European Self-Publishing Platforms

Self-publishing platforms turn a manuscript into a printed or digital book, assign an ISBN and push the title to bookshops and online stores. The jurisdiction matters because the platform holds your manuscript, your tax and bank details and your readers' orders, and its contract decides which law applies to a dispute. This page lists ten self-publishing services run by companies in Germany, the Netherlands, France, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

How we rank these tools — 4-step process
  1. 1
    European ownership, verified

    The company is headquartered and incorporated in the EU, EEA, the UK, Switzerland or Israel, and processes customer data in Europe or Israel. A US parent company disqualifies a tool from this page regardless of where its servers are.

  2. 2
    Category fit and hands-on review

    What the tool actually does, who it suits, and where it falls short — checked against the vendor’s own documentation, changelog and pricing page rather than its marketing copy.

  3. 3
    Compliance and pricing check

    GDPR posture, hosting location and the prices quoted on this page are verified against the vendor’s public pricing before publication, and re-checked when we revisit the category.

  4. 4
    Position on this page

    Placement on this page can be paid, and that can affect the order tools appear in. It never buys a listing: a tool that fails the checks above is not here at any price, and payment does not change the shortcomings we write about. A vendor can ask us to correct a factual error — not to remove a criticism.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. Vendors can pay for more visibility, higher up on the review pages; it never affects whether a tool is listed. Editorial policy

10 European Self-Publishing Platforms

BoD Books on Demand

Hamburg print-on-demand house with fixed one-off publishing packages

Germany
Packages from 39 euro Print and e-book distribution German print production

tolino media

Self-publishing arm of the German tolino bookseller alliance

Germany
Free e-book publishing 87% e-book royalty tier Print book from 18.90 euro

epubli

Berlin platform that publishes books free and keeps 30% of net

Germany
Free publishing 70% of net revenue Twelve book formats

tredition

Family-run German platform with a quality check on every book

Germany
Free for the book's lifetime Own-shop commission up to 45% Edits any time

Bookmundo

Rotterdam print-on-demand platform without exclusivity or setup fees

Netherlands
No upfront fees Monthly royalties Discounts from 3 copies

Bookelis

French free publishing platform with optional Hachette Livre distribution

France
Free publication Hachette Livre packs 70% e-book share in own shop

Librinova

Paris service with paid publishing packs and a path to publishers

France
Packs from 75 euro Literary agent programme Reading committee

Brave New Books

Dutch self-publishing site with a free platform and optional editing

Netherlands
Free platform use ISBN for 12.75 euro Bol.com and Bruna listings

Publit

Stockholm platform charging commission per sale instead of a package fee

Sweden
0 SEK per month plans 10% commission Storytel and BookBeat feeds

Bookvault

Peterborough book printer with direct-sales store integrations

United Kingdom
Paperback from 1.17 GBP Shopify and WooCommerce links Special edition finishes

Key takeaways

  • BoD Books on Demand in Hamburg sells fixed packages from 39 euro (Publish) to 699 euro (Publish Premium) and prints from 2.05 euro per copy.
  • tolino media in Munich pays an 87% royalty band on e-books sold in the tolino alliance shops, at prices from 3.99 to 24.98 euro.
  • epubli in Berlin publishes at no cost and states a 70% share of net revenue, with print from a single copy.
  • Publit in Stockholm charges no monthly fee for print and e-books but takes 10% on bookshop sales and 20% on its own online stores.
  • Bookvault in Peterborough is the one platform on the list outside the EU, which makes the United Kingdom adequacy decision relevant to its authors.

European self-publishing platforms are print-on-demand and e-book publishing services run by companies in the EU or the UK, such as BoD Books on Demand, epubli, Bookmundo and Bookelis, that let an author publish a book under European contract law and local data rules instead of the terms of a US marketplace.

European Self-Publishing platforms compared

European Self-Publishing platforms compared on position, country, entry price and best use
PositionToolEstablishedEntry priceBest for
#1 BoD Books on Demand Germany Print: 0 euro one-off, printing from 2.05 euro per copy; Publish: 39 euro one-off including ISBN; Publish Plus: 299 euro; Publish Premium: 699 euro German-language authors who want a fixed, visible price and a listing in the book trade
#2 tolino media Germany E-books free; print book basic fee 18.90 euro per book project; test prints without a basic fee German-language authors whose readers buy e-books in the Thalia, Hugendubel and other tolino shops
#3 epubli Germany Publishing free; print example 7.39 euro per copy for a 200-page pocketbook; shipping 2.95 euro in Germany and 9.95 euro abroad German-language authors who want to publish at no cost and also order printed copies for private or business use
#4 tredition Germany Publishing free over the book's lifetime; paid upgrade services optional; commission example 3.52 euro in bookshops and 10.50 euro in own shop for a 24.99 euro hardcover Authors with non-fiction or illustrated books who want a human review and a high margin on direct sales
#5 Bookmundo Netherlands Publishing free of charge, no upfront fees; royalty rates and price calculator on the site Authors who want no exclusivity and a webshop of their own beside bookshop distribution
#6 Bookelis France Publication free; author copy discounts from -5% at 5 copies; paperback unit cost from 8.01 euro incl. VAT in the cost example; Hachette packs as paid subscriptions French-language authors who want free publication first and bookshop distribution as an add-on
#7 Librinova France Digital packs from 75 euro; digital and paper packs from 229 euro; free publication for authors under 26 French first-time authors who want a guided route and a chance to be picked up by a publisher
#8 Brave New Books Netherlands Platform use free; ISBN barcode 12.75 euro one-off for retail channels; paid editing and layout on request Dutch-language authors who want their book listed with Dutch bookshops and online retailers
#9 Publit Sweden Print on demand and e-books 0 SEK per month, 10% commission on bookshop distribution, 20% on own online stores; streaming and libraries from 495 SEK per month; warehouse 1,395 SEK per month (prices excl. VAT) Swedish and Norwegian authors and small publishers who prefer commission to a fixed fee
#10 Bookvault United Kingdom Paperback from 1.17 GBP; hardback from 3.82 GBP; MyBookvault free with 19.95 GBP title set-up fee; Indie 24.95 GBP per month; Pro 89.95 GBP per month Authors who sell through their own web store and want physical special editions

Every European Self-Publishing platform reviewed

#1 BoD Books on Demand

Hamburg, Germany Founded 1998 Print: 0 euro one-off, printing from 2.05 euro per copy; Publish: 39 euro one-off including ISBN; Publish Plus: 299 euro; Publish Premium: 699 euro Demo on request

Best for: German-language authors who want a fixed, visible price and a listing in the book trade

  • Operating company. Books on Demand GmbH
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Print production in Germany; Libri Plureos GmbH in Hamburg processes print orders
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Amazon KDP, IngramSpark

BoD Books on Demand is a Hamburg service that prints each book when a copy is ordered and sells author packages at fixed one-off prices. Print costs 0 euro with printing from 2.05 euro a copy, Publish 39 euro with ISBN, Publish Plus 299 euro and Publish Premium 699 euro. The pricing page also names listing in over 6,000 shops.

The operating company is Books on Demand GmbH, founded in 1998, with print production in Germany, and order processing by Libri Plureos GmbH in Hamburg. The royalty percentage is not printed on the pages checked, payments arrive quarterly, and the 39 euro tier does not include a trial copy, which costs 49 euro. Which parent group owns the company was not confirmed from a register.

What BoD Books on Demand does well

  • Prices for all four tiers are public on one page
  • Printing from a single copy with German production
  • ISBN and a pseudonym imprint service included in Publish tiers
  • Optional audiobook, coaching and design services in one account
  • Listing in over 6,000 shops named on the pricing page

Where BoD Books on Demand falls short

  • A one-off fee per book, unlike free-to-publish platforms
  • Trial copy costs 49 euro on the cheapest publishing tier
  • Royalty percentage not shown on the pricing page
  • Quarterly rather than monthly payouts

Standout feature. BoD is the one platform here that sells an imprint service for publishing under a pseudonym.

#2 tolino media

Munich, Germany E-books free; print book basic fee 18.90 euro per book project; test prints without a basic fee Demo on request

Best for: German-language authors whose readers buy e-books in the Thalia, Hugendubel and other tolino shops

  • Operating company. tolino media GmbH & Co. KG
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on the pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Amazon KDP, Draft2Digital

tolino media connects authors to the tolino alliance of German bookshops, among them Thalia and Hugendubel. E-book publishing costs nothing, the royalty band is 87% for prices from 3.99 to 24.98 euro and 67% outside it, and statements come monthly. Word and ODT files are converted to EPUB, and audiobooks can be published too.

The operator is tolino media GmbH & Co. KG in Munich. For printed books for the trade the basic fee is 18.90 euro per book project, and test prints carry no basic fee. Print royalties vary with format, support is by email only, and neither the founding year nor the hosting location was found on the pages checked.

What tolino media does well

  • E-book publishing costs nothing
  • 87% royalty band in tolino alliance shops
  • Monthly statements
  • Print books for the trade for a flat 18.90 euro per book
  • Test prints without a basic fee

Where tolino media falls short

  • Focused on the German-language market
  • Royalty drops to 67% outside the 3.99 to 24.98 euro band
  • Support by email only, no telephone help
  • Print royalty depends on format and is not a flat share

Standout feature. tolino media is the only platform here with marketing slots in the tolino shops.

#3 epubli

Berlin, Germany Founded 2008 Publishing free; print example 7.39 euro per copy for a 200-page pocketbook; shipping 2.95 euro in Germany and 9.95 euro abroad Demo on request

Best for: German-language authors who want to publish at no cost and also order printed copies for private or business use

  • Operating company. Neopubli GmbH
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Servers in Germany according to the privacy notice
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Amazon KDP, Lulu

epubli is a Berlin publishing platform where publishing is free and the author keeps a stated 70% of net revenue. Books print from a single copy, an ISBN is included, titles are listed in the German directory of available books, and the cover designer is built in. Bulk discounts reach 50% for 1,000 copies.

The company behind it is Neopubli GmbH, founded in 2008, with servers in Germany according to the privacy notice. A 200-page pocketbook costs 7.39 euro per copy in the vendor's example, and shipping is 2.95 euro in Germany and 9.95 euro abroad. The terms page carries a 2008 date and the newsletter uses a US provider.

What epubli does well

  • Publishing costs nothing
  • Fixed 70% share of net revenue
  • Print from a single copy with no minimum
  • Twelve formats and five paper types
  • Discounts up to 50% for 1,000 copies

Where epubli falls short

  • Earnings are a formula, not a stated price per sale
  • Print shipping costs 9.95 euro abroad
  • Terms page shows a 2008 date
  • Newsletter data goes to a US provider

Standout feature. epubli offers twelve formats and five paper types without a minimum print run.

#4 tredition

Ahrensburg, Germany Founded 2006 Publishing free over the book's lifetime; paid upgrade services optional; commission example 3.52 euro in bookshops and 10.50 euro in own shop for a 24.99 euro hardcover Demo on request

Best for: Authors with non-fiction or illustrated books who want a human review and a high margin on direct sales

  • Operating company. tredition GmbH
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Germany)
  • Where the data sits. Printing at German printers; web hosting location not stated
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Amazon KDP, Lulu

tredition is an Ahrensburg publisher that checks each book before release and lets the author revise it as often as wanted, with changes mostly live within hours and star ratings kept. Publishing is free over the lifetime of the book, and design and other extras are paid upgrades.

The company is tredition GmbH, founded in 2006 and described by the vendor as a family business. Its commission page shows 3.52 euro in the bookshop trade and 10.50 euro in its own shop for a 24.99 euro hardcover, so the channel changes the result more than the price does. Printing takes place at German printers, hosting is not stated, and the homepage figures are the vendor's own claims.

What tredition does well

  • Free publishing over the book's lifetime
  • Human quality check before release
  • Price can be changed at any time
  • 45% commission on own-shop sales in the example
  • Revisions live within hours

Where tredition falls short

  • 15% commission in the bookshop example
  • Paid upgrade services for design and extras
  • Mainly German-speaking market
  • Quality check is advisory, not editing

Standout feature. tredition pays a 45% commission in its own shop in the vendor example, against 15% through bookshops.

#5 Bookmundo

Rotterdam, Netherlands Publishing free of charge, no upfront fees; royalty rates and price calculator on the site Demo on request

Best for: Authors who want no exclusivity and a webshop of their own beside bookshop distribution

  • Operating company. Mijnbestseller Nederland B.V.
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Netherlands)
  • Where the data sits. Data handled under EU regulations per the privacy statement; storage region not stated
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Amazon KDP, Lulu

Bookmundo is a Rotterdam platform for Dutch, German and English books with free publishing and no upfront fees. It handles ISBNs, prints on demand, gives every author a webshop and names bookstores, Kobo and Amazon as distribution. Royalties are paid monthly and printed copies are discounted from three copies.

The operator is Mijnbestseller Nederland B.V. (KvK 53426312), and the privacy statement cites EU rules without naming a storage region. Titles are not exclusive. The pricing page needs JavaScript, so the royalty rates were not read, the English terms quote a 10-pound payout threshold, and the owner above the company was not confirmed.

What Bookmundo does well

  • No upfront fees or hidden costs stated
  • No exclusivity on titles
  • Monthly royalty payments
  • Own webshop for direct sales
  • Printed copies discounted from three copies

Where Bookmundo falls short

  • Royalty rates not readable on the pages checked
  • Payout threshold of 10 pounds in the English terms
  • Pricing page needs JavaScript
  • Ultimate owner not confirmed

Standout feature. Bookmundo combines a personal webshop with bookshop, Kobo and Amazon distribution and no exclusivity.

#6 Bookelis

Sainte-Luce-sur-Loire, France Publication free; author copy discounts from -5% at 5 copies; paperback unit cost from 8.01 euro incl. VAT in the cost example; Hachette packs as paid subscriptions Demo on request

Best for: French-language authors who want free publication first and bookshop distribution as an add-on

  • Operating company. Bookelis SAS
  • Jurisdiction. EU (France)
  • Where the data sits. Website hosted by OVH in Roubaix, France; book data location not stated
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Amazon KDP, IngramSpark

Bookelis is a French service from Sainte-Luce-sur-Loire where publication is free and distribution is added later. The e-book share is 70% in the Bookelis shop and 40% on partner stores with the Optima option. Author copies get discounts from 5% at five copies to 25%, and a paperback unit cost starts at 8.01 euro including VAT in the cost example.

The company is Bookelis SAS, and the website is hosted by OVH in Roubaix, France, while book data location is not stated. Hachette Livre distribution is sold as paid packs for France, francophone countries or worldwide, and the pack prices were not on the pages checked. Pages and guides are in French only and the founding year was not found.

What Bookelis does well

  • Publication on the platform is free
  • 70% e-book share in the Bookelis bookshop
  • Hachette Livre packs for France, francophone countries or worldwide
  • Staggered discounts on author copies up to 25%
  • Print on demand without stock

Where Bookelis falls short

  • Only 40% e-book share on partner stores with Optima
  • Hachette distribution is a paid add-on
  • Site and guides are in French
  • Pack prices not visible on the pages checked

Standout feature. Bookelis is the platform here that offers Hachette Livre distribution as an add-on to free publishing.

#7 Librinova

Paris, France Founded 2014 Digital packs from 75 euro; digital and paper packs from 229 euro; free publication for authors under 26 Demo on request

Best for: French first-time authors who want a guided route and a chance to be picked up by a publisher

  • Operating company. SAS Librinova
  • Jurisdiction. EU (France)
  • Where the data sits. Website hosted by OVH in Roubaix, France; book data location not stated
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Amazon KDP, Lulu

Librinova is a Paris service for French first-time authors that sells publication packs: digital from 75 euro, digital and paper from 229 euro, and free publication for authors under 26. A reading committee, a prize competition and writing coaching sit around the packs.

The company is SAS Librinova, founded in 2014, with its website hosted by OVH in Roubaix, France. It runs a literary agent programme that presents selected books to publishers. Pack contents and royalty percentages were not readable on the pages checked, the site is French only, and ownership above the SAS was not verified from a register.

What Librinova does well

  • Packs with visible starting prices
  • Literary agent programme towards publishers
  • Reading committee feedback
  • Free publishing for authors under 26
  • Separate author and customer terms

Where Librinova falls short

  • Paid packs rather than free publishing
  • Pack contents not readable on the pages checked
  • French-language service only
  • Royalty percentages not found

Standout feature. Librinova runs a literary agent programme that pitches self-published books to publishing houses.

#8 Brave New Books

Amsterdam, Netherlands Platform use free; ISBN barcode 12.75 euro one-off for retail channels; paid editing and layout on request Demo on request

Best for: Dutch-language authors who want their book listed with Dutch bookshops and online retailers

  • Operating company. Brave New Books B.V.
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Netherlands)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on the pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Amazon KDP, Lulu

Brave New Books is an Amsterdam platform where use of the platform is free, an ISBN barcode costs 12.75 euro once for retail channels, and royalties are paid monthly. Print on demand, e-books, a cover design tool and a personal author shop are included, and the site names Bol.com and Bruna as listings.

The operator is Brave New Books B.V. An author can cancel at any time and keep the rights. No royalty percentage was found, only the claim that it is higher than elsewhere. The footer reads copyright 2020, and the privacy statement names Mybestseller in Rotterdam as contact, which points to shared operations the site does not explain.

What Brave New Books does well

  • Platform use is free
  • ISBN is the only mandatory cost at 12.75 euro
  • Monthly royalty payments
  • Cancel at any time with rights retained
  • Listings at Bol.com and Bruna named

Where Brave New Books falls short

  • No royalty percentage on the pages checked
  • Reach is focused on the Benelux
  • Footer copyright dated 2020
  • Privacy statement points to another company's address

Standout feature. Brave New Books limits its mandatory cost to the 12.75 euro ISBN barcode.

#9 Publit

Stockholm, Sweden Print on demand and e-books 0 SEK per month, 10% commission on bookshop distribution, 20% on own online stores; streaming and libraries from 495 SEK per month; warehouse 1,395 SEK per month (prices excl. VAT) Demo on request

Best for: Swedish and Norwegian authors and small publishers who prefer commission to a fixed fee

  • Operating company. Publit Sweden AB
  • Jurisdiction. EU (Sweden)
  • Where the data sits. Not stated on the pages checked
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Amazon KDP, IngramSpark

Publit is a Stockholm service for Swedish and Norwegian authors and small publishers. Print on demand and e-books cost 0 SEK a month, with 10% commission on bookshop distribution and 20% on its own online stores. Streaming and library distribution start at 495 SEK a month and a warehouse at 1,395 SEK a month, all excluding VAT.

The company is Publit Sweden AB (org.nr 556758-3595). Feeds go to Storytel, BookBeat and Nextory, libraries are reached via OverDrive, and ebook and audiobook conversion is offered. The pricing page covers publishers and individuals together, and global stores, hosting location, owners and founding year were not stated.

What Publit does well

  • 0 SEK monthly fee on print and e-book plans
  • Unlimited editions on the basic plans
  • Streaming and library distribution without commission
  • Warehouse option for physical stock
  • Prices published openly

Where Publit falls short

  • 10% to 20% commission on every sale
  • Streaming plan needs a monthly subscription
  • Focused on Sweden and Norway
  • Prices in SEK excl. VAT

Standout feature. Publit sends titles to the Swedish streaming services and to libraries through OverDrive.

#10 Bookvault

Peterborough, United Kingdom Paperback from 1.17 GBP; hardback from 3.82 GBP; MyBookvault free with 19.95 GBP title set-up fee; Indie 24.95 GBP per month; Pro 89.95 GBP per month Demo on request

Best for: Authors who sell through their own web store and want physical special editions

  • Operating company. CopyTECH (UK) Limited (t/a Printondemand-worldwide)
  • Jurisdiction. United Kingdom (adequacy decision, outside the EEA)
  • Where the data sits. Printing in Peterborough, UK; privacy policy mentions transfers outside the UK and EEA
  • Source code. Closed source
  • Replaces. Amazon KDP, IngramSpark

Bookvault is a Peterborough print service for authors who sell from their own store. Paperbacks start at 1.17 GBP and hardbacks at 3.82 GBP, plans run from the free MyBookvault tier with a 19.95 GBP title set-up fee to Indie at 24.95 GBP and Pro at 89.95 GBP a month. Connectors cover Shopify, WooCommerce, Wix and Payhip, and an API is available.

The operator is CopyTECH (UK) Limited, trading as Printondemand-worldwide, and printing takes place in Peterborough. As a UK company it sits outside the EEA, and its privacy policy mentions transfers outside the UK and EEA. No e-book service is described, royalties are paid within 90 days, and a status banner mentioned an outage when the pages were read.

What Bookvault does well

  • Public printing prices and plan prices
  • Store integrations for Shopify, WooCommerce, Wix and Payhip
  • Special edition finishes from one copy
  • API available
  • UK printing with fast single-copy turnaround stated

Where Bookvault falls short

  • Print-focused, no e-book service described
  • Monthly plans cost 24.95 or 89.95 GBP
  • Title set-up fee on the free tier
  • Royalties paid within 90 days

Standout feature. Bookvault prints sprayed edges, foiling, box sets and slipcases from a single copy.

How do I choose a European self-publishing platform?

Start with the language of the book, because most platforms here are built around one market. BoD Books on Demand, tolino media, epubli and tredition serve German-language authors, Bookmundo and Brave New Books serve Dutch readers, Bookelis and Librinova serve French ones, and Publit serves Sweden and Norway. Bookvault is the print-first option in the United Kingdom.

Then decide what you want to pay for. Bookelis and epubli publish at no cost, tolino media does not charge for e-books, Librinova sells packs from 75 euro, and BoD sells packages from 39 euro. A platform that asks money first usually adds a service, such as an ISBN, a quality check or a reading committee, so compare what is inside each price.

How do the royalty models differ between these platforms?

There are four models on the page. tolino media states a royalty band of 87% for e-books priced between 3.99 and 24.98 euro and 67% outside it. epubli states 70% of net revenue. tredition publishes a commission example for a 24.99 euro hardcover: 3.52 euro in the bookshop trade and 10.50 euro in its own shop. Publit takes a commission of 10% or 20%.

BoD, Bookmundo, Brave New Books and Librinova do not print a royalty percentage on the pages checked, so an author has to use the calculator or ask. Treat any figure as a starting point, because net revenue, print cost and shop margin change what the percentage is worth in euros.

What does a European platform change in jurisdiction and data protection?

The contracting company sits in the EU for nine of the ten platforms: Books on Demand GmbH in Hamburg, tolino media GmbH & Co. KG in Munich, Neopubli GmbH in Berlin, tredition GmbH in Ahrensburg, Mijnbestseller Nederland B.V. in Rotterdam, Bookelis SAS, SAS Librinova, Brave New Books B.V. in Amsterdam and Publit Sweden AB. Disputes fall under the national law of that country, not under the state law of a US marketplace.

Data location is less clear. epubli says its servers are in Germany, Bookelis and Librinova are hosted by OVH in Roubaix, and BoD prints in Germany. Several others do not state hosting at all, and the epubli newsletter uses a US provider. Bookvault is in the United Kingdom, which has an EU adequacy decision, and its privacy policy mentions transfers outside the UK and EEA.

How do I move a book away from Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing?

First check whether the e-book sits in KDP Select, which asks for digital exclusivity in 90-day periods. If so, wait for the period to end before listing the e-book on tolino media, Bookmundo or Bookelis. Print editions can move sooner, but a cover built for a KDP paperback usually needs to be rebuilt for the new printer.

Check the ISBN next. BoD includes one in its Publish tiers and Brave New Books sells the barcode for 12.75 euro, so a title moved to either gets a new number unless you own your own. Run one title through the new platform first and compare the proof copy and the first payment before you move the rest.

When should an author not leave Amazon KDP?

Keep KDP when most of your readers use Kindle, because none of the platforms listed has that audience built in. A platform such as Bookmundo or Bookelis can reach Kindle through distribution, but the Kindle page is then fed by a third party and the royalty rule is that platform's, not the KDP one.

Staying is also reasonable for a first book with no budget. Publishing on Brave New Books or epubli costs nothing, yet the extra reach only pays if you can send readers to it. Many authors keep KDP for the Kindle edition and use a European service for print copies, events and shops that do not stock Amazon titles.

Which platforms connect to an author's own web store?

Bookvault has the clearest integration list, with Shopify, WooCommerce, Wix and Payhip connectors and an API. Bookmundo gives each author a webshop and Brave New Books a personal author shop. tredition pays 45% of the price in its own shop in the vendor example, and Publit keeps a 20% commission on sales through online stores it runs for the author.

If direct sales are the plan, compare the shipping line as well. epubli lists 2.95 euro for shipping in Germany and 9.95 euro abroad, and Publit offers a warehouse for 1,395 SEK a month, which matters when you hold physical stock.

How we selected and ranked these 10 tools

Every tool on this page is in the European Purpose directory, which means the operating company is established in Europe and we have verified that from the company register or the vendor's own legal notice rather than from a marketing page. Tools headquartered outside Europe are not eligible, however good they are.

  1. Feature verification (weight: 40%). We check each capability against the vendor's own documentation and product pages, and record what the tool does rather than what the category is assumed to include.
  2. Ease of adoption (weight: 30%). Integrations, published API access, trial availability and how much configuration stands between signing and a usable result.
  3. Value and transparency (weight: 30%). Published pricing counts in a vendor's favour; quote-only pricing is recorded as quote-only rather than estimated. We weigh what a buyer gets for the entry price, not the headline feature count.
  4. Editorial review. Every page is researched and drafted with AI assistance, and the compliance and pricing claims are checked against the vendor's documentation before it is published under the founder's editorial responsibility. The three weights above decide the order; a position is a ranking against the other European tools in this category, not an absolute score.

Vendor-reported outcomes — ROI figures, margin uplift, time saved — are labelled as vendor claims wherever they appear on this page. We have not audited them, and neither has anyone else who quotes them. Read our full editorial process for how pages are re-verified.

Frequently asked questions

For a German-language book, the best fit is BoD Books on Demand if you want fixed prices, tolino media for e-books in the tolino shops, epubli for a zero-cost start and tredition for a reviewed book. For Dutch the pair is Bookmundo and Brave New Books, for French Bookelis and Librinova, for Sweden and Norway Publit, and Bookvault if you want special print editions.

Yes. epubli, tolino media for e-books, Bookelis, Bookmundo and Brave New Books describe free publication, and Publit charges 0 SEK a month for print and e-books. The cost comes later as a commission, a print price or a paid add-on, such as the Hachette Livre distribution packs at Bookelis.

Bookmundo says titles are not locked to it, and Brave New Books lets an author cancel at any time with rights retained. Other pages checked do not describe an exclusivity clause. Read the terms for each title, because only KDP Select is known on this page to require digital exclusivity.

BoD Books on Demand prints in Germany, epubli says it uses servers in Germany, and tredition prints at German printers. Bookelis and Librinova are hosted by OVH in Roubaix, France. Publit, Brave New Books, tolino media and Bookmundo do not state a hosting location on the pages checked.

Yes, but only on the platforms that sell to readers directly. Bookmundo, Brave New Books, tredition and Publit run author shops, and Bookvault connects to Shopify, WooCommerce, Wix and Payhip. Compare the share in the platform shop with the share in the bookshop trade, because tredition's own example shows a 45% share against 15%.