Every European IoT platform reviewed
Vreden, Germany
A free tier for 5 devices, then Hobby at EUR 25 a month (25 devices), Light at EUR 159 (50 devices), Standard at EUR 399 (200 devices) and Plus at EUR 659 (1,000 devices); Enterprise is quoted (checked 30 October 2026)
Demo on request
Best for: Small teams that want live sensor dashboards and alert rules inside a day
Datacake gives a team the part of an IoT product that people look at every day: dashboards, alert rules and reports that do not need a front-end developer. Sensors send data by MQTT or HTTPS webhooks, the REST API passes it onward, and more than 400 device templates are listed to shorten setup. The plan ladder is public and in euros, from a tier that costs nothing for five devices to EUR 659 a month for 1,000.
DATACAKE GmbH is registered in Vreden, Germany, and its site signs off each page with the words "Engineered in Germany". It runs a free LoRaWAN network server that the vendor says has no per-gateway fees, so a LoRaWAN pilot can begin without a separate network contract. White label starts at the Light plan at EUR 159 a month, which suits integrators who run one environment per customer. Hosting location is not stated on the pages we read.
What Datacake does well
- A no-time-limit free plan for five devices
- A LoRaWAN network server with no per-gateway charge
- Every tier up to 1,000 devices priced in euros on its site
- Dashboards, alert rules and reports without code
- Own branding available from Light upward
Where Datacake falls short
- No connectivity or firmware updates
- Retention is one year unless the add-on is bought
- Where data is hosted is not stated on the reviewed pages
- Annual billing is required for invoice payment
Standout feature. Datacake is the only tool in this list that bundles a free LoRaWAN network server with no-code dashboards and white label.
Madrid, Spain
A free Cloud account with fair limits; on yearly billing Small is EUR 45 a month, Medium EUR 179 and Large EUR 319 (checked 30 October 2026)
Demo on request
Best for: Product companies that want one predictable monthly bill for a few thousand devices
Thinger.io sells its platform like rented hardware: each plan names a server size, a device limit and storage, and the bill does not move with message volume. Small covers 100 devices on 2 vCPU and 2 GB, Medium covers 1,000 on 4 GB, and Large covers 2,500 on 4 vCPU and 16 GB. Data points, dashboards and buckets are unlimited on all three, and MQTT, HTTP, WebSocket and OTA updates are in every tier.
The contracting company is INTERNET OF THINGER S.L. in Madrid, and its pricing page notes ISO 27001 and GDPR with a choice of AWS region. That last point is the caveat: the contract is Spanish while the infrastructure belongs to Amazon. The vendor also describes an AI agent that builds dashboards and alert rules from plain language. Multi-tenant customers and white label begin at Medium, so resellers should skip Small.
What Thinger.io does well
- One fixed price per instance, quoted in euros
- Data points and dashboards are unlimited on each paid plan
- MQTT, HTTP, WebSocket and OTA updates come with every tier
- A free Cloud account for prototypes
- Tenants and white label from Medium upward
Where Thinger.io falls short
- Public plans stop at 2,500 devices
- Hosted on AWS regions rather than a European-owned cloud
- No SIM or connectivity service
- Small lacks tenants and white label
Standout feature. Thinger.io is the only tool in this list that states the server size behind each plan instead of metering messages.
Zurich, Switzerland
Elemental at $0 a month, Advanced at $199 and Expert at $599, each with an extra $1.50 per device per month (checked 30 October 2026)
Demo on request
Best for: Smart building and industrial teams that move LoRaWAN data into dashboards and downstream systems
akenza organises its product around buildings and plants: people counting, air quality, energy metering, leak detection and predictive maintenance. A device type library, a dashboard builder, custom logic blocks and output connectors for Kafka, PostgreSQL, MySQL, Oracle, InfluxDB and Azure IoT Hub let a team deliver data into the customer own stack. Connectivity from Swisscom LPN, Cibicom, Netmore, ewz.connect and Loriot is billed per device inside the same account.
AKENZA AG is based in Zurich, so the contract is Swiss, which has an EU adequacy decision but sits outside the EEA. Prices are in dollars: Elemental at $0, Advanced at $199 and Expert at $599 a month, each with $1.50 per device, plus metered extras such as $25 per additional workspace. Private instances run on Azure, Amazon or Google, and the vendor describes Elemental as a plan for proofs of concept.
What akenza does well
- A free entry plan to prove a concept
- Network connectivity can be bought in the same account
- Many database and cloud connectors for output
- A private cloud on the hyperscaler you pick
- Higher plans add tenants and white label
Where akenza falls short
- Dollar prices for a European product
- Plan, device, connectivity and metered fees stack up
- Private instances run on US hyperscalers only
- Elemental targets pilots rather than production
Standout feature. akenza is the only tool in this list that lists LoRaWAN operator fees per device beside its own plan prices.
Aarhus, Denmark
Nabto WebRTC on demand starts at EUR 0.24 per device per month for the first 1,000 devices and drops to EUR 0.035; Nabto Edge is quoted per project (checked 30 October 2026)
Demo on request
Best for: Makers of cameras and consumer devices that need remote access without a vendor cloud in the path
Nabto does one job: it lets a phone app or browser reach a device that sits behind a router.
Nabto WebRTC serves IP cameras with live audio and video, managed STUN and TURN and per-camera access control, while Nabto Edge handles CoAP requests, data streaming and TCP tunnels to services such as RTSP or HTTP on the device. The design rule on its homepage is that the device is the gatekeeper, so Nabto can route a connection but cannot open one.
Nabto ApS is registered in Aarhus, Denmark, and its footer runs from 2009 to 2026. EU-only hosting is available for WebRTC, and the site says the connectivity layer is ready for the EU Cyber Resilience Act, a claim a buyer should check against the rules for their own product. Volume prices are published in euros: EUR 0.24 per device per month for the first 1,000, falling to EUR 0.035 beyond 100,000, with no revenue share.
What Nabto does well
- The device decides who may connect
- An EU-only hosting choice
- Euro prices by volume block, with no revenue share
- Open source SDKs for WebRTC
- Run from Denmark since 2009 per its own site
Where Nabto falls short
- A connection layer, not a fleet console or dashboard
- Edge needs a quote for each project
- Relay traffic and support are charged separately
- Reservations begin at 1,000 devices
Standout feature. Nabto is the only tool in this list where the authority to open a connection stays on the device and not in the vendor cloud.
Oslo, Norway
An open source edition at no cost; hosted Basic $34 a month, Professional $291, Enterprise quoted; hosted Mender has a 12-month free trial (checked 30 October 2026)
Demo on request
Best for: Hardware vendors that must push signed updates to Linux or RTOS devices for years
Mender delivers full disk images, applications, containers and even peripherals such as microcontrollers, and it works on devices that are not tied to one hardware maker. Open Source customers run their own server; Basic at $34 a month and Professional at $291 move that onto a hosted server, with delta updates, scheduled deployments and automatic retry arriving at Professional. Enterprise adds phased rollouts, RBAC, mutual TLS, audit logs and the choice of hosted or on-premise.
Northern.tech AS in Oslo is the controller named in the privacy policy, and Norway is in the EEA but not the EU. The standard agreements add a wrinkle: Enterprise customers in the Americas contract with Northern.tech, Inc., while everyone else signs with the Norwegian company. Configure, Monitor and Troubleshoot are separate add-ons and are not available for the Micro tier. The vendor says the product complies with the EU Cyber Resilience Act.
What Mender does well
- A free open source edition with a community forum
- A 12-month trial of the hosted service
- Delta updates and scheduled rollouts at Professional
- Mutual TLS and audit logs on Enterprise
- A way to leave the hosted service later
Where Mender falls short
- Updates only, with no connectivity or dashboards
- Hosted prices are quoted in dollars
- Americas Enterprise contracts run through a US entity
- Add-ons are priced separately
Standout feature. Mender is the only tool in this list that pairs a free self-hosted update server with hosted tiers you can step up to.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Discovery is EUR 0 a month (10 devices, 10 gateways); Standard EUR 190 monthly or EUR 171 on annual billing (1,000 devices); Plus EUR 300, or EUR 270 on annual billing; Enterprise is quoted (checked 30 October 2026)
Demo on request
Best for: Operators and utilities running their own LoRaWAN network server, hosted or on their premises
The Things Industries makes The Things Stack, the LoRaWAN network server that takes uplinks from gateways, removes duplicates, manages keys and passes messages to an application. Discovery is free for up to 10 devices and 10 gateways without a time limit. Standard costs EUR 190 a month, or EUR 171 billed annually, with unlimited gateways, applications and teams, a licence for 1,000 end devices and a 99.9 percent uptime commitment. Plus adds a network operations centre.
The Things Industries B.V. is registered with the Dutch Chamber of Commerce at an Amsterdam address, and the company says it has helped build private LoRaWAN networks since 2015. Its feature page says the same set runs on public cloud, private cloud, on-premise or as managed software. Gateway outage alerts, zero-touch provisioning, packet broker peering and multicast firmware updates cover the work after launch. Cellular and Wi-Fi devices gain nothing from it.
What The Things Industries does well
- A free tier with no time limit
- The same functions on cloud, private cloud and on-premise
- A 99.9 percent uptime commitment on Standard
- Remote gateway management and packet broker peering
- A Dutch B.V. on the Chamber of Commerce register
Where The Things Industries falls short
- LoRaWAN only
- No dashboards or application layer
- Standard licences 1,000 devices
- Enterprise is quoted
Standout feature. The Things Industries is the only tool in this list that offers one LoRaWAN stack as a free tier, a managed 99.9 percent plan and an on-premise install.
Langnau am Albis, Switzerland
A free Community server (10 devices, unlimited gateways and messages); a Professional public server in 6 plans from 50 to 5,000 devices, priced on its site; Enterprise is quoted (checked 30 October 2026)
Demo on request
Best for: Integrators that need a LoRaWAN or mioty network server in a chosen region, with a path to a private network
LORIOT offers three ways to a network server. The Community server is free for development, with ten devices and unlimited gateways and messages. The Professional public server carries a 99.9 percent SLA with redundancy, unlimited gateways and multi-tenant organisations, in six plans from 50 to 5,000 devices. The Enterprise private server runs in a private cloud or on premise and manages LoRaWAN and mioty side by side.
Loriot AG is based in Langnau am Albis, Switzerland, which has an EU adequacy decision but is outside the EEA. Its homepage claims more than 20,000 registered users, 17 distributed public servers and a presence in over 150 countries, all vendor figures. Plan prices were not readable in the page text we reviewed, so a visit to its plans page or a quote is needed. Fleets above 5,000 devices are handled separately per its FAQ.
What LORIOT does well
- A free Community server for testing
- Professional tier with a 99.9 percent SLA
- LoRaWAN and mioty both supported
- A private cloud or on-premise route
- Regional servers in several areas
Where LORIOT falls short
- Network layer only
- Free tier ends at 10 devices
- Public server plans stop at 5,000 devices
- Plan prices missing from the reviewed page text
Standout feature. LORIOT is the only tool in this list that runs LoRaWAN and mioty in the same network management system.
Cologne, Germany
The IoT Lifetime Flat is a single EUR 12 payment covering 10 years; the SIM card is EUR 1 (Business), EUR 2 (Industrial) or EUR 2.50 (Chip Industrial) (checked 30 October 2026)
Demo on request
Best for: Meters, trackers and payment terminals that send small messages for years
1NCE sells cellular connectivity as a purchase and not a subscription. The IoT Lifetime Flat costs EUR 12 once, lasts up to ten years and includes 500 MB, SMS, an APN and OpenVPN, with coverage listed in 170+ countries. Monthly data limits per SIM can be set in the portal or API, and an IMEI lock ties a SIM to one device. The card costs EUR 1 (Business), EUR 2 (Industrial) or EUR 2.50 (soldered Chip Industrial).
1NCE GmbH is in Cologne, entered in the commercial register there under HRB 92529 and supervised by the Bundesnetzagentur. The homepage claims more than 30,000 customers, a vendor figure, and the company reports ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification audited by TÜV Rheinland. Only the Industrial and Chip Industrial formats carry the eUICC feature for switching operator profiles. Radio support runs from 2G to LTE-M, with NB-IoT in selected regions, and the flat is meant for low-bandwidth use.
What 1NCE does well
- One EUR 12 payment for ten years
- 500 MB, SMS, APN and OpenVPN in the price
- Listed in 170+ countries
- ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification
- eUICC on the industrial SIM formats
Where 1NCE falls short
- Made for low bandwidth
- 500 MB may be small for chatty devices
- The Business SIM has no eUICC
- No application or dashboard layer
Standout feature. The 1NCE flat is the only price in this list that is paid once and covers ten years of connectivity per SIM.
Würzburg and Berlin, Germany
Listed as see website, with a free trial (the pricing page could not be read as plain text on 30 October 2026)
Demo on request
Best for: Cellular fleets that need central control over SIMs, networks and usage
EMnify runs the cellular core itself and puts a portal and API in front of it. A team can change a network policy, block an operator or pause a SIM from the console without a ticket to a carrier. The company says its SuperNetwork reaches 190+ countries, with several networks available per country, and operator or network types can be blocked per device to manage roaming costs.
The imprint names EMnify GmbH with a registered office in Würzburg (register number 12268 at the Würzburg court) and an address in Berlin, supervised by the Bundesnetzagentur. The product line includes instant eSIM connectivity and an SGP.32 bootstrap offer, and the site lists ISO 27001 and AWS IoT Competency Partner status. Homepage examples mention more than 120,000 GPS trackers and dash cameras. Prices were not readable on its pages, so a quote or the free trial is the route.
What EMnify does well
- Runs its own mobile core
- Listed in 190+ countries
- eSIM and SGP.32 products
- ISO 27001 certification
- Operators can be blocked per device
Where EMnify falls short
- Prices not published on the reviewed pages
- Connectivity only
- Hosting location not stated
- Plan details need the sales route or the trial
Standout feature. EMnify is the only tool in this list that lets you block a single mobile operator for one device from its API.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Quoted on request; a free IoT SIM device assessment kit is offered
Demo on request
Best for: Hardware makers shipping one product to many countries who want engineering help with connectivity
Eseye pairs SIMs with engineering work. AnyNet+ is a multi-IMSI IoT SIM, and the AnyNet Federation is described as access to over 800 networks across 190+ countries, so one SIM stands in for a set of local contracts. Services include device design, testing and validation, and certification with operators and regulators. A free IoT SIM device assessment kit gives a team connectivity to test an early prototype.
The company has worked in IoT connectivity since 2007 according to its about page, and the privacy policy names Eseye Limited at an address in the Surrey Research Park, Guildford. The UK is outside the EEA but has an EU adequacy decision. Infinity is the connectivity management platform for enterprises, and Integra is a white-label platform for mobile operators. The pricing page is a request form, and the sales process is aimed at larger programmes.
What Eseye does well
- A multi-IMSI SIM spanning 800+ networks
- In IoT connectivity since 2007
- Help from design through certification
- eSIM orchestration offered to operators
- A free kit to assess a device
Where Eseye falls short
- No public prices
- An enterprise-style sales process
- Connectivity only, with no application layer
- Services come bundled with the product
Standout feature. Eseye is the only tool in this list that combines a SIM with operator certification support for the device itself.
Stuttgart, Germany
A free plan and a free trial are offered; paid prices are not shown on the pages reviewed
Demo on request
Best for: Industrial and automotive suppliers that want device management and update tooling from a large manufacturer
Bosch IoT Suite is a family of services and not a single platform: Remote Manager and Rollouts for device management, Insights for data analytics, and Edge Agent and Edge Services on the device side. Eclipse hawkBit is described as the open source core of Rollouts, and Bosch lists Eclipse Ditto, Hono and Kanto for digital twins, connectivity and edge software. A free plan, a try-out route and a live demo are on offer.
Bosch Global Software Technologies GmbH is the contracting entity, at a Stuttgart address, registered at the Stuttgart district court as HRB 730601. The site claims its products connect more than 15 million devices, sensors and machines, a vendor figure. References cover a home energy management system, a smart city project, agricultural machinery and updates for heating systems. Paid prices and hosting location were not shown on the pages we reviewed.
What Bosch IoT Suite does well
- Device management, rollouts, data and edge under one name
- Eclipse open source projects behind the suite
- A free plan and a trial
- A German contracting entity in Stuttgart
- References from industry and energy
Where Bosch IoT Suite falls short
- Modules must be combined, not one platform
- Paid prices not published
- Onboarding with a large company
- Hosting location not stated
Standout feature. Bosch IoT Suite is the only tool in this list whose rollout core, Eclipse hawkBit, is an open source project you can read before buying.