Storytel
Nordic audiobook and eBook app with unlimited, capped and family plans billed every 30 days
Quick Overview
| Company | Storytel Sweden AB |
|---|---|
| Category | Audiobook Apps |
| Headquarters | Stockholm, Sweden |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - Sweden (EU) |
| Data Location | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes |
| Self-Hosting | No |
| Main Features | Audiobooks and eBooks, Synced Listening, Kids Mode, offline downloads, AI-generated recaps, Storytel Originals, family accounts, editorial recommendations |
| Pricing | Flex 7.99 EUR (10 hours), Premium 9.99 EUR (30 hours), Unlimited 13.99 EUR, Family from 18.99 EUR, each per 30 days (Dutch site) |
| Best For | Heavy listeners who value an unlimited tier and a read-along feature |
| Replaces | Audible |
Detailed Review
Storytel's Dutch page lays its ladder out plainly: Flex with 10 hours, Premium with 30, an Unlimited tier with no cap, and Family for two or three accounts. All of them are billed per 30 days.
The terms say the service is supplied by Storytel Sweden AB (organisation number 556696-2865, Box 24167 in Stockholm), while a purchase through the Dutch website or app is sold by Storytel NL B.V. under KvK number 58216111. The parent, Storytel AB (publ), is headquartered in Stockholm.
Plan Ladder
Flex costs 7.99 EUR per 30 days for 10 hours and lets unused hours accumulate up to 50. Premium is 9.99 EUR for 30 hours with a 14-day free trial. Unlimited is listed at 13.99 EUR, next to a 50 percent offer for the first three months.
Family starts at 18.99 EUR for two accounts. Billing every 30 days means a year holds more than twelve charges.
Features Beyond Playback
Synced Listening highlights the text of a story while it is read aloud. The page says it helps with concentration, language learning or reading difficulties. Kids Mode restricts the library to children's books.
The page also names AI-generated recaps, available for thousands of stories, that remind a returning listener of the plot. Those are machine summaries, not publisher material.
Scale and Claims
The home page states more than one million audiobooks and eBooks and 2.5 million subscribers worldwide. Both numbers are the vendor's own.
Originals and weekly new releases are mentioned, and downloaded stories work offline.
Limitations to Consider
The 30-day billing cycle and the stacked promotional offers make the true monthly cost harder to compare with Nextory or BookBeat. The two cheaper tiers meter hours, and the headline Unlimited price is shown beside a discount that lapses. The AI recaps are a machine-written feature that the vendor does not describe as proofread. The contracting seller differs by channel (Storytel NL B.V. directly, third parties otherwise).
Who Should Use Storytel
Listeners who want a no-cap tier in a mainstream Nordic app, with read-along and a child-safe mode in the same account.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Unlimited tier without hour cap
- Unused hours on Flex accumulate up to 50
- Synced Listening for follow-along reading
- Kids Mode
- Contracting entities in Sweden and the Netherlands
Cons
- Billed every 30 days
- Lower tiers count hours
- Headline Unlimited price sits next to a temporary discount
- AI recaps are machine-generated
Alternatives to Storytel
Other European audiobook apps worth comparing before you decide:
Audiolibrix
Czech Republic · Credit-based audiobook club from Prague
Skoobe
Germany · Flatrate without audiobook hour limits
Nextory
Sweden · Low entry price with 30 trial hours
BookBeat
Sweden · Hour-based plans after a 45-day trial
See all European audiobook apps or compare them directly against Audible on our alternatives page.
Frequently Asked Questions
The Dutch page lists Unlimited at 13.99 EUR per 30 days beside a 50 percent offer for the first three months.
Storytel NL B.V. sells subscriptions bought on the website or app, while the service itself is delivered by Storytel Sweden AB.
Yes, the page lists downloads for offline access.