European Alternatives to Toast

Looking for a European alternative to Toast? Toast, Inc. is a Boston company, its public terms are a contract with Toast, Inc. with mandatory arbitration and a class action waiver, and its own pricing page is the United States version.

Eleven European tools cover restaurant and hospitality point of sale, from companies in Germany, France, the Netherlands, Austria, Belgium, the United Kingdom and Denmark, from tablet POS systems built for restaurants to a free open-source business suite.

11 Alternatives
100% GDPR Compliant
How we rank these tools — 4-step process
  1. 1
    European ownership, verified

    The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA or Switzerland, and processes customer data in Europe. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.

  2. 2
    Category fit and hands-on review

    What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.

  3. 3
    Compliance and pricing check

    GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.

  4. 4
    Position on this page

    Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. It never buys a good review: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Paid placement can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. Editorial policy

11 European Alternatives to Toast

gastronovi

Restaurant POS registered in Bremen, kitchen monitor included and public prices from €69 a month

#1 for replacing Toast
Germany

unTill

Dutch hospitality POS with a cloud tier from €19 a month and a free online demo

#2 for replacing Toast
Netherlands

orderbird

Berlin iPad POS with table ordering, kitchen routing and tax-office compliance built in

#3 for replacing Toast
Germany

ready2order

Vienna cloud POS with a Gastro add-on, public prices and a 15-day test period

#4 for replacing Toast
Austria

L'Addition

Bordeaux iPad POS with kitchen display, click and collect and table payment by QR

#5 for replacing Toast
France

Cashpad

Paris iPad register with kitchen display, offline Wi-Fi network and a multi-site back office

#6 for replacing Toast
France

Innovorder

Paris ordering kiosks, table tablets and tills for fast food and collective dining

#7 for replacing Toast
France

Odoo Point of Sale

Restaurant POS inside the Odoo suite; the first app is free with hosting and unlimited users

#8 for replacing Toast
Belgium

Epos Now

Norwich hospitality POS with handheld and kitchen display options and a UK-registered company

#9 for replacing Toast
United Kingdom

SumUp

Card readers and POS for food and drink, with pay-as-you-go transaction fees

#10 for replacing Toast
Germany

Flatpay

Herlev payment terminals and POS with a flat card rate and on-site installation

#11 for replacing Toast
Denmark

Key takeaways

  • Toast, Inc. is a Boston company, and its public terms of service contain mandatory arbitration and a class action waiver; its pricing page shows the US version.
  • gastronovi (Bremen register) publishes restaurant prices: €69 a month for the first licence with a kitchen monitor included, falling to €49 from the sixth.
  • unTill (Netherlands) offers a cloud tier from €19 a month and a free online demo; orderbird (Berlin) and L'Addition (Bordeaux) are iPad tills aimed at restaurants in Germany and France.
  • ready2order (Vienna) lists €35.90 a month for the base subscription plus €23.90 for the Gastro package, with a 15-day test period.
  • Odoo (Belgium) gives the first app free with hosting and unlimited users, so a POS is free to try, but it is the heaviest tool to learn.
  • Epos Now, SumUp and Flatpay lead with payments and terminals; their prices depend on country and could not be quoted here.

Why people leave Toast

Toast is the restaurant point of sale that built a very large business on one idea: the till, the kitchen screens, online ordering, payments, payroll and loyalty all come from the same company. Its own pricing page lists a Starter Kit from $0 a month, a Point of Sale plan from $69 a month and a Build Your Own tier that is quoted per restaurant. That page tells you it is the United States version.

Toast is run by Toast, Inc. in Boston, Massachusetts. Its public terms of service are a contract with Toast, Inc. and send disputes to binding arbitration with a jury and class action waiver (section 12), with small claims allowed. Those terms cover users of Toast services such as diners and the Toast app. The agreement a restaurant signs is not published, so this page does not describe it.

This page covers European point of sale systems for restaurants, bars and cafes. Eleven qualify: restaurant-first tills from Germany, France and the Netherlands, a cloud POS from Austria, an open-source suite from Belgium, and a few payment-led systems from the UK and Denmark. They differ a lot in size and in how openly they publish prices.

  • Your contract is with a company in Boston Toast, Inc. is based in Boston, and its public terms use mandatory arbitration with a class action waiver. If you want a contracting party in the EU, the EEA or the UK, with the courts of your own country, the tools below give you that, and each one names its company and register number on its own site.
  • The price you see is the US price Toast's pricing page says plainly that it shows the United States version, with a Starter Kit from $0 a month and Point of Sale from $69 a month. Toast also says its technology is available to merchants only in certain regions. Several European systems publish euro prices directly, for example gastronovi from €69 a month and unTill Air from €19 a month.
  • Local tax and fiscal rules are part of the product A European till has to meet national rules: German GoBD and the technical security system, Austrian cash register registration, French certification of the register software. orderbird, gastronovi and ready2order describe these on their own pages. Check that the system you pick covers the country where you trade, not just the language of its menu.
  • Toast is a whole platform, and few tools here copy all of it Payroll, an inventory module, loyalty and a payments business under one roof is what a large Toast customer buys. Among the eleven, Odoo comes closest in breadth, as a free suite with POS, inventory and accounting apps, while the rest focus on the till, the kitchen and ordering and expect you to connect other tools.

What you have to replace, not just match

Start by writing down what your Toast setup does today: how many terminals, whether you use kitchen screens, online ordering or table payment, and which payment provider settles your card sales. A single-site cafe with one till moves easily. A group with centralised menus and loyalty needs a closer look at multi-site support.

Plan the cut-over around a quiet week. Export your menu, prices and customer list first, run the new till in parallel on a slow evening, and check the tax and receipt rules for your country before opening day. Where you keep your current card terminals, ask the new vendor whether they can be used or must be replaced.

The alternatives compared

European Toast alternatives, in the order this page ranks them, compared on headquarters, pricing and jurisdiction
PositionToolHeadquartersPricingJurisdiction
#1 gastronovi Bremen, Germany From €69/month for the first licence, €59/month for licences 2–5, €49/month from the 6th licence; weekly tariff of €25 also available EU (Germany)
#2 unTill Wemeldinge, Netherlands unTill Air from €21.85/month (Basic), €33.85/month (Standard), €44.85/month (Hospitality Extra), excl. VAT with 15% off annually; unTill Prime on custom pricing EU (Netherlands)
#3 orderbird Berlin, Germany From €29 per month EU (Germany)
#4 ready2order Vienna, Austria From €29 per month EU (Austria)
#5 L'Addition Bordeaux, France Custom pricing via an online configurator (iPad, printer, payment terminal, ordering tablets) — no published rate EU (France)
#6 Cashpad Paris, France From €49 per month EU (France)
#7 Innovorder Paris, France Starter from €79/month (1 point of sale, NF525-compliant till); Growth from €299/month (2–10 points of sale); custom pricing above 10 sites or for collective catering EU (France)
#8 Odoo Point of Sale Ramillies, Belgium One free app / paid plans per user per month EU (Belgium)
#9 Epos Now Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom From £25 per month United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
#10 SumUp Berlin, Germany From 1.69% per transaction EU (Germany)
#11 Flatpay Copenhagen, Denmark 0.99% per transaction, no monthly fees EU (Denmark)

How each alternative compares to Toast

#1

gastronovi

a restaurant-only POS with public prices

Bremen, GermanyFrom €69/month for the first licence, €59/month for licences 2–5, €49/month from the 6th licence; weekly tariff of €25 also available#13 in POS Software

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Toast is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Toast is.

Best for: German-speaking restaurants that want to know the monthly cost before talking to sales

gastronovi's imprint names the company as registered at Amtsgericht Bremen, HRB 32767 HB, with three managing directors. Support hours are listed for weekdays and weekends.

Its price page lists the cash register with kitchen monitor at €69 a month for the first licence, €59 for licences two to five and €49 from the sixth, with yearly billing about 17% cheaper. Add-ons such as the cash book (€24) and cloud TSE (€14) are priced separately, and a weekly option at €25 covers peak seasons.

It also offers table reservations, ordering systems and loyalty modules, and newer success-based rates with a lower base fee. The interface and pricing are in German.

What gastronovi does better than Toast

  • Prices published in text, with volume discounts per licence
  • Kitchen monitor included in the base subscription
  • A weekly option for seasonal venues
  • Registered in Germany with the register number on the imprint

Where gastronovi is a step down from Toast

  • Site and pricing are in German
  • No payroll or benefits modules like Toast
  • Add-ons for cash book and TSE raise the monthly total
  • Hardware is bought separately

Standout against Toast. It is the only tool here that prints a per-licence price ladder for a restaurant till.

gastronovi.com Visit gastronovi
#2

unTill

a hospitality POS from the Netherlands with a cheap cloud tier

Wemeldinge, NetherlandsunTill Air from €21.85/month (Basic), €33.85/month (Standard), €44.85/month (Hospitality Extra), excl. VAT with 15% off annually; unTill Prime on custom pricing#14 in POS Software

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Netherlands). Toast is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Toast is.

Best for: Venues that want a free demo, and a choice between a light cloud till and a deep one

unTill is provided by unTill Software Development Group B.V., which names Chamber of Commerce number 63561700 in its privacy policy. It is a Dutch company with a reseller network.

Its range runs from unTill Air, a cloud POS from €19 a month that you set up yourself on Apple or Android devices, to unTill Prime with more than 125 integrations and custom pricing. It also sells unTill Payments and a cloud management dashboard for several locations.

A free online demo runs in the browser. The site says it serves over 8,000 clients worldwide through partners, so support quality can depend on the reseller.

What unTill does better than Toast

  • Lowest published entry price here for a cloud till
  • Free online demo with no sales call
  • Large integration list on Prime
  • Covers hotels, bars, quick service and leisure as well as restaurants

Where unTill is a step down from Toast

  • Prime has no public prices
  • Support runs through resellers
  • Fewer local fiscal features described than orderbird or ready2order
  • The self-service Air tier means you set up your own hardware

Standout against Toast. A €19 monthly cloud tier and a deep tier share one brand.

untill.com Visit unTill
#3

orderbird

an iPad till for German-speaking restaurants

Berlin, GermanyFrom €29 per month#7 in POS Software

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Toast is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. EU (Germany).
  • Source code. Closed source, as Toast is.
  • Independently checked. GDPR, TSE fiscal compliance.

Best for: Independent restaurants in Germany, Austria or Switzerland that want tax compliance built in

orderbird GmbH is registered at Amtsgericht Berlin-Charlottenburg, HRB 248568 B, at Ritterstrasse 12 in Berlin. Trade press reports that Nets, part of the Nexi group, took full ownership; we could not confirm this on orderbird's own site.

Its site lists ordering at the table with routing to kitchen and bar, table plans and course control, a QR code menu, integrated card payments, a digital cash book, reservations and gift cards. It describes itself as tax office compliant with an integrated technical security system for GoBD.

No prices appear in the page text, and no free trial is offered; the site leads with a demo and a consultation. It lists Germany, Austria and Switzerland, with an English version.

What orderbird does better than Toast

  • Compliance features described for German and Austrian rules
  • Table ordering, kitchen routing and reservations in one product
  • Integrated payment on the same system
  • European register entry, independent of a US parent

Where orderbird is a step down from Toast

  • No prices in the page text and no free trial
  • Limited to German-speaking markets
  • Part of a larger payments group according to press reports
  • No payroll module like Toast

Standout against Toast. It leads with tax-office compliance, which matters more in Germany than extra features.

orderbird.com Visit orderbird
#4

ready2order

a cloud register that adds a Gastro package

Vienna, AustriaFrom €29 per month#5 in POS Software

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Austria). Toast is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. EU.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Toast is.
  • Independently checked. GDPR, TSE and RKSV fiscal compliance.

Best for: Cafes, bars and small restaurants in Austria and Germany that sell food and retail

ready2order GmbH is registered in Vienna (Firmenbuch FN 437331i, Handelsgericht Wien) at Hintere Zollamtsstrasse 17, with a postal address in Berlin for German customers.

Its price page lists the base subscription at €35.90 a month or €430.80 a year, a Gastro package at €23.90 a month for table management, kitchen communication, split billing and happy hour pricing, and a cash book at €13.90. Prices exclude VAT, an activation fee of €99 applies per device, and a 15-day test period is offered.

The register runs on iOS, Android, Windows and macOS. It is a general retail and gastronomy register, not a restaurant-only system.

What ready2order does better than Toast

  • 15-day test period
  • Prices for each add-on published in text
  • Runs on iOS, Android, Windows and macOS
  • Fits shops and cafes that also sell packaged goods

Where ready2order is a step down from Toast

  • Gastro package is a paid extra
  • Fees for signatures and device activation add to the cost
  • Less depth for full-service restaurants than gastronovi or unTill
  • Mostly for Austria and Germany

Standout against Toast. Retail and restaurant sales run in the same register.

ready2order.com Visit ready2order
#5

L'Addition

a French iPad till with click and collect and table payment

Bordeaux, FranceCustom pricing via an online configurator (iPad, printer, payment terminal, ordering tablets) — no published rate#11 in POS Software

  • Which law reaches it. EU (France). Toast is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Toast is.

Best for: French restaurants and brasseries that want an iPad till with online ordering

L'Addition is run by ADSTELLAM S.A.S. at 1 place Lainé in Bordeaux (SIRET 752 972 075 00051), with a share capital of €153,100 stated in its legal notice. No parent company is named.

Its site describes an iPad-based till, order management, kitchen display, a digital menu, reporting, click and collect, online reservations, payment at the table by QR code and Tap to Pay on iPhone. It says more than 12,000 restaurant operators use it.

Pricing is by quote; no figures appear in the page text. The site is in French and the product is built around French rules.

What L'Addition does better than Toast

  • Click and collect, reservations and table payment on the same product
  • Tap to Pay on iPhone
  • French company with a full SIRET on its legal notice
  • Offices in several French cities for support

Where L'Addition is a step down from Toast

  • No prices in the page text
  • French-language product and website
  • Little visible reach outside France
  • No free trial described

Standout against Toast. Table payment by QR code and Tap to Pay sit inside the till.

laddition.com Visit L'Addition
#6

Cashpad

an iPad register that keeps working offline

Paris, FranceFrom €49 per month#9 in POS Software

  • Which law reaches it. EU (France). Toast is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. EU (France).
  • Source code. Closed source, as Toast is.
  • Independently checked. GDPR, NF525 fiscal compliance.

Best for: Busy French restaurants and chains that need speed and multi-site reporting

Cashpad is CASHPAD, a société par actions simplifiée at 28 rue Réaumur in Paris (SIREN 525 151 429, RCS Paris, registered 28 September 2010). Who owns it was not stated on the legal page.

The site lists an iPad register, mobile checkout with Tap to Pay, a kitchen display, a central back office for several locations, an analytics dashboard and more than 40 integrations. It claims the till handles over 7,500 tickets a day and that a private Wi-Fi network keeps it working when the internet fails.

No prices are published, and a demo is on request. It reports over 11,000 terminals in Europe.

What Cashpad does better than Toast

  • Offline operation over a private network
  • Multi-site back office and analytics
  • 40+ integrations listed
  • Supports a mobile till as well as the iPad

Where Cashpad is a step down from Toast

  • No public prices
  • French-language support and site
  • Ownership was not stated on the legal page
  • Speed claims come from its own marketing

Standout against Toast. The private Wi-Fi network is built to keep the till running during an internet outage.

cashpad.fr Visit Cashpad
#7

Innovorder

kiosks and tablet ordering for fast food and canteens

Paris, FranceStarter from €79/month (1 point of sale, NF525-compliant till); Growth from €299/month (2–10 points of sale); custom pricing above 10 sites or for collective catering#12 in POS Software

  • Which law reaches it. EU (France). Toast is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Toast is.
  • Independently checked. NF525 fiscal compliance.

Best for: Quick-service restaurants and collective dining that want self-order kiosks

Innovorder is a société par actions simplifiée at 7 hameau de Boulainvilliers in Paris (RCS Paris 804 818 482), with hosting by OVH in France stated in its legal notice.

Its range includes self-service kiosks, table ordering tablets, online ordering, touchscreen tills, automatic change dispensers, kitchen production screens, customer status displays and a payment terminal under the IO Pay name. It also lists wallet systems for collective dining and an analytics dashboard.

No prices appear in the page text and visitors are pointed to sales. The site says it serves more than 3,000 operators, mostly in France.

What Innovorder does better than Toast

  • Self-order kiosks and order status screens
  • Wallet systems for canteens and collective dining
  • Hosting named as a French provider
  • Covers franchises and dark kitchens

Where Innovorder is a step down from Toast

  • No public prices
  • Focus on France and French-language support
  • Heavier hardware setup than a tablet till
  • Less suited to a small full-service restaurant

Standout against Toast. Kiosks, kitchen screens and canteen wallets come from one vendor.

innovorder.com Visit Innovorder
#8

Odoo Point of Sale

a free restaurant POS inside a business suite

Ramillies, BelgiumOne free app / paid plans per user per month#5 in ERP

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Belgium). Toast is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. EU hosting (Odoo Online) or your own servers.
  • Source code. Open source, where Toast is not: you can read what it does rather than take the description on trust.

Best for: Owners who want the POS, stock and accounting in one system and can handle setup

Odoo is provided by Odoo S.A. in Belgium. Its Enterprise terms are governed by Belgian law, with the Nivelles Business Court deciding disputes, and the core software is open source.

Its restaurant POS page lists one list for every order channel, a kitchen display, self-ordering, table reservations, floor plans, split bills, tips, loyalty and offline sync. It says the first application is free, with unlimited users, including hosting and support, and needs no credit card to try. Inventory, accounting, website and CRM are further apps.

It is the broadest tool here and the least restaurant-specific. Local fiscal certification for your country is something to check with an Odoo partner.

What Odoo Point of Sale does better than Toast

  • First app free with hosting and unlimited users
  • POS, stock and accounting under one login
  • Open source with an option to host it yourself
  • Belgian company under Belgian law

Where Odoo Point of Sale is a step down from Toast

  • More setup than a dedicated restaurant till
  • Extra apps and paid plans are priced per user
  • Fiscal compliance varies by country and needs a partner
  • Fewer restaurant-only features than gastronovi or unTill

Standout against Toast. It is the only open-source option, and the only one where the till can run on your own server.

#9

Epos Now

a UK hospitality POS with handhelds and kitchen displays

Newcastle upon Tyne, United KingdomFrom £25 per month#3 in POS Software

  • Which law reaches it. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA). Toast is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. UK/EU.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Toast is.
  • Independently checked. GDPR.

Best for: UK and Irish pubs, cafes and restaurants

Epos Now is EPOS NOW LIMITED, registered in England (company number 07666961) at 3 Whiting Road, Norwich Business Park. The UK is outside the EU but inside Europe, and has its own data protection regime. Ownership of the group was not checked.

Its site offers countertop terminals, handheld ordering devices and a kitchen display system, with industry pages for pubs, bars, restaurants, cafes, takeaways, hotels and bakeries. It lists the UK, Ireland, Germany, Spain, Malta and several non-European markets.

Hardware and monthly prices appear in sterling and change with promotions, so no amount is quoted here.

What Epos Now does better than Toast

  • English-language product and support
  • Handheld and kitchen display options
  • Listed in several European markets
  • Industry pages for pubs, bars and bakeries

Where Epos Now is a step down from Toast

  • The UK is not in the EU or EEA
  • Prices depend on promotions and country
  • Needs a 12-month subscription on the bundle shown
  • Group ownership was not checked

Standout against Toast. Pubs and bars in English-speaking markets are its home ground.

eposnow.com Visit Epos Now
#10

SumUp

card readers first, with POS for food and drink

Berlin, GermanyFrom 1.69% per transaction#1 in POS Software

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Toast is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. EU.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Toast is.
  • Independently checked. GDPR, PCI DSS.

Best for: Small cafes and food stalls that want to start with a card reader and add a till later

SumUp's UK legal page names SumUp Payments Limited, authorised by the FCA (register number 900700). An Irish legal page names SumUp Limited, regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland. The page we read did not tell us which entity applies to your country, so check your contract.

On its Irish page, SumUp lists pay-as-you-go card fees of 1.69% with no monthly cost, and a Payments Plus option at 0.95% for €19 a month. These figures change by country, so treat them as examples and check your own market page.

The business app is free to download, and SumUp serves food and drink venues among others. It is a payments company that sells POS, not a restaurant-only system.

What SumUp does better than Toast

  • Start with no monthly fee
  • Card reader and POS from one provider
  • Available in many European countries
  • Free business app

Where SumUp is a step down from Toast

  • Fewer restaurant features than gastronovi or unTill
  • Contracting entity varies by country
  • Fees depend on the market page you view
  • Not built around full-service table workflows

Standout against Toast. You can start with a card reader and no monthly fee.

sumup.com Visit SumUp
#11

Flatpay

Danish terminals and POS built around a flat card rate

Copenhagen, Denmark0.99% per transaction, no monthly fees#2 in POS Software

  • Which law reaches it. EU (Denmark). Toast is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
  • Where the data sits. EU.
  • Source code. Closed source, as Toast is.
  • Independently checked. GDPR, PCI DSS.

Best for: Danish and Nordic venues that want installation and training in the price

Flatpay's site gives an address at Hørkær 16, 2730 Herlev. The Danish register lists FLATPAY ApS at that address (CVR 42718033) and a financial services subsidiary there; we did not find the company number in Flatpay's own terms text.

Its Danish pages offer a payment terminal, a mobile POS and a full till in basic and premium tiers, with 24/7 support, on-site installation and training, and daily payouts. Prices are in Danish kroner, split into a card rate and a one-off setup fee, and depend on the market.

The terms are region-specific, with separate versions for Denmark, Germany, Finland, Italy, France, the UK and the Netherlands.

What Flatpay does better than Toast

  • Installation and training included
  • Daily payouts on business days
  • Flat card rate stated on the page
  • Separate terms per market

Where Flatpay is a step down from Toast

  • Pricing is per country and mostly in Danish
  • Contracting entity not verified from its own terms
  • Setup fees are a large upfront cost
  • Fewer restaurant workflow details than the dedicated tills

Standout against Toast. Installation and training come with the contract.

flatpay.com Visit Flatpay

What actually breaks when you switch

Your menu, prices and customer data have to be rebuilt or imported. Ask each vendor for an import template before you sign, and keep an export of your Toast sales history for your accountant.

Tax and receipt rules differ by country. Confirm that the till you choose is certified or compliant where you trade, and whether the vendor handles the registration, as ready2order and orderbird describe for Austria and Germany.

Hardware often does not carry over. Card terminals and printers from your current setup may not work with the new system, and several vendors sell hardware separately from the software subscription.

Which of these is closest to Toast for a full-service restaurant?

gastronovi, orderbird, unTill, L'Addition and Cashpad are all built around table service: ordering at the table, routing to the kitchen or bar, splitting bills and end-of-day reporting. gastronovi and unTill add the widest module lists, and unTill lists more than 125 integrations on its own site.

None of them is a copy of Toast's payroll and benefits modules. If you use those today, plan a separate payroll tool.

Which can I try without a sales call?

unTill offers a free online demo in the browser, ready2order a 15-day test period, and Odoo a free first app with no credit card. gastronovi publishes its prices, so you can budget before you talk to anyone.

orderbird, L'Addition, Cashpad and Innovorder lead with a demo or a quote and do not show prices in their page text.

Do these work outside their home country?

Less than you would hope. orderbird lists Germany, Austria and Switzerland, Innovorder describes France, L'Addition operates through French offices, and ready2order has separate sites for Austria and Germany. Epos Now lists the UK, Ireland, Germany, Spain, Malta and several non-European markets.

For a restaurant, the question is tax and receipt compliance in your country first, and language of support second.

Does the contract really matter for a restaurant?

It matters most for where a dispute goes and what happens to your sales data if you leave. Toast's public terms send disputes to arbitration under AAA rules. With the tools here, the contracting company is registered in the EU, the UK or the EEA, and each states it on its own legal page.

For a small cafe it is a minor point next to uptime and support. For a group that stores guest data and card sales, it is part of the picture.

Which one to pick

If you want a restaurant-only till with prices you can read, gastronovi is the clearest fit, and unTill is the easier way to start small, with a €19 cloud tier and a free demo. orderbird and L'Addition are iPad tills for restaurants in Germany and France, and Cashpad and Innovorder suit busy and quick-service venues in France.

Choose ready2order if you sell food and retail goods from the same till, Odoo if you want the till inside a free business suite and can handle setup, and Epos Now, SumUp or Flatpay if card payments are the first thing you are buying.

Be realistic about the gap. Toast bundles payroll, inventory, loyalty and payments in one company, and none of these copies all of it. Switch if you want a European contracting party and a till tuned to your country's tax rules, and stay if you rely on Toast's wider platform and operate where it is available.

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the restaurant. gastronovi is the clearest choice if you want published prices and a restaurant-only product, unTill if you want a cheap cloud entry and a free demo, and orderbird or L'Addition if you want the best-known iPad till in Germany or France. Odoo suits a business that also wants inventory and accounting in the same system.

No. Toast, Inc. is based in Boston, Massachusetts, according to its SEC registration. Its public terms of service are a contract with Toast, Inc. and include binding arbitration with a class action waiver.

On its own US pricing page, Toast lists a Starter Kit from $0 a month, Point of Sale from $69 a month and a Build Your Own tier at custom pricing. The page states it is showing the United States version, so these figures do not apply to a restaurant in Europe.

gastronovi lists its cash register plus kitchen monitor at €69 a month for the first licence, €59 for licences two to five and €49 from the sixth, or €690, €590 and €490 a year. Add-ons include the cash book at €24 a month and the cloud TSE at €14 a month. Hardware is separate.

ready2order lists the base cash register subscription at €35.90 a month or €430.80 a year, with the Gastro package at €23.90 a month on top, excluding VAT. A one-off €99 activation fee applies per device, and there is a 15-day test period.

unTill Air, its cloud POS, starts at €19 a month and can be cancelled at any time. unTill Prime, for larger or more customised venues, has custom pricing. A free online demo is available in the browser.

orderbird GmbH is registered in Berlin. Press reports from the payments trade (fintechfutures.com and thepaypers.com) say Nets, part of the Italian Nexi group, took full ownership, with orderbird continuing as a separate business unit. We could not confirm that on orderbird's own pages.

Yes. Odoo's restaurant POS page lists floor plans, a kitchen display, self-ordering, split bills, tips and offline sync, and says the first app is free with unlimited users, including hosting. It is run by Odoo S.A. in Belgium. It takes more setup than a dedicated restaurant till.

Epos Now is Epos Now Limited, registered in England (company number 07666961, Norwich). SumUp's UK payments business is SumUp Payments Limited, FCA-registered. Both also serve customers in the EU through other entities, so check which one appears on your contract.

Often, but not always. SumUp and Flatpay are payment providers first and sell tills as a part of it. gastronovi, orderbird, L'Addition, Cashpad and Innovorder offer their own payment terminals or integrated payment, and unTill offers unTill Payments. Ask whether your acquiring contract is tied to the system.

Who worked on this review

Three people touch every comparison page: one writes it, a second edits it, and a third checks the compliance and pricing claims against the vendor's own documentation.

Daniel Brandt
Written by

Daniel Brandt

Privacy & Compliance Researcher · Berlin, Germany

Checks the compliance claims: where the company is established, where the data sits, and what the DPA actually says.

Sebastiaan Smits
Edited by

Sebastiaan Smits

Founder & Editor · Netherlands

Selects the tools, writes the reviews, and checks where each company is actually established.

Marta Kowalczyk
Fact-checked by

Marta Kowalczyk

Senior Analyst, Infrastructure & Developer Tools · Warsaw, Poland

Covers hosting, developer tooling and the practical side of moving workloads to European providers.

Read our editorial process for how we source, verify and update these pages — and how we keep affiliate income separate from what we recommend.

Explore More European Alternatives

Discover privacy-focused European alternatives to other popular US tech services.

More POS Software Browse All Categories