Krautreporter
Reader-owned German journalism cooperative in Berlin
Key data
| Company | Krautreporter eG |
|---|---|
| Category | Magazine and News Subscription Apps |
| Headquarters | Berlin, Germany |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - Germany (EU) |
| Data Location | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes |
| Self-Hosting | No |
| Main Features | Daily background articles, Morgenpost newsletter, audio app that reads all articles, 30-day free trial |
| Pricing | Memberships from 8 EUR per month and from 9 EUR per month (two figures on the membership page); 30 days free trial. |
| Best For | German readers who want explained news instead of headlines |
| Replaces | Apple News+ |
Review in detail
The Krautreporter imprint names Krautreporter eG, a registered cooperative at Palisadenstraße 49, 10243 Berlin, and lists a cooperative auditing association. The site says the cooperative belongs to more than 600 shareholders.
Krautreporter publishes one background piece per day and a newsletter. It is a single German publication, not an aggregator.
What members get
Krautreporter offers the Morgenpost newsletter, which explains three news items of the day, and one background piece every day. All articles are read aloud in an audio app.
The site says the writers are people and not AI.
Price and trial
The membership page offers a 30-day free trial and says membership starts at 8 EUR or 9 EUR per month in two places. Payment details are requested, but nothing is charged during the trial.
The page sends a reminder email shortly before the trial ends.
Ownership
Krautreporter says it is fully independent and owned by its members. The imprint lists the cooperative form and the Berlin address.
We did not read the privacy policy or a hosting statement.
Where it falls short
Krautreporter is a single German-language publication with one main piece per day, so it cannot replace the many titles of Apple News+. The price is given as 8 or 9 EUR on different parts of the page, and hosting was not read.
Is Krautreporter right for you?
German readers who want explanations over headlines. For a multi-title bundle see Readly.
Strengths and weaknesses
Pros
- Registered cooperative with address
- Owned by more than 600 shareholders, per the site
- 30-day free trial
- Audio app for all articles
- Low entry price
Cons
- One publication
- German-language only
- Price stated differently in two places
- Hosting not read
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Cooperative with registered address
- More than 600 shareholders, according to the site
- 30 days free
- Audio app covering every article
- Entry price of 8 EUR
Cons
- A single publication
- Only in German
- Two different prices shown (8 and 9 EUR)
- Hosting not read
Alternatives to Krautreporter
Alternatives from Europe in the magazine and news subscription apps group:
See all European magazine and news subscription apps or compare them directly against Apple News+ on our alternatives page.
Common questions
Krautreporter eG is a cooperative in Berlin, and the site says it belongs to more than 600 shareholders.
The membership page says from 8 EUR per month in one place and from 9 EUR per month in another, with a 30-day free trial.
Krautreporter offers an audio app that reads all articles aloud.