European Music Distribution Services

Music distribution services deliver a finished release to Spotify, Apple Music, YouTube and similar stores, collect the payments and pass them on to the artist. The distributor signs the agreement, holds your royalty balance and processes your tax and payout details, so it matters whether that contract falls under US law or under a European regime. The ten services below are run from Switzerland, Sweden, Germany and the United Kingdom, with their contracting entities checked on their own legal pages.

How we rank these tools — 4-step process
  1. 1
    European ownership, verified

    The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA, the UK, Switzerland or Israel, and processes customer data in Europe or Israel. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.

  2. 2
    Category fit and hands-on review

    What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.

  3. 3
    Compliance and pricing check

    GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.

  4. 4
    Position on this page

    Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect the order tools appear in. It never buys a listing: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Vendors can pay for more visibility, higher up on the review pages; it never affects whether a tool is listed. Editorial policy

10 European Music Distribution Services

RecordJet

Lucerne distributor with one-time or yearly per-release fees

Switzerland
Basic: 90% of revenue, one-time fee Premium: 100% of revenue, yearly fee Non-exclusive, cancel with a notice

Record Union

Stockholm distributor with team workspaces and royalty recoups

Sweden
Per-release Core plan Workspaces for teams and labels Royalty splits and recoups

Amuse

Stockholm subscription distributor with 120+ stores and royalty advances

Sweden
120+ stores, unlimited releases Delivery typically within 24 hours Royalty advances for eligible accounts

EmuBands

Glasgow distributor with pay-per-release or monthly Premium

United Kingdom
Single or bundle release fees Daily royalty payouts No minimum payout threshold

iMusician

Zurich distributor with 200+ platforms and a mastering tool

Switzerland
Pay per release or Amplify subscription Editorial playlist pitching Instant Mastering and analytics

Feiyr

Bavarian distributor for music, eBooks and audiobooks

Germany
€3.82 distribution fee per release 80/20 revenue split No monthly or annual fee

Horus Music

Leicester distributor with yearly plans and publishing options

United Kingdom
£20 per year artist plan UK Charts Company registration Sync and publishing services

RouteNote

Cornwall distributor with a free 85% plan and paid 100% option

United Kingdom
Free plan with 85% share Premium release fees for 100% Publishing and Content ID services

Ditto Music

Liverpool distributor with yearly artist, Pro and label plans

United Kingdom
Starter, Pro and Labels plans Sync pitching and publishing on Pro 150+ platforms on Starter

LabelWorx

Hull distributor serving independent electronic music labels

United Kingdom
Label management services YouTube Content ID management Accounting and royalty tools

Key takeaways

  • Amuse, a Stockholm company founded in 2015, is the closest European match to the DistroKid plan structure: three yearly plans from €21.99, unlimited releases on all of them and delivery to 120+ stores.
  • Feiyr in Germany and RecordJet in Switzerland are the two tools here that put the price on the release, at €3.82 per release plus a €9.90 activation for Feiyr and €9 to €39 per release for RecordJet.
  • RouteNote is the only tool in this category with a plan that costs nothing upfront, at the price of 15% of net revenue, and it moves a release back to that plan when a Premium renewal is cancelled.
  • iMusician states 200+ platforms and Ditto Music 150+, which makes them the widest networks claimed here, while Record Union lists 20+ stores and RouteNote 50+.
  • Five of the ten companies, EmuBands, Horus Music, RouteNote, Ditto Music and LabelWorx, are in the United Kingdom, and RecordJet and iMusician are Swiss, so only Amuse, Record Union and Feiyr are EU companies.

European music distribution services are companies that deliver an artist's or label's recordings to streaming and download stores, collect the money those stores pay and hand it on, under a contract with a firm registered in Europe, which matters because the contract, the payout rules and the data protection regime then follow European law instead of the law of a US state.

European music distribution services compared

European music distribution services compared on position, country, entry price and best use
PositionToolEstablishedEntry priceBest for
#1 RecordJet Switzerland Basic: single €19, EP €29, album €39 one time (90% of revenue). Premium: single €9, EP €19, album €29 per year (100% of revenue). Excl. VAT Artists who release a few times a year and would rather pay for each release
#2 Record Union Sweden Core from $14 per release per year (range $14 to 54); Pro $150 per year per workspace; Label on request. Prices as shown on the pricing page Managers and small labels who handle several releases in one shared workspace
#3 Amuse Sweden Artist €21.99, Artist Plus €35.99, Artist Pro €49.99, all billed annually; add-ons priced separately Artists who want a yearly plan like DistroKid's from a Stockholm company
#4 EmuBands United Kingdom Single £15, bundle of 2 to 20 tracks £30, Premium £7.50 per month billed annually; support packages £0 to £90 per year Artists who want to compare a pay-once single with an unlimited subscription
#5 iMusician Switzerland See website (plan prices are not shown in the server-rendered page) Artists who want delivery, mastering and playlist pitching in one login
#6 Feiyr Germany €9.90 one-time activation, €3.82 per release, €0 monthly and annual fee, 20% revenue share Hobby artists and DJs who want next to no fixed cost and accept giving up a share
#7 Horus Music United Kingdom Artist £20 per year, Labels £30 per year (2 artists), pay per release: single £25, EP £35, album £45 Artists who want UK Official Charts registration and a possible publishing route
#8 RouteNote United Kingdom Free plan with no upfront cost (85% of net revenue). Premium: single $10, EP $20, album $30, extended album $45, then $9.99 per year per release Beginners who start for free and upgrade only the releases that earn
#9 Ditto Music United Kingdom Starter $19 per year, Pro $59 per year, Labels $109 per year (as shown on the pricing page) Songwriters who want sync pitching and publishing royalties from the distributor
#10 LabelWorx United Kingdom Pricing on request Independent electronic music labels that need a back office for a catalogue

Every European music distribution service reviewed

#1 RecordJet

Lucerne, Switzerland Founded 2008 Basic: single €19, EP €29, album €39 one time (90% of revenue). Premium: single €9, EP €19, album €29 per year (100% of revenue). Excl. VAT Demo on request

Best for: Artists who release a few times a year and would rather pay for each release

  • Operating company. recordJet AG
  • Jurisdiction. Switzerland (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. DistroKid, TuneCore, CD Baby

RecordJet charges for the release and not for the account. A single costs €19, an EP €29 and an album €39 as a one-time Basic fee with 90% of revenue paid out, or €9, €19 and €29 per year on Premium with 100%, all excluding VAT. The pricing page says every contract is non-exclusive and can be cancelled with a simple notice, and that you decide stores and release dates yourself.

recordJet AG is based at Maihofstrasse 1 in Lucerne and carries the Swiss UID CHE-179.890.872 in its imprint, and the company page dates the service to 2008 and its founder Jorin Zschiesche. The Swiss jurisdiction sits outside the EEA with an EU adequacy decision. The weak points are the lack of a store count on the pricing page and the price of promotion and the First Class offer, which are quoted per case.

What RecordJet does well

  • Published Swiss UID in the imprint
  • Pick a one-time or a yearly fee per release
  • Premium returns all revenue to the artist
  • Non-exclusive contract, cancel by notice
  • Fees from €9 per release

Where RecordJet falls short

  • Basic pays out 90%, so 10% goes to the distributor
  • Pricing page gives no number of stores
  • Promotion and First Class have no listed price
  • A large catalogue pays the fee again for every release

Standout feature. RecordJet lets you choose between a one-time and a yearly fee separately for each release.

#2 Record Union

Stockholm, Sweden Founded 2008 Core from $14 per release per year (range $14 to 54); Pro $150 per year per workspace; Label on request. Prices as shown on the pricing page Demo on request

Best for: Managers and small labels who handle several releases in one shared workspace

  • Operating company. DFP Group AB (Record Union)
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Sweden)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. DistroKid, TuneCore, CD Baby

Record Union is built around a team working on a catalogue. The Core plan bills each release annually, from $14 for a short release up to $54, and the Pro plan costs $150 per year per workspace, includes three releases and gives members roles and permissions. Royalty splits, recoups, private and business payouts and a monthly earnings report are listed as standard services.

DFP Group AB in Stockholm is named in the terms as the contracting party, and the about page traces the service to 2008.

According to the pricing page you can set up a profile and releases without paying and only pay at release. Optional items are priced separately, such as rapid delivery at $6, a Spotify pre-save at $7, Content ID at $10 per year and a UPC at $10, and delivery covers 20+ stores with more addable for $2 per year each.

What Record Union does well

  • Payment only when a release goes out
  • Workspaces with roles and permissions for teams
  • Splits and recoups handled inside the account
  • Contracting company in Sweden
  • Add-on prices listed one by one

Where Record Union falls short

  • Delivery network of 20+ stores
  • Add-ons are billed again for each release
  • Pricing page displays US dollars
  • No public price for the Label tier

Standout feature. Record Union lets a team share one workspace with roles and permissions and handles splits and recoups in it.

#3 Amuse

Stockholm, Sweden Founded 2015 Artist €21.99, Artist Plus €35.99, Artist Pro €49.99, all billed annually; add-ons priced separately Demo on request

Best for: Artists who want a yearly plan like DistroKid's from a Stockholm company

  • Operating company. Amuseio AB
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Sweden)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. DistroKid, TuneCore, CD Baby, Symphonic

Amuse sells three annual plans that differ in the number of artist profiles: Artist at €21.99 for one, Artist Plus at €35.99 for two and Artist Pro at €49.99 for three or more. Every plan carries unlimited releases, delivery to 120+ stores, hi-res audio, a custom label name, streaming insights and royalty advances for eligible accounts. The site says releases typically reach stores within 24 hours and that music stays live after a downgrade.

Amuseio AB, founded in 2015 and based in Stockholm, is the counterparty named in the terms of use, which apply Swedish law with the Stockholm District Court as venue.

Add-ons are separate items: music video distribution at €29.99 per video per year, cover song licensing at €12.99 per track, store sync at €8.99 per release, which Artist Plus and Artist Pro include, and mastering at €5.49 per audio file. A plan is needed before anything is distributed, and earnings are shown after currency conversion and service fees.

What Amuse does well

  • No limit on releases on any of the three plans
  • Delivery to 120+ stores
  • Hi-res audio at no extra charge
  • Releases remain live after a downgrade
  • Sweden as legal entity and governing law

Where Amuse falls short

  • Distribution always needs a paid plan
  • Advances only for accounts the service deems eligible
  • Video, mastering and cover licensing are paid add-ons
  • Earnings are displayed after conversion and service fees

Standout feature. Amuse keeps music live after a downgrade, which answers the take-down question on the plan page itself.

#4 EmuBands

Glasgow, United Kingdom Founded 2005 Single £15, bundle of 2 to 20 tracks £30, Premium £7.50 per month billed annually; support packages £0 to £90 per year Demo on request

Best for: Artists who want to compare a pay-once single with an unlimited subscription

  • Operating company. EmuBands Ltd
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. DistroKid, TuneCore, CD Baby

EmuBands runs two routes side by side. A single costs £15 and a bundle of 2 to 20 tracks £30, and a release bought that way stays on stores for good, while Premium at £7.50 a month, billed annually, covers unlimited releases.

Prices appear in pounds, euros and dollars. A separate support package is Basic at no charge, Plus at £30 per year, Pro at £60 or Premium at £90, and the higher ones add features such as chart registration, compilations and hi-res audio.

The terms identify EmuBands Ltd, registered in Scotland under number SC290161 with its office in Glasgow, and the company states it was formed in 2005. Royalties can be requested at any time with no minimum, daily payouts are listed on every package and there are no takedown fees. Cancelling Premium means paying a one-time fee to turn releases into forever releases, and the pricing page gives no store count.

What EmuBands does well

  • Single releases from £15
  • Premium subscription for unlimited distribution
  • Payout can be requested with no minimum
  • Daily payouts, no fee for takedowns
  • Pounds, euros and dollars on the price list

Where EmuBands falls short

  • Higher features sit in the paid support packages
  • After Premium lapses, keeping releases up costs a one-time fee
  • Company is British, so outside the EU
  • No number of stores on the pricing page

Standout feature. EmuBands is the only tool here where a single bought once is described as staying on stores permanently.

#5 iMusician

Zurich, Switzerland Founded 2008 See website (plan prices are not shown in the server-rendered page) Demo on request

Best for: Artists who want delivery, mastering and playlist pitching in one login

  • Operating company. iMusician Digital AG
  • Jurisdiction. Switzerland (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. DistroKid, TuneCore, CD Baby

iMusician pairs distribution with the tools around a release. The Starter plan is per release with a 10% commission, Rockstar is per release with 0% commission and adds Content ID, editorial pitching and pre-save pages, and Amplify is a yearly subscription with unlimited releases, 0% commission and 50 Amps per month. Amplify+ adds revenue splits, pitching and two Instant Mastering tracks per year for 2 to 20 artists, and Amplify Pro is for more than 20.

iMusician Digital AG, Binzstrasse 23 in Zurich, is the entity named in the imprint and the terms, with offices in Zurich and Berlin, and the company was founded in 2008. The homepage claims 200+ platforms and says music stays online whatever plan you choose, which is the vendor's own statement. Plan prices are not in the server-rendered page, so the budget check has to happen on the site, and the Amps credits are one more concept to learn.

What iMusician does well

  • Delivery to 200+ platforms, according to the vendor
  • Plans per release or by subscription
  • No commission on Rockstar and the Amplify tiers
  • Mastering, pitching and analytics under one account
  • Customer support in six languages

Where iMusician falls short

  • Plan prices could not be read on the plain page
  • Starter keeps a 10% commission
  • Several tools only unlock on higher tiers
  • The Amps credit system is an extra layer

Standout feature. iMusician combines delivery with editorial playlist pitching and Instant Mastering through JP Masters.

#6 Feiyr

Seeon-Seebruck, Germany Founded 2005 €9.90 one-time activation, €3.82 per release, €0 monthly and annual fee, 20% revenue share Demo on request

Best for: Hobby artists and DJs who want next to no fixed cost and accept giving up a share

  • Operating company. DANCE ALL DAY Musicvertriebs GmbH (FEIYR)
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. DistroKid, TuneCore

Feiyr takes almost nothing upfront. Registration is free, you can upload up to 5 releases and 25 tracks before the one-time €9.90 activation is due, and a music release then costs €3.82 for all the shops you select, with no monthly or annual fee. YouTube Content ID is €0, and optional ISRC and EAN codes cost €0.85 and €0.95. The income comes from the 80/20 split in the terms, calculated on net revenue billed by the portals.

DANCE ALL DAY Musicvertriebs GmbH, trading as FEIYR from Martinistrasse 7 in Seeon-Seebruck near Lake Chiemsee, is entered at the Traunstein court as HRB 13330, and the company says it has distributed since 2005. The same platform handles eBooks, audiobooks and, through a partner, printed books. The site is German first and some legal text is only in German, no store count appears on the pages we checked, and the fee page refers to an excerpt of fees.

What Feiyr does well

  • No monthly or annual charge
  • Flat €3.82 for each release
  • Also distributes eBooks and audiobooks
  • Entry in the German commercial register
  • YouTube Content ID at no cost

Where Feiyr falls short

  • 20% of revenue goes to the distributor
  • Site and parts of the legal text lead in German
  • The pages checked give no number of stores
  • Activation fee applies after 5 releases

Standout feature. Feiyr is the one distributor in this list with a flat per-release fee, no yearly fee and eBook and audiobook delivery on the same platform.

#7 Horus Music

Leicester, United Kingdom Founded 2006 Artist £20 per year, Labels £30 per year (2 artists), pay per release: single £25, EP £35, album £45 Demo on request

Best for: Artists who want UK Official Charts registration and a possible publishing route

  • Operating company. Horus Music Limited
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. DistroKid, TuneCore

Horus Music sells an Artist plan at £20 per year for unlimited music to 100+ stores and a Labels plan at £30 per year for 2 artists. UPCs and ISRCs are free, royalties are 100% on the unlimited plans, collaborator splits work per track, and pre-saves, smartlinks and pre-orders are free. The pricing page also lists registration with the Official UK Charts Company, which few other services here mention.

Horus Music Limited, Company Number 05914312, lists The Old School, 346 Loughborough Road in Leicester, and states it was established in 2006. One-off projects can be switched to pay per release at £25 for a single, £35 for an EP and £45 for an album, but this route is set up by asking customer support. Publishing administration, sync licensing and podcast distribution are available, marketing is sold separately, and local support teams exist for India and African territories.

What Horus Music does well

  • Artist plan at £20 per year
  • UPC and ISRC codes at no charge
  • Can register releases with the UK Official Charts Company
  • Publishing and sync from the same provider
  • A pay-per-release route as an alternative

Where Horus Music falls short

  • Network of 100+ stores
  • Radio plugging, PR and playlist pitching are extras
  • Switching to pay per release needs a message to support
  • British company outside the EU

Standout feature. Horus Music is the only tool here whose pricing page lists registration with the Official UK Charts Company.

#8 RouteNote

Truro, United Kingdom Founded 2007 Free plan with no upfront cost (85% of net revenue). Premium: single $10, EP $20, album $30, extended album $45, then $9.99 per year per release Demo on request

Best for: Beginners who start for free and upgrade only the releases that earn

  • Operating company. RouteNote Limited
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. DistroKid, TuneCore

RouteNote runs two payment models in one account. The Free plan has no upfront cost and pays 85% of net revenue received. Premium pays 100% and charges $10 for a single, $20 for an EP, $30 for an album and $45 for 19 or more tracks, then a renewal of $9.99 per year per release. You can pick plans release by release, and the support article says a cancelled Premium renewal sends the release back to Free.

RouteNote Limited is registered in England and Wales under number 07210563 with its office at Kernow House, Gas Hill, Truro, and the about page dates the company to 2007. Other products are copyright and monetisation, publishing, PUSH.fm for promotion, RouteNote Create for royalty-free samples and Synchedin for licensing. The homepage cites 50+ platforms, prices are in dollars, and the pricing page itself needs JavaScript, so figures here come from its support hub.

What RouteNote does well

  • A free plan with nothing to pay upfront
  • Premium pays out the whole revenue
  • Choose Free or Premium for each release
  • Publishing and Content ID services
  • Entry in the public company register of England and Wales

Where RouteNote falls short

  • Free plan takes 15% of net revenue
  • Premium renews every year for each release
  • Stated network of 50+ platforms
  • Dollar pricing

Standout feature. RouteNote moves a release back to its Free plan when a Premium renewal is cancelled.

#9 Ditto Music

Liverpool, United Kingdom Starter $19 per year, Pro $59 per year, Labels $109 per year (as shown on the pricing page) Demo on request

Best for: Songwriters who want sync pitching and publishing royalties from the distributor

  • Operating company. Ditto Ltd (Ditto Music)
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. DistroKid, TuneCore, CD Baby

Ditto Music has three yearly tiers: Starter at $19 for one artist, Pro at $59 for two artists and Labels at $109 for up to five. Starter includes unlimited releases, delivery to 150+ platforms, free pre-save smartlinks, analytics and auto-split royalties, and collaborators can join free and withdraw their share directly. The page says you can try before you pay and cancel anytime.

Pro unlocks the items that sit next to streaming: pitching for TV and film sync, collection of publishing royalties, YouTube Content ID and OAC setup, exact release times, release protection and priority support. The distribution agreement names Ditto Ltd, trading as Ditto Music, at 29-31 Parliament Street in Liverpool, Company No. 03976764. Prices appear in US dollars, the comparison table makes long-term store presence free only on selected plans, and data location gets little detail.

What Ditto Music does well

  • Starter from $19 per year
  • Delivery to 150+ platforms
  • Pro adds sync pitching and publishing collection
  • Collaborators join without paying
  • Labels tier covers up to 5 artists

Where Ditto Music falls short

  • Sync, publishing and Content ID need Pro
  • Long-term store presence only on some plans
  • Dollar prices
  • Where data is stored is not detailed

Standout feature. Ditto Music is the only yearly-plan distributor here that sells sync pitching and publishing collection inside its Pro tier.

#10 LabelWorx

Hull, United Kingdom Pricing on request Demo on request

Best for: Independent electronic music labels that need a back office for a catalogue

  • Operating company. Label Worx Limited
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. UK data protection law referenced; location not stated
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. DistroKid, TuneCore, label distribution services

LabelWorx is aimed at labels and not at people who upload a single track. It describes a distribution network and label tools built over almost 20 years, with a focus on electronic and dance music, and lists 360 label management, data and insights, and accounting tools to pay artists and manage royalty data and contracts. The delivery network is described as including major stores and emerging platforms for niche sounds.

Label Worx Limited, registered in England and Wales under company number 06729435, has its office at 61B Humber Street in Hull. The site lists monetised user-generated content on Instagram, TikTok and Twitch and a YouTube specialist service for Content ID claims, audits and channel strategy, and it states a support response target of 24 hours. No prices or store counts are published, and the data protection section refers to UK law without naming a hosting location.

What LabelWorx does well

  • Made for labels in electronic music
  • Accounting tools for royalties and contracts
  • Managed YouTube Content ID
  • Handling of user-generated content income
  • Aims to answer support within a day

Where LabelWorx falls short

  • Prices only on request
  • Serves labels, so a poor fit for solo artists
  • The number of stores is not stated
  • Company is in the UK, outside the EU

Standout feature. LabelWorx pairs distribution with accounting, contract and royalty-data tools for running a label roster.

How do you choose between a yearly plan and a fee per release?

Start from how many releases you put out in a year. A yearly plan charges for the artist account and lets the number of releases float: Amuse asks €21.99 for one artist profile with unlimited releases, Horus Music £20 for its Artist plan and Ditto Music $19 for Starter. The more you release, the lower the price of each release becomes, and a prolific artist is the person these plans are written for.

A per-release fee works the other way round. RecordJet prices a single at €19, an EP at €29 and an album at €39 once, or €9, €19 and €29 per year, and EmuBands asks £15 for a single and £30 for a bundle of 2 to 20 tracks. Feiyr is cheaper still at €3.82 per release after a €9.90 activation. If you publish one single a year, a fee per release costs less than any subscription in the list.

The third shape is revenue share instead of cash. RecordJet Basic pays out 90%, iMusician Starter takes a 10% commission, RouteNote Free pays 85% of net revenue and Feiyr keeps 20%. A catalogue that earns little loses almost nothing this way, and a release that earns a lot is cheaper on a fixed fee, so it is worth recalculating after a year of real earnings.

What happens to your releases when you stop paying?

This differs between the tools, and the pricing page rarely says it plainly. Amuse states that music stays live after a downgrade. EmuBands states that a single or bundle paid once stays on stores permanently, while a lapsed Premium subscription needs a fee to keep releases up. RouteNote returns a Premium release to the Free plan when you cancel its renewal, so it carries on at an 85% share instead of disappearing.

Ditto Music is the one to read twice: its comparison table says long-term store presence is free only on selected plans, so what happens to a Starter release at lapse is a question for its support team before you sign. Horus Music has a pay-per-release alternative that is set up through customer support, and RecordJet says its contracts are non-exclusive and can be cancelled with notice.

The question matters because the incumbent behaves differently. DistroKid's Distribution Agreement renews the one-year term automatically and tells the stores to remove recordings after the term ends. Anyone leaving it should pick a distributor with a clear answer on lapsed plans.

Does a European distributor mean EU law applies to the contract?

Only for three of the ten. Amuseio AB is a Swedish company whose terms apply Swedish law with the Stockholm District Court as venue, Record Union's terms name DFP Group AB in Stockholm, and DANCE ALL DAY Musicvertriebs GmbH, which trades as Feiyr, is entered in the Traunstein commercial register as HRB 13330. These are EU companies.

RecordJet AG (Lucerne) and iMusician Digital AG (Zurich) are Swiss, and the EU has an adequacy decision for Switzerland. EmuBands Ltd (Glasgow), Horus Music Limited (Leicester), RouteNote Limited (Truro), Ditto Ltd (Liverpool) and Label Worx Limited (Hull) are UK companies, and UK data protection law applies to them. The EU also treats the UK as adequate, but they sit outside the EEA.

None of the ten pages we checked states where the data is hosted. LabelWorx refers to UK data protection law without naming a location. If hosting country matters for your contract, ask each vendor in writing, because the tool pages cannot answer it.

How do you move a catalogue away from DistroKid, TuneCore or CD Baby?

Build the new catalogue before you cancel the old one. Upload the same audio and artwork to the new distributor, reuse the existing ISRC and UPC codes where the tool lets you, and wait until the releases are live before you end the previous contract. Amuse offers a release importer, and RecordJet publishes a switching guide for artists who arrive from another distributor.

Codes are the detail that decides whether stream counts carry over. Horus Music lists free UPCs and ISRCs, and Feiyr sells optional ISRC and EAN codes for €0.85 and €0.95, so check how a given distributor treats codes you bring along. The same applies to your Spotify artist profile: EmuBands lists instant Spotify verification on all packages.

Expect to rebuild extras by hand. Royalty splits, pre-save pages and smartlinks are set per release, and they exist at Record Union, Horus Music, Ditto Music, iMusician and Amuse in their own form. Count an afternoon per release for a catalogue that uses them heavily.

When is it better not to switch distributor at all?

If you release often, your plan is cheap and your catalogue sits on a US distributor with all the splits and codes set up, the move costs time and the saving can be small. A €23.99 yearly plan at DistroKid, for example, is close to Amuse at €21.99, so the price alone does not justify the effort.

Switching earns its keep in four cases: you want a European or Swiss counterparty, you release rarely enough that a fee per release is cheaper, you need a free start (RouteNote), or you need something the incumbent does not centre on, such as the label accounting at LabelWorx, the UK Charts registration at Horus Music or the publishing and sync pitching at Ditto Music.

A move also makes less sense when a particular store matters to you and the new distributor does not state its list. RecordJet, Feiyr and LabelWorx do not publish store counts on the pages we checked, and Record Union's 20+ is the smallest figure stated.

Which tools go beyond delivery to stores?

iMusician surrounds delivery with Instant Mastering through JP Masters, editorial playlist pitching to teams at services such as Spotify, Apple Music and Beatport, music analytics and an Artist Hub for pre-save and release pages. Feiyr adds AI mastering, Link-it landing pages and promotion for radio, YouTube and Beatport, and it also distributes eBooks and audiobooks.

Ditto Music Pro adds sync pitching for TV and film, publishing royalty collection and YouTube Content ID. Horus Music offers publishing administration, sync licensing and podcast distribution, and RouteNote offers publishing, Content ID and the PUSH.fm marketing tools. LabelWorx lists monetised user-generated content on Instagram, TikTok and Twitch and a YouTube specialist service.

Most of these extras are paid items or sit in higher tiers, so compare what is included in the plan you would actually buy. Amuse itemises its add-ons: music video distribution at €29.99 per video per year, cover song licensing at €12.99 per track, store sync at €8.99 per release and mastering at €5.49 per audio file.

How we selected and ranked these 10 tools

Every tool on this page is in the European Purpose directory, which means the operating company is established in Europe and we have verified that from the company register or the vendor's own legal notice rather than from a marketing page. Tools headquartered outside Europe are not eligible, however good they are.

  1. Feature verification (weight: 40%). We check each capability against the vendor's own documentation and product pages, and record what the tool does rather than what the category is assumed to include.
  2. Ease of adoption (weight: 30%). Integrations, published API access, trial availability and how much configuration stands between signing and a usable result.
  3. Value and transparency (weight: 30%). Published pricing counts in a vendor's favour; quote-only pricing is recorded as quote-only rather than estimated. We weigh what a buyer gets for the entry price, not the headline feature count.
  4. Editorial review. Every page is researched and drafted with AI assistance, and the compliance and pricing claims are checked against the vendor's documentation before it is published under the founder's editorial responsibility. The three weights above decide the order; a position is a ranking against the other European tools in this category, not an absolute score.

Vendor-reported outcomes — ROI figures, margin uplift, time saved — are labelled as vendor claims wherever they appear on this page. We have not audited them, and neither has anyone else who quotes them. Read our full editorial process for how pages are re-verified.

Frequently asked questions

It depends on the criterion. Amuse is the closest to a DistroKid-style yearly plan, with €21.99 to €49.99 per year and 120+ stores. RecordJet and Feiyr are the options for paying per release, iMusician has the widest stated network at 200+ platforms, RouteNote is the free start, and LabelWorx is aimed at electronic music labels. This directory lists RecordJet first, with a one-time fee or a yearly fee per release and non-exclusive contracts under a Swiss company.

Several do on their paid plans. RecordJet Premium, RouteNote Premium, EmuBands and Horus Music state that the artist keeps 100%, and iMusician charges 0% commission on Rockstar and Amplify. Entry options take a share instead: RecordJet Basic 10%, iMusician Starter 10%, RouteNote Free 15% and Feiyr 20%. Always read whether the percentage applies to gross or net revenue, since Feiyr and RouteNote both calculate it on net revenue.

RouteNote has a Free plan with no upfront cost, in exchange for 15% of net revenue, and you can move a release to Premium later. Feiyr has no monthly or annual fee but asks a €9.90 activation after 5 releases or 25 tracks, then €3.82 per release. Record Union lets you build a profile and set up releases free of charge and bills when a release goes out. Amuse needs a paid plan before anything reaches stores.

Yearly plans start at $19 (Ditto Music Starter), £20 (Horus Music Artist), €21.99 (Amuse Artist) and £7.50 per month billed annually (EmuBands Premium). Per-release pricing starts at €3.82 (Feiyr), €9 (RecordJet Premium single), £15 (EmuBands single) and $14 (Record Union Core). iMusician shows no prices in the page we checked and LabelWorx quotes on request.

For delivery to stores, yes: every tool here lists DistroKid as a replacement, all ten list TuneCore too, and six also list CD Baby. The tools differ in what surrounds delivery. Amuse, Horus Music and Ditto Music are the nearest to a subscription, and EmuBands, RecordJet and Feiyr offer release fees. Check the store list and the lapse rules before you move a catalogue.

Yes, for geography, and with a distinction. EmuBands, Horus Music, RouteNote, Ditto Music and LabelWorx are British companies, and UK law governs the contract. The EU has an adequacy decision for the UK, so personal data may flow freely, but the companies sit outside the EEA. For a company under EU law, pick Amuse or Record Union (Sweden) or Feiyr (Germany).