor. Pliant says it is certified as a PCI DSS service provider and holds ISO 27001:2022.

We did not verify its prices, and we did not find a public free plan or trial on the pages we opened.

What Pliant does better than Brex

  • Describes itself as a credit card platform, which is closer to Brex's model
  • Issuer, register numbers and supervisor named on the imprint
  • PCI DSS service provider and ISO 27001:2022

Where Pliant is a step down from Brex

  • Prices not verified on the pages we opened
  • No free trial found
  • Narrower than Moss or Payhawk: cards and controls rather than accounts payable

Standout against Brex. Every EU card it issues sits with a named Finnish e-money institution behind a German parent.

getpliant.com Visit Pliant
#8

Mooncard

spend cards with receipts attached, for French companies

Paris, FrancePer card, per month#8 in Expense Management

  • Which law reaches it. EU (France). Brex is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Brex is.

Best for: French SMEs that want cards with automatic receipts and accounting export

Mooncard's homepage footer says Moongroup acts as an agent of Treezor SAS (RCS Paris 807 465 059), which is authorised by the ACPR. The French register lists MOONGROUP at 72 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honore in Paris (SIREN 818 620 783).

Its pricing page lists a card issue fee of €10 per card, a load fee of 0%, and a loyalty-linked load fee of 1.5% or 3% on the Flying Blue programme, with a custom quote for the platform. It lists receipt capture with OCR, duplicate detection, spend caps and automatic card blocking when receipts are missing, some of them as options.

The site is French-first, with an English switch.

What Mooncard does better than Brex

  • Card fees published on the pricing page
  • Automatic card blocking when receipts are missing
  • Receipt capture and accounting export built around the card

Where Mooncard is a step down from Brex

  • Platform price is a custom quote
  • French-first site and focus
  • Several features are options, not included

Standout against Brex. It will block the card automatically if a receipt is missing.

mooncard.co Visit Mooncard
#9

ExpenseIn

unlimited expense cards on every plan, from London

London, United KingdomCore, Advanced and Complete tiers, priced per user per month; Advanced adds 0.5% cashback on card spend and Complete 0.75%; pricing on request#10 in Expense Management

  • Which law reaches it. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA). Brex is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Brex is.

Best for: UK and European companies that want many cards without a per-card fee

The supplier in its business terms is Mobile Dynamics Limited, trading as ExpenseIn, incorporated in England and Wales (09456735) with its registered office at 30 Old Bailey in London. The terms are governed by the law of England with exclusive jurisdiction of the English courts.

Its plans page lists Core, Advanced and Complete. Core includes unlimited expense cards, reimbursements, a mobile app, receipt scanning and mileage; Advanced adds 0.50% cashback, SSO, multi-entity and custom fields. All plans are by demo, with no amounts shown.

It is a UK company, so the contract is under English law rather than an EU member state.

What ExpenseIn does better than Brex

  • Unlimited expense cards on the entry plan
  • Cashback on the Advanced plan
  • Contract under English law with a named entity

Where ExpenseIn is a step down from Brex

  • No prices published
  • UK law, not an EU member state
  • Less AP and procurement than Moss or Payhawk

Standout against Brex. The entry plan already carries unlimited expense cards.

expensein.com Visit ExpenseIn
#10

Candis

invoice automation with optional Visa corporate cards, from Berlin

Berlin, GermanyBase from €389/month, Plus from €599/month, Max from €789/month, priced by document volume with unlimited users and entities; Visa corporate cards from €149/month#15 in Expense Management

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Brex is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Brex is.
  • Independently checked. GoBD-certified digital archiving (Germany).

Best for: German companies whose accounting runs on DATEV and who want cards alongside invoice processing

Candis GmbH has its imprint at Karl-Liebknecht-Straße 5 in Berlin, registered at Amtsgericht Charlottenburg under HRB 168078, with managing directors Christian Ritosek and Linnar Schwarz.

Its pricing page lists Basis from €389, Plus from €599 and Max from €789 a month, based on document volume, with unlimited users and entities, free implementation and a 30-day free test. Candis Visa corporate cards are an extension from €149 a month, with real-time transactions and an optional 0.5% cashback.

This is mainly an invoice and accounting tool with cards added, not a card-first spend platform, and the card issuer was not verified on the pages we opened.

What Candis does better than Brex

  • Prices published on the German pricing page
  • 30-day free test
  • Unlimited users and entities

Where Candis is a step down from Brex

  • Cards are an add-on to an invoice tool
  • Card issuer not confirmed on the pages we opened
  • The pages we read were in German

Standout against Brex. It starts from the invoice, not the card.

candis.io Visit Candis
#11

Mobilexpense

expenses with business credit cards from €4 a user, from Brussels

Brussels, BelgiumDeclaree from €8/user/month, minimum 20 users; MXP custom-quoted, minimum 20 users; business credit cards from €4/user/month as an add-on#11 in Expense Management

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Belgium). Brex is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. EU/EEA (Mobilexpense states customer data is stored in the EU/EEA).
  • Source code. Closed source, as Brex is.
  • Independently checked. ISO 27001:2022.

Best for: Mid-sized European companies with mileage, per diems and cross-border travel

Its imprint names Mobilexpense SA at Koning Albert II Laan 19 in Brussels, with enterprise number 0472.505.509 and branch offices in Amsterdam; Declaree BV is listed in Rotterdam.

Its pricing page lists Declaree at €8 per user per month with a minimum of 20 users, MXP on a custom quote, and business credit cards from €4 per user per month. Declaree is available in seven languages, with automated exchange rates and country-specific VAT rules.

We did not verify who issues the credit cards or who owns the group.

What Mobilexpense does better than Brex

  • Published per-user prices for Declaree and the cards
  • Mileage, per diems and VAT rules built in
  • Seven languages

Where Mobilexpense is a step down from Brex

  • Minimum of 20 users on Declaree
  • Card issuer and ownership not verified here
  • Less modern card controls than Moss or Pleo

Standout against Brex. It publishes a per-user price for the credit cards.

mobilexpense.com Visit Mobilexpense

What actually breaks when you switch

Cards and credit limits do not move over. Check what limit you will get and whether a security deposit or prefunding is needed, and keep both card programmes live until receipts, approvals and accounting exports work in the new tool.

Several of these tools quote by volume and do not publish a price. Ask for a written quote at your card count and transaction volume, including the card and payment fees that Soldo and Mooncard show separately.

Brex's cash account and yield have no direct European equivalent in the tools here. Qonto holds your account, the others sit on top of the bank you already use, so plan the cash move as a separate task.

Is there a European tool that works exactly like Brex?

Moss and Payhawk come closest to the full bundle: corporate cards, reimbursements and bill payment, with procurement as an add-on or module. Pleo and Spendesk cover cards and expenses well, and both reach into accounts payable.

None of them reproduces Brex's cash account with yield or its global reach as one product. Qonto is the one that is also your business account, but it is a payment institution and not a bank, so deposit protection works differently.

Which of these let me try before I talk to sales?

Moss states a free trial on its pricing page, Pleo shows "Try for free" on Start and Build, Soldo gives 30 days on every plan, Candis offers 30 days to test and Qonto offers one month free. Payhawk lists a Growth programme from £149 a month.

Spendesk, Pliant, ExpenseIn, Mooncard and Mobilexpense MXP quote on request, so expect a demo first. Mobilexpense Declaree and the Candis cards do publish a price.

Do these give credit, as Brex does, or are they prepaid?

It varies and is worth asking directly. Pliant describes itself as a credit card platform, Mobilexpense sells business credit cards from €4 per user per month, and Moss has a Dutch entity for credit facilities. Pleo lists credit limits on each plan, and Soldo works with wallets that you fund.

For a company that wants to spend ahead of cash, ask each vendor for the limit you would get and the fee structure before you compare them.

Does the contract really matter for card software?

It matters for where a dispute is decided, who holds the card programme and who supervises the issuer. With Brex the agreement is a Utah contract with arbitration available on request. With the tools here, the contracting entity sits in the EU, the UK or Denmark, and for several of them the issuer is a licensed e-money institution named on the site.

For a company that stores employee and supplier data in the platform, it sits alongside data location and subprocessors, which are not stated by every vendor here.

Which one to pick

If you want the broadest replacement for Brex's cards, expenses and bill pay, Moss is the first to price up, with Payhawk if you run several entities or currencies. If you want to try it before talking to anyone, look at Pleo, Soldo or Candis, which publish a trial or fixed prices.

Spendesk, Qonto, Pliant, Mooncard, ExpenseIn and Mobilexpense each fit a narrower case: unlimited cards under a platform fee, an account with cards, a credit card platform with a Finnish issuer, French cards with receipts, many cards under English law, or expenses with mileage and per diems for mid-sized firms.

Be realistic about the gap. Brex advertises cards in 210+ countries and a cash account with yield, and none of the eleven matches both. Switch if you want a European or UK contracting entity and a named issuer, and keep Brex if global card acceptance and treasury are what you buy it for.

Frequently Asked Questions

Moss is the best all-round answer on this page for a card-led setup, because it combines cards, reimbursements and accounts payable on one platform fee with a published BaFin licence number and a free trial. Pleo is easier to try and Payhawk handles several entities and currencies. There is no best tool without a criterion, so pick the one that fits your size and volume.

No. Brex LLC, the contracting party in its Platform Agreement, is a wholly owned subsidiary of Capital One, N.A., with an address in Salt Lake City, Utah. The agreement is governed by Utah law.

On its US pricing page Brex lists Essentials at $0 per user per month, Premium at $12 per user per month and Enterprise and Smart Card at custom pricing. Prices on other country pages may differ.

Soldo lists Standard at £27 a month (one wallet, three users, three cards) and Plus at £39 (three wallets), with Unlimited on request and card and payment fees charged separately. Candis lists Basis from €389, Plus from €599 and Max from €789 a month by document volume, with Visa cards from €149 a month. Mobilexpense lists Declaree at €8 per user per month with a minimum of 20 users and credit cards from €4 per user per month.

Payhawk sells modules for Travel, Cards & Expenses, Bill Pay and Procure to Pay, with per-unit pricing for cards, reimbursements and invoices. For UK and EEA businesses under 20 employees it lists a Growth programme from £149 a month with 10 cards, 10 seats and up to 15 invoices and reimbursements a month, for a single entity.

Moss GmbH is named on the Moss imprint as the e-money and card issuer, authorised by BaFin under licence 159024. Pliant's imprint says its cards are issued by Pliant Oy in Helsinki, supervised in Finland. Payhawk issues in the EEA through Payhawk Financial Services UAB and in the UK through Payhawk Financial Services Limited, and its legal page also lists a US issuer for US customers.

Its contracting entity is Payhawk Limited, registered in England and Wales at Companies House number 11747263 with an office on Chancery Lane in London. The UK is outside the EU but inside Europe, and its EEA cards run through an EEA subsidiary. Its legal page also lists a US card issuer for US customers.

Moss advertises accounting automation for DATEV, and Candis integrates with DATEV, SAP Business One, Microsoft Business Central and Sage 100. Payhawk lists live accounting integrations with Xero, QuickBooks Online and Exact Online. Check your own accounting package on each vendor's integration page before deciding.

Often yes, because most of these tools issue their own cards from an account or wallet of their own. If your cash sits at Brex today, plan to move it to a bank or to Qonto, which combines the account and the cards. Payhawk lists multi-currency accounts in EUR, GBP, USD, DKK, PLN and CHF.

Not as an import in most cases. Export your transactions and receipts from Brex as files before you close it, and keep them for your accounting and audit trail. New cards, approval rules and budgets have to be set up again in the new tool.

Who worked on this review

Three people touch every comparison page: one writes it, a second edits it, and a third checks the compliance and pricing claims against the vendor's own documentation.

Daniel Brandt
Written by

Daniel Brandt

Privacy & Compliance Researcher · Berlin, Germany

Checks the compliance claims: where the company is established, where the data sits, and what the DPA actually says.

Marta Kowalczyk
Edited by

Marta Kowalczyk

Senior Analyst, Infrastructure & Developer Tools · Warsaw, Poland

Covers hosting, developer tooling and the practical side of moving workloads to European providers.

Ingrid Halvorsen
Fact-checked by

Ingrid Halvorsen

Managing Editor · Oslo, Norway

Runs the review process and decides when a page is ready to publish or needs another pass.

Read our editorial process for how we source, verify and update these pages — and how we keep affiliate income separate from what we recommend.

Explore More European Alternatives

Discover privacy-focused European alternatives to other popular US tech services.

More Spend Management Browse All Categories