Griffin

London bank that runs its own core banking system and sells accounts, safeguarding and payments to fintechs through an API, with a free sandbox and a public platform price

Quick Overview

Company Griffin Bank Ltd
Category Banking as a Service (BaaS) Providers
Headquarters London, United Kingdom
Founded Not stated
EU Presence Yes - United Kingdom (PRA and FCA, outside the EU)
Data Location Not stated on the pages read
Open Source No
GDPR Compliant Yes
Self-Hosting No
Main Features Embedded bank accounts, client money and safeguarding accounts, savings accounts, business bank accounts, payments, Verify onboarding, REST API, free sandbox, MCP server (beta)
Pricing Platform onboarding from £15,000 one-off, monthly packages of £4,000, £6,000 and £10,000; business accounts from £100 per month
Best For UK payment, wealth and lending apps that need regulated sterling accounts
Replaces Unit, Treasury Prime, Column

Detailed Review

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Bank licence and core system owned by one company
  • Free developer sandbox
  • Platform fees published on the website
  • Dedicated safeguarding and client money account types
  • Dated API versions with release notes

Cons

  • Sterling-centred, no euro accounts described
  • Overdrafts and lending not yet live
  • Entry cost of £15,000 plus a monthly package
  • Small client base of around 80 companies

Alternatives to Griffin

Other European banking as a service (baas) providers worth comparing before you decide:

Swan

France · Paris e-money institution selling business accounts and cards to software

Wallester

Estonia · Tallinn Visa principal member issuing cards and IBAN accounts under your brand

Paynovate

Belgium · Brussels e-money issuer combining IBAN programmes, card issuing and acquiring

ClearBank

United Kingdom · UK clearing bank with a Dutch EU arm, accounts settled at central banks

See all European banking as a service (baas) providers or compare them directly against Unit on our alternatives page.

Frequently Asked Questions

Griffin Bank Ltd states that it is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the FCA and the PRA, and it lists deposit protection among its policy pages. It is a licensed UK bank, not an e-money institution.

The pricing page shows a one-off onboarding fee from £15,000, a go-live time of 6 to 8 weeks and monthly packages of £4,000, £6,000 and £10,000. Business bank accounts for a company's own funds start from £100 per month.

Yes. The documentation links to a sandbox that Griffin describes as free forever, and a status page and release notes are public.

About the author

Every tool page on European Purpose is researched and drafted with AI assistance, with the compliance and pricing claims checked against the vendor's own documentation, and is published under the editorial responsibility of its founder.

Sebastiaan Smits

Sebastiaan Smits

Founder · Amsterdam, Netherlands

Founder of European Purpose. Researches and writes the reviews and checks where each company is actually established.

Read our editorial process for how we source, verify and update these pages, and how paid visibility works.

Go to Griffin