European Alternatives to Coursera
Looking for a European alternative to Coursera? Coursera, Inc. is a California company; for users in the EU, EFTA and UK its terms are with Coursera Europe B.V. in the Netherlands under Dutch law, but its privacy notice names Coursera, Inc. as the data controller and says the site is primarily run from servers in the United States.
Eleven European providers cover the ground: public and university MOOC platforms (FUN MOOC, openHPI, OpenLearn, FutureLearn), a free open-access school (Alison), a diploma provider (OpenClassrooms), skills and coding apps (Mimo, Lecturio) and corporate libraries (Masterplan, GoodHabitz), plus Kiron for refugees, from France, Germany, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Austria and the Netherlands.
How we rank these tools — 4-step process
-
1
European ownership, verified
The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA or Switzerland, and processes customer data in Europe. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.
-
2
Category fit and hands-on review
What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.
-
3
Compliance and pricing check
GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.
-
4
Position on this page
Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. It never buys a good review: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Paid placement can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. Editorial policy
11 European Alternatives to Coursera
FUN MOOC
Public French MOOC platform run by France Université Numérique; courses are free, with optional paid certificates
openHPI
Free IT and computer-science courses from the Hasso Plattner Institute in Potsdam, in English and German
Alison
Galway free-learning site with thousands of courses, paid certificates and an ad-free Premium plan
OpenLearn
Free courses from The Open University, with a free digital badge or statement of participation on most
Mimo
Vienna coding-learning app and website with a free plan, career paths and certificates on paid plans
Lecturio
Leipzig medical learning platform with a 7-day free start and published monthly plans, under German law
Masterplan
Berlin learning platform for companies with a library of over 11,000 learning elements; sold to businesses only
GoodHabitz
Eindhoven corporate training library, priced on request, with terms under Dutch law
FutureLearn
London online-learning company registered in England; its site blocks automated access, so offer and prices are not verified here
OpenClassrooms
Paris SAS whose terms send disputes to the Paris Court of Appeal area; its course offer renders only in the browser
Kiron
Berlin non-profit offering 700+ free self-paced courses for refugees, migrants and underserved communities
Key takeaways
- For users in the EU, EFTA and UK, Coursera's terms are with Coursera Europe B.V. under Dutch law; the privacy notice still names Coursera, Inc. as the data controller, with servers primarily in the United States.
- FUN MOOC (France) says its MOOCs are free and publishes that it is hosted by OVH in Roubaix, with optional paid certificates at some institutions.
- openHPI (Potsdam) offers free IT and computer-science courses in English and German, and OpenLearn (The Open University) gives a free badge on most courses.
- Alison (Galway) is free to learn on, with paid certificates and an ad-free Premium plan, under Irish law.
- Masterplan and GoodHabitz sell to employers only; Lecturio is for medical learners; Mimo is for people learning to code.
- For FutureLearn and OpenClassrooms only the company details could be checked; their offers and prices could not be read for this page.
Why people leave Coursera
Coursera is where most people meet an online university course. It hosts courses from universities and companies (its subscription page speaks of more than 350 of them) and sells access by subscription or by course. Its Coursera Plus subscription offers a 7-day free trial and a yearly price with a 14-day money-back guarantee; the euro amounts it shows depend on your location, so none are quoted here.
The legal picture is less one-sided than it looks. If you live in the EU, an EFTA country or the UK, Coursera's terms say the services are managed by Coursera Europe B.V. in the Netherlands and governed by Dutch law, and mandatory consumer protections stay in place.
What stays American is the data side: the privacy notice names Coursera, Inc. as the data controller, says the site is primarily operated on servers in the United States, and relies on the EU-US Data Privacy Framework for transfers.
This page is about learning from existing courses. It does not cover tools for building your own academy, which are on the Moodle, Teachable, Thinkific and Docebo pages. Eleven European providers qualify, from free public MOOCs to diploma providers and corporate libraries, and they are very different from each other.
- The contract is Dutch, the controller is American For Europeans, Coursera Europe B.V. is the party in the terms and Dutch law applies. The privacy notice, however, makes Coursera, Inc. the data controller, runs the site mainly from US servers, and uses the Data Privacy Framework for transfers. If you want both the contract and the data handling in Europe, the public providers below, such as FUN MOOC, which publishes that it is hosted by OVH in Roubaix, answer that more directly.
- The best content is not always behind a subscription Several European providers give courses away. FUN MOOC states that its MOOCs are free, openHPI offers free IT courses, OpenLearn gives a free badge or statement of participation on most courses, and Alison is built around free courses with paid certificates. Coursera's subscription page sells certificates, so if all you want is the knowledge, a European alternative can cost nothing.
- A certificate and a qualification are different things A Coursera certificate shows that you finished a course. Some alternatives here aim higher or lower. OpenClassrooms runs its own platform under a French SAS and its terms point disputes to the Paris courts. Alison and Mimo sell completion certificates. Kiron offers free courses to a defined group. Decide whether you need a credential an employer will check or only the learning.
- Employers buy libraries, not courses Coursera also sells to companies. The European equivalents are business-only: Masterplan sells to non-consumers under its AGB, and GoodHabitz sells employer licences on request under Dutch terms. If a business is the buyer, those two are the comparison, and the learner-facing providers are not.
What you have to replace, not just match
Start from the course, not the platform. Write down the three or four Coursera courses you actually use or plan to take, then look for the same subject at FUN MOOC, openHPI, OpenLearn, Alison or FutureLearn. Many topics, including computing and general subjects, have a European course that covers them; a specific Google or IBM professional certificate will not.
Keep your records. Download or screenshot your transcripts and certificates from Coursera before you cancel, because they are tied to your account there. Credentials from a European provider are held by that provider, so keep a copy of those as well.
The alternatives compared
| Position | Tool | Headquarters | Pricing | Jurisdiction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| #6 | Lecturio | Leipzig, Germany | Individual subscriptions from about €20 per month; institutional licensing on request | EU (Germany) |
| #7 | Masterplan | Essen, Germany | Per-employee licensing, quoted on request | EU (Germany) |
| #8 | GoodHabitz | Eindhoven, Netherlands | Per-employee annual licensing, quoted on request | EU (Netherlands) |
| #9 | FutureLearn | London, United Kingdom | Many courses free to audit / certificates and microcredentials paid / degrees at university rates | United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA) |
| #10 | OpenClassrooms | Paris, France | Free courses / diploma paths from about €300 per month, often funded by CPF or employer | EU (France) |
How each alternative compares to Coursera
FUN MOOC
the free French public platform for university courses
Best for: Learners who can follow courses in French and want university material at no cost
FUN MOOC is published by France Université Numérique, at 21 rue des Ardennes in Paris (SIREN 130 021 256), a public-interest body of French higher-education institutions. The site says it runs on Open edX or Moodle and is hosted by OVH in Roubaix, France.
Its FAQ says the MOOCs available on FUN are free, that a badge may be offered free on completion, and that some institutions charge for a certificate. It also sells paid professional training that leads to micro-certificates, with the price on each course page. The English interface exists, but many courses are in French.
What FUN MOOC does better than Coursera
- Courses are free, where Coursera's subscription is aimed at certificates
- Hosting in France is stated on the legal page
- Run by higher-education institutions, not a venture-backed company
- Free badges on completion for many courses
Where FUN MOOC is a step down from Coursera
- Much smaller English-language catalogue
- No equivalent of the big-company professional certificates
- Terms refer to French law, but a specific governing-law clause was not read
- Certificate prices vary by institution
Standout against Coursera. It is the one provider here that states, on its legal page, who hosts the platform and where.
openHPI
free IT and computer-science courses from a German institute
Best for: People who want a rigorous IT or AI course for free, in English or German
openHPI is the education platform of the Hasso Plattner Institute for Digital Engineering gGmbH in Potsdam (Potsdam district court, HRB 12184). Its imprint names three managing directors, and its site title reads "Free Online Courses in Computer Science, IT & AI".
Course pages show a Record of Achievement for many courses and offer self-paced and scheduled formats. Its terms of use page returned an error and the cost of any proof was not stated on pages I could read, so verify both before enrolling.
What openHPI does better than Coursera
- Free courses from a university-linked institute
- German non-profit company with a commercial-register entry
- Topics on its site include AI, cybersecurity and design thinking
- Offered in English and German
Where openHPI is a step down from Coursera
- Mostly computing topics, far narrower than Coursera
- Terms of use and certificate costs not verified
- Catalogue size was not counted, and looks far smaller than Coursera's
- No industry-partner certificate programmes were seen on the pages read
Standout against Coursera. It combines a free catalogue with an institute that can be looked up in the German commercial register.
Alison
a big free catalogue with paid certificates, from Ireland
Best for: People who want many short, free courses on practical topics and only occasionally need a certificate
Alison is operated by Capernaum Limited, trading as Alison and located in Galway, Ireland. Its terms are subject to Irish law and the exclusive jurisdiction of the Irish courts.
Learning is free. Certificates and diplomas are bought, and an ad-free Premium subscription is sold for a term chosen at checkout, with a note that fees may differ by jurisdiction. Its own figures claim more than 6,000 courses and 50 million learners; I could not verify them independently.
What Alison does better than Coursera
- Courses are free to take
- Irish company with Irish law in its terms
- Large number of short courses on practical topics
- Courses in many fields, from IT to health
Where Alison is a step down from Coursera
- Course depth and rigour vary, and university brands are rare
- Advertising on the free tier
- Certificates are paid
- The scale figures come from Alison itself
Standout against Coursera. It is built around the idea that learning is free and only the proof costs money.
OpenLearn
free learning from The Open University in the UK
Best for: Curious learners who want free university-made material with a badge to show for it
OpenLearn is run by The Open University, incorporated by Royal Charter (RC 000391) in the United Kingdom, and registered as a charity in England and Wales and in Scotland. It offers hundreds of free courses, articles, videos and interactives across nine subject areas.
A free digital badge or statement of participation is available on most courses. The page does not offer graded credit, and I could not read a terms page, so the contract basis is not stated here. The UK is outside the EU, though inside Europe.
What OpenLearn does better than Coursera
- Free courses made by a recognised university
- Free badge or statement of participation on most courses
- Study-skills and work-skills material alongside the courses
- A public-interest institution rather than a company
Where OpenLearn is a step down from Coursera
- No graded credit through this free route
- Smaller catalogue than Coursera
- UK-based, so outside the EU and the EEA
- Terms of use not read for this page
Standout against Coursera. It is the university-run option with a free badge, no payment step at all.
Mimo
a Vienna coding-learning app with a free plan
Best for: Beginners who want to learn programming in short interactive lessons on a phone
Mimo is provided by Mimo GmbH, Währinger Straße 2-4/48, Vienna. Its terms apply Austrian law, with the protection of consumers living elsewhere preserved.
Its pricing page lists a free Basic plan, Mimo Pro for mobile with certificates of completion, and Mimo Max for web and mobile with guided projects and professional certificates. A 7-day free trial applies to the yearly subscription only. It teaches coding career paths (front end, back end, full stack, Python), not general subjects.
What Mimo does better than Coursera
- Free plan to start with
- Austrian company with its address in its terms
- Bite-sized lessons on a phone
- Clear career paths in coding
Where Mimo is a step down from Coursera
- Coding only; no business, health or science courses
- Certificates need a paid plan
- Not a university-backed credential
- Subscription prices not verified here
Standout against Coursera. It teaches in the app first, which suits a short daily habit more than a long course.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Coursera is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. EU.
- Source code. Closed source, as Coursera is.
- Independently checked. GDPR.
Best for: Medical and nursing students who want video lectures and exam prep
Lecturio is provided by Lecturio GmbH, Käthe-Kollwitz-Str. 1, Leipzig. Its terms are subject to German law, excluding the UN sales convention, with a defined venue for business customers.
Its medical pricing page offers a 7-day free start and Basic and Premium plans billed monthly, every three months or yearly. Premium adds an exam-style question bank. The site also lists academic diplomas and certificates of advanced studies that earn ECTS credits. Prices are not quoted here.
What Lecturio does better than Coursera
- Deep medical content that a general platform does not cover
- German company under German law
- Free start with no obligation
- Academic credits available through some programmes
Where Lecturio is a step down from Coursera
- Medical and health topics only
- Paid after the first week
- Prices not verified here
- Not a general-purpose alternative to Coursera
Standout against Coursera. It is built for one demanding subject area, and it publishes its plan structure clearly.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Coursera is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. Germany.
- Source code. Closed source, as Coursera is.
- Independently checked. GDPR.
Best for: Companies that want to buy a ready-made learning library and platform for staff
Masterplan is provided by Masterplan com GmbH, Dircksenstr. 47, Berlin (Amtsgericht Charlottenburg, HRB 287758 B). Its AGB cover customers who are not consumers.
The homepage describes a library of more than 11,000 learning elements and video courses, with sections such as leadership, digital transformation and AI. No prices are published, and it is sold to businesses, and the AGB exclude consumers.
What Masterplan does better than Coursera
- Large library packaged for companies
- German company with a register number
- Contract terms written for business customers
- Library organised by skill areas such as leadership and AI
Where Masterplan is a step down from Coursera
- No individual access
- No published prices
- No university or degree content
- Not comparable to Coursera for personal learning
Standout against Coursera. It is a business-only library and says so in its terms.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Netherlands). Coursera is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. EU.
- Source code. Closed source, as Coursera is.
- Independently checked. GDPR.
Best for: Employers who want soft-skills and digital-skills training for staff in several languages
GoodHabitz International B.V. (Netherlands Chamber of Commerce number 87491249) is the contracting party in the terms linked from its site. Dutch law applies and disputes go to the court in the Oost-Brabant district; the version I read is dated 19 September 2022. Its About page says it is part of the Prosus family.
Its pricing page asks you to fill in a form for a custom price, so no figure exists here. It sells to companies, not to individuals.
What GoodHabitz does better than Coursera
- Dutch contract and court in the terms
- Employer licences with training in many languages
- ISO 27001 and ISO 27701 certificates stated on its compliance page
- Aimed at habits and everyday skills
Where GoodHabitz is a step down from Coursera
- Priced on request and sold to employers only
- Part of the Prosus group, which was not examined here
- Terms I read date from 2022
- No university-style courses
Standout against Coursera. It states its ISO 27001 and ISO 27701 certifications on its compliance page, which most providers here do not.
- Which law reaches it. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA). Coursera is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. UK/EU.
- Source code. Closed source, as Coursera is.
- Independently checked. GDPR, accredited microcredentials.
Best for: People already looking at UK university online learning who will check the current offer themselves
FutureLearn Limited is an active private limited company, incorporated on 10 December 2012, with its registered office at Buchanan House, 30 Holborn, London (Companies House number 08324083). That is everything verified for this page.
The site returned an access-denied error for every automated request, so the terms, the pricing and the course offer were not read. Check the site for the current offer, prices and the governing law before relying on it.
What FutureLearn does better than Coursera
- A UK company registered at Companies House
- Company details are public and easy to check
- A British contracting party rather than a US one
- Registered and active, as the official register shows
Where FutureLearn is a step down from Coursera
- Terms and prices not verified for this page
- Outside the EU and the EEA
- The offer could not be compared with Coursera
- Shown here only on its company record
Standout against Coursera. It is on the list because it is a genuine UK company in this field, and ranked below the providers that could be verified.
- Which law reaches it. EU (France). Coursera is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. EU.
- Source code. Closed source, as Coursera is.
- Independently checked. GDPR, state-recognised RNCP qualifications.
Best for: French speakers looking for training and career change paths rather than single courses
OpenClassrooms SAS is registered in Paris (SIREN 493861363, simplified joint-stock company). Its French terms of use say the platform is published by OpenClassrooms SAS and that only the courts in the jurisdiction of the Paris Court of Appeal may hear disputes.
Its homepage and course offer render only in a browser, so the programmes, prices and diplomas were not read. The terms mention an Employer space on the platform, which suggests recruiter features. Check the current offer on the site.
What OpenClassrooms does better than Coursera
- French company with a register number and Paris courts in the terms
- Full terms of use are public
- Employer features alongside learner ones
- Not a US company
Where OpenClassrooms is a step down from Coursera
- Course offer and prices not verified
- Aimed mainly at French speakers
- Not a marketplace of university courses like Coursera
- Smaller choice of subjects
Standout against Coursera. Its full terms are public, but only in French, and name the Paris courts for disputes.
Kiron
a Berlin non-profit with free learning for people on the move
Best for: Refugees, migrants and people in underserved communities looking for free learning and job-readiness support
Kiron Education gGmbH (formerly Kiron Open Higher Education) is a non-profit company at Rollbergstraße 28A in Berlin, registered at the Charlottenburg district court (HRB 171400 B).
Its site says it offers 700+ self-paced courses from 13 providers, plus job-readiness programmes, and free education for refugees, migrants and underserved communities. The numbers are its own. It is not open to everyone, so it is a narrow alternative.
What Kiron does better than Coursera
- Free for the people it is aimed at
- Non-profit with a commercial-register entry
- Courses are gathered from several providers
- Job-readiness programmes next to the courses
Where Kiron is a step down from Coursera
- Eligibility rules; not for the general public
- Course content comes from other providers
- Scale figures are Kiron's own
- Terms of use not read for this page
Standout against Coursera. It is the only provider here whose free courses come with a defined target group.
What actually breaks when you switch
Credentials do not move. A Coursera certificate lives in your Coursera account, so download or print what you want to keep, and understand that a European provider's certificate will be known by a different name to an employer.
Several of the most useful courses on Coursera are professional certificates from a specific technology company. No European provider here offers the same certificate. If you need that exact credential, keep Coursera for it and use the others for everything else.
Language is the real limit. FUN MOOC, OpenClassrooms and Kiron have large French or German parts, and Alison's and OpenLearn's are mostly English. Check the course language and the subtitle options before you enrol.
Is there a European platform with as many courses as Coursera?
Not a single one. Coursera's breadth comes from hundreds of university and company partners on one platform. The European picture is spread out: FUN MOOC for French higher education, openHPI for IT, OpenLearn and FutureLearn for UK content, Alison for volume.
Alison reports more than 6,000 courses and FUN MOOC lists many universities, but neither is a like-for-like substitute for a specific professional certificate from a US technology company.
Can I get a certificate without paying?
Sometimes. OpenLearn offers a free digital badge or statement of participation on most courses. FUN MOOC says a badge may be free on completion, while certifying courses cost money only if you choose the certificate. openHPI issues a Record of Achievement; what it costs was not stated on pages that could be read.
Alison charges for its certificates and diplomas. Mimo gives certificates of completion on its paid plans.
Which of these are for companies rather than individuals?
Masterplan and GoodHabitz. Masterplan's terms apply only to non-consumers and its library has more than 11,000 learning elements. GoodHabitz prices on request and its terms are under Dutch law, with the court in the Oost-Brabant district. If you are learning alone, they are not for you.
Do any of these keep my learning data in Europe?
Only FUN MOOC states where it is hosted (OVH in Roubaix, France), and the other pages did not say. Ask each provider for a data-processing statement if you are choosing for an organisation. Coursera's own position is that its site is primarily run from servers in the United States, with the Data Privacy Framework used for transfers.
Which one to pick
If you want free courses with a university behind them, start with FUN MOOC and openHPI, and add OpenLearn for general English-language topics. If you want volume and do not mind that depth varies, Alison is the free option from Ireland. For coding specifically, Mimo has a free plan.
If you want a credential, OpenClassrooms is the diploma-style option, but check its current offer yourself, as I could not read it. FutureLearn is on the list for the same reason: a genuine UK company in this field, but one whose offer I could not verify.
If a company is buying, Masterplan and GoodHabitz are the comparison, and both are business-only. Lecturio is the pick for medical learners, and Kiron is for the people it was built for.
Be realistic about the gap. Coursera's partner catalogue, with specific professional certificates from major companies and universities, is broader than anything on this page, and its European contract is Dutch. Switch if you want to keep both your contract and your learning data in Europe, or if free courses are enough, and keep Coursera for the one certificate you cannot get elsewhere.
Frequently Asked Questions
For free university-style courses, FUN MOOC and openHPI are the clearest answers on this page, and OpenLearn is the strongest for English-language general topics. For a diploma, look at OpenClassrooms. For a company buying learning, Masterplan or GoodHabitz. There is no single winner because the platforms do different jobs.
No. Coursera, Inc. is a California company. For users in the EU, EFTA countries and the UK, its terms say the services are managed by Coursera Europe B.V. in the Netherlands, under Dutch law. Its privacy notice still names Coursera, Inc. as the data controller.
Coursera Plus has a 7-day free trial, and its page offers a monthly or yearly price, with a 14-day money-back guarantee on the yearly option. The euro amounts it shows depend on where you are, so this page does not quote them. Individual courses and specialisations are priced separately.
Its FAQ says the MOOCs available on FUN are free, and that a badge may be offered free of charge on completion. Some institutions charge for a certificate, shown with a red "Certifying" icon, and FUN also sells paid professional training that leads to micro-certificates. Many courses are in French.
The Hasso Plattner Institute for Digital Engineering gGmbH in Potsdam, Germany, registered at the Potsdam district court under HRB 12184. The site offers free IT and computer-science courses in English and German and issues a Record of Achievement.
Capernaum Limited, trading as Alison and located in Galway, Ireland. Its terms are subject to Irish law and the exclusive jurisdiction of the Irish courts. Learning is free; certificates and an ad-free Premium plan are paid. The figures on its site (50 million learners, 6,000 courses) are its own.
For learning, yes. OpenLearn is run by The Open University, which is incorporated by Royal Charter in the United Kingdom, and offers hundreds of free courses, articles and videos with a free badge or statement of participation on most courses. The pages read do not mention graded university credit.
Mimo (Mimo GmbH, Vienna) teaches coding through an app and website, with a free plan, career paths and certificates on paid plans. Lecturio (Lecturio GmbH, Leipzig) is a medical learning platform with a 7-day free start. Neither is a general course marketplace.
No. Kiron Education gGmbH in Berlin offers free education for refugees, migrants and underserved communities, so it has eligibility rules. It is on the list as a genuine European provider of free courses, but it is not an open alternative for everybody.
FutureLearn's website refused automated access, so only its company details (FutureLearn Limited, company number 08324083, registered in London) could be checked. OpenClassrooms's terms were read, which show OpenClassrooms SAS and Paris courts, but its homepage did not load without a browser. Check both sites for the current offer and prices.
Related comparisons
Explore More European Alternatives
Discover privacy-focused European alternatives to other popular US tech services.