Every European learning management system reviewed
Bingham, Nottingham, United Kingdom
See website: annual platform pricing is shown behind a currency selector, with a demo booking for a quote
Demo on request
Best for: Mid-sized and large companies that want one employee-facing hub instead of separate course, skills and mentoring tools
Thrive Learning puts courses, skills pathways, mentoring and team spaces behind a single login, and adds an AI agent named Kiki. The company says the platform serves 5 million people in more than 60 countries, which is its own count. The homepage lists ISO 27001, ISO 9001 and SOC 2, plus SSO and 74 languages.
The contracting company is Thrive Learning Limited, registered in England and Wales under number 10988277, with its office in Bingham, Nottingham. The sub-processor page places customer data on AWS in London, with disaster-recovery replication in Dublin. The same page names OpenAI and Google Gemini in the United States behind the AI features, so ask what data reaches them. The pricing page uses a currency selector without readable plan names, and the route to a price is a demo.
What Thrive Learning does well
- Skills pathways and automatic mentor matching next to courses
- London hosting with a Dublin recovery copy
- English company with a published register number
- ISO 27001, ISO 9001 and SOC 2 listed on the homepage
- SSO and 74 languages
Where Thrive Learning falls short
- OpenAI and Google Gemini in the US sit behind the AI features
- Plan names are not readable on the pricing page
- The hub is more than a compliance-only buyer needs
- A quote requires a demo
Standout feature. Thrive Learning is the only vendor in this group that matches mentors and mentees automatically inside the LMS.
Hilleroed, Denmark
See website: billed on active users per month, resetting monthly, with fixed pricing for up to a year on request
Demo on request
Best for: Software and product companies that train customers and resellers as a growth channel
Eurekos Systems ApS builds its LMS for people outside the payroll. The about page says the founders saw customers and partners trained on tools designed for employee onboarding, and the product is their answer: one tenant per partner or region, each with its own branding, translations and permissions. The homepage cites 2 million learners.
The company sits at Torvet 4A in Hilleroed, Denmark. A built-in shop sells courses, certifications and programmes as subscriptions or single purchases, and certification tracking sends re-certification reminders. The homepage lists ISO 27001, 27017 and 27701. Billing follows active users each month with a monthly reset, and a fixed price for up to a year is available on request. No amount and no hosting region appear on the pages we read.
What Eurekos does well
- Designed around customers and resellers rather than staff
- Courses and subscriptions can be sold from inside the product
- Automatic reminders when a certification lapses
- ISO 27001, 27017 and 27701 on the homepage
- Danish operating company with a street address
Where Eurekos falls short
- No price amounts published
- Hosting region not given
- Internal HR workflows get less attention
- Smaller footprint than the global suites
Standout feature. Eurekos is the only vendor here that pairs a separate branded portal for every partner with a built-in course shop.
Stockholm, Sweden
Professional EUR 1,100 per month on annual billing or EUR 1,320 per month billed monthly, up to 250 active users; Enterprise on request
Demo on request
Best for: Companies of 250 to a few thousand people that want a transparent price and branded portals for staff and partners
Learnifier AB of Stockholm publishes what most LMS vendors withhold. The pricing page shows EUR 1,100 per month on the annual toggle and EUR 1,320 on the monthly one for Professional, covering up to 250 active users, with certificates, a course catalog, several branded portals, SSO and a manager team view. Enterprise adds custom roles, automations, personalised paths and CSS and JavaScript branding.
The terms identify Learnifier AB under registration number 556701-2322 at Sveavägen 34 and apply Swedish law. The homepage reports 1 million active users, 26+ languages and more than 350 customer companies. The security page says data centres are in Europe, without naming a country, and notes that communication services also run in the United States and elsewhere. It describes a Swagger API and standard connectors.
What Learnifier does well
- Professional price shown in euros on the page
- Swedish company under Swedish law
- Multiple branded portals within one plan
- Standard connectors, custom integrations and an API
- 26+ languages according to the homepage
Where Learnifier falls short
- Professional stops at 250 active users
- Enterprise has no published figure
- The country of the data centres is not named
- Some communication services run outside Europe
Standout feature. Learnifier is the only vendor in this group with a two-way monthly versus annual price printed for a mid-sized plan.
Paris, France
Founded 2013
From about $8/user/month; enterprise pricing on request
Demo on request
Best for: Companies where the expertise is internal rather than purchasable
360Learning SAS of Paris rests on the idea that the knowledge a company most needs to spread is already held by employees who are not instructional designers. Subject experts build courses themselves, colleagues comment on them, and questions asked inside a course reach the author, who answers and improves the material. The company was founded in 2013.
The tool page lists EU hosting and a price from about $8 per user per month, with enterprise pricing on request. Analytics go beyond completion and show where learners stumble. The model assumes people will contribute, so a company without that habit ends up with an empty platform. There is no off-the-shelf content library, and per-user pricing grows with headcount. Employee performance data is handled in the EU, which helps in countries where a works council must agree.
What 360Learning does well
- Employees with expertise build courses without a design team
- Learner questions feed back into the course
- Analytics on engagement beyond completion
- Paris company hosting in the EU
- EU data handling that eases works council talks
Where 360Learning falls short
- Needs staff willing to author
- No ready-made course library
- Per-user pricing climbs with a large workforce
Standout feature. 360Learning is the only vendor here where a learner question asked inside a course becomes feedback for the author.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
See website: plans are tailored per organisation and include flexible models for seasonal headcount
Demo on request
Best for: Organisations with a deskless or regulated workforce that must show completion and gaps to an auditor
Kallidus Limited sells Learn LMS with compliance tracking at the front. The product page promises real-time completions and gaps by individual, team and organisation, and the tour has a reporting stage of its own. Outcome tiles cite an NHS trust, a university and J&E Hall. The company also advertises an AI layer called Kallidus intelligence, which our review did not test.
The vendor sits in Altrincham and is registered in England and Wales as company 03984404. Its privacy policy also lists Hot Learning Limited and Kallidus Inc. of Delaware, and the website terms apply English law. A performance management module and a catalogue of ready-made and bespoke courses come from the same supplier. Plans are tailored per organisation, with models for seasonal headcount, and no hosting region is stated.
What Kallidus does well
- Reporting on completions and gaps is the lead feature
- Performance management available from the same supplier
- Off-the-shelf and bespoke courses on offer
- Registered English company with a company number
- Case studies from the health, education and retail sectors
Where Kallidus falls short
- A Delaware subsidiary appears in the privacy policy
- No hosting region on the pages reviewed
- Pricing needs a quote
- Weaker fit for external customer training
Standout feature. Kallidus is the only vendor here that advertises pricing models for seasonal headcount.
Delft, Netherlands
Basic EUR 70/month (EUR 700/year), Advanced EUR 200/month (EUR 2,000/year); USD prices also shown; free trial without a card
Demo on request
Best for: Trainers and companies that train many participants and want a flat fee instead of per-learner pricing
Easy LMS B.V. of Delft runs training and exams at a fixed monthly fee and does not try to be a storefront. The pricing page lists Basic at EUR 70 per month (EUR 700 per year) and Advanced at EUR 200 per month (EUR 2,000 per year), with unlimited participants on both and a free trial without a card. The vendor also claims ISO 27001.
Basic covers 3,000 exams or courses started a month, 500 simultaneous participants, one academy and one admin seat, with 2FA and custom branding. Advanced lifts that to 10,000 starts and 1,000 simultaneous participants, and adds certificates, your own URL, webhooks, an API, detailed reports and SCORM upload. The privacy policy states no personal data leaves the EEA, and the hosting location is not named. There is no checkout, funnel or email marketing.
What Easy LMS does well
- Flat fee with unlimited participants
- Privacy policy rules out transfers outside the EEA
- Prices in euros on the pricing page
- SCORM upload, API and webhooks on Advanced
- Trial needs no card
Where Easy LMS falls short
- No storefront or sales funnel listed
- One admin seat on each plan
- Costs more at the start than creator tools
- Hosting location is not named
Standout feature. Easy LMS is the only vendor here whose bill stays the same however many participants take a course.
London, United Kingdom
See website: tiers by user count (up to 50, 250, 500 and above), prices on request, free trial after a live demo
Demo on request
Best for: Small L&D teams that want to automate reminders and onboarding without building courses first
Looop Online Limited positions its LMS as a team member that handles routine L&D work. Compliance nudges, onboarding sequences and announcements go out as campaigns by email, app, SMS or team chat, driven by rules and templates. The homepage says it has no gamification layer. Pathways, surveys, events and workspaces cover the structured side.
The privacy notice names Looop Online Limited at 11-15 William Rd, London as controller, while the site now brands the product Looop by 360Learning. Integrations include Google and Microsoft sign-in, Google Drive, OneDrive, SharePoint, Salesforce, SCIM and a REST API. Four tiers run by user count, up to 50, 250, 500 and above, with prices on request and a free trial after a live demo. The hosting region is not stated.
What Looop does well
- Rules and templates for recurring learning campaigns
- Learning reaches people by email, app, SMS and team chat
- SCIM and a REST API are listed
- A free trial follows the live demo
- London controller named in the privacy notice
Where Looop falls short
- Part of the 360Learning group
- No published prices
- Hosting region not given
- Less depth for commerce and external academies
Standout feature. Looop is the only vendor here that delivers learning as scheduled campaigns across email, app, SMS and team chat.
London, United Kingdom
See website: order-form based, no public prices
Demo on request
Best for: Financial services and other regulated employers that need evidence of staff training on FCA, GDPR or financial-crime topics
Skillcast Group plc sells the system and the syllabus as one package. The homepage counts more than 600 expert-written courses, grouped by regulation: FCA rules, SMCR, financial crime, fraud prevention and data protection. The pitch is that when an auditor, regulator or board asks, you can show what was done and when from one portal. An AI assistant called Aida supports policy guidance and course editing, with human oversight.
The privacy notice names Skillcast Group plc with Inmarkets Limited in the UK and Inmarkets International Limited in Malta. The trust page lists ISO 27001, Cyber Essentials Plus and SOC 2 reports and says the application runs on Microsoft Azure, with the region unstated. Courses come in more than 33 languages. The terms apply English law, list OpenAI among subcontractors and show no public prices.
What Skillcast does well
- More than 600 regulation-based courses bundled with the LMS
- Reporting built to answer audit questions
- 33+ languages for training across several countries
- ISO 27001, Cyber Essentials Plus and SOC 2 reports listed
- UK and Maltese entities both named
Where Skillcast falls short
- Little beyond compliance
- Azure region not stated
- OpenAI appears as a subcontractor
- Prices only through an order form
Standout feature. Skillcast is the only vendor here whose course library is organised by named financial regulation.
Dublin, Ireland
Founded 2011
Quote-based, priced separately across three named plans: for Employees (from 100 users), for Customer Education (from 300 users) and for Associations (from 150 users); the vendor states it is not a fit for fewer than 100 users
Demo on request
Best for: Mid-sized and larger companies that run staff, customer and partner training as separate programmes
LearnUpon is made for companies that train three audiences, staff, customers and resellers, with different branding, catalogues and access for each. One back end serves separate portals, and the plans are named after the audience: for Employees from 100 users, for Customer Education from 300 and for Associations from 150. The vendor says it is not built for fewer than 100 users.
Learnupon Limited has operated from Dublin since 2011. Its security page states ISO 27001:2022, ISO 27701:2019 and SOC 2, GDPR compliance, 99.99%+ uptime and continuous third-party penetration testing. Customer data is hosted on AWS in the EU, the US or Australia, selected by your residency requirement. Pricing is quoted after a demo and no self-serve trial is published. The terms apply New York law.
What LearnUpon does well
- Certifications published on its own security page
- Customer picks EU, US or Australian hosting
- One system drives portals for employees, customers and partners
- Dublin company since 2011
- Uptime of 99.99%+ stated, with ongoing penetration tests
Where LearnUpon falls short
- Vendor says it is not meant for under 100 users
- Every plan is quoted after a demo
- Three named plans add a choice before the sales call
- No free trial is published
Standout feature. LearnUpon is the only vendor here that lets you choose between EU, US and Australian hosting for customer data.
Zurich, Switzerland
Software free under Apache 2.0; frentix hosting packages priced on request
Demo on request
Best for: Organisations with IT staff or a partner that want source-level control and Swiss hosting
OpenOlat is software, not a sales funnel. The code is on GitHub under Apache 2.0, and frentix GmbH, Okenstr. 6 in Zurich, develops it and sells hosting and support around it. The company site has a corporate section covering onboarding, certificates and proof of completed courses, with macro learning paths that give new hires a hierarchical view of required courses. A release note dated October 2026 mentions version 21.1.
Hosting comes as Basic, Individual and Enterprise packages priced on request. Basic covers 250, 500 or 1,000 users, Individual 250 to 9,000, and Enterprise 250 to 500,000, on Swiss servers with hourly backups. Self-hosting needs Java 17 and Tomcat 10. BigBlueButton covers web meetings, and PayPal payments and attendance management appear as paid extras. Switzerland is outside the EU, so Swiss law applies to the hosting.
What OpenOlat does well
- Source code available under Apache 2.0
- Hosted option on Swiss servers with hourly backups
- Learning paths and certificates for onboarding
- Documented corporate use cases
- Release published in October 2026
Where OpenOlat falls short
- Site and materials lean German and educational
- Hosting prices are on request
- Java and Tomcat skills required to self-host
- Commerce is a paid extra
Standout feature. OpenOlat is the only vendor here that offers both its full source code and vendor-run hosting on Swiss servers.
Nivelles, Belgium
Software free (GPLv3+); hosting and support from providers, prices not published
Demo on request
Best for: Teams that want a no-licence-fee LMS they or a partner can host and modify
Chamilo is a community project with a company behind it. The homepage calls it free and open source, used by 41M+ learners, certified as a Digital Public Good, and governed by BeezNest Belgium since January 2026. Those figures and the certification are the project's own statements.
The legal notice names BeezNest Belgium SRL as data controller, registered in Nivelles with VAT number BE 0872.265.570. The download page shows a release dated 19 September 2026 for PHP 8.3 to 8.5 and a legacy 1.11.40 build from June 2026. The software costs nothing under GPLv3 or later, so the real bill is upgrades, backups and patching, which you do or buy. The site leans toward education and public bodies, and shows few corporate features.
What Chamilo does well
- Software carries no licence fee
- GPLv3 or later source you can inspect
- Governed by a company in Belgium
- Release dated September 2026
- Digital Public Good status claimed by the project
Where Chamilo falls short
- Few corporate features on show
- Hosting prices are not published
- Upgrades and security patches are yours to manage
- Support comes through outside providers
Standout feature. Chamilo is the only vendor here with no licence fee and a Belgian company named as data controller in its legal notice.