Ocado
UK online supermarket with a joint venture of M&S Group and Ocado Group behind it
Quick Overview
| Company | Ocado Retail Limited |
|---|---|
| Category | Grocery Delivery Services |
| Headquarters | Hatfield, Hertfordshire, United Kingdom |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - United Kingdom (England and Wales company 03875000) |
| Data Location | not stated on the pages we read |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes |
| Self-Hosting | No |
| Main Features | Online supermarket, about 50,000 products, M&S food range, own range, Ocado Roots independent brands, Zoom by Ocado rapid delivery |
| Pricing | Prices and delivery charges not shown on the pages we read |
| Best For | UK households who want a large online range, including M&S food, delivered by van |
| Replaces | Instacart |
Detailed Review
Ocado.com is the online supermarket of Ocado Retail Limited, registered in England and Wales with company number 03875000. The registered office is Apollo Court, 2 Bishop Square, Hatfield Business Park, Hatfield, AL10 9NE.
Ocado Retail says Ocado.com is a joint venture between Marks & Spencer Group and Ocado Group. It reports over 1 million active customers and reach to over 80% of the UK population.
Range and fulfilment at Ocado
Ocado states a range of around 50,000 products, including more than 7,000 items from the M&S food and drink range and the Ocado own range. Orders are packed in seven distribution centres and delivered through regional spokes and vans.
The Ocado Roots programme adds small independent brands.
Service claims and Zoom by Ocado
Ocado Retail says 99% of items are delivered exactly as promised, on time and in full. Ocado Retail also runs Zoom by Ocado, a rapid grocery delivery service with its own FAQ and a contact address.
Ocado as a European alternative to Instacart
Ocado picks and delivers from its own warehouses under UK company law, where Instacart relies on shoppers in partner stores in the United States and Canada. Ocado shares ownership between two companies, and the pages we read do not give their addresses.
Limitations to Consider
The pages we read give no prices, no delivery charges and no data hosting location for Ocado. The service covers the UK only, and the ownership by Marks & Spencer Group and Ocado Group is stated without share split. The ocado.com shop itself was not read, only the Ocado Retail corporate site.
Who Should Use Ocado
UK households who want a wide range delivered from warehouse to door and value M&S products in the basket.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Company number and registered office published
- Around 50,000 products stated
- More than 7,000 M&S food and drink items
- Zoom by Ocado rapid delivery option
- Reach of over 80% of the UK population stated
Cons
- No prices or delivery charges on the pages we read
- UK only
- Shop pages not read, only the corporate site
- Data hosting location not stated
Alternatives to Ocado
Other European grocery delivery services worth comparing before you decide:
See all European grocery delivery services or compare them directly against Instacart on our alternatives page.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. Ocado.com is run by Ocado Retail Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales, and delivers groceries in the UK. EP counts the UK as European.
Ocado Retail says Ocado.com is a joint venture between Marks & Spencer Group and Ocado Group. The pages we read do not state the ownership split.
Zoom by Ocado is a rapid grocery delivery service run by Ocado Retail. Its own FAQ and the address zoom@ocado.com are listed on the Ocado Retail contact page.