Payhip
UK platform for selling digital downloads, courses and memberships, with a free plan and a flat transaction fee
Quick Overview
| Company | Payhip Limited |
|---|---|
| Category | Digital Product Sales Platforms |
| Headquarters | London, United Kingdom |
| Founded | Not stated |
| EU Presence | Yes - United Kingdom (UK, outside the EU) |
| Data Location | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Open Source | No |
| GDPR Compliant | Yes |
| Self-Hosting | No |
| Main Features | Unlimited products on every plan, free plan, payments via PayPal or Stripe, all features on all plans |
| Pricing | Free Forever $0 per month plus 5% per sale; Plus $29 per month plus 2%; Pro $99 per month with no transaction fee. PayPal and Stripe charge their own rates on top |
| Best For | Solo creators who want a free start and a clear fee ladder |
| Replaces | Gumroad, Sellfy, Ko-fi shop |
Detailed Review
Payhip is a digital product sales platform made by Payhip Limited, a company incorporated in England and Wales with its registered office in London. Payhip lets creators sell digital products from a hosted store.
Payhip publishes one clear pricing page. Payhip lists three plans, and the pricing page states that all features are available on every plan, including unlimited products and unlimited revenue.
Payhip fee ladder compared with Gumroad
Payhip charges 5% per sale on the Free Forever plan at $0 per month. Payhip lowers the fee to 2% on the Plus plan at $29 per month and removes the transaction fee on the Pro plan at $99 per month.
Gumroad lists 10% plus $0.50 per direct sale. A seller with steady sales can compare the Payhip fee ladder against that rate on the Gumroad pricing page.
Payment processors on Payhip
Payhip takes payments via PayPal or Stripe. The Payhip pricing FAQ states that PayPal and Stripe charge their standard rates on top of the Payhip fee.
A seller should therefore add the processor rate to the Payhip fee when calculating the cost of a sale.
Payhip entity and jurisdiction
The Payhip terms name Payhip Limited, registration number 08386910, as the company behind the service. The United Kingdom is outside the EU, so a seller who needs an EU contracting entity should note this.
The pages we read do not state where Payhip stores data.
Limitations to Consider
The Payhip free plan takes 5% per sale, and the fee falls to 2% only on the Plus plan at $29 per month. PayPal and Stripe fees come on top of the Payhip fee on every plan. Payhip Limited is a UK company, so it sits outside the EU, and the pages we read do not state the data location. Prices are in US dollars.
Who Should Use Payhip
Individual creators and small shops that want to start free and move to a lower fee as sales grow. Sellers who want 0% per sale from the first plan may prefer Sellfy.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Free plan with no monthly price
- All features on every plan
- Unlimited products on every plan
- Pro plan removes the transaction fee
- Clear public pricing page
Cons
- 5% fee on the free plan
- Stripe and PayPal fees added on top
- UK company, outside the EU
- Data location not stated on the pages we read
Alternatives to Payhip
Other European digital product sales platforms worth comparing before you decide:
Sellfy
Lithuania · Online store for digital products with 0% transaction fees
Digistore24
Ireland · Sales platform with affiliate marketplace and no monthly fee
Systeme.io
Ireland · Funnels, email and courses with a free plan and 0% fees
CopeCart
Germany · Checkout and affiliate platform acting as merchant of record
See all European digital product sales platforms or compare them directly against Gumroad on our alternatives page.
Frequently Asked Questions
Payhip charges 5% on the free plan, 2% on the Plus plan at $29 per month and no transaction fee on the Pro plan at $99 per month, plus the PayPal or Stripe rate.
Payhip is a UK-based alternative to Gumroad. Payhip Limited is registered in England and Wales, so Payhip is European but not in the EU.
Yes. Payhip lists a Free Forever plan at $0 per month with a 5% transaction fee and all features.