Every European core banking software tool reviewed
London, United Kingdom
Founded 2014
Pricing on request
Demo on request
Best for: Banks and fintechs that want a configurable cloud-native ledger and are ready to run a migration programme
Thought Machine in London sells the Vault platform in two parts: Vault Core, a real-time ledger, and Vault Payments for payment orchestration, account-to-account payments and card processing. What sets the design apart is that products are defined in a separate configuration layer, and the vendor states that the same codebase ships to every client without forks. A bank that buys it commits to working inside that model, and to a migration programme that the vendor itself calls the real project.
The company was founded in 2014 and describes Lloyds Banking Group as its first tier 1 client in 2016. The contracting company is Thought Machine Group Limited, registered in England and Wales under 11114277, so the contract is British, outside the EU. According to the vendor, processing runs across three availability zones with automated failover. No price, hosting region or fixed migration timeline is published.
What Thought Machine does well
- Product logic sits in a configuration layer
- Same codebase for all clients, no forks
- Separate payments product alongside the core
- Reference clients from tier 1 banks to fintechs
- UK-registered contracting entity
Where Thought Machine falls short
- No public pricing
- Cloud-native only as described
- Migration effort is substantial
- Offices in New York and Singapore
Standout feature. Product rules are written as configuration on one shared codebase, so a bank changes a product without waiting for a vendor release.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Pricing on request
Demo on request
Best for: Lenders, neobanks and fintechs that want to assemble a banking stack from modules
Mambu in Amsterdam splits its platform into Mambu Core for deposits and lending, Mambu Payments and an AI layer called Agentic. Lending is cut into consumer loans, business loans, purchase finance and retail mortgages, and deposits into consumer, business and stored value accounts. Islamic funding and financing products have their own modules, which makes the product list unusually granular for a SaaS core.
The imprint names Mambu B.V., Piet Heinkade 55, register number 862181227, and the homepage says hundreds of customers in 65+ countries use the platform. Public API reference, release notes, a community and a status page are linked from the site. Pricing and hosting regions are not published, and the imprint does not say which group company signs customer contracts, so confirm that point in the tender.
What Mambu does well
- Separate modules for lending, deposits and payments
- Islamic banking products included
- Public API reference and release notes
- Dutch registered company with imprint
- Used across banks, neobanks and lenders
Where Mambu falls short
- No public pricing
- Hosting region not published
- SaaS only
- Contracting entity for customers to be confirmed
Standout feature. A lender can start with one product module and add the next later, with the API documentation public from day one.
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Pricing on request
Demo on request
Best for: Banks, neobanks, PSPs and BaaS users that want an EU-hosted SaaS core
Skaleet in Boulogne-Billancourt offers a SaaS core with three entry points: a greenfield launch it calls Speedboat, a move from BaaS to SaaS, and legacy migration. The standalone modules cover accounts and cards, payments, loans and savings, customers and process automation, on an event-driven, API-centric design. The vendor gives implementation as 4 to 6 months depending on the use case and releases every two months.
On hosting, the vendor says it runs EU-based private-cloud data centres that are not subject to the US Cloud Act. The legal entity, SKALEET with SIREN 484939038, is listed in the French company register; the website shows only a copyright line and no legal notice. The homepage mentions a Euromoney award for 2026, a vendor statement, and the customer stories name Caisse d'Epargne Hauts de France and SSP. On-premise delivery is not offered.
What Skaleet does well
- EU data centres, stated outside the US Cloud Act
- Modules can be activated one by one
- Event-driven and API-centric
- Implementation stated as 4 to 6 months
- Bi-monthly releases
Where Skaleet falls short
- No public pricing
- No on-premise option
- Legal notice absent from the site
- Smaller reference base
Standout feature. It is the core in this category whose main pitch is EU-based private cloud outside the US Cloud Act.
London, United Kingdom
Pricing on request
Demo on request
Best for: Banks, building societies and non-bank lenders replacing a legacy core
10x Banking in London describes its platform as a fourth-generation core and publishes a practical guide on how to buy one. The solution pages address alternative finance, customer-owned banks and building societies, embedded finance, and retail and personal banking, on a SaaS platform that covers retail and corporate accounts together.
Three AI functions are listed: AI Build, which drafts product configuration from a plain-English brief, AI Learn, which answers questions from live data, and AI Migrate, which maps legacy data.
The homepage quotes more than 100 million accounts, 99.99 percent uptime and over 10,000 transactions per second, all vendor figures with no audit linked. Case studies include Chase UK, West Brom Building Society, Westpac and Remara. The entity is 10x Banking Technology Limited, company number 10146101; no hosting region or price is stated.
What 10x Banking does well
- Serves mutuals and building societies
- AI tooling aimed at migration
- Retail and corporate on one platform
- Published practical buying guide
- Named UK registered entity
Where 10x Banking falls short
- No public pricing
- Hosting region unstated
- SaaS only
- Scale figures are self-reported
Standout feature. The AI Migrate function targets the legacy-data mapping step that decides whether a core replacement stalls.
Grand-Lancy (Geneva), Switzerland
Pricing on request
Demo on request
Best for: Banks of any size that want a long-established core with on-premise, cloud and SaaS options
Temenos is organised as four product families: core banking, digital banking, payments and wealth management, plus an innovation platform for AI and cloud. Segment pages cover retail, corporate, wealth, credit unions, community banks and Islamic banking. The vendor claims its Core Banking is used by over 950 banks and lists 52 offices in 36 countries.
The privacy policy names Temenos Headquarters SA in Grand-Lancy, Geneva, as controller, with Temenos Systems Ireland Ltd as EU representative; Switzerland holds an adequacy decision but is outside the EEA. Deployment can be on-premises, in the cloud or as Temenos SaaS, and delivery, sales and technology partner programmes are listed, so most projects involve an integrator. Prices are not published, and a small lender may pay for modules it never uses.
What Temenos does well
- On-premise, cloud and SaaS all offered
- Large stated customer base
- Swiss controller with EU representative named
- Segment versions for credit unions and Islamic banking
- Wealth and payments in the same portfolio
Where Temenos falls short
- No public pricing
- Partner-led implementations add cost
- Large suite for small institutions
- Many group entities worldwide
Standout feature. It is the only vendor in this category that lets a bank choose between its own servers, a cloud and SaaS for the same product family.
London, United Kingdom
Pricing on request
Demo on request
Best for: Banks launching a new digital bank or a sidecar proposition on a proven platform
Engine by Starling packages core banking products, a management portal for operations and mobile SDKs for the customer app as a pre-integrated digital bank. The vendor says the platform has run Starling since 2016, and quotes Starling's 2025 annual report figures of 6.2 million group accounts and 79 percent active customers, which were not checked here. The site describes a real-time, always-on cloud-native platform.
The entity is Engine by Starling Limited, England and Wales, number 13925405, with a registered office at London Fruit and Wool Exchange and a Starling Bank copyright in the footer. It lists six locations and over 400 staff. Salt Bank is the featured customer, with its CEO saying Engine let it meet a 12-month project timeline. Hosting and pricing are not published, and the sister-bank relationship means fewer independent references.
What Engine by Starling does well
- Runs a live UK bank
- Management portal and mobile SDKs included
- Real-time, 24/7 platform as described
- Named UK company with registered office
- Customer case study (Salt Bank)
Where Engine by Starling falls short
- No public pricing
- Tied to Starling Bank group
- Hosting region unstated
- Fewer independent references
Standout feature. The platform's proof is a live consumer bank run by the same group that sells it.
Mariehamn (Åland), Finland
Pricing on request
Demo on request
Best for: Nordic and European banks that want a modular transactional core with payments and lending
Crosskey in Mariehamn, Åland, sells a Transactional Banking Platform that connects onboarding, customer data, account management, payments, credit origination and loan servicing. The customer module carries AML and KYC checks, and lending includes configurable scoring and approval rules. Banks can deploy capabilities independently or combine them into a full solution.
The group also lists a Cards Platform, a Wealth Management Platform, open banking APIs, Verification of Payee and a Swift Service Bureau.
The privacy statement names Crosskey Banking Solutions Ab Ltd, EU ID FI 19066720, and says personal data on the website is processed inside the EU/EEA as a rule. The vendor cites over 20 years of experience and talks about implementing, operating and developing together with customers. The site has no technical documentation, price or stated deployment model, and its wording is Nordic-regulated.
What Crosskey does well
- Modular capabilities deployable independently
- Payments, accounts and lending on one system
- Cards, wealth and Swift services in the same group
- EU-based processing stated for website data
- Finnish company with a clear imprint
Where Crosskey falls short
- No public pricing
- Nordic focus
- No public technical documentation
- Deployment model not detailed
Standout feature. It sells payments, deposits and lending as one connected platform that still deploys capability by capability.
Courbevoie (registered in Annecy), France
Pricing on request
Demo on request
Best for: Banks and building societies modernising a core domain by domain
SBS pitches a progressive exit from legacy: keep the stable core running, shift domain by domain to a modular, API-first, cloud-native core, and run old and new in parallel. The core is advertised with more than 250 modules across deposits, lending, savings, payments, cards, open banking and regulatory reporting, with a lending range that includes asset finance and wholesale financing.
The terms of use give share capital of €161,866,820, registration in Annecy under 450 792 999 and headquarters at Courbevoie, and the footer says SBS is part of 74Software. Regional editions differ: Core Amplitude for Africa, the Core Mortgage and Savings Suite in the UK, Core SAB in France. Client numbers differ between pages (280+ on one, 1,500+ on another), so we cite neither. Prices and hosting are not published.
What SBS does well
- 250+ modules in the core
- Staged move from legacy to modular
- Lending and asset finance products included
- Registered French company data published
- Regional editions for UK, France and Africa
Where SBS falls short
- No public pricing
- Inconsistent client figures on site
- Product depends on regional edition
- Part of a larger group
Standout feature. Its migration story is explicitly parallel: one domain at a time, old and new core together.
Meyrin (Geneva), Switzerland
Pricing on request
Demo on request
Best for: Private banks, custodians and fund administrators that need a front-to-back platform
ERI Bancaire's OLYMPIC Banking System is described as fully integrated from front to back and fully configurable. The expertise list covers core banking, savings and loans, portfolio management, advisory, custody, fund administration and order management, with CRM, client onboarding and loan management alongside. The platform therefore suits institutions whose business is investment as much as accounts.
The vendor says about 400 banks and financial institutions in over 60 countries have used it over 30 years.
ERI Bancaire S.A. is in Meyrin near Geneva, and the offices page also lists ERI Bancaire Luxembourg S.A., ERI Bancaire Paris, ERI Bancaire Madrid SL, ERI Banking Software Limited in London and a Singapore entity, so the signing company depends on the country. SaaS and cloud delivery are described, with ISO 20022 and real-time straight-through processing. Hosting regions and prices are not published.
What ERI OLYMPIC Banking System does well
- Covers wealth, custody and fund administration
- Front-to-back integrated platform
- SaaS delivery available
- Offices in Switzerland, Luxembourg, France, Spain and UK
- Serves central banks and credit unions too
Where ERI OLYMPIC Banking System falls short
- No public pricing
- Contracting entity varies by country
- Hosting regions unlisted
- Less aimed at neobanks
Standout feature. Custody and fund administration come inside the same product as the core, not as a separate purchase.
Zurich, Switzerland
Pricing on request
Demo on request
Best for: Wealth managers and private banks that want one platform for front to back
Avaloq runs a bank's banking and wealth business on one integrated cloud-based platform, according to its site. The range covers digital channels, client management, investment management, trading, lending and credit, payments, treasury, risk and compliance, with AI agents listed for automation and a partnership with Aladdin by BlackRock. Banking Operations are offered as business process as a service, alongside managed services and an academy.
The terms identify Avaloq Group Ltd., Allmendstrasse 140, Zurich, under Swiss law with Zurich courts. The vendor claims 170+ clients in 35 countries, USD 5.1 trillion in assets on the software and R&D above 20 percent of annual software revenue. Ownership, founding year and hosting regions are not stated, and the website blocks automated reading, so only the home, legal and information pages could be checked.
What Avaloq does well
- Wealth and private banking depth
- Operations as a service available
- Swiss law and Zurich courts in the terms
- Partnership with Aladdin by BlackRock
- AI agents listed for automation
Where Avaloq falls short
- No public pricing
- Ownership not stated
- Wealth-centric
- Little technical documentation on the site
Standout feature. A bank can outsource its banking operations to the vendor that also supplies the platform.
Vilnius, Lithuania
SaaS: first 3 months EUR 10,000 flat, then EUR 5,500 per month plus EUR 0.05 per transaction; source-code licence on request
Demo on request
Best for: Fintechs, EMIs and PSPs launching a product, and banks that want to own the source code
SDK.finance in Vilnius sells a transaction platform for payment products and a standalone general ledger that converts business events into double-entry journal entries. The core banking page covers individual and corporate accounts, cards and IBANs, KYC/KYB integration and a merchant side, with 650+ REST APIs, a back-office admin panel and iOS and Android apps in the package.
It is the only vendor here to publish a price: €10,000 flat for three months, then €5,500 per month plus €0.05 per transaction. A source-code licence for the client's own infrastructure, with 12 months of support and updates, is available on request. The site lists PCI DSS Level 1 Service Provider status and ISO 27001:2022. TechFin UAB, registration 305153451, says it is not a bank or payment institution, so the licence has to come from the client or a partner.
What SDK.finance does well
- Published SaaS price
- Source-code licence available
- 650+ REST APIs
- Back-office and apps included
- Lithuanian company with registration number
Where SDK.finance falls short
- Not a universal bank core in the traditional sense
- Source-code price on request
- Client needs its own licence
- Smaller vendor
Standout feature. It combines a public SaaS tariff with the option to buy the source code.
Warsaw, Poland
Pricing on request
Demo on request
Best for: Businesses launching banking-as-a-service products without their own licence
Vodeno in Warsaw combines a cloud-native platform with access to a full banking licence through its partnership with Aion Bank. Its HiLo core uses smart contracts, which the vendor describes as self-executing code on blockchain technology, with a no-code visual designer and AI help in building contracts. Services include digital onboarding, accounts with European IBANs, lending and BNPL, payments with live FX and card issuing with Mastercard.
The privacy policy names Vodeno sp. z o.o., KRS 0000728418, with share capital of PLN 218,655,400. The vendor claims 500+ controls and compliance with EBA, GDPR and ISO 27001, and offers outsourced transaction monitoring and reporting. When checked, the website footer showed 2024 and the home page carried placeholder text. No price is published, and the regulated relationship runs through the partner bank, not through Vodeno.
What Vodeno does well
- Licence access through partner bank
- No-code product design
- Cards, FX and onboarding in one stack
- Polish company with registry data
- AI-assisted smart-contract creation
Where Vodeno falls short
- Website partly out of date
- No public pricing
- Licence is a partner's, not Vodeno's
- Blockchain-based approach is unusual
Standout feature. It is the only option here that brings access to a partner bank's licence with the platform.