Every European restaurant reservation tool reviewed
Paris, France
The plans page states "€0 commission per cover"; subscription amounts are not shown on the page and are given on demo
Best for: Restaurants that want one platform for reservations and payments
Zenchef is the widest platform in this directory. Its pages describe Reserve (bookings and table service), Promote (campaigns and online presence), Pay (payment tools to reduce no-shows), Insights, Connect (guest communication) and a new AI module, plus a consumer Zenchef app where guests discover and book restaurants. The plans page lists a booking widget, Reserve with Google and a 24/7 call assist, and states "€0 commission per cover".
The publisher is Zenchef SAS, a simplified joint-stock company with a capital of €3,051,203.32, registered in Paris under number 528 389 794, at 63 avenue de Villiers, 75017 Paris, VAT FR50528389794. Zenchef says that Formitable, Resengo and Zenchef have been one platform since 2024, and it offers "switch from" pages for GuestPlan, TheFork and OpenTable.
The weak spot is price. The plans page names features but no subscription amount, so you reach a number through a demo. The pages read also do not name a hosting country for guest data, and the platform is more than a small restaurant needs if it only wants a booking book.
What Zenchef does well
- Reservations, payments, insights and a guest app in one platform
- "€0 commission per cover" stated on the plans page
- Full company details: SAS, capital, Paris register number, VAT number
- Has absorbed Formitable and Resengo, so the customer base is large
- Switch-over pages for GuestPlan, TheFork and OpenTable
Where Zenchef falls short
- No subscription amount on the plans page
- Hosting country for guest data not stated on the pages read
- More platform than a one-room restaurant needs
- Sales-led onboarding with a demo
Standout feature. It is the one platform here that combines booking, payments, insights and its own consumer app, from a company with a Paris register number.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Pro €49.99 per month and Business €109.99 per month, monthly, quarterly or yearly billing; no commission or cover fees; deposits via Mollie or Stripe carry a fee of €2.99 (Pro) or €0.99 (Business)
30 days free, no credit card required
Best for: Restaurants that want clear monthly prices and no commission
Guestplan publishes two plans. Pro is €49.99 per month and covers unlimited reservations, Reserve with Google, dashboards, gift cards and iOS and Android apps, with no commission or cover fees. Business is €109.99 per month and adds up to 5,000 newsletters a month, guest feedback, waitlist management, third-party integrations and custom gift card designs. Both start with 30 days free and no credit card.
The operator is eTender BV, Keizersgracht 188, 1016 DW Amsterdam, KvK 605.44.929, VAT NL85.39.55.219.B01. The imprint also links the privacy policy and terms of service, and the site is offered in Dutch, French, German, Italian, Spanish and Slovak.
Deposits carry a fee through Mollie or Stripe: €2.99 on Pro and €0.99 on Business. The pages read do not state where guest data is stored, and there is no free forever tier, only the trial.
What Guestplan does well
- Two published prices, monthly, quarterly or yearly
- 30-day free trial with no credit card
- No commission or cover fees stated
- Unlimited reservations on both plans
- Dutch company with KvK and VAT numbers in the imprint
Where Guestplan falls short
- No free forever plan
- Deposit fees of €2.99 on Pro through Mollie or Stripe
- Waitlist and feedback only on the more expensive plan
- Hosting country for guest data not stated
Standout feature. It is the only system here with two clearly priced plans, a 30-day trial and a full Dutch commercial register entry in the imprint.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Free forever (25 bookings per month) / Basic €45 (350 bookings) / Plus €85 (750 bookings) / Unlimited €125 per month; the page shows a 50% reduction on the first month; no commission or cover fees; paid add-ons available on paid plans
Free plan, no credit card; paid plans free for 30 days and a 90-day money-back guarantee
Best for: Small restaurants that want to start free
Resos describes itself as a commission-free restaurant booking system used by more than 3,000 restaurants, cafes, bars and pubs. The free plan allows 25 bookings a month with all core features and no credit card. Basic is €45 for 350 bookings, Plus €85 for 750 and Unlimited €125, with a 90-day money-back guarantee and paid add-ons. The page shows a 50% reduction on the first month.
The contracting party is Resos ApS, Copenhagen, CVR DK39377187. The terms are governed by Danish law with the courts of Copenhagen, and the same terms mention sub-processors, data portability and a right to cancel. Payment accepts SEPA Direct Debit, Bacs, ACH and cards, and the site offers 17 languages and a developer API.
The free plan stops at 25 bookings a month and has no add-ons. The pages read do not state a hosting country for guest data, and the headline prices on the page are promotional for the first month only.
What Resos does well
- Free forever plan with all core features
- No commission or cover fees
- CVR number and Danish governing law in the terms
- 90-day money-back guarantee on paid plans
- Public developer API and 17 interface languages
Where Resos falls short
- Free plan limited to 25 bookings a month
- Add-ons are not available on the free plan
- First-month promotion makes the headline price misleading
- Hosting country not stated
Standout feature. It has a free forever plan with every core feature, from a Danish company with a CVR number and Danish governing law.
Nuremberg, Germany
Basic €0 / Premium €69.90 per month (€62.91 billed yearly) / Ultimate €129.90 per month; the page states that no fees are charged on reservations or guests, and that setup and support are free
Free Basic tier and "Kostenlos testen" on the paid tiers
Best for: German-speaking restaurants that want a free start and a table plan later
resmio runs on three tiers. Basic is free and includes the digital reservation system, menu and ordering, notifications, voucher and ticket sales and a simple website. Premium is €69.90 per month (€62.91 billed yearly) and adds the table plan, Reserve with Google, e-mail reminders, widget personalisation, guest reviews, statistics and a waitlist. Ultimate is €129.90 and adds the iPad app, graphical table plan, deposits, marketing and a staff planning app.
The imprint names resmio GmbH, Katzwanger Strasse 150, 90461 Nuremberg, registered at Amtsgericht Nürnberg, HRB 35433, VAT DE282437470, with Tim Drüppel as managing director. The pricing page states that no fees are charged on reservations or guests and that setup and support are free.
The site and pricing page read are in German, so English-speaking teams should check the feature list in their own language. Several features sit behind paid add-ons, and the pages read do not state a hosting country for guest data.
What resmio does well
- Free Basic tier with online reservations and vouchers
- No fees on reservations or guests
- Full German commercial register entry and VAT number
- Setup and support free
- Ultimate bundles iPad app, deposits and staff planning
Where resmio falls short
- Pages read are mainly in German
- Table plan only from Premium
- Some features and services are priced add-ons
- Hosting country for guest data not stated
Standout feature. It combines a free Basic tier with voucher sales and a full German commercial register entry in the imprint.
Hamrun, Malta
Freemium free for up to 100 covers per month / three paid tiers (Organise, Grow, Expand) billed monthly or yearly with a 17% yearly saving; amounts are shown on the pricing page in the page language
Free plan with no time limit, and free trials on paid tiers
Best for: Small restaurants that want commission-free bookings from every channel
Tableo describes itself as a booking system that takes online bookings around the clock, with a freemium plan that is free for up to 100 covers a month and no time limit. Its pages say bookings from the restaurant website, Google, Facebook and Instagram arrive without commission, with an interactive floor plan and a mobile app. The paid tiers add payments, SMS notifications and event management, and the site runs in ten languages.
The contracting party is Tableo Ltd, Merlin House, Mountbatten Street, Hamrun HMR1574, Malta, according to the privacy policy. The terms apply the Europe/Malta time zone to billing cycles, support the EU reverse-charge mechanism, and describe Freemium and paid subscriptions as the plan types.
The pages read do not state a company registration number, so the Maltese register entry could not be matched. The pricing amounts are shown on a page in the visitor's language, and the pages read do not state where guest data is stored.
What Tableo does well
- Freemium plan with no time limit
- Commission-free bookings from website, Google and social channels
- Maltese address stated in the privacy policy
- Interactive floor plan and mobile app
- Ten interface languages
Where Tableo falls short
- Free plan capped at 100 covers a month
- Company registration number not stated on the pages read
- Payments and SMS only on paid tiers
- Hosting country not stated
Standout feature. It offers a free plan counted in covers rather than bookings, from a Maltese company that names its address in the privacy policy.
Lithuania
Starter €67 per month (50 reservations, €0.67 per extra) / Growth €117 per month (150 reservations, €0.37 per extra) / Success €177 per month (unlimited reservations); all features in every plan; annual plans available
Free trial on every plan
Best for: Venues that want every feature and pay by reservation volume
Tablein puts every feature in every plan and prices by the number of reservations. Starter is €67 per month for 50 reservations with €0.67 per extra, Growth €117 for 150 with €0.37 per extra, and Success €177 for unlimited reservations. Annual plans are available. The site is built for individual restaurants, restaurant groups, hotel restaurants, bars, events and catering, and membership clubs, and a version 3.0 beta is advertised.
The terms state that Tablein is owned and operated by UAB "Internet Marketing Solutions", a legal entity incorporated in the Republic of Lithuania, and the about page says the headquarters are in Lithuania. The terms run to ten chapters and include sections on ranking, visibility and paid placement, no-show policy and internal complaint handling.
The city, registration number and hosting country were not stated on the pages read. Overage charges per reservation can add up on the lower plans, and the paid-placement chapter means visibility in its local portals can be bought.
What Tablein does well
- All features included in every plan
- Three published monthly prices
- Terms name the Lithuanian legal entity
- Segments for hotels, events and membership clubs
- Local portals in Lithuania, Latvia and the UK
Where Tablein falls short
- Per-reservation charges above the plan allowance
- City and registration number not stated on the pages read
- Paid placement chapter in the terms
- Hosting country not stated
Standout feature. It is the only system here that prices purely by reservation volume while including every feature in every plan.
Seville, Spain
The pricing page lists plans but shows no amounts; a demo is requested
Best for: Restaurant groups, fine dining and nightclubs that need deposits and events
CoverManager positions itself as restaurant management software that turns reservations into revenue. The pages list reservations, experiences and events, payments, multi-channel reservations, loyalty, a virtual waitlist and AI solutions, with deposits and reminders to reduce empty tables. It names segments from fine dining and starred restaurants to groups, chains, nightclubs, beach clubs and hotels, says it takes no commissions and claims more than 36,000 venues.
The legal notice names Restaurant Booking & Distribution Services S.L., trade name CoverManager, Avenida de la Constitución 24, 4th floor, 41001 Seville, NIF B90227976, registered in the Commercial Registry of Seville. The site is offered in English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese and a Mexican version.
The pricing page lists plans but no amounts, so you reach a price through a demo, and the "36,000 venues" figure is the vendor's own claim. The pages read do not state a hosting country for guest data.
What CoverManager does well
- Deposits, events, payments, loyalty and waitlist in one system
- No commissions stated
- Full Spanish legal notice with NIF and register entry
- Built for groups, nightclubs and large events
- Interface in English, Spanish, Italian and Portuguese
Where CoverManager falls short
- No prices shown, demo required
- The venue count is the vendor's own claim
- Hosting country not stated on the pages read
- More than a single small restaurant needs
Standout feature. It is built for nightclubs, beach clubs and large events as well as restaurants, with deposits and a virtual waitlist.
Zurich, Switzerland
Basic CHF 115 per month / Professional CHF 180 per month, also shown in EUR; add-ons: PMS integration CHF 50 per month plus CHF 150 setup, POS and payment integrations CHF 50 per month, AI phone assistant CHF 0.35 per call plus CHF 0.09 per SMS and CHF 150 setup
Free trial on both plans
Best for: Swiss and German-speaking restaurants that want an AI phone assistant
Foratable is the reservation system of Lunchgate AG. Basic is CHF 115 per month (EUR 115 on the euro toggle) and includes 24/7 online reservations, a digital reservation book, Reserve with Google, bookability on lunchgate.ch, an IVR phone assistant, SMS verification of guests, a CRM and statistics. Professional is CHF 180 per month and adds a graphical table plan, automatic table assignment, caller ID, recurring reservations and user permissions.
The contracting party is Lunchgate AG, Badenerstrasse 255, CH-8003 Zurich. The vendor publishes sub-processors, technical and organisational measures and a data processing agreement, which were not read in full. Add-ons are priced: PMS integration CHF 50 per month plus CHF 150 setup, an AI phone assistant at CHF 0.35 per call, and a payment integration at CHF 50 per month with per-transaction fees.
Switzerland is outside the EU and the EEA, though it is covered by the EU adequacy decision. The site is in German, and POS and payment integrations only come with Professional.
What Foratable does well
- Two published monthly prices
- AI phone assistant add-on at CHF 0.35 per call
- Sub-processor list and data processing agreement published
- Bookable on lunchgate.ch
- Table plan and automatic table assignment on Professional
Where Foratable falls short
- Swiss company, outside the EU and the EEA
- Add-ons and setup fees add to the monthly price
- POS and payment integrations only on Professional
- Pages read mainly in German
Standout feature. It publishes both plan prices and every add-on price, including a per-call fee for its AI phone assistant.
Zurich, Switzerland
Individual pricing; the pricing page describes it as transparent, individual and fair and asks for a demo, so no amounts are quoted
Best for: Hotels and restaurant groups that want AI table assignment
aleno calls itself the first digital assistant for hotels and restaurants. Its pages list reservations and bookings, AI table assignment, 360-degree guest profiles and CRM, integrations, no-show prevention, revenue management, AI occupancy optimisation and custom reports, plus online and event marketing and a white-label option. It targets hotels, restaurant groups and ambitious restaurants rather than the smallest venues.
The imprint names aleno AG, Tessinerplatz 7, 8002 Zurich, UID CHE-485.892.958, commercial register number CH-020.4.053.231-5, with Ivica Balenovic as founder and managing director. The site is available in German and English, with support phone numbers in Switzerland, Germany and Austria.
Pricing is individual and not published, so you need a demo to get a number. Switzerland is outside the EU and the EEA, and the pages read do not state a hosting country for guest data.
What aleno does well
- AI table assignment and occupancy optimisation
- Revenue management and custom reports
- Full Swiss register details in the imprint
- Support lines in Switzerland, Germany and Austria
- White-label and event marketing options
Where aleno falls short
- No published prices
- Swiss company, outside the EU and the EEA
- Oriented towards hotels and groups, heavy for a small restaurant
- Hosting country not stated
Standout feature. It leads with AI for table assignment and occupancy, from a Swiss AG with a full register entry.
Loughborough, England
Commission-free bookings with unlimited users; the base plan amount is not shown on the page read; add-ons Order & Pay, Gift Vouchers, ResPhone and Event Manager each €40 per month, SMS €10 per month
Best for: UK and Irish venues that want commission-free table management
ResDiary lists commission-free bookings, a customisable booking widget, table management, yield management, promotions and special events, credit card guarantee and payment, customisable notifications, advanced reporting, marketing software integration, 24/7 support and unlimited users. Add-ons Order & Pay, Gift Vouchers, ResPhone and Event Manager are €40 per month each, and built-in SMS is €10 per month.
The site footer names Access UK Ltd, company number 02343760, registered office The Armstrong Building, 10 Oakwood Drive, Loughborough LE11 3QF, and links the Access Group terms and the ResDiary product terms. It runs separate regional sites for the UK, Ireland, Europe, Global and APAC.
The base plan amount was not shown on the page read, only the add-ons. The product sits inside the larger Access Group, so it is not an independent specialist, and the United Kingdom is outside the EU and the EEA. The pages read do not state a hosting country for guest data.
What ResDiary does well
- Commission-free bookings with unlimited users
- Yield management and credit card guarantee
- UK company number and registered office stated
- Regional sites for the UK, Ireland and Europe
- Add-on prices published
Where ResDiary falls short
- Base subscription amount not shown on the page read
- Part of a larger group rather than an independent specialist
- United Kingdom is outside the EU and the EEA
- Hosting country not stated
Standout feature. It prices every add-on in the open and offers yield management, from a company with a UK register number.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Not published on the pages read; the restaurant site points to a plans section without amounts
Best for: Danish venues that want a marketplace and a booking system
DinnerBooking is a consumer booking site with a restaurant system behind it. For restaurants the pages describe a customisable online booking system, mobile apps for managing reservations, a loyalty point system, an event system for selling tickets, gift cards, a feedback module and a heatmap of the busiest booking times. The consumer site advertises free reservations around the clock.
The terms describe DinnerBooking ApS as a private limited company registered under Danish law with headquarters in Copenhagen, and the restaurant site gives the address Lyongade 21, 2300 Copenhagen S. The terms read did not state a CVR number.
No prices were shown on the pages read, only a pointer to a plans section, and the restaurant site could not be fetched in full. This is the thinnest entry here, so ask for terms and prices in writing and check the Danish register yourself.
What DinnerBooking does well
- Consumer marketplace and restaurant system in one
- Loyalty points, event tickets and gift cards
- Heatmap of the busiest booking times
- Danish company address in Copenhagen
- Mobile apps for staff
Where DinnerBooking falls short
- No prices published on the pages read
- CVR number not stated in the terms read
- Thinnest documentation of the eleven
- Marketplace model may involve different terms than a pure booking tool
Standout feature. It is the one entry that is itself a consumer booking marketplace, with a restaurant system attached.