European Alternatives to Backblaze
Looking for a European alternative to Backblaze? Backblaze, Inc. is a San Francisco company whose terms are governed by California law, with disputes sent to individual binding arbitration or the courts of San Francisco, and with EU data transfers resting on its EU-U.S. Data Privacy Framework certification.
Twelve European tools cover the two halves of Backblaze: six S3-style object storage and cloud providers for B2 workloads, and six personal and small-business storage and backup services, from companies in France, Germany, Switzerland, Finland, Norway, Spain and Slovenia.
How we rank these tools — 4-step process
-
1
European ownership, verified
The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA or Switzerland, and processes customer data in Europe. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.
-
2
Category fit and hands-on review
What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.
-
3
Compliance and pricing check
GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.
-
4
Position on this page
Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. It never buys a good review: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Paid placement can affect which tools appear here and the order they appear in. Editorial policy
12 European Alternatives to Backblaze
Scaleway
Paris cloud with S3 Object Storage from €0.00803 per GB a month (One Zone) and 75 GB of free egress a month
Jottacloud
Norwegian backup and sync with a 5 GB free plan and unlimited personal storage at €12.90 a month
Hetzner Object Storage
German S3 storage with 1 TB of storage and 1 TB of egress in the base price, in Falkenstein, Nuremberg and Helsinki
IONOS Cloud Object Storage
S3 object storage from IONOS Cloud GmbH with free API calls and a 30-day trial
Internxt
Spanish zero-knowledge storage with scheduled folder backup on Windows, Mac and Linux and a free 1 GB plan
OVHcloud Object Storage
French S3 storage with no charge for API calls or traffic and several tiers down to tape-based cold archive
Koofr
Slovenian cloud storage with a free 10 GB plan, mobile photo backup and prices from €0.50 a month
Filen
German end-to-end encrypted storage with sync, plans from 200 GiB at €1.99 a month
Exoscale
Swiss cloud with S3 Simple Object Storage, billed by usage with volume discounts at 512 TiB
UpCloud Managed Object Storage
Finnish S3 storage in 250 GB steps with zero-cost egress, for business customers only
HiDrive (STRATO)
Berlin cloud storage from 500 GB at €6 a month, with device backup add-on and rsync, SCP and Git access
pCloud
Swiss cloud storage with lifetime plans (500 GB at €219 on the day we checked) and automatic backup of files and photos
Key takeaways
- Backblaze, Inc. is a San Francisco company with California governing law, a San Francisco forum, individual binding arbitration and a class action ban, and EU transfers that rely on its Data Privacy Framework certification.
- Scaleway (Paris) publishes the most complete object storage prices: €0.01606 per GB per month Multi-AZ, €0.00803 One Zone, €0.00254 Glacier, with 75 GB of free egress a month.
- Hetzner and UpCloud include egress (1 TB with Hetzner's base price, zero-cost egress with UpCloud), and OVHcloud says it charges nothing for API calls or traffic.
- Jottacloud (Oslo) is the closest to Backblaze's flat-price backup: a free 5 GB plan and Unlimited at €12.90 a month or €129 a year.
- Internxt, HiDrive, Koofr, Filen and pCloud sit between backup and storage and differ mostly in price model: monthly tiers, a backup add-on, or lifetime plans.
Why people leave Backblaze
Backblaze sells two things under one name. The first is B2 Cloud Storage, S3-compatible object storage that people use for backups, media and archives.
Its Standard tier is listed at $6.95 per TB per month, with free egress up to three times the data you store, then $0.01 per GB, and no minimum file size or storage duration fees. The second is Backblaze Computer Backup, which on its pricing page is $99 a year for unlimited data from one computer, with a free trial and restores by mailed hard drive.
It is run by Backblaze, Inc. in San Francisco. Its terms (effective 16 April 2026) are governed by California law, disputes go to San Francisco County or the federal court for the Northern District of California, and they require individual binding arbitration with a ban on class actions.
For data from the EU, its privacy notice relies on Backblaze's certification under the EU-U.S. Data Privacy Framework. B2 does have an EU Central region in Amsterdam, in a data center operated by Coresight, but the contracting party stays the American company and you cannot change the region after you create the account.
This page covers both halves. Six of the twelve tools are object storage and cloud providers for the B2 job (Scaleway, Hetzner, IONOS Cloud, OVHcloud, Exoscale, UpCloud). The other six are storage and backup services for people and small teams (Jottacloud, Internxt, Koofr, Filen, HiDrive, pCloud). They are not interchangeable, and none of them copies Backblaze's combination of cheap S3 storage and a flat-price whole-computer backup in a single account.
- The contract and the courts are in California Backblaze, Inc. contracts under California law, with the courts of San Francisco County or the Northern District of California, after individual binding arbitration under the American Arbitration Association's consumer rules. If you want a contracting party inside the EU, the EEA, Switzerland or the UK, with a court in your own region, that does not describe Backblaze. It does describe the tools below, with caveats for pCloud and Exoscale, whose contracting companies are Swiss.
- An EU data center is not an EU contract B2 lets you pick EU Central in Amsterdam when you open an account, and the data center is run by a third party, Coresight. That answers where the bytes sit. It does not change who you contract with, which law applies, or the basis for transfers, which for EU data is Backblaze's Data Privacy Framework certification. Whether that matters depends on your own risk assessment and your customers' questionnaires.
- Backblaze is cheap per terabyte, and egress is where it differs B2 Standard at $6.95 per TB per month with free egress up to three times your stored data is a low public S3 price, and Scaleway's Multi-AZ tier at €0.01606 per GB per month (about €16 per TB) is more than twice that, though its One Zone tier is about €8 per TB. European providers compete on other things: egress that is free or included, and a European contract. Compare your real storage and egress pattern rather than the headline rate.
- The flat-price computer backup has few equals in Europe Backblaze Personal Backup is a single price for unlimited data from one computer. In Europe, Jottacloud comes closest, with an Unlimited plan at €12.90 a month, and Internxt and HiDrive sell folder or device backup as a feature of a storage plan. The others are storage services that sync or back up chosen folders and phones, which is a different shape of product.
What you have to replace, not just match
Split your Backblaze use in two before you choose. If you use B2 from an application, a NAS or a tool such as rclone, restic or Veeam, you need an S3 endpoint: the first six tools qualify, and the work is changing the endpoint, keys and region. If you use the Backblaze app to back up a laptop, you need a client that watches folders, and the answer is one of the storage services, not an object store.
Move in parallel, not in one go. Keep your Backblaze data until the new copy has completed a full backup and a test restore, and check how long the first upload takes at your connection speed. Copying object data between S3 providers is usually done with rclone or the provider's own migration tool, and egress from B2 beyond the free allowance is billed, so work out the cost before you start.
The alternatives compared
| Position | Tool | Headquarters | Pricing | Jurisdiction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| #1 | Scaleway | Paris, France | From about €0.0025/hour (DEV1-S) | EU (France) |
| #2 | Jottacloud | Oslo, Norway | Free 5GB / EUR 12.90 per month or EUR 129 per year for Unlimited | Norway (EEA, outside the EU) |
| #3 | Hetzner Object Storage | Gunzenhausen, Germany | From about €4.51/month (Cloud VPS) | EU (Germany) |
| #4 | IONOS Cloud Object Storage | Montabaur, Germany | PostgreSQL from about €0.06/core/hour plus €0.007/GB RAM/hour, plus storage from about €0.04-0.15/GB per 30 days depending on tier; MongoDB and In-Memory DB priced separately | EU (Germany) |
| #5 | Internxt | Valencia, Spain | Free 1GB / from about €0.89/month; lifetime plans available | EU (Spain) |
| #6 | OVHcloud Object Storage | Roubaix, France | PostgreSQL essential from about €0.16/hour (2 vCPU / 8GB RAM); MySQL, MongoDB, Kafka, Cassandra, OpenSearch, M3DB and Valkey priced separately by engine and tier | EU (France) |
| #7 | Koofr | Ljubljana, Slovenia | Free 10GB / from 0.5 EUR per month for 25GB, billed yearly, incl. 22% VAT | EU (Slovenia) |
| #8 | Filen | Germany | Free 10GB / from about €1.99/month | EU (Germany) |
| #9 | Exoscale | Lausanne, Switzerland | From about CHF 5.50/month (Compute) | Switzerland (adequacy decision, outside the EEA) |
| #10 | UpCloud Managed Object Storage | Helsinki, Finland | From about €5/month (Cloud Server) | EU (Finland) |
| #11 | HiDrive (STRATO) | Berlin, Germany | From €6/month for 500GB, €7.50 for 1TB (incl. VAT); first-year discounts | EU (Germany) |
| #12 | pCloud | Baar, Switzerland | From about €49.99/year or €199 lifetime (500GB) | Switzerland (adequacy decision, outside the EEA) |
How each alternative compares to Backblaze
- Which law reaches it. EU (France). Backblaze is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. Paris, Amsterdam, Warsaw — EU only.
- Source code. Closed source, as Backblaze is.
Best for: Teams that want S3 storage from a French company and want to read the price before they sign up
Scaleway is Scaleway SAS in Paris (SIREN 433 115 904, 8 rue de la Ville-l'Évêque). Its general terms are a separate PDF dated 9 June 2026, which we did not open, so we cannot state its governing law here. It publishes a DPA and a description of its technical measures next to the terms.
Its Paris price list shows Standard Multi-AZ at €0.01606 per GB per month, One Zone at €0.00803 and Glacier at €0.00254, with ingress free and 75 GB of free egress a month. Regions are Paris, Amsterdam and Warsaw, and traffic between them is billed.
What Scaleway does better than Backblaze
- French company, where Backblaze is a San Francisco company
- Full public price list with three storage classes
- Three European regions and a published DPA
Where Scaleway is a step down from Backblaze
- Multi-AZ costs more than twice B2 Standard per terabyte (One Zone is closer)
- No flat-price computer backup product
- Egress beyond 75 GB a month is billed
Standout against Backblaze. Three storage classes with a full price list make it easy to model your own bill.
- Which law reaches it. Norway (EEA, outside the EU). Backblaze is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. Norway (own datacentres in Oslo and Stavanger).
- Source code. Closed source, as Backblaze is.
- Independently checked. GDPR.
Best for: Individuals and families who want one price for backing up their devices
Jottacloud is Jotta AS in Oslo (org. no. 992 603 615), under Norwegian law with the Oslo court. Norway is in the EEA but not in the EU.
Its pricing page lists a Free plan with 5 GB, Home plans at €7.90 (1 TB) and €15.90 (5 TB) a month, and Unlimited at €12.90 a month or €129 a year for one user. Business and Pro plans are priced separately. Pro Unlimited slows uploads after 5 TB.
What Jottacloud does better than Backblaze
- Norwegian company under Norwegian law
- Free plan with 5 GB, no card needed to look
- Flat-price unlimited plan, like Backblaze
Where Jottacloud is a step down from Backblaze
- No S3 object storage product, so it does not replace B2
- €129 a year against Backblaze's $99
- Fair-use limits on the Unlimited plan could not be checked
Standout against Backblaze. Unlimited storage at a flat price is rare in Europe, and Jottacloud is the one that offers it on a public page.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Backblaze is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. Germany (Falkenstein, Nuremberg) and Finland (Helsinki), plus Oregon, Virginia and Singapore.
- Source code. Closed source, as Backblaze is.
- Independently checked. ISO 27001.
Best for: Developers who want a German S3 endpoint with predictable egress
Hetzner Online GmbH is in Gunzenhausen (Amtsgericht Ansbach, HRB 6089). Its terms are governed by German law, with Gunzenhausen as the place of jurisdiction, though Hetzner may sue in the customer's place of business.
The base price covers 1 TB of storage and 1 TB of egress a month, with ingress and S3 calls free. Locations are Falkenstein, Nuremberg and Helsinki, with up to 100 buckets and 100 TB per bucket. The product page showed placeholder prices when we read it, so no amount is quoted here.
What Hetzner Object Storage does better than Backblaze
- German company under German law
- Egress included in the base price
- Free ingress and S3 calls
Where Hetzner Object Storage is a step down from Backblaze
- Price could not be read from the page we fetched
- No backup client or desktop app
- Bucket and object limits are lower than a very large archive might need
Standout against Backblaze. It bundles the egress allowance into the base price, so a bill is easy to predict.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Backblaze is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. ISO 27001-certified European data centres.
- Source code. Closed source, as Backblaze is.
- Independently checked. ISO 27001-certified data centres (stated).
Best for: Companies that want S3 storage from a large German provider and can try it for 30 days
The contracting company for IONOS Cloud is IONOS Cloud GmbH (Amtsgericht Montabaur, HRB 31110, per its imprint). We could not read its governing-law clause, so it is not stated here.
Its object storage page lists API calls, reads and writes as free, charges data transfer separately, and offers a 30-day trial without contract. Regions listed are the USA, Germany and Spain. The storage price on the page is in US dollars and may depend on where you are, so we do not quote a figure.
What IONOS Cloud Object Storage does better than Backblaze
- German contracting company, where Backblaze is Californian
- Free API operations
- 30-day trial without a contract
Where IONOS Cloud Object Storage is a step down from Backblaze
- Data transfer is billed separately and the rate was not stated
- Not every listed region is in Europe
- Governing law could not be checked
Standout against Backblaze. Read and write operations cost nothing, so many small requests do not add to the bill.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Spain). Backblaze is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. European Union.
- Source code. Open source, where Backblaze is not: you can read what it does rather than take the description on trust.
- Independently checked. HIPAA, ISO 27001, SOC 2, open source.
Best for: People who want scheduled folder backup with local encryption and a European contract
Internxt Universal Technologies, S.L. is in Valencia (CIF B98936354), under Spanish law with the Spanish courts.
Its backup page describes scheduled folder backup (hourly, every six, twelve hours, or daily) on Windows, Mac and Linux, with AES-256 encryption on your device before upload and versioned restores. It says copies sit on several OVHcloud servers in EU data centers. A free 1 GB plan exists, paid plans start at €2 a month according to its backup page, and there is a 30-day money-back guarantee. The pricing page did not show readable amounts per plan.
What Internxt does better than Backblaze
- Spanish company under Spanish law
- Encrypted on your device before it leaves
- Free plan and a 30-day refund window
Where Internxt is a step down from Backblaze
- Capacity is capped by plan, with no unlimited plan
- No S3 object storage
- Per-plan prices could not be read from the pricing page
Standout against Backblaze. Local encryption and scheduled folder backup come together in one desktop app.
- Which law reaches it. EU (France). Backblaze is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. 30+ data centres, majority in Europe.
- Source code. Closed source, as Backblaze is.
- Independently checked. SecNumCloud (ANSSI), GAIA-X founding member.
Best for: Teams that want S3 storage with several tiers, including tape-based cold archive
The contracting company is OVH SAS, in Roubaix (RCS Lille 424 761 419, share capital €50,000,000), part of OVH Groupe SA. We did not open its general terms PDFs, so the governing law is not stated here.
Its object storage page says you pay for stored capacity and restored data, with no charge for API calls, incoming traffic or outgoing traffic. Classes include Standard, Infrequent Access (30-day minimum), Active Archive (90 days) and Cold Archive on tape (180 days), plus single-zone options and Object Lock. It lists ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701. No price was shown on the page we read.
What OVHcloud Object Storage does better than Backblaze
- French company, where Backblaze is Californian
- No fees for traffic or API calls, according to its own page
- Tape-based cold archive and Object Lock
Where OVHcloud Object Storage is a step down from Backblaze
- Retrieval fees and minimum durations on the cheaper classes
- No desktop backup client
- Governing law and price could not be checked
Standout against Backblaze. It is the only one here with a cold archive tier on magnetic tape.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Slovenia). Backblaze is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. Germany, in ISO 27001-certified third-party data centres (provider not named).
- Source code. Closed source, as Backblaze is.
Best for: Individuals who want a free 10 GB plan with phone photo backup, then small paid tiers
Koofr d.o.o. is at Stegne 23A in Ljubljana, under Slovenian law with the Slovenian courts.
Its pricing page lists a free plan with 10 GB, automatic mobile backup and file versioning, and paid plans from €0.50 a month for 25 GB to €10 for 1 TB and €35 for 5 TB, with prices including 22% VAT. Paid plans add two-way sync and Office for the web.
What Koofr does better than Backblaze
- Slovenian company, inside the EU
- Free 10 GB plan with phone backup
- Low entry price at small sizes
Where Koofr is a step down from Backblaze
- Topping out at 5 TB, with no unlimited plan
- No S3 object storage
- Not a whole-computer backup product
Standout against Backblaze. The price list starts at €0.50 a month, lower than anything else on this page.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Backblaze is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. Germany.
- Source code. Open source, where Backblaze is not: you can read what it does rather than take the description on trust.
- Independently checked. Open-source clients, zero-knowledge.
Best for: People who want zero-knowledge encryption and simple tiers
Filen Cloud Dienste UG (haftungsbeschränkt) is a German company. Its terms are governed by German law, the courts of Northrhein-Westphalia, and say data is hosted in Germany. EU consumers keep the protection of their own country's laws.
Its pricing page lists Pro I at €1.99 a month for 200 GiB, Pro II at €3.99 for 500 GiB, Pro III at €8.99 for 2 TiB and Pro X at €39.99 for 10 TiB, with plans that stack. All include syncing and a network drive, unlimited bandwidth and client-side encryption. We found no free plan on the pricing page.
What Filen does better than Backblaze
- German company under German law
- Client-side encryption on every plan
- Plans stack for larger sizes
Where Filen is a step down from Backblaze
- No free plan on the pricing page
- No backup product, only sync
- Smaller capacity tiers than Backblaze's unlimited plan
Standout against Backblaze. Every plan is end-to-end encrypted, with sync and a network drive, from €1.99 a month.
- Which law reaches it. Switzerland (adequacy decision, outside the EEA). Backblaze is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. Switzerland, Germany, Austria, Bulgaria.
- Source code. Closed source, as Backblaze is.
Best for: Companies that want S3 storage under Swiss law with other cloud services in the same account
The contracting company is Akenes SA in Lausanne (CHE-423.524.322). The terms are governed by Swiss law, with the courts of the canton of Vaud, district of Lausanne. Its own page describes it as a subsidiary of the A1 Telekom Austria Group, which we did not check separately.
Its pricing page bills resources by the second and lists Object Storage with volume discounts at 512 TiB and 1 PiB. We did not extract an object storage price from the page, so no amount is quoted.
What Exoscale does better than Backblaze
- Swiss company with Swiss law and Vaud courts
- Volume discounts for very large storage
- Compute, databases and Kubernetes in the same account
Where Exoscale is a step down from Backblaze
- No simple per-terabyte price in what we read
- Switzerland is outside the EU, though it is in Europe
- Aimed at developers, not at people backing up a laptop
Standout against Backblaze. It sells storage inside a full cloud, which suits teams that will also need servers and databases.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Finland). Backblaze is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. Finland, Germany, Netherlands, UK, Poland, Spain, and beyond.
- Source code. Closed source, as Backblaze is.
- Independently checked. 100% uptime SLA.
Best for: Business teams that want to avoid egress charges altogether
Per a search result of its terms page (the page itself blocked us), the contracting company is UpCloud Oy in Helsinki (Business ID 2431560-5), under Finnish law with disputes decided by the Finland Chamber of Commerce. The terms say the service is for business and professional use, not consumers. We did not check this in the trade register.
Its billing documentation says storage is billed in 250 GB steps, hourly, with a minimum of 250 GB per instance, and that all its public cloud services now include zero-cost egress. The price is on a pricing page we could not read, so no amount is quoted.
What UpCloud Managed Object Storage does better than Backblaze
- Finnish company under Finnish law
- No egress charge, according to its own docs
- Storage grows automatically in 250 GB steps
Where UpCloud Managed Object Storage is a step down from Backblaze
- Not offered to consumers
- A 250 GB minimum per instance
- Price and terms could only be partly checked
Standout against Backblaze. It drops egress charges entirely, the main reason many teams leave B2 at scale.
- Which law reaches it. EU (Germany). Backblaze is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. Germany, in two data centres STRATO runs itself.
- Source code. Closed source, as Backblaze is.
- Independently checked. ISO 27001 (TÜV Nord); Trusted Cloud label of the German economics ministry.
Best for: Technical users who want to back up with rsync or SCP to a German provider
HiDrive is sold by STRATO GmbH in Berlin (Amtsgericht Charlottenburg, HRB 270570 B). The STRATO terms apply German law, with Berlin (Charlottenburg) as the exclusive venue for merchants.
Its storage page lists Starter at €6 a month (500 GB), Basic at €7.50 (1 TB), Plus at €12.50 (2 TB), Family at €17.50 (2 TB for five users) and Business from €20. A device backup add-on is €2 a month and end-to-end encryption is another €2. It supports rsync, SCP and Git, and says data stays in German data centers.
What HiDrive (STRATO) does better than Backblaze
- German company under German law
- rsync, SCP and Git access for scripted backups
- Family and business plans with multiple users
Where HiDrive (STRATO) is a step down from Backblaze
- Backup and encryption are paid add-ons
- Costlier per terabyte than most others here
- No S3 object storage on this page
Standout against Backblaze. It is the one that speaks rsync and SCP, which suits scripted server backups.
- Which law reaches it. Switzerland (adequacy decision, outside the EEA). Backblaze is run from the United States, so the CLOUD Act obliges the provider to hand over data on a valid order regardless of which country the servers are in.
- Where the data sits. Luxembourg (EU) or Texas (US) — your choice.
- Source code. Closed source, as Backblaze is.
Best for: People who prefer paying once instead of monthly
pCloud International AG is in Baar, Switzerland. Its terms are governed by Swiss law with courts in the canton of Zürich, and EU residents outside Switzerland can use the law and courts of their place of residence.
Its plans page shows lifetime plans at €219 for 500 GB, €499 for 2 TB and €1,499 for 10 TB, listed as reduced prices when we checked. It describes automatic backup and sync of files and photos, 30-day file version recovery and a 14-day money-back guarantee. The backup page does not say which plan includes backup.
What pCloud does better than Backblaze
- Swiss company with a clause for EU residents
- A one-time payment option
- Photos and file sync with 30-day version recovery
Where pCloud is a step down from Backblaze
- Backup is not a whole-computer product like Backblaze's
- Lifetime prices are promotional and can change
- No S3 object storage
Standout against Backblaze. It is the only tool on this page you can pay for once instead of by subscription.
What actually breaks when you switch
Moving object storage is mostly a question of egress and time. Egress from B2 beyond the free allowance costs $0.01 per GB, and uploading terabytes takes days on a normal connection. Plan the copy, run a test on a small bucket first, and keep B2 live until the new provider has a verified copy.
S3 compatibility is not identical across providers. Lifecycle rules, Object Lock, versioning and bucket policies differ in detail. Test the exact tool you use (restic, Veeam, rclone, a NAS app) against the new endpoint before you rely on it.
Replacing Backblaze Computer Backup means a new first backup that may take weeks for a large disk. During that time you are exposed on both sides, so keep Backblaze until the new service has finished and you have restored a test file. Also check whether it backs up external drives and keeps old versions as long as you need.
Which European tool is the closest to B2?
Any of the six S3 providers works as a B2 replacement, and the choice is about price shape. Scaleway, Hetzner and UpCloud publish the clearest egress terms, OVHcloud says traffic and API calls are free, IONOS Cloud lists free API calls and charges for transfer separately, and Exoscale bills by usage with volume discounts.
None is a cheaper per-terabyte copy of B2 Standard. If your workload is mostly storing data that you rarely read, compare the storage price first. If you read a lot, compare egress first.
Is there a European equivalent of Backblaze Personal Backup?
Jottacloud is the nearest: a plan for unlimited storage with backup of your devices, at €12.90 a month or €129 a year, and a free 5 GB plan to try it. Internxt backs up chosen folders on Windows, Mac and Linux on a schedule, and HiDrive offers a device backup add-on for €2 a month on top of a storage plan.
Koofr, Filen and pCloud are storage services with sync and, in Koofr's case, automatic photo backup from the phone. They are better described as storage than as a whole-computer backup product, and none of them matches Backblaze's one-price promise.
Does the contract really matter if the data is encrypted and in an EU region?
It matters for where a dispute is decided, which law applies, and which legal mechanism covers any transfer of personal data. With Backblaze, that is California law and the Data Privacy Framework. With the tools here, the contracting company is in France, Germany, Spain, Finland, Slovenia, Norway or Switzerland.
Client-side encryption, which Filen and Internxt advertise, changes the risk in practice, but it does not change the contract. Decide which of the two questions your own situation actually asks.
Which of these are for businesses only?
UpCloud's terms, as shown in search results for its terms page, say the service is meant for business and professional use and not for consumers. Scaleway, Hetzner, IONOS Cloud, OVHcloud and Exoscale are infrastructure providers aimed at developers and companies, though private individuals can open accounts. The storage services (Jottacloud, Internxt, Koofr, Filen, HiDrive, pCloud) sell to individuals and offer business plans.
Which one to pick
If you use B2 from an application, Scaleway is the easiest to price, Hetzner and UpCloud are the ones to look at if egress is your problem, and OVHcloud is the one with a tape-based archive tier. IONOS Cloud and Exoscale suit teams that want a larger provider and are willing to read the pricing carefully.
If you use Backblaze to back up a computer, Jottacloud is the closest to its flat-price model, and Internxt is the pick if you want local encryption and scheduled folders. Koofr, Filen, HiDrive and pCloud are good storage services, and a better fit if you also want sync and sharing than a pure backup.
Be realistic about the gap. B2 at $6.95 per TB is hard to undercut on a like-for-like basis (Scaleway's Multi-AZ tier is more than twice that, and several providers here hide their price behind a calculator), and no European tool offers the same combination of S3 storage and a flat-price whole-computer backup. Switch if you want a European or EEA contracting party and local courts, and stay if price per terabyte is the only thing that matters.
Frequently Asked Questions
It depends on which half you use. For B2-style object storage, Scaleway is the most transparent on price and has a French contracting company. For computer backup at a flat price, Jottacloud is the closest. Hetzner and UpCloud are worth a look if egress cost is your problem.
No. Backblaze, Inc. is in San Francisco, California. Its terms are governed by California law and, after individual binding arbitration, disputes go to the courts of San Francisco County or the Northern District of California. B2 has an EU Central region in Amsterdam, in a data center operated by Coresight, but that does not change the contracting company.
On its pricing pages, B2 Standard is $6.95 per TB per month and B2 Overdrive is $15 per TB, with the first 10 GB free and egress free up to three times the stored amount, then $0.01 per GB. Computer Backup is $99 a year for personal use. Prices are in US dollars and may be shown differently where you live.
Scaleway's pricing page for Paris lists Standard Multi-AZ at €0.01606 per GB per month, Standard One Zone at €0.00803 and Glacier at €0.00254, with free ingress and 75 GB of free egress a month. Restoring from Glacier is €0.009 per GB. Transfers between its Paris, Amsterdam and Warsaw regions are billed.
Jottacloud lists Free (5 GB), Home 1 TB at €7.90 a month, Home 5 TB at €15.90 and Unlimited at €12.90 a month or €129 a year. Koofr has a free 10 GB plan and paid plans from €0.50 a month for 25 GB to €10 for 1 TB and €35 for 5 TB, including 22% VAT. Filen lists 200 GiB at €1.99 a month, 500 GiB at €3.99, 2 TiB at €8.99 and 10 TiB at €39.99.
HiDrive lists Starter at €6 a month for 500 GB, Basic at €7.50 for 1 TB and Plus at €12.50 for 2 TB, with device backup as a €2 a month option. pCloud sells lifetime plans, shown on the day we checked as €219 for 500 GB, €499 for 2 TB and €1,499 for 10 TB at reduced prices. Check both pages for the current price.
Hetzner's base price includes 1 TB of storage and 1 TB of egress. UpCloud states that its public cloud services, including Managed Object Storage, have zero-cost egress. OVHcloud says it charges nothing for API calls, incoming traffic or outgoing traffic. Scaleway includes 75 GB of free egress a month. IONOS Cloud lists data transfer as a separate charge.
Scaleway SAS (Paris), Hetzner Online GmbH (Gunzenhausen), IONOS Cloud GmbH (Montabaur), OVH SAS (Roubaix), Akenes SA for Exoscale (Lausanne), UpCloud Oy (Helsinki), Jotta AS for Jottacloud (Oslo), Internxt Universal Technologies, S.L. (Valencia), Koofr d.o.o. (Ljubljana), Filen Cloud Dienste UG (Germany), STRATO GmbH for HiDrive (Berlin) and pCloud International AG (Baar, Switzerland).
Its pricing page lists an Unlimited plan at €12.90 a month or €129 a year, and notes that upload speed on its Pro Unlimited plan gradually falls after 5 TB. We did not find a fair-use document to check what limits apply to personal Unlimited, so read its terms before putting very large data on it.
Yes, because B2 and the six object storage providers speak the S3 API. Tools such as rclone can copy between them. Egress from B2 is free up to three times your stored data per month and $0.01 per GB beyond it, so a one-time full copy of a large bucket is usually affordable but should be priced first.
Related comparisons
Explore More European Alternatives
Discover privacy-focused European alternatives to other popular US tech services.