Every European P2P payment app reviewed
Brussels, Belgium
No consumer fee information appears on the vendor page
A demo can be requested
Best for: Transfers to friends and family through participating banks in Belgium, France and Germany
Wero is a payment wallet from EPI Company SE, whose imprint address is in Brussels, that sends money from one bank account to another using a phone number in place of an IBAN. The vendor page says transfers finish in under 10 seconds and run 24/7, nights and weekends included. We did not time a transfer ourselves.
EPI Company SE states that the National Bank of Belgium authorised it as a payment institution on 20 February 2024, which places the contract inside the EU. The vendor page lists Belgium, France and Germany, with Luxembourg in the footer, and describes in-store payments and subscriptions as coming later. No consumer fee, founding year or hosting location appears on the pages we read.
What Wero does well
- Money arrives in under 10 seconds, according to the vendor
- Runs around the clock, weekends included
- A phone number replaces the IBAN when paying
- Run by a payment institution with a Belgian authorisation
- Funds go straight between bank accounts
Where Wero falls short
- Only works if the user's bank has joined
- Listed for just a handful of countries
- Shop payments and subscriptions are announced, not live
- No consumer fee figure on the pages we read
Standout feature. Wero is the only tool in this list presented as a cross-border bank-to-bank wallet, covering Belgium, France and Germany from a single Brussels operator.
Madrid, Spain
The vendor pages checked give no user fee information
A demo can be requested
Best for: Phone-based transfers between people at participating Spanish banks
Bizum sends money using only a mobile phone, and its homepage says this works whichever bank the user has. The same page describes the service as backed by the main Spanish banks. The homepage claims a transfer takes under 10 seconds; that is a vendor claim we did not test.
The legal notice names Bizum, S.L. as the operator, domiciled in Madrid with NIF B-87599478 and recorded in the Registro Mercantil de Madrid. That makes Bizum a Spanish company, in contrast to Venmo under PayPal, Inc. The pages we read state no user fees, no hosting location and no position on accounts outside Spain, and they are written in Spanish. The founding year is not stated on the pages we read.
What Bizum does well
- Vendor claims a transfer in under 10 seconds
- Needs nothing beyond a mobile phone
- Vendor says the main Spanish banks stand behind it
- Run by a company registered in Spain
Where Bizum falls short
- No fee information on the pages we read
- Silent on whether foreign accounts work
- Reach is tied to participating banks
- The vendor pages are in Spanish
Standout feature. Bizum is the only tool here whose own legal notice ties the service to a single national company register, the Registro Mercantil de Madrid.
City not stated on the pages we read, Norway
No person-to-person fee is given on the vendor page; its only fee statement is that buying a used car with Vipps carries no fees
A demo can be requested
Best for: Sending money and sharing costs between friends in one app
Vipps MobilePay lets users send, receive and request money between people, and the vendor page also lists collecting money from others and splitting group expenses. Those are the Venmo-style uses. The same page says the app pays businesses, shops and bills.
The footer of vipps.no names Vipps MobilePay AS with organisation number 918 713 867 VAT. The registered seat is not shown, so Norway is inferred from the AS form and the nine-digit number, and we list the entity as partly verified.
Norway is in the EEA but not the EU. The page gives no operating countries, limits or general fees; the only fee statement is that buying a used car with Vipps is free. City and founding year are not stated on the pages we read.
What Vipps MobilePay does well
- Sends, receives and requests money person to person
- Group expenses can be divided inside the app
- Can collect money from other people
- Also pays shops, businesses and bills
Where Vipps MobilePay falls short
- No general fee policy on the page
- The page lists no operating countries
- The registered seat is not displayed
- No hosting information on the pages we read
Standout feature. Vipps MobilePay combines person-to-person sending, expense splitting and shop and bill payments in one listed feature set, with a Norwegian rather than EU company behind it.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Per the vendor page, individuals pay nothing to sign up, activate or hold the app, nothing monthly, and no commission on transfers between friends
A demo can be requested
Best for: Individuals after a no-cost app for paying friends and partner merchants
Satispay is a mobile payment app for paying in physical stores and online, and for sending money to friends. The vendor page states that individuals pay no sign-up, management, activation or monthly fees, and that transfers between friends carry no commission. Payments work only at partner merchants, partner websites and participating services shown in the app.
The legal notice lists Satispay Europe S.A. at 53 Boulevard Royal in Luxembourg, entered in the CSSF register of electronic money institutions under no. W00000010 and in the Luxembourg RCS under B229149. The notice names three entities without saying which runs the consumer app, so the listing is partly verified. The page also offers investing in stocks, ETFs and funds, and a savings piggy bank described as earning interest.
What Satispay does well
- Individuals pay no fees, per the vendor page
- Transfers to friends carry no commission
- Pays in shops and online
- Stocks, ETFs, funds and savings sit in the same app
- The payments entity is CSSF-registered in Luxembourg
Where Satispay falls short
- Spending is limited to partner merchants and services
- Use depends on the Satispay network in your country
- The legal notice does not say which entity runs the consumer app
- No hosting information on the pages we read
Standout feature. Satispay is the only tool in this list that pairs a stated no-fee position for individuals with investing and a savings piggy bank inside the same app.
London, United Kingdom
The current account costs nothing; optional paid plans cost £3, £9 and £19 a month (checked 28 October 2026)
A demo can be requested
Best for: UK residents who want a complete bank inside an app
Monzo is a UK bank app whose personal current account is free, according to the site. Pots split money for bills and goals, Salary Sorter divides an income across Pots, and spare change can be rounded up into savings. The vendor also lists cashback offers of 2-10 % at chosen brands.
Monzo Bank Limited is registered in England and Wales under company number 09446231, with financial services register number 730427, and is regulated by the FCA and PRA. Eligible money is covered by the FSCS up to £120,000 per person, according to its site. Monzo serves UK residents only, which puts it outside the euro-area customer base and the EEA. Paid plans start at £3 a month.
What Monzo does well
- The current account costs nothing
- FSCS protection up to £120,000, per its site
- Pots and Salary Sorter organise spending
- Savings, investments and pensions share the app
- Joint accounts and youth accounts exist
Where Monzo falls short
- Open to UK residents only
- Several products require a UK Monzo current account
- Paid plans begin at £3 a month
- Investment values may fall
Standout feature. Monzo is the only tool here that is a PRA and FCA regulated bank with FSCS cover, which no wallet or scheme in this list can say.
Lachen, Switzerland
The vendor page says users pay nothing to pay with the Bluecode app
A demo can be requested
Best for: Card-free payment at Bluecode acceptance partners
Bluecode is a card-free payment network, and it is only a partial alternative to Venmo. The vendor page describes paying directly from an account without a card, and a Bluecode Balance that can be topped up in the app. The pages we read do not describe sending money to friends.
The imprint names Blue Code International AG in Lachen, Switzerland, with commercial register number CH-281.323.867 in the canton of Schwyz. Switzerland is outside the EU and covered by an adequacy decision. Acceptance covers partners of Bluecode, Diners Club or Discover Network, and Alipay+. The vendor page says paying with the app is free for users and lists fuel, vouchers and insurance as extra services; hosting is not stated.
What Bluecode does well
- The vendor page says paying is free for users
- Debits an account directly, no card involved
- The in-app Bluecode Balance can be topped up
- The imprint shows a Swiss commercial register number
- Adds fuel, vouchers and insurance
Where Bluecode falls short
- Friend-to-friend transfers are not described in the pages read
- Payments only work at network acceptance partners
- No hosting information on the pages we read
- The company sits in Switzerland, outside the EU
Standout feature. Bluecode is the one tool here built purely around paying a merchant straight from an account with no card, with acceptance reaching Diners Club, Discover Network and Alipay+ partners.
City not stated on the pages we read, Poland
The vendor page gives no fee information
A demo can be requested
Best for: Paying with a short code generated in a participating Polish bank app
BLIK generates a single-use six-digit code inside the user's bank app, and the payer uses that code to complete a payment. The code is valid for 2 minutes, after which a new one has to be generated. The vendor wording says payments complete in a few moments.
The page carries the copyright line Polski Standard Płatności. Legal form, seat and register number are not stated, so Poland is inferred from the company name and the entity is partly verified. BLIK needs a phone running the bank app and an internet connection over Wi-Fi or mobile data. The page gives both 19 and 21 for the number of participating banks, which is inconsistent, and it does not describe friend requests or a social feed.
What BLIK does well
- A one-time code cannot be reused
- Works inside the bank app you already have
- Vendor wording says payment completes within moments
- No separate wallet to install is described
Where BLIK falls short
- The code lapses after 2 minutes
- Requires a phone and a data or Wi-Fi connection
- The page gives two different bank counts, 19 and 21
- No legal entity details on the page we read
Standout feature. BLIK is the only tool here built around a six-digit code that expires after 2 minutes and lives in the bank app.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
The bunq homepage shows four plans: Free at EUR 0.00, Core at EUR 3.99 a month, Pro at EUR 9.99 a month and Elite at EUR 18.99 a month. Its features page names no fee for splitting a payment or requesting money.
A demo can be requested
Best for: People in the Netherlands and the EU wanting a bank account that also splits bills and requests money
bunq is a full bank account, not a stand-alone wallet, so its person-to-person features sit inside a bank app. Users can split a payment with friends and add a tip, request money by link, QR code or contact request through bunq.me, and send money with bunq.to using a phone number or email in place of an IBAN. An AutoAccept list approves requests from trusted contacts up to a limit the user sets; the page gives no figure.
bunq B.V. is based at Basisweg 32, 1043 AP Amsterdam, registered at the Dutch Chamber of Commerce under number 54992060, and the imprint names De Nederlandsche Bank as supervisor. The homepage shows four plans: Free at EUR 0.00, Core at EUR 3.99, Pro at EUR 9.99 and Elite at EUR 18.99 a month. The features page states no fee or limit for splitting or requests.
What bunq does well
- A Dutch bank entity under De Nederlandsche Bank supervision
- Split a payment without leaving the app
- Requests go out as a link, QR code or contact request
- Phone number or email replaces the IBAN when sending
- A Free plan at EUR 0.00 is shown
Where bunq falls short
- You open a whole bank account, not a light wallet
- No fee or limit figures for splitting and requests
- Paid plans cost EUR 3.99 to EUR 18.99 a month
- No hosting or data location on the pages we read
Standout feature. bunq is the only tool here that combines bank-grade supervision by De Nederlandsche Bank with link, QR and phone-number requests in the same app.
City not stated on the pages we read, Portugal
The vendor page gives no fee information
A demo can be requested
Best for: Sending money and paying in shops within Portugal
MB WAY is a Portuguese mobile service that pays in stores by QR code or NFC, pays online with a phone number and sends money to friends. Its Authorised Payments feature lets a user attach a card and set a monthly limit for recurring charges, which helps with subscriptions. A verified feature for safer sending is listed, with no further explanation.
The page directs users to SIBS under "Saiba mais sobre nós", and the Portuguese footer carries an all-rights-reserved line for SIBS 2025. No legal entity, seat or register details appear, so Portugal is inferred from the Portuguese-language site and the entity is partly verified. The page is in Portuguese. It gives no fees, hosting, or payment limit figures, although it says limits were raised. City and founding year are not stated on the pages we read.
What MB WAY does well
- Pays in shops with a QR code or NFC
- Pays online using only a phone number
- Monthly cap you set on recurring authorised payments
- A verified feature aims at safer money sending
Where MB WAY falls short
- The legal entity is not given on the page
- No payment limit figures appear
- Fees are not mentioned
- The page is only in Portuguese
Standout feature. MB WAY is the only tool here that lets a user pin a card to recurring charges under a self-chosen monthly cap through Authorised Payments.
London, United Kingdom
No subscription, you pay per transaction; a transfer fee starts at 0.24% and moves with the currency (checked 28 October 2026)
A demo can be requested
Best for: Spending, sending and receiving money in several currencies
Wise is a multi-currency account with a debit card, international transfers and the ability to receive money, and it is not a social payment app. The pricing page says there are no subscriptions or plans, with exchange done at the mid-market rate. Opening an account is free, and sending money starts from 0.24%, varying by currency.
Wise Payments Limited states that the Financial Conduct Authority authorised it under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, firm reference 900507, which makes Wise an e-money institution and not a bank. Investment services come from a separate Wise Assets entity. The UK page offers free ATM withdrawals up to 250 GBP a month, then a charge. Fees and limits differ by country, and Wise Business is a separate product for companies.
What Wise does well
- No subscription, pay only for what you use
- Exchange at the mid-market rate
- A multi-currency account comes with a debit card
- Authorised by the FCA as an e-money firm
- A business product is available separately
Where Wise falls short
- It is an e-money firm, not a bank
- Fees and ATM limits depend on the country
- Wise Assets is an investment, not a deposit
- Lending products are scarce on the pages checked
Standout feature. Wise is the only tool here priced per transaction with no plan at all, which makes currency conversion its single reason to exist in this list.
City not stated on the pages we read, Netherlands
The vendor page gives no fee information
A demo can be requested
Best for: Chasing friends and colleagues for their share of a cost
Tikkie sends a payment request as a link, including at a checkout or on an invoice, and the homepage describes group cost sharing through the Groepie feature. Tikkie also lists cashback offers and statiegeld claims, the Dutch bottle deposit. The tool is built around requests and does not keep a stored balance.
The footer reads "Tikkie - ABN AMRO" with a 2026 copyright. ABN AMRO seat and register data were not on the pages we read, and the Netherlands is inferred from the Dutch-language site, so we list the entity as partly verified. The homepage says Tikkie has 10 million users and 40,000 entrepreneurs, a vendor claim we did not verify. No consumer fees are shown, and city and founding year are not stated on the pages we read.
What Tikkie does well
- A payment request travels as a simple link
- Groepie splits shared costs among a group
- Requests also work at a checkout or on an invoice
- The homepage lists cashback offers
Where Tikkie falls short
- The page we read shows no fee information
- Content is Dutch and aimed at Dutch situations
- No legal entity details on the page we read
- The user figures are the vendor's own
Standout feature. Tikkie is the only tool here whose core feature is the payment request sent as a link, including at a checkout or on an invoice.