Readly
Swedish magazine and newspaper app run by Readly AB in Stockholm
Summary table
| Company | Readly AB |
|---|---|
| Category | Magazine and News Subscription Apps |
| Headquarters | Stockholm, Sweden |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - Sweden (EU) |
| Data Location | Not stated; the privacy policy says some data goes to service providers outside the EU and EEA, including the UK and the US, under standard contractual clauses |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes |
| Self-Hosting | No |
| Main Features | Magazines and daily newspapers in one app, iOS and Android apps, web reader, gift cards, storefronts for many countries |
| Pricing | Swedish storefront: 2 months free, then 149,00 kr per month, cancel any time. Other countries have their own storefronts and prices (not read). |
| Best For | Readers who want a flat monthly fee for many magazines and newspapers, as Apple News+ offers |
| Replaces | Apple News+ |
Our review
Readly is a subscription app made by Readly AB, a Swedish limited company (organisation number 556921-1120) at Gjörwellsgatan 30 in Stockholm. The Swedish privacy policy names Readly AB as the data controller and the Swedish authority IMY as its supervisor.
Readly sells one flat plan for unlimited reading across magazines and daily newspapers. It is the closest European match to the bundle idea behind Apple News+, though the catalogue differs by country and was not counted on the pages we read.
What Readly offers a reader
Readly describes its service as all magazines and newspapers in one app. The Swedish start page lists top titles such as Allers, Amelia, Vogue Scandinavia and Aftonbladet Söndag.
Readly offers apps for iOS, Android, Amazon Appstore and Huawei AppGallery, plus a web version. Gift cards can be bought and activated on the site.
How Readly handles your data
Readly AB states in its privacy policy (valid from 13 September 2022) that it does not sell personal data without permission. The policy says some processing happens at providers outside the EU and EEA, including in the UK and the US.
Readly says it protects those transfers with the standard contractual clauses of the European Commission. Readers who want all data inside the EU should read the full policy first.
Price and country storefronts
Readly runs separate storefronts per country, and the Swedish one shows 149,00 kr per month after two free months. Other storefronts show their own prices, which we did not read.
Readly publishes its terms (allmänna villkor) per country. We read the Swedish terms, which describe payment in advance for a fixed fee per subscription period.
Points against
Readly is a bundle of magazines and newspapers, not a curated news feed, so it lacks the editorial front page and puzzles that Apple News+ offers. The pages we read give no title count, and the Swedish terms are in Swedish. Data transfers to the UK and US happen for some providers.
Who Readly fits
Readers who want many European magazines and newspapers for one monthly fee and no per-title purchases. For a Spanish per-title newsstand see Kiosko y Más.
Advantages and drawbacks
Pros
- Swedish company with named registration number and address
- Flat monthly fee for unlimited reading
- Apps on iOS, Android, Amazon and Huawei stores
- Cancel any time, per the Swedish storefront
- Gift cards available
Cons
- Some data processed by providers in the UK and US
- Catalogue size not shown on the pages we read
- Prices differ per country storefront
- Terms and policy read only in Swedish
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Swedish company with organisation number and Stockholm address
- One flat fee for unlimited reading
- Apps for iOS, Android, Amazon and Huawei
- Cancellable at any time on the Swedish storefront
- Gift cards sold
Cons
- Providers in the UK and US handle some data
- No title count on the pages read
- Each country storefront has its own price
- Terms and policy read in Swedish only
Alternatives to Readly
Alternatives from Europe in the magazine and news subscription apps group:
See all European magazine and news subscription apps or compare them directly against Apple News+ on our alternatives page.
Questions buyers ask
Readly AB, a Swedish limited company with organisation number 556921-1120, at Gjörwellsgatan 30, 112 60 Stockholm, runs Readly.
The Swedish storefront shows two free months and then 149,00 kr per month, with cancellation at any time. Other country storefronts show other prices that we did not read.
Readly covers the bundle of magazines and newspapers for a flat fee, like Apple News+. Readly has no puzzles or audio stories on the pages we read.