Every European magazine and news subscription app reviewed
Stockholm, Sweden
Swedish storefront: 2 months free, then 149,00 kr per month, cancel any time. Other countries have their own storefronts and prices (not read).
Demo on request
Best for: Readers who want a flat monthly fee for many magazines and newspapers, as Apple News+ offers
Readly is a subscription app from Readly AB, a Swedish limited company at Gjörwellsgatan 30 in Stockholm, and it sells one plan for reading magazines and daily newspapers without a per-title charge. On the Swedish storefront the plan costs 149,00 kr per month after two free months and can be cancelled at any time.
The Swedish privacy policy names Readly AB as data controller and the authority IMY as supervisor, and it admits that some providers in the UK and US process data under standard contractual clauses. The title count, other countries' prices and the English terms were not available to us, and the catalogue differs by country.
What Readly does well
- Swedish company with organisation number and Stockholm address
- One flat fee for unlimited reading
- Apps for iOS, Android, Amazon and Huawei
- Cancellable at any time on the Swedish storefront
- Gift cards sold
Where Readly falls short
- Providers in the UK and US handle some data
- No title count on the pages read
- Each country storefront has its own price
- Terms and policy read in Swedish only
Standout feature. Readly is the only tool in this category that combines magazines and daily newspapers in one flat-rate plan.
Madrid, Spain
Per title, from the tariff page: for example ABC 1,49 EUR per issue, 17,99 EUR per month, 199,99 EUR per year; Ara 0,99 EUR, 23,99 EUR, 199,99 EUR; As 10,99 EUR per month.
Demo on request
Best for: Spanish-language readers who want specific newspapers and magazines and see the price of each
Kiosko y Más is a Spanish digital newsstand run by Kiosko y Más Sociedad Gestora de la Plataforma Tecnológica, S.L., registered in the Registro Mercantil de Madrid with an office on Calle de Josefa Valcárcel. Every newspaper or magazine has a page with a price per issue, per month and per year.
The tariff page gives examples: ABC at 1,49 EUR per issue, 17,99 EUR per month and 199,99 EUR per year, Ara at 0,99 EUR, 23,99 EUR and 199,99 EUR, and As at 10,99 EUR per month. There is no flat bundle, the interface is in Spanish, and we could verify neither an app nor the data location.
What Kiosko y Más does well
- Each title shows its own price
- Madrid company with commercial register entry and address
- Issues, months and years can be bought
- Spanish newspapers and magazines grouped by category
- Gift cheques available
Where Kiosko y Más falls short
- Nothing like a flat bundle
- Spanish-only interface and legal text
- Data location not stated
- Mobile apps not checked
Standout feature. Kiosko y Más is the only tool in this category that sells single issues of named Spanish newspapers, from 0,99 EUR for Ara.
London, United Kingdom
Not shown in the pages we read; the site shows currency choices GBP, USD, AUD, CAD and EUR.
Demo on request
Best for: Hobby and special-interest magazine readers in the UK and Europe
Pocketmags is a magazine store operated from the United Kingdom by Jellyfish Connect Ltd, whose registered office is on Floor 22 of The Shard in London. Readers buy single issues or subscriptions to named magazines, and an optional Plus+ plan and a separate Puzzles product exist.
The category list runs from aviation and craft to news and current affairs, and the library follows you across devices. Prices did not appear in the pages we read, although the site offers GBP, USD, AUD, CAD and EUR. The terms contain a US arbitration clause, and the company's ownership is not stated.
What Pocketmags does well
- UK company with a named registered office
- Library available on several devices
- Gift vouchers and puzzle products
- Prices can be shown in euro
- Many hobby and special-interest categories
Where Pocketmags falls short
- No visible prices on the pages read
- Terms include US arbitration
- Owner of the operating company not stated
- Focus on magazines, few newspapers
Standout feature. Pocketmags is the only tool in this category that sells a separate puzzles product beside its magazines.
Munich, Germany
Not shown in the pages we read.
Demo on request
Best for: German-speaking readers who want ePapers of named newspapers and magazines
iKiosk is an ePaper shop offered by Schweitzer Fachinformationen GmbH & Co. KG at Elsenheimerstraße 41-43 in Munich, entered at Amtsgericht München as HRA 97914. It describes itself as a selection and comparison of subscriptions and single issues for newspapers and magazines.
Titles can be read on tablet, phone and PC, and downloadable titles can be read offline. The terms exist in German and English. The pages we read showed neither prices nor catalogue size, mention joint processing with Facebook Ireland for some features, and the company does not take part in consumer dispute resolution.
What iKiosk does well
- German imprint with register number and VAT ID
- Subscriptions and single issues both sold
- Tablet, phone and PC reading
- English and German terms
- Downloadable titles can be read offline
Where iKiosk falls short
- Prices not shown on the pages read
- Sells titles one by one
- Joint processing with Facebook Ireland for some features
- No participation in consumer dispute resolution
Standout feature. iKiosk is the only tool in this category that lets you read downloaded German ePapers offline on a tablet.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Free (150 feeds) / Pro €6.67 per month billed yearly or €8.99 monthly (up to 2,500 feeds) / Custom plan priced on add-ons
Demo on request
Best for: Readers who build a personal news feed from RSS, newsletters and alerts instead of a curated front page
Inoreader is a content reader from Innologica Ltd in Sofia, Bulgaria, which the privacy policy and terms name as data controller and contracting party. It started as an RSS aggregator and now takes in feeds, newsletters, social feeds and Google News alerts in one list.
The free plan holds 150 feeds, while Pro costs €6.67 per month billed yearly or €8.99 monthly for up to 2,500 feeds. Pro adds AI summaries by prompt or question, entity detection and transcripts, plus rules, filters and email digests. The AI provider and storage country were not stated on the pages we read.
What Inoreader does well
- Combines RSS, newsletters, social feeds and alerts
- Summaries and transcripts from AI by prompt or question
- Free tier and euro prices on the page
- Rules, filters and email digests
- Controller and Sofia address named in the privacy policy
Where Inoreader falls short
- AI functions need the Pro plan
- A reader to set up, not a ready briefing
- Registration number not read
- AI provider and storage country not stated
Standout feature. Inoreader is the only tool in this category where you choose every source yourself and still get AI summaries.
Berlin, Germany
Free app
Demo on request
Best for: Readers who want a free personalised headline feed on a phone
upday is a news app from upday GmbH & Co. KG in Berlin, named as data controller in its privacy policy. Press coverage describes it as built by Axel Springer and offered to Samsung users, with a personalised area called my news and short summaries of important stories.
The app is free. The same coverage says editors across Europe select stories from thousands of sources and write the summaries, with an algorithm adding personal ranking. We did not find that description on the product pages, so treat it as press coverage. You cannot choose your own sources, and we did not read the register number.
What upday does well
- Owned by a major European publisher
- Free to install
- Feed that adapts to your reading
- Editor-written summaries, according to press reports
- Company named in the privacy policy
Where upday falls short
- Evidence read does not show AI-written briefings
- Sources fixed by upday, not by you
- Description based on press, not product pages
- Register number not read
Standout feature. upday is the only tool in this category that is a free app backed by a large European publisher.
Paris, France
Normal rate 12 EUR per month or 120 EUR per year; discovery rate 1 EUR for 15 days, then 12 EUR per month; a supporter rate is also listed.
Demo on request
Best for: French-speaking readers who want one independent news journal instead of a bundle
Mediapart is a French investigative news journal published by La Société Editrice de Mediapart, an SAS with capital of 24 864,88 EUR, registered in Paris as 500 631 932 RCS at 127 avenue Ledru-Rollin. The legal notice says OVH hosts the site, in Roubaix.
The normal rate is 12 EUR per month or 120 EUR per year, and a discovery rate gives 15 days for 1 EUR before the monthly fee starts. A supporter rate is also listed. Subscribers get articles, videos, podcasts, newsletters, reader blogs and a mobile and tablet app. The text is mostly French, and there are no magazines or puzzles.
What Mediapart does well
- French SAS with register number and share capital
- Hosting provider OVH in France named
- Published price of 12 EUR per month
- Mobile and tablet app
- Newsletters and podcasts in the subscription
Where Mediapart falls short
- Only one newsroom
- Content mainly in French
- No magazines or puzzles
- Paywalled
Standout feature. Mediapart is the only tool in this category whose legal notice names its host, OVH in Roubaix.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Month: 10,50 EUR per month. Year: 105 EUR per year (21 EUR discount). A two-year option is also listed.
Demo on request
Best for: Dutch readers who want background journalism without ads
De Correspondent is a Dutch member-funded journalism platform owned by de Correspondent B.V., registered at the Kamer van Koophandel under 57208646 and located at Barentszplein 7 in Amsterdam. The site describes itself as ad-free with full editorial independence.
Membership costs 10,50 EUR per month or 105 EUR per year, which is 21 EUR less than twelve monthly payments, and a two-year option exists. The service offers articles, audio and video, a website and an app, an RSS feed, gift memberships and a business membership. Dutch is the focus, and the data location is not stated.
What De Correspondent does well
- Amsterdam B.V. with KvK number and address
- Membership prices published openly
- Advertising-free
- App plus an RSS feed
- Memberships can be given as gifts
Where De Correspondent falls short
- A single publication
- Mainly Dutch
- Data location not given
- No free trial on the pages read
Standout feature. De Correspondent is the only tool in this category that publishes its articles through an RSS feed.
Denmark (city not shown in the excerpt we read), Denmark
Homepage: become a member for 60 kr (billing period not read).
Demo on request
Best for: Danish readers who want news they can listen to
Zetland is a Danish publication run by Zetland ApS, with CVR number 34469377 and an address on Njalsgade 19D. The excerpt we read cut off after the street, so the city is not stated here. The site calls it a newspaper you can listen to.
Every story is available as text and as audio, there is a morning overview, and the daily news podcast is called Helikopter. The homepage invites readers to become members for 60 kr, but we did not read the billing period. Everything is in Danish, and there are no ads, magazines or other publishers.
What Zetland does well
- Danish ApS with CVR number
- Each story in text and audio
- Daily podcast called Helikopter
- Ad-free
- Older stories remain available
Where Zetland falls short
- Written in Danish only
- One newsroom
- Period for the 60 kr not read
- City and hosting not read
Standout feature. Zetland is the only tool in this category built around audio, with a spoken version of every story.
Berlin, Germany
Memberships from 8 EUR per month and from 9 EUR per month (two figures on the membership page); 30 days free trial.
Demo on request
Best for: German readers who want explained news instead of headlines
Krautreporter is a German publication run by Krautreporter eG, a registered cooperative at Palisadenstraße 49 in Berlin, and its imprint lists a cooperative auditing association. The site says the cooperative belongs to more than 600 shareholders.
The newsroom publishes one main background piece per day plus a Morgenpost newsletter, and an audio app reads all articles aloud. Memberships start at 8 EUR per month on one part of the page and 9 EUR on another, and a 30-day free trial is offered. Everything is in German and hosting was not read.
What Krautreporter does well
- Cooperative with registered address
- More than 600 shareholders, according to the site
- 30 days free
- Audio app covering every article
- Entry price of 8 EUR
Where Krautreporter falls short
- A single publication
- Only in German
- Two different prices shown (8 and 9 EUR)
- Hosting not read
Standout feature. Krautreporter is the only tool in this category owned by its readers as a cooperative.
Hamburg, Germany
Digital: 6,49 EUR per week, billed every four weeks. Print plus digital: 7,10 EUR per issue. SPIEGEL+ U30: 1 EUR for 4 weeks, then 4,49 EUR per week.
Demo on request
Best for: German readers who want one established weekly with daily news
DER SPIEGEL is published by SPIEGEL-Verlag Rudolf Augstein GmbH & Co. KG, Ericusspitze 1 in Hamburg, registered at Amtsgericht Hamburg as HRA 61755. For SPIEGEL+ content the imprint also names DER SPIEGEL GmbH & Co. KG at the same address.
Digital access costs 6,49 EUR per week, billed every four weeks, and print plus digital costs 7,10 EUR per issue. Readers under 30 pay 1 EUR for four weeks and then 4,49 EUR per week. A daily newsletter comes with the plans. It is one German publisher with no magazines from others, and hosting was not read.
What DER SPIEGEL does well
- Hamburg partnership with register number
- Prices on the page
- Plans can be cancelled
- Daily newsletter included
- Discount for readers under 30
Where DER SPIEGEL falls short
- Single publisher
- High weekly digital price
- Only German
- Hosting not read
Standout feature. DER SPIEGEL is the only tool in this category that sells print and digital together, at 7,10 EUR per issue.
Milan, Italy
Pricing page exists but its figures were not in the text we read.
Demo on request
Best for: Readers of independent and small-publisher magazines; publishers who want their own flipbooks
Issuu is a publishing platform operated under agreement with Bending Spoons Operations S.p.A. at Via Nino Bonnet 10 in Milan, registered with capital of 150.000 EUR. The footer says the company is a sole shareholder company under the management and coordination of Bending Spoons S.p.A.
Publishers upload PDF, DOCX, PPTX, EPUB and RTF files, turn them into flipbooks, embed them, share them by link and read statistics, while readers browse and buy in the Issuu Store. Billing may run through a US affiliate and the terms provide US arbitration for US users. Pricing figures were not in the text we read.
What Issuu does well
- Milan S.p.A. with register number and share capital
- Accepts many upload formats
- Embedding and link sharing
- Reader statistics for publishers
- Issuu Store sells publications
Where Issuu falls short
- No bundle for readers
- A US affiliate may charge fees
- Agreement contains US arbitration
- No pricing figures read
Standout feature. Issuu is the only tool in this category that lets a small publisher create and sell its own magazine.