Every European business credit and company data provider reviewed
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Packages (Worldwide, Europe, UK and Ireland) on request via 'Get Quote'; free trial offered
Demo on request
Best for: Finance teams that need credit scores and limits on customers and suppliers across many countries
Creditsafe is the Cardiff-based credit bureau operated by Creditsafe Business Solutions Limited (Companies House 03836192), and its report is the closest in shape to a Dun & Bradstreet file: a score, a credit limit, monitoring and compliance screening on one platform. The packages page offers Worldwide with 100 worldwide reports, Europe with 50 European reports, and UK and Ireland, each with monitoring, no win no fee debt recovery and bank verification.
The Companies House persons-with-significant-control page shows Safe Information Group Cyprus Limited holding 75% or more. The site footer states an FCA reference number. Creditsafe says it holds credit information on over 430 million businesses and runs 26 offices in 16 countries, which are the vendor's figures. Every package button reads Get Quote, so there is no list price to compare.
What Creditsafe does well
- Entity, register number and ownership chain are traceable in Companies House
- Three regional packages avoid paying for worldwide coverage when only Europe is needed
- Monitoring, debt recovery and bank verification listed in every package
- Compliance modules (PEP, sanctions, ID checks) on the same platform
- API plus Salesforce, Sage 50 and HubSpot integrations
Where Creditsafe falls short
- No prices published, every package is a quote
- Hosting location is not stated on the pages reviewed
- UK entity sits outside the EU and relies on the adequacy decision
- Sales and marketing data covers 13 countries, narrower than the credit side
Standout feature. Creditsafe is the only provider here that sells a worldwide package alongside a Europe-only one.
Vienna, Austria
Members from €33.20 (Compact), €66.90 (Standard), €99.20 (Professional); guests via Business Search €60, €85, €105; excl. 20% VAT
Demo on request
Best for: Companies trading with Austrian and Central European customers that want a local registry-backed report at a listed price
KSV1870 is the creditor association of Austria, and KSV1870 Holding AG in Vienna (Firmenbuch 303439, Handelsgericht Wien) is the company that sells its reports. The product page shows three levels of company report, Compact, Standard and Professional, at €33.20, €66.90 and €99.20 for members, with higher levels adding payment behaviour, collection data and several years of key figures.
Guests can buy through Business Search at €60, €85 and €105, excluding 20% VAT, and the report arrives by email. Single-purpose reports are priced apart: €7.55 for an insolvency report, from €11.50 for a PEP and sanctions check, from €10.20 for a beneficial owner report. The site mentions 35,000 members and the Business Search country selector lists nine countries.
What KSV1870 does well
- Prices for each report tier are public
- Austrian Aktiengesellschaft with a Firmenbuch number in the imprint
- Compliance check, beneficial owner report and insolvency report as separate products
- Business Search lets non-members buy a single report without a contract
- Covers nine countries from one search form
Where KSV1870 falls short
- Coverage ends in Central Europe, no worldwide reports
- Member prices require joining the association
- Site and sample reports are mostly in German
- Hosting location and API access not stated on the pages reviewed
Standout feature. KSV1870 is the only provider here that prints a euro price for every report tier.
Hamburg, Germany
Founded 2011
Basic €49 per month or €490 per year; Plus €1,250, Pro €2,250, Max €3,950 per year; Enterprise on request; excl. VAT
Demo on request
Best for: Analysts, journalists and compliance staff researching company structures and accounts across Europe
North Data is a Hamburg search engine over European company registers and published annual accounts, run by North Data GmbH, which started in 2011 as Biz-Q UG. The country filter lists 27 places, from Austria and Belgium to Israel, Switzerland and Ukraine, and a separate filter flags tax havens such as Jersey, Malta and Monaco.
Plans run from Basic at €49 per month (€490 per year) to Max at €3,950 per year, scaling by watchlist entries (100 to 5,000), daily CSV exports and users. An ownership and flags module is a paid extra, listed at +€290 on Basic. An API and quarterly exports are sold separately. North Data shows what registers disclose, so there is no credit limit.
What North Data does well
- Plan prices are public, from €49 per month
- Wide European country list including Israel and Switzerland
- Watchlists, exports and Power Dossiers support repeat research
- API and quarterly exports for data teams
- Founder and controller named in the privacy policy
Where North Data falls short
- No credit scoring or payment data
- Ownership and Flags module is an extra cost
- Coverage depth depends on each register
- HRB number and hosting location not seen in the pages reviewed
Standout feature. North Data is the only provider here built around annual accounts and watchlists for researchers, at a price a single analyst can pay.
London, United Kingdom
API plans: Essentials £2,250 per year, Starter £6,600, Basic £12,000; Enterprise bulk delivery on request
Demo on request
Best for: Compliance and data teams that need verified legal-entity records to feed onboarding, KYC or analytics systems
OpenCorporates is a legal-entity database run by OpenCorporates Ltd, registered in England as company 07444723 with an address on Cornwall Avenue in London. The homepage claims data from official sources in more than 140 jurisdictions, which is the vendor's figure, and lists Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Israel and Luxembourg among them.
Access is by API: Essentials at £2,250 per year for 500 calls a month, Starter at £6,600 for 2,500 and Basic at £12,000 for 5,000, with Enterprise adding bulk delivery by SFTP. Journalists, NGOs and universities can ask for free access. The terms footer lists US federal identifiers, so confirm the contracting entity on the order form.
What OpenCorporates does well
- API plan prices are public
- Records tied to official register sources
- Bulk delivery with jurisdiction selection
- Free access route for public-benefit projects
- English company number and registered office stated in the terms
Where OpenCorporates falls short
- Smallest paid plan is £2,250 per year
- API quotas are small (500 calls per month on Essentials)
- No credit ratings or payment data
- Prices in pounds, not euros
Standout feature. OpenCorporates is the only provider here that delivers legal-entity data in bulk files for the buyer to load into its own systems.
Zurich, Switzerland
Founded 2001
Credit report valued at CHF 19.00 (one included in Premium membership); report packs of 10 to 500 queries; membership price not seen
Demo on request
Best for: Anyone who needs to check Swiss companies, directors and credit standing
Moneyhouse is the register and business-information service of Neue Zürcher Zeitung AG in Zurich (UID CHE-106.838.812), which began in 2001 as Credita Management AG. The service searches the Swiss Handelsregister and sells a credit report, a payment behaviour report, an economic report, a participations report and a debt enforcement report.
The membership page values a credit report at CHF 19.00 and says one is included in the Premium membership. Further reports are sold singly or in packs of 10, 20, 40, 80, 250 or 500. A Public API, company lists and purchasable addresses are listed, with no prices visible to us. Coverage is Switzerland only, and the directory is organised by canton.
What Moneyhouse does well
- Parent company and UID are named in the imprint
- Clear split of report types, from credit to debt enforcement
- Single-report price (CHF 19.00 value) and packs up to 500
- Public API and company lists for integration
- Published since 2004, with a stated company history
Where Moneyhouse falls short
- Switzerland only
- Premium membership fee not seen
- API and list prices not published in the pages reviewed
- Pages mostly in German
Standout feature. Moneyhouse is the only provider here whose credit reports come from a newspaper publisher's register service.
Bologna, Italy
Founded 1988
Not published, contact CRIF
Demo on request
Best for: Banks, insurers and large corporates that need credit bureau data and decision platforms across several countries
CRIF is the Bologna group CRIF S.p.A., established in 1988, which sells business information, credit bureau services and decision platforms. The Business Information page describes a mix of proprietary, public and alternative data, including geospatial and digital footprint data, used to judge creditworthiness at home and abroad.
The group page counts more than 10k financial institutions, 450 insurance companies and 90k business clients, according to the vendor. The footer states a management system certified by DNV to ISO 9001, ISO 45001, ISO/IEC 27001 and ISO 14001. The country menu includes Austria, Germany, Italy, Spain, Poland, Romania, Switzerland and the UK, plus markets in Asia and the Americas. Pricing is not published.
What CRIF does well
- Named S.p.A. with a stated registered office
- Established in 1988 according to the group page
- ISO 27001 and three other ISO certifications listed
- Platform and data under one group
- Wide European country coverage in the menu
Where CRIF falls short
- No published prices
- Enterprise focus, little for small buyers
- Product detail on company reports is thin on the public pages
- Group also operates in Asia and the Americas, so check the contracting entity
Standout feature. CRIF is the only provider here that offers a composable credit lifecycle platform (ORCHESTRA) next to company data.
Paris La Défense, France
Not published, demo on request
Demo on request
Best for: French credit managers and marketing teams working mainly with French companies
Ellisphere is the French risk and data company Ellisphere S.A.S., registered at Tour Franklin in Paris La Défense (RCS Nanterre 482755741, share capital €2,519,229). ELLIPRO covers client risk with a separate supplier risk version, and credit analysts handle investigations that data alone cannot settle.
Around the risk products sit TARGET for bulk company and contact exports, CONNECT for CRM enrichment, QUALIFY for data cleaning and a SHARE API feed. The site features open data themes such as RGE-labelled companies, French Tech and patents. The whole site and legal notice are in French, no prices are published and coverage outside France is not documented.
What Ellisphere does well
- Legal notice gives capital, RCS number and address
- Products grouped by team
- Both customer and supplier risk offered
- API feed and CRM connector for data teams
- Analyst investigations available
Where Ellisphere falls short
- No published pricing
- Site is French only
- Shareholding not stated on the pages reviewed
- Cross-border coverage unclear
Standout feature. Ellisphere is the only provider here that links French risk scores to prospecting lists and CRM enrichment in French.
Vilvoorde, Belgium
7-day trial without credit card; prices not seen in the pages reviewed
Demo on request
Best for: Belgian SMEs, accountants and credit controllers checking Belgian counterparties
Companyweb is the Belgian company information service of Companyweb BV, based on Leuvensesteenweg in Vilvoorde and registered in the KBO under 0869.703.978. Followed companies trigger alerts when something changes, and a credit check and payment experience tool add solvency and behaviour signals.
KYC reports and PEP and sanction checks serve customers with anti-money-laundering duties, and integrations connect the data to business software. The terms call the solvency and liquidity information a subjective interpretation from a statistical model. The homepage offers a 7-day trial without a credit card, though the prices page could not be read.
What Companyweb does well
- Enterprise number and VAT number stated in the terms
- 7-day trial without a card
- Monitoring, credit check and KYC under one login
- Mobile apps for iOS and Android
- Dutch, French and English site versions
Where Companyweb falls short
- Prices not found in the pages reviewed
- Ownership not stated
- Belgium-centred
- Credit view described by its own terms as a model-based interpretation
Standout feature. Companyweb is the only provider here whose free trial needs no credit card.
Neuss, Germany
Not published, see website
Demo on request
Best for: German companies that want a long-established credit reference with local advisers
Creditreform is the German credit information association Verband der Vereine Creditreform e.V. in Neuss (Vereinsregister Neuss 57 VR 506). Its privacy notice describes credit information on persons and companies, a collection business, address and marketing data and the company listings at firmeneintrag.creditreform.de.
The homepage links to a locations page and personal consultation, and the MyCrefo app and a self-disclosure product called Meine Bonität are listed. The server refused part of our automated reading, so monitoring, API access, group structure and prices are unconfirmed. The privacy notice allows transfers outside the EU under standard contractual clauses.
What Creditreform does well
- Association with Vereinsregister number in the imprint
- National and international reports
- Collection services alongside reports
- Mobile app for quick lookups
- Self-disclosure report for your own score
Where Creditreform falls short
- No prices published
- Monitoring and API not mentioned on the pages read
- Founding year and office count not stated on the pages read
- Site blocks automated fetching, so details are thinner
Standout feature. Creditreform is the only provider here organised as a German association with local advisers and its own collection business.
London, United Kingdom
Founded 2015
Quote-based: Standard and Pro plans with 5 seats included, credits per seat
Demo on request
Best for: Outbound sales teams that need prospect contacts and phone numbers with documented opt-out handling
Cognism is a London B2B data company, Cognism Limited, registered in England and Wales as company 09392705 and incorporated in 2015. Its product is a database of contacts and companies with firmographic, technographic and signal-based filters, which makes it a sales tool and not a credit file.
The privacy policy names Cognism d.o.o. in Croatia as joint controller, and a Boston office is listed next to the UK entity. The site states ISO 27001, ISO 27701 and SOC 2 Type II. Phone data is screened against Do Not Call lists in several countries. Pricing is quote-only, with Standard and Pro plans that include five seats.
What Cognism does well
- Do Not Call screening across many countries
- ISO 27001, ISO 27701 and SOC 2 Type II stated
- Mobile numbers and intent signals on Pro
- CRM enrichment, API and MCP access
- Documented opt-out through a Privacy Centre
Where Cognism falls short
- Pricing is quote-only
- British, not EU-established
- Priced for larger teams with a data budget
- US office alongside the UK entity
Standout feature. Cognism is the only provider here whose product is mobile numbers screened against Do Not Call lists.