European Alternatives to DigiCert
Looking for a European alternative to DigiCert? DigiCert, Inc. is a Utah corporation, and its Master Services Agreement of 1 September 2025 names it as the contracting party for US billing addresses, with DigiCert Ireland Limited for billing addresses outside the US and Japan. Its public Basic TLS prices are listed in US dollars on 12-month auto-renewing subscriptions, for example $26 per month per standard domain.
These European authorities list prices in euro, several of them publish a free or entry-level plan, and each has a company register entry in the EU, from Actalis in Bergamo to D-Trust in Berlin.
How we rank these tools — 4-step process
-
1
European ownership, verified
The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA, the UK, Switzerland or Israel, and processes customer data in Europe or Israel. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.
-
2
Category fit and hands-on review
What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.
-
3
Compliance and pricing check
GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.
-
4
Position on this page
Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. It never buys a good review: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Paid placement can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. Editorial policy
10 European Alternatives to DigiCert
Actalis
Italian CA with a free ACME plan and euro subscriptions
HARICA
Greek academic CA with DV to QWAC from EUR 36 a year
Certum
Polish CA selling DV, OV and EV certificates from EUR 25
Disig
Slovak CA with a public price list and private-PKI TLS
InfoCert
Tinexta InfoCert OV and EV TLS certificates with listed prices
D-Trust
Bundesdruckerei Group provider of qualified TLS and PSD2 certificates
Namirial
Italian trust service provider with OV, EV, wildcard and multi-domain TLS
Telia TLS Certificates
Telia TLS certificates with ACME automation for Finnish businesses
ChamberSign
French CA selling Certiserv SSL certificates from EUR 142 excl. VAT
Firmaprofesional
Barcelona provider of OV, EV and PSD2 server certificates
Key takeaways
- DigiCert's Master Services Agreement of 1 September 2025 names DigiCert, Inc. of Utah for US billing addresses and DigiCert Ireland Limited for billing addresses outside the US and Japan.
- DigiCert lists Basic TLS at $26 a month per standard domain and $82 a month per wildcard domain, as 12-month subscriptions that renew automatically.
- DigiCert states a $1.25 million NetSure warranty on Basic TLS, while Actalis lists EUR 2,000,000 for EV with Warranty Plus and Certum states EUR 1,000,000 on its EV product.
- Actalis in Italy is the only European authority here with a published EUR 0 plan, and Certum in Poland lists DV from EUR 25, OV from EUR 109 and EV from EUR 309.
- D-Trust in Germany, HARICA in Greece and Firmaprofesional in Spain sell qualified or PSD2 website certificates that DigiCert's Basic TLS page does not list.
Why people leave DigiCert
DigiCert sells the certificates that make a padlock appear, and it sells the software that keeps hundreds of them from expiring. Its site presents a platform called DigiCert ONE with CertCentral for certificates, Trust Lifecycle Manager for automation, a Private CA and products for code signing, S/MIME, devices and DNS. A company that buys a single Basic TLS subscription and a company that runs a certificate estate across several business units both end up in the same shop.
The contract is where Europeans start asking questions. DigiCert's Master Services Agreement of 1 September 2025 names DigiCert, Inc., a Utah corporation, as the contracting party for customers with a US billing address, and DigiCert Ireland Limited for billing addresses outside the US and Japan. So a European buyer usually signs with an Irish entity, but the group above it sits in Lehi, Utah, and the terms are written in the group's legal repository.
The second reason is the price page. Basic TLS is listed in dollars on a subscription of 12 months that renews itself, per domain and per month, and the sum grows with every hostname. Most people who go looking for a European authority are not worried about trust in DigiCert's roots. They want euro invoices, a flat plan or a printed price list, and a counterpart in their own legal system.
- Dollar subscriptions that renew by themselves The Basic TLS page lists $26 a month per standard domain and $82 a month per wildcard domain, with an Extended Validation option at $39, all as 12-month auto-renewing subscriptions with a note that prices are subject to change. Three hostnames and a wildcard add up quickly. Actalis answers with a EUR 0 plan and flat plans from EUR 8.50 plus VAT a month, and Certum prints one-off euro prices from EUR 25.
- A US group above the Irish contract Customers outside the US and Japan contract with DigiCert Ireland Limited, which keeps the invoice in the EU. The Master Services Agreement still comes from DigiCert, Inc. of Utah, and the owner of the trust chain is a US corporation. For organisations whose policy asks for a European supplier from the contract down to the parent, that is the gap the ten authorities on this page close.
- Per-hostname pricing that punishes growth DigiCert quotes per domain, so the cost of adding a hostname is a fixed monthly step, and wildcard domains cost more than three times a standard one on the Basic page. A flat plan such as Actalis Silver (EUR 20 plus VAT a month, three DV wildcards and five single or multi-domain DV certificates) or a published tariff such as Disig's makes a budget easier to set in advance.
- Qualified and PSD2 certificates from a European authority Banks and payment institutions in the EU have a regulatory reason to prefer a qualified trust service provider for website authentication. D-Trust lists TLS EV Qualified ID and PSD2 TLS Qualified ID, HARICA lists OV QWAC, EV QWAC and PSD2 QWAC, and Firmaprofesional sells PSD2 QWAC and QSealC. A US authority is not the natural supplier for those.
What you have to replace, not just match
A certificate authority is easier to replace than most software, because a certificate is a short file with a lifespan. What you replace is the machinery around it: the account where requests are approved, the ACME endpoint and the credentials your servers use, the validation records proving each domain and organisation is yours, and any inventory or expiry alerting built on CertCentral.
Match by job. For plain DV on a handful of sites, Actalis or HARICA replace a Basic TLS subscription. For OV and EV with a printed price, look at Certum, Disig, InfoCert and ChamberSign. For qualified and PSD2 certificates, D-Trust, HARICA and Firmaprofesional. For management at scale, none of the ten replace DigiCert ONE one for one: Actalis sells CertiManager and D-Trust the Certificate Service Manager, which are smaller scopes.
The alternatives compared
| Position | Tool | Headquarters | Pricing | Jurisdiction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| #1 | Actalis | Bergamo, Italy | Free plan EUR 0; Bronze EUR 8.50 + VAT/month (EUR 7.00 billed yearly); Silver EUR 20 + VAT/month; Gold EUR 40 + VAT/month, billed yearly | EU (Italy) |
| #2 | HARICA | Athens, Greece | Server certificates from EUR 36 per year | EU (Greece) |
| #3 | Certum | Szczecin, Poland | DV from EUR 25, OV from EUR 109, EV from EUR 309 (shop listing) | EU (Poland) |
| #4 | Disig | Bratislava, Slovakia | Public TLS EUR 39.17 excl. VAT (200 days, price covers two issues), wildcard EUR 156.67 excl. VAT | EU (Slovakia) |
| #5 | InfoCert | Rome, Italy | OV from EUR 150 + VAT, EV from EUR 250 + VAT, multi-domain EV EUR 435 + VAT (promotional, renewal at full price) | EU (Italy) |
| #6 | D-Trust | Berlin, Germany | Pricing on request via sales | EU (Germany) |
| #7 | Namirial | Senigallia, Italy | Enterprise pricing on request | EU (Italy) |
| #8 | Telia TLS Certificates | Finland | EUR 52.50 (single), EUR 140 (multi), EUR 207 (wildcard) per 6 months, excl. VAT | EU (Finland) |
| #9 | ChamberSign | Levallois-Perret, France | From EUR 142 excl. VAT (price grid updated 21 September 2026) | EU (France) |
| #10 | Firmaprofesional | Barcelona, Spain | Online store or contact; no price on the product page | EU (Spain) |
How each alternative compares to DigiCert
Best for: Small and mid-sized sites running ACME that want one flat euro price
Actalis replaces a Basic TLS subscription with plans: Free at EUR 0, Bronze at EUR 8.50 plus VAT a month, Silver at EUR 20 and Gold at EUR 40 billed yearly. The free plan gives unlimited 90-day single-domain DV certificates once ACME is on, which is the cost DigiCert's $26 a month per domain cannot match.
Gold adds one OV certificate and five DV wildcards, and the shop writes down warranty limits up to EUR 2,000,000 for EV with Warranty Plus. The contract is with ACTALIS S.p.A. of Bergamo. Against DigiCert you lose the large management platform: lifecycle management sits in the separate CertiManager product.
What Actalis does better than DigiCert
- EUR 0 plan, where DigiCert starts at $26 a month per domain
- Flat euro plans with the number of certificates stated
- Italian company register entry in Bergamo and an Italian invoice
- Warranty up to EUR 2,000,000 on EV with Warranty Plus, above DigiCert's $1.25 million on Basic TLS
Where Actalis is a step down from DigiCert
- OV only from the Gold plan or on request
- Fewer enterprise management features than DigiCert ONE
- Data location not stated on the pages reviewed
Standout against DigiCert. The only alternative here that replaces DigiCert's entry subscription with a published plan at zero euro.
Best for: Research bodies and organisations wanting DV through QWAC from one European root member
HARICA is operated by the Greek Universities Network, and it lists more certificate types than DigiCert's Basic page does: DV, wildcard, onion, individual-validated, OV, EV and three QWAC variants. Server certificates start at EUR 36 a year. According to the vendor, it has been in the Mozilla root program since 2012 and the Microsoft program since June 2013.
The trade-off is visibility. No price is shown for OV, EV or QWAC, the pages reviewed do not say where data is stored, and an academic network shows less of the sales and support packaging you get with DigiCert's 24x5 support.
What HARICA does better than DigiCert
- Includes QWAC and PSD2 QWAC types, absent from DigiCert's Basic TLS page
- A published starting price of EUR 36 a year
- Greek academic body, not a US corporate group
Where HARICA is a step down from DigiCert
- No public price for OV, EV and QWAC
- Little enterprise packaging or lifecycle management on show
- Support terms not described like DigiCert's 24x5
Standout against DigiCert. HARICA lists individual-validated and onion certificates next to QWAC, a range no US vendor page here matches.
Best for: Companies that want to buy one DV, OV or EV certificate and see the guarantee
Certum, from Asseco Data Systems in Szczecin, mirrors DigiCert's DV, OV and EV split and adds euro prices: DV from EUR 25, OV from EUR 109, EV from EUR 309, with guarantees of EUR 200,000, EUR 400,000 and EUR 1,000,000. The shop can also show US dollars or Polish zloty, and the pages say the infrastructure sits in the EU.
There is no subscription and no free tier, so a company with many hostnames pays per certificate. Each product page warns about the shorter maximum validity from 13 March 2026, so renewals are explained at checkout. Certum is part of the listed Asseco Group, not an independent specialist.
What Certum does better than DigiCert
- Euro price per product, without a monthly subscription that renews itself
- Guarantee shown on each product page
- Infrastructure stated as located in the EU
- Reseller network and partner programme in Europe
Where Certum is a step down from DigiCert
- No subscription or free tier
- No lifecycle platform on the TLS pages reviewed
- Guarantee on EV (EUR 1,000,000) is below DigiCert's $1.25 million on Basic TLS
Standout against DigiCert. The only alternative that prints DV, OV and EV prices and guarantees side by side in euro.
Best for: Central European organisations that want the full price list and a local registration authority
Disig, a.s. in Bratislava lists a publicly trusted certificate at EUR 39.17 excluding VAT and a wildcard at EUR 156.67, each covering two 200-day issues, and updated the list on 1 July 2026. Revocation is free. DigiCert's Basic page shows a per-domain monthly price but not a tariff of this kind.
It also separates Web PKI from private-PKI TLS, the latter from an internal CA at EUR 39.17 for three years. The pages reviewed do not name OV, EV or ACME, and Disig is a small national authority, so confirm those points and compare its support to DigiCert's before moving a large estate.
What Disig does better than DigiCert
- Full price list including VAT, readable without a sales call
- Revocation free of charge
- Public and private TLS in one tariff
Where Disig is a step down from DigiCert
- OV, EV and ACME not named on the TLS pages reviewed
- Small national authority without a management platform
Standout against DigiCert. Disig publishes prices with and without VAT and states that revocation costs nothing.
Best for: Italian and southern European companies already using InfoCert for signature or PEC
InfoCert, trading as Tinexta Infocert, lists OV at EUR 150 plus VAT, a standard EV at EUR 250 and an EV SAN at EUR 435. Against DigiCert it is a supplier consolidation play: the same group sells digital signature, certified email, onboarding and PSD2 certificates, with sister companies in Spain and France.
The prices are promotional and renew at an undiscounted price the page does not state, there is no DV tier, ordering starts with a contact request and the page is in Italian. Ask for the renewal price before signing.
What InfoCert does better than DigiCert
- EV priced at EUR 250 plus VAT on a published page
- One Italian group for signature, PEC and TLS
- PSD2 certificates in the same portfolio
Where InfoCert is a step down from DigiCert
- Renewal price not shown
- No DV or free entry, so small sites pay OV rates
- No online checkout, unlike DigiCert's shop
Standout against DigiCert. The only alternative that bundles TLS with PEC certified email and an onboarding platform.
Best for: Banks, fintechs and public bodies needing qualified EV or PSD2 TLS certificates
D-Trust GmbH, part of the Bundesdruckerei Group, sells TLS DV, OV, EV, EV Qualified and PSD2 TLS Qualified certificates, with a Certificate Service Manager for managing issuance and an ISO 27001 accredited ISMS. Its commercial register entry is Amtsgericht Berlin Charlottenburg, HRB 74346.
That is a different market from DigiCert's Basic TLS page, aimed at sites without personal data. There is no price list, ordering goes through sales, and the pages reviewed do not mention ACME. For a regulated buyer these are acceptable; for a small site they are not.
What D-Trust does better than DigiCert
- Qualified EV and PSD2 types that DigiCert's Basic TLS page does not offer
- German legal entity with a Berlin register entry
- Managed PKI portal in the same range
Where D-Trust is a step down from DigiCert
- No public prices or online checkout
- No ACME automation mentioned
- Built for organisations, not small sites
Standout against DigiCert. The only alternative here from a state-owned security group selling PSD2 TLS Qualified ID.
Best for: Companies already using Namirial for qualified signatures that want one supplier
Namirial S.p.A. in Senigallia is a qualified trust service provider in Italy, Spain and France. Its website-certificate page lists OV, EV, wildcard and multi-domain products and a lifecycle management portal, and states that issuance is done in partnership with Entrust.
No price is published and engagement is sales-led. Because the trust chain comes from a partner CA, the independence argument is weaker than with a provider that issues from its own roots. It makes sense where the Italian contract and an existing Namirial relationship are what you are buying.
What Namirial does better than DigiCert
- Italian contracting entity with qualified status in three countries
- Lifecycle management portal listed with the certificates
Where Namirial is a step down from DigiCert
- TLS issued in partnership with Entrust, so the chain is not its own
- No published prices
Standout against DigiCert. Namirial states the Entrust partnership openly on its own certificate page.
Best for: Finnish companies that already buy connectivity and security from Telia
Telia sells single-site, multi-domain and wildcard certificates at EUR 52.50, EUR 140 and EUR 207 per six months excluding VAT, with ACME automation and a free tool for tracking, renewing and buying certificates. Per year, the single-site certificate costs about twice the six-month figure.
The page is in Finnish, ordering happens on a separate site, and it names neither the issuing authority nor the legal entity. Against DigiCert that is the weak point: you are buying on the strength of a telecom brand, so ask who issues the certificate.
What Telia TLS Certificates does better than DigiCert
- Euro prices and ACME on the same Finnish page
- Free tool for following all certificates
- Wildcard and multi-domain products listed
Where Telia TLS Certificates is a step down from DigiCert
- Issuer and legal entity not named
- Finnish-language page and separate ordering site
- Six-month pricing doubles over a year
Standout against DigiCert. The only alternative sold by a telecom operator with ACME on the product page.
Best for: French companies, local authorities and associations buying through a sales expert
ChamberSign France SAS, registered in Nanterre with its office at CCI France, sells Certiserv SSL in standard, wildcard, multi-site, OV and EV types from EUR 142 excluding VAT, with a price grid dated 21 September 2026.
TLS sits inside a catalogue of French RGS and eIDAS certificates, and orders go through a sales expert. No free tier or ACME appears on the pages reviewed, and the issuing chain is not stated. It suits an organisation that wants a French counterpart more than a quick online purchase.
What ChamberSign does better than DigiCert
- French SAS with an identified registered office
- Price grid and revocation list linked from the site
Where ChamberSign is a step down from DigiCert
- Sales-assisted ordering only
- No ACME or DV on the pages reviewed
- French-language site oriented to public platforms
Standout against DigiCert. The only alternative with the CCI chambers of commerce network behind it.
Best for: Spanish companies and public bodies that need OV, EV or PSD2 certificates in Spanish
Firmaprofesional, S.A. of Barcelona sells SSL OV, OV wildcard, OV multi-domain, EV and EV multi-domain certificates plus PSD2 QWAC and QSealC, and shows what an OV application needs: ID or passport, the public deed and the organisation's tax card.
No prices appear on the product pages, the application is manual, and DV and ACME are not mentioned. Against DigiCert it gives a Spanish contract and PSD2 coverage and takes away the self-service shop.
What Firmaprofesional does better than DigiCert
- PSD2 QWAC and QSealC next to server certificates
- Spanish company register entry and Spanish-language documentation
Where Firmaprofesional is a step down from DigiCert
- No prices on the product pages
- Manual application by email, no DV or ACME
Standout against DigiCert. Firmaprofesional lists the exact documents an OV application requires.
What actually breaks when you switch
Start with the calendar, not the vendor. List every certificate with its expiry date and the server that holds it, because the move happens at renewal. Turn off the auto-renewal in CertCentral only after the new certificate is live, since the DigiCert subscription renews itself every 12 months and cancelling early can leave a gap. Certificate validity has also been shortened, so most renewals now come twice a year.
Then rebuild the automation. Each new authority needs its own account, domain validation and ACME credentials. Organisation validation for OV and EV is repeated from scratch, with company documents: Firmaprofesional asks for ID, the public deed and the tax card, and the others have similar lists. Allow a few weeks for OV and EV, and remember that DigiCert's unlimited transfers and replacements stop at the cancellation date.
Can I move my certificates from DigiCert without downtime?
Yes, if you order first and cancel last. A certificate is trusted on its own merits, so a new one from Actalis, Certum or HARICA works the moment you install it, and the old one keeps working until its expiry date. Request the new certificate a few weeks ahead, deploy it, test it, and only then turn off the auto-renewal in your DigiCert account.
The only moving parts are the validation and the automation. Each authority has to validate your domain again, usually by a DNS record or file. If your servers renew through ACME, point the client at the new provider's endpoint. Actalis and Telia advertise ACME, and the other pages reviewed do not describe it.
Are European certificates trusted by every browser?
Publicly trusted authorities are included in browser root programs, but you should check each one. HARICA states that it has been in the Mozilla root program since 2012 and the Microsoft program since June 2013, and Disig issues publicly trusted certificates under the CA/Browser Forum Baseline Requirements. Namirial says its TLS issuance is done in partnership with Entrust, so the chain depends on that partner.
Before buying, open the sample certificate or the provider's repository page and read the issuing chain. If the provider does not name it (Telia, ChamberSign and Firmaprofesional do not on the pages we reviewed), ask in writing before paying.
Which one to pick
If your use of DigiCert is a Basic TLS subscription on a few sites, Actalis is the replacement to try first, and Certum is the one to pick if you would rather pay once per certificate in euro. HARICA suits those who want the widest validation menu from a non-commercial operator.
If you need qualified or PSD2 certificates, choose D-Trust, HARICA or Firmaprofesional. If you run a large estate on DigiCert ONE, expect to keep it or to build less automation, because no European authority on this page replicates that platform. The European case is strongest on contract, price model and qualified certificates, and weakest on management tooling.
Frequently Asked Questions
For DV and small sites, Actalis in Italy, with a free ACME plan and flat euro plans. For per-certificate euro prices on DV, OV and EV, Certum in Poland, and HARICA in Greece from EUR 36 a year. For qualified and PSD2 certificates, D-Trust in Germany. DigiCert's lifecycle platform has no direct European equivalent in this group.
DigiCert's Master Services Agreement of 1 September 2025 names DigiCert Ireland Limited for billing addresses outside the US and Japan, and DigiCert, Inc., a Utah corporation, for US billing addresses. The group parent is therefore American even where the invoice is Irish.
The Basic TLS page lists $26 a month per standard domain and $82 a month per wildcard domain, with an Extended Validation option at $39 per standard domain. All are 12-month subscriptions that renew automatically, and DigiCert states that prices are subject to change.
Actalis offers a free plan at EUR 0 with four 90-day DV certificates on request, or unlimited 90-day single-domain DV certificates when ACME is activated. The other nine providers are paid, from HARICA at EUR 36 a year and Certum DV at EUR 25.
Only if a regulation or a bank requires it, as with PSD2 interfaces. D-Trust, HARICA, Actalis and Firmaprofesional sell QWAC types for that. For an ordinary company site, OV or EV from Certum, Disig, InfoCert or ChamberSign is enough.
Related comparisons
Explore More European Alternatives
Discover privacy-focused European alternatives to other popular US tech services.