Every European screen recording tool reviewed
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Free forever plan for personal use / Pro (business use, up to 1080p, 50 GB cloud) and Premium (up to 4K, 5 seats, 200 GB cloud) billed monthly or annually; amounts are shown behind a currency selector, so none is quoted here
Free forever plan
Best for: Quick recordings shared by link, on any desktop OS
ScreenRec is the broadest free recorder in this directory. The free-forever plan gives unlimited recording length, 2 GB of cloud storage and screen, camera and audio recording on Windows, Mac and Linux, with instant private sharing by link. It also does screenshots with annotation and dictation. Pro allows business use and recording up to 1080p with 50 GB of storage, and Premium adds 4K and five seats.
The provider is TeddySoft OOD, company number 203070568 and VAT BG203070568, at 91 Bul. Hristo Botev Street, Plovdiv, Bulgaria. The terms name the company as the provider of the desktop app, cloud storage, video hosting and AI features, and they commit to a 99.9% monthly uptime for covered video delivery, with service credits below that.
The weak spot is data. The terms say dictation audio is processed using Speechmatics and AI metadata generation uses OpenAI, and the pages read do not state the country where recordings are stored. The pricing page shows amounts behind a currency selector, so none is quoted here. There is also no video editor, so it replaces a recorder, not Camtasia's timeline.
What ScreenRec does well
- Free forever plan with unlimited recording length
- Windows, Mac and Linux desktop apps
- Share links with 2 GB cloud storage on the free plan
- Company number and VAT number stated in the terms
- 99.9% uptime commitment with service credits
Where ScreenRec falls short
- Free plan is for personal use only
- Storage country for recordings is not stated
- Terms name Speechmatics and OpenAI as processors for AI features
- No video editor described on its pages
Standout feature. It gives a watermark-free recording and a share link on a free plan, on Windows, Mac and Linux.
Toulouse, France
Free version / PRO per user, one-time purchase / Enterprise for the whole company, one-time purchase; amounts are not in the page HTML
Free version usable at work; 30-day money-back guarantee on paid licences
Best for: Windows users who document software with screenshots and short videos
Screenpresso is edited by Learnpulse SAS at 15 rue Théodore de Banville, 31200 Toulouse, France. The Windows tool captures screenshots and video, highlights what matters and shares clear instructions, and the vendor says more than one million users are active. The free version can be used at work, with branding on some features and a limited image editor.
Pro is a one-time purchase per user. It adds HD and 4K video capture with system sound and HDR screens, automatic subtitle generation from speech, text capture from images, a full image editor, an Android capture feature, video clipping and merge, and automatic blurring of sensitive data in images or video. An Enterprise licence covers the whole company, needs no internet connection and is required for Citrix, RDS and VMware VDI. Both paid licences carry a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Prices are not in the page HTML, so none is quoted. The tool is for Windows only, and video editing stops at clipping and merging, so it does not replace Camtasia's multi-track timeline.
What Screenpresso does well
- Free version that can be used at work
- One-time Pro and Enterprise licences, no subscription
- Automatic blurring of sensitive data in images and video
- 4K video capture and automatic subtitles on Pro
- Enterprise licence works with no internet connection
Where Screenpresso falls short
- Windows only
- Video editing limited to clipping and merging
- Licence amounts not shown in the page HTML
- Free version carries branding on some features
Standout feature. It blurs sensitive information automatically in both screenshots and video, which suits tutorials that show real screens.
Bucharest, Romania
Free (25 videos a month, up to 5 minutes each) / Pro €8 per month / Business €12 per month / Enterprise on request
Free plan, no card needed
Best for: Teams that want Loom-style async video with open source code and EU hosting
SendRec is an open-source async video messaging platform. It records screen and microphone directly in the browser, uploads to the platform, and shares through password-protected links with view analytics and automatic transcription. The code is licensed under AGPLv3 and can be self-hosted or used as a managed service.
The operator is Neamtu Alexandru PFA, a Romanian sole trader at Str. Thomas Masaryk nr. 1, Bucharest, with CUI RO42457920 and EUID ROONRC.F2020000916404 in its imprint. The privacy policy states that the application, database and video storage sit on a Hetzner Online GmbH server in the Helsinki, Finland region, and its sub-processor page names Brevo (France) for email.
The free plan allows 25 videos a month of up to 5 minutes. Pro costs €8 per month and removes those limits, and Business costs €12 per month and adds SSO and SCIM. The company behind it is one person, so support depth and long-term continuity are the trade-off.
What SendRec does well
- Open source under AGPLv3, self-hostable
- Application and video storage on Hetzner in Helsinki, stated
- Imprint with CUI and EUID registration numbers
- Free plan with transcription and password-protected sharing
- Sub-processors listed with their locations
Where SendRec falls short
- Operated by a single sole trader
- Browser recording, not a native desktop recorder
- Free plan limited to 25 videos a month of up to 5 minutes
- No built-in timeline editor
Standout feature. It is the only recorder here that is open source and names the exact data centre region where videos are stored.
St Albans, England
€13 per seat per month, billed yearly, excluding VAT / Enterprise on request
Free trial on the Pro plan
Best for: Product, sales and support teams that send recorded updates instead of meetings
Supercut is an async video tool for business communication. It records natively on macOS and Windows in up to 4K, with screen, window or area capture, camera-only recording, system sound, annotation, layouts and branding. After recording it adds AI chapters, titles and summaries, auto-edits mistakes and silences, and offers an AI assistant that can be reached by agents through MCP.
The provider is Float Labs Limited, company number 15626011, registered at Arquen House, 4-6 Spicer Street, St Albans, England, and incorporated on 8 April 2024 according to Companies House. The privacy policy covers UK GDPR and EU GDPR. The sub-processor page names AWS in Ireland for all application data including videos. It also names Google Gemini, Deepgram, ElevenLabs and OpenAI, all located in the United States, for AI features. The footer lists SOC 2 and ISO 27001.
Pro costs €13 per seat per month billed yearly, excluding VAT, with unlimited videos of up to one hour each. It is a young company in a UK jurisdiction, so it sits outside the EU and EEA.
What Supercut does well
- Native Mac and Windows recording in up to 4K
- AWS Ireland hosting stated, with named sub-processors
- AI chapters, summaries and auto-edit included in Pro
- Clear per-seat price in euros
- MCP connection for agents
Where Supercut falls short
- United Kingdom company, outside the EU and EEA
- AI features pass data to four US sub-processors
- Company incorporated in 2024, so a short track record
- Videos limited to one hour each
Standout feature. It pairs native 4K recording with a published sub-processor list that shows exactly which AI features leave Europe.
Kraków, Poland
From $9 per month billed yearly; every feature is included in every plan
Best for: Mac users who want polished product demos with minimal editing
Screen Studio is a macOS-only recorder built on Apple's ScreenCaptureKit. It records screen, webcam and audio, detects clicks and cursor movement to add automatic zooms, smooths the cursor path, adds backgrounds and shadows, and exports MP4 up to 4K at 60 fps or GIF. It also records an iPhone or iPad over USB and offers shareable links.
The privacy policy names Timpler Adam Pietrasiak, ul. Jana Janowskiego 29E/1, 30-440 Kraków, Poland, as the data controller, which points to a one-person business, and names the Polish data protection authority as supervisor. The vendor describes an offline-first approach: transcription with Whisper or Apple's speech recognition, noise reduction and upscaling run on the device, and cloud features are optional.
Every feature is in every plan, from $9 per month billed yearly. It is Mac only and focused on demos rather than long training videos, and its shareable links are for short clips.
What Screen Studio does well
- Automatic zoom and cursor smoothing without manual editing
- Offline-first, with local transcription and noise reduction
- All features in every plan
- Export up to 4K at 60 fps
- Polish data controller with a named supervisory authority
Where Screen Studio falls short
- macOS only
- The data controller is a named individual's business, so support depth is unknown
- Subscription price, with no one-time licence on the page
- Not a general screenshot or documentation tool
Standout feature. It makes a rough screen recording look produced by adding zooms and cursor motion automatically, with processing on the device.
Wodzisław Śląski, Poland
Basic $35 one-time with one year of updates (renewal optional at $19 per year) / Pro yearly with unlimited Cloud storage
30-day money-back guarantee
Best for: Mac users who want screenshots and screen recording in one native app
CleanShot X is a Mac-native app for screenshots and screen recording. It captures scrolling pages, records with camera overlay, click highlighting and keystroke display, includes a video editor with smart zooms, copies text from images and annotates with markup and redaction. The vendor reports more than 250,000 users.
The company is MTW Oślizło & Magiera s.c., ul. Wałowa 49, 44-300 Wodzisław Śląski, Poland, NIP 6472582030, named as the data controller for CleanShot Cloud. The Cloud privacy policy says its providers may be located in the EU or elsewhere and points to a sub-processor list, which was not read for this directory. The vendor site states CleanShot Cloud is ISO 27001 certified.
Basic is $35 once with one year of updates and 1 GB of cloud storage, and updates can be renewed at $19 per year. Pro is a yearly plan with unlimited cloud storage, custom branding and team features. A 30-day money-back guarantee applies.
What CleanShot X does well
- One-time Basic licence with optional $19 yearly renewal
- Screenshots, scrolling capture and recording in one app
- Built-in video editor with smart zooms
- Polish company with NIP in its terms
- ISO 27001 stated for the Cloud service
Where CleanShot X falls short
- Mac only
- Updates stop after one year unless renewed
- Cloud sub-processor locations not read
- Basic plan includes only 1 GB of cloud storage
Standout feature. It is the one tool here that covers screenshots, scrolling capture and screen recording in a native Mac app with a one-time licence.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Express free / Yearly $29 per year (list $39) / Lifetime $49 one-time (list $65), as shown on the pricing page
Free Express tier with no watermark and no recording time limit
Best for: Windows users who want to record without limits and decide later whether to edit
FlashBack Express is the free tier of a Windows recorder family from Blueberry Software, whose site says it began with FlashBack in 2003. The page says Express lets you record for as long as you need with no watermark, and the comparison table shows screen and webcam recording, audio, scheduled recording and multi-monitor recording on every tier. It runs on Windows 10 and Windows 11.
Blueberry Software Limited is registered at Companies House under number 05823133 at 203 Scott House, The Custard Factory, Birmingham, incorporated on 19 May 2006 and active. The UK is outside the EU. The vendor site describes the company as based in the United Kingdom, and the pages read did not name a governing law.
Paid tiers add multi-track editing, text, images, effects and zoom. The pricing page shows $29 per year (list $39) and a $49 lifetime tier (list $65), so the amounts are sale prices and can change.
What FlashBack Express does well
- Free tier with no time limit and no watermark
- Lifetime tier as well as a yearly one
- Scheduled and multi-monitor recording on every tier
- Named UK company in Companies House
- Multi-track editor on paid tiers
Where FlashBack Express falls short
- Windows only
- Editing is a paid feature
- Prices appear with list and sale amounts
- United Kingdom company, outside the EU
Standout feature. The free tier records for as long as you like without a watermark, which is rare among recorders.
Zielona Góra, Poland
Free 30-day trial / paid licence; no price shown on the product page checked
Free 30-day trial
Best for: Windows users who record long or demanding sessions and edit elsewhere
Action! is presented by Mirillis as a gameplay and screen recorder. The product page offers a free 30-day trial download for Windows Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10 and 11, alongside Mirillis' other products, a remote PC access tool and a free HD video player.
The company is Mirillis Sp. z o.o., a Polish limited liability company with its headquarters at ul. Fabryczna 14B/1, 65-410 Zielona Góra, named as the controller of personal data in its privacy policy. The terms of use say the website is controlled from offices in Poland. The product page checked does not show a licence price.
It records and exports; the page describes no video editor, so you edit the result in another program. The marketing leans toward gameplay, which suits long sessions but means less tutorial tooling than Screenpresso or FlashBack.
What Mirillis Action! does well
- Free 30-day trial before buying
- Covers Windows Vista through Windows 11
- Polish limited liability company named in the privacy policy
- Website and terms controlled from Poland
- Same vendor also offers free video playback and remote access tools
Where Mirillis Action! falls short
- Windows only
- No licence price on the product page checked
- No editor described on the page
- Gameplay-oriented marketing
Standout feature. It is the only recorder here positioned for long gameplay sessions as much as for tutorials.
Limassol, Cyprus
Founded 2014
Free version with limits / PRO upgrade; amounts are not stable on the pages checked
Free version
Best for: Simple recordings that need a trim and a few annotations
Icecream Screen Recorder is available on Windows, Mac and Android. It records the full screen or a region, adds a webcam window, a logo watermark and scheduled recording, and shares recordings by upload to the vendor's server. The page says there are lots of features available for free, and a PRO upgrade removes the limits.
The company gives its address as Icecream Apps Ltd, Amathountos 120, Nicholas House, Agios Tychonas, 4532 Limassol, Cyprus, and its privacy policy names Icecream Apps Limited, Cyprus as data controller. The about page says the first apps launched in 2014. The company register was not checked.
The editing is basic. For titles, multiple tracks or animations you need a separate editor. The free-version limits are listed behind the in-app upgrade page, so they could not be quoted here.
What Icecream Screen Recorder does well
- Windows, Mac and Android versions
- Webcam window, logo watermark and scheduled recording
- Free version with a PRO upgrade path
- Cypriot company named in terms and privacy policy
- Part of a family that includes a video editor
Where Icecream Screen Recorder falls short
- Free-version limits not shown on the product page
- Editing is basic
- Company register not checked
- Share uploads go to the vendor's server, location unstated
Standout feature. It is the only recorder here that covers Windows, Mac and Android.
Limassol, Cyprus
Founded 2004
Free trial version / licence shown at €17.95 including VAT on the product page when checked
Free trial version of the program
Best for: Occasional recordings with scheduling, from a long-established vendor
Movavi Screen Recorder captures screen and audio, including system audio and voice, highlights the cursor and keystrokes, takes scrolling screenshots and schedules recordings. It has Windows and Mac versions, and the product page offers a trial that the page says is not the full product. At the time of checking, the page showed a licence at €17.95 including VAT.
The footer names Movavi Software Limited, and the contact page lists its Cyprus office as Office 201, 3 Krinou Street, 4103 Limassol, alongside Movavi Software Inc. in the United States and offices in Dubai and Serbia. The about page says Movavi was established in 2004 but does not say who owns the company, so the Cypriot entity is the contracting party this directory can verify, not the full ownership chain.
It is placed late in the ranking for that reason, and because the pages checked say little about data handling for the screen recorder itself.
What Movavi Screen Recorder does well
- Windows and Mac versions
- Scheduled recording and scrolling screenshots
- Licence price shown on the product page
- Cypriot registered office listed
- Operating since 2004, per its about page
Where Movavi Screen Recorder falls short
- Ownership of the company is not stated on its about page
- A US entity and other offices sit alongside the Cypriot one
- Trial is not the full product
- Little data-handling detail for the recorder
Standout feature. It is a long-running desktop recorder with a visible licence price, but its corporate chain is the least transparent on this page.
Rastede, Germany
Snap Pro 26 from €12.99 (upgrade from an older version €15)
30-day free trial and 30-day money-back guarantee
Best for: German-vendor screenshots with occasional video, bought as a licence
Ashampoo Snap Pro 26 takes screenshots and records video with a scrolling option, a sound option and quick keyboard shortcuts. The editor offers tools for text, markers, numbering and blurring, and a video cutter removes pauses and extra steps. It comes with a 30-day free trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee.
The company is Ashampoo GmbH & Co. KG, Schafjückenweg 2, 26180 Rastede, Germany, registered at Handelsregister HRA 3618, Amtsgericht Oldenburg, with a general partner registered as HRB 4490, VAT number DE204940257. The terms apply German law. The page shows Snap Pro 26 from €12.99 and an upgrade price of €15 from older versions.
It is screenshot-first, so video recording is a feature rather than the point. The product page checked does not state which operating systems it supports in the text read, so check the requirements before buying.
What Ashampoo Snap does well
- German GmbH & Co. KG with full register details
- Low entry price from €12.99
- 30-day free trial and money-back guarantee
- Editing with blur, markers and numbering
- German law stated in the terms
Where Ashampoo Snap falls short
- Video is secondary to screenshots
- System requirements not read on the page checked
- Limited timeline editing
- Video recording is not the main focus
Standout feature. It is the one screenshot-first tool here from a company with a full German commercial register entry and a licence price from €12.99.
London, United Kingdom
Free plan; paid Lite, Pro and Business plans, with exact prices shown at checkout; Enterprise on request
Free plan available
Best for: Teams that want to record in the browser and edit the clip straight away
VEED is a browser-based video editor with a built-in screen recorder. It records screen, webcam and audio in layouts such as screen only, camera only or combined, at up to 1080p, with no download required. After recording, AI tools remove noise, blur the background, remove filler words and generate subtitles. Sharing links let viewers watch and comment.
The privacy policy names Veed Limited, 17-18 Clere Street, Shoreditch, London EC2A 4LJ as the legal entity, and the terms apply the law of England and Wales to the standard contractual clauses. The UK is outside the EU, covered for EU transfers by an adequacy decision. The pages checked did not state where recordings are stored.
There is a free plan and paid Lite, Pro and Business plans, with prices shown at checkout and Enterprise on request. Mobile recording is not supported on the recorder page.
What VEED does well
- Records and edits in the same browser tab
- Free plan available
- AI clean-up for noise, background and subtitles
- No download needed
- Legal entity and address named in the privacy policy
Where VEED falls short
- United Kingdom company, outside the EU
- Storage location for recordings not stated on the pages read
- Prices not shown until checkout
- Browser recording depends on your connection and does not support mobile
Standout feature. It is the only tool here where recording and a full AI video editor share one browser tab.