How do I choose between these ten platforms?
Start with the kind of business you run, because the list splits into three groups that barely overlap. Virta, AMPECO, Monta, GreenFlux, chargecloud and Spirii are operator platforms: they manage charge points, tariffs, payments and settlement for a charge point operator or an e-mobility service provider. Last Mile Solutions and chargeIQ are billing-first, built around invoices, reimbursements and VAT. The Mobility House is a load-management specialist for depots.
Inside the operator group the deciding questions are scale and who you buy from. AMPECO, according to its own about page, manages more than 300,000 charge points in over 70 markets, which suggests a long onboarding and a large buyer. chargecloud reports 350 customers and 100,000 charging points and sells mostly to utilities and wholesalers that resell under their own brand. Monta and Virta publish the most concrete material on what the platform does for a mid-sized operator.
A small landlord, hotel or employer should skip the operator group altogether. chargeIQ was written for housing associations, company-car refunds and guest charging, and it is the only tool here with a module for refunding home charging per kWh.
What do European charging platforms cost, and how is it billed?
Only one vendor answers that in public. Monta's pricing page lists the Advanced plan for operators with 200 or more charge points at EUR 5 per AC socket and EUR 8 per DC socket per month, a platform fee from EUR 500 per month and a 2% transaction fee, with volume discounts above 1,000 charge points.
The plan table says 2% while a worked example in the pricing FAQ uses 4%, so get the rate in writing before comparing it with a quote.
The other nine quote on request: Virta, AMPECO, GreenFlux, chargecloud, Spirii, Last Mile Solutions, SMATRICS charVIS, chargeIQ and The Mobility House. In practice that means a demo, a charger count and a feature list before any figure appears, and the quote will blend a software fee, possibly a per-socket fee and often a share of transactions.
Compare quotes on a like-for-like basis: ask each vendor for the monthly cost at your charger count today and at three times that count, and ask what is charged for roaming sessions and payment processing. Monta's payments run through Stripe, so a processor fee may sit on top of the platform fee.
Does a European vendor settle the jurisdiction question for charging data?
It settles the contract and leaves the hosting open. Every company on this list contracts through a European entity: Liikennevirta Oy in Finland, AMPECO Ltd. in Bulgaria, Monta ApS and Spirii ApS in Denmark, GreenFlux Assets B.V. and Threeforce B.V. in the Netherlands, chargecloud GmbH, chargeIQ GmbH and The Mobility House GmbH in Germany, and SMATRICS GmbH & Co KG in Austria.
Hosting is a different matter. AMPECO's security page says it runs on AWS across several continents without naming regions. SMATRICS states EU server hosting for its API. The other eight did not state a hosting region on the pages checked on 23 October 2026, so a buyer who needs EU-only processing has to ask each one for a written answer, including where backups and support access sit.
The ownership column matters too. SMATRICS is held by VERBUND Energy4Business (74.9%) and EnBW mobility+ (25.1%), GreenFlux by DKV Mobility and Spirii by Edenred. The other platforms did not state an owner on the pages checked.
How hard is it to move from ChargePoint to a European platform?
The software side is easier than the hardware side. According to ChargePoint's software page, its platform manages ChargePoint stations or hundreds of OCPP-compliant models, so many networks already run mixed hardware that a European CPMS can also address. The question is whether each charger's firmware and OCPP version behaves on the new platform, and AMPECO says it runs more than 80 integration tests with each customer's stations for that reason.
The harder part is the driver relationship. Drivers use the ChargePoint app and accounts, tariffs are set per driver group, and roaming contracts run through ChargePoint's partners. Moving to Virta, Monta or Spirii means a new app or a white-label one, new RFID cards if you issue them, and a roaming re-registration. Last Mile Solutions sells roaming and branded charge cards as a stand-alone service, which can shorten that step.
Run the new platform on one site first, keep the old one live for the rest, and move sites in waves once settlement and invoices reconcile.
When should you not switch away from ChargePoint?
Stay when the chargers are ChargePoint's own and the network sits mainly in North America. The vendor sells Express DC systems, the CP6000 AC station and a driver app under one roof, so a single contract covers hardware, software and the driver app.
Stay also when the features you rely on are specific to ChargePoint: the Waitlist queue, the AI Data Assistant and the open API with more than 40 integrations are described on its software page on the vendor's own description. A migration that drops a feature your drivers use costs more than it saves.
Switch when the contract with a European entity, the freedom to change hardware vendors, or a price you can read is the reason you are shopping. Otherwise, price a pilot before deciding.
Which integrations should I check before signing?
Protocol support comes first. AMPECO lists OCPP, OCPI and OpenADR and ISO 15118 for Plug and Charge. GreenFlux names OCPP, OCPI and ISO 15118. Spirii states roaming over OCPI and OICP and names OCPP 1.6J on the pages checked, so ask about newer OCPP versions if your chargers need them.
Then look at the business systems around the platform. Spirii documents API keys, webhooks and a developer hub for ERP, CRM and loyalty integrations. Monta lists an API with webhooks. SMATRICS offers a REST API with certificate-based identification, and Virta lists an API for integrating operations. chargecloud and chargeIQ lean on exports and white-label portals rather than developer tooling.
If you sell charging under your own brand, check who owns the customer record. chargecloud and AMPECO both position white-label apps and invoices in the reseller's name, and Virta, Monta and Last Mile Solutions list branded options too.