Every European operating system reviewed
Paris, France
Operating system free / Murena sells phones with /e/OS pre-installed
Free to install on supported models; no trial needed
Best for: People who want to keep Android apps but stop sending data to Google
Murena /e/OS is the strongest European answer to Android in this directory. The operating system is built on AOSP and LineageOS with Google dependencies removed or disabled, Google services replaced by microG and open-source equivalents, and the default search engine changed. It remains compatible with existing Android apps, and its App Lounge installs from Google Play, F-Droid and web apps in one interface. The documentation says it runs on more than 200 different smartphone models.
The legal picture is French on both sides. Murena Retail SAS, SIRET 883 789 398 00012, is at 31 Avenue de Ségur, Paris, with Gaël Duval as legal representative, and the legal notice names Hetzner Online GmbH as website host.
The e Foundation that develops /e/OS is a French association registered on 26 April 2018 at 28 Rue de Hauteville, Paris, hosted at OVH. The privacy policy says data on a user's /e/ server is encrypted and never shared, sold or traded, but it does not give the country of the partner servers behind it.
The system itself is free and the money comes from Murena phones and Workspace cloud subscriptions. All pre-installed apps are open source except Maps.
What Murena /e/OS does well
- French company and French association behind the system
- More than 200 supported phone models
- Open source apart from Maps among the pre-installed apps
- App Lounge installs from Google Play, F-Droid and web apps
- The operating system is free to install
Where Murena /e/OS falls short
- The privacy policy does not state the country of partner servers
- Uses AOSP and LineageOS, so security patch timing follows those projects
- Maps is not open source
- Phone-only: no desktop version
Standout feature. It is the only system here that pairs a French legal entity and a French association with support for more than 200 phone models.
Augsburg, Germany
Free ISO download
Live ISO for testing before installation
Best for: Desktop users who want KDE Plasma from a German company that states no telemetry
TUXEDO OS is a desktop Linux built on Ubuntu and Kubuntu with a modified Linux kernel tuned for TUXEDO hardware and KDE Plasma as the desktop. Firefox, Thunderbird and LibreOffice are pre-installed, drivers including NVIDIA are integrated, and Steam with Proton is supported for gaming. The vendor states there is no telemetry, advertising or bloatware preset, and that the source code is open for review. A chroot recovery tool is included on the ISO.
The operator is TUXEDO Computers GmbH, Alter Postweg 101, 86159 Augsburg, registered at Amtsgericht Augsburg under HRB 27755, with Herbert Feiler as general manager. The OS is a free ISO download from os.tuxedocomputers.com. The product page does not state where update servers are located, so that question stays open.
Because the company is a laptop maker, the system is designed around its own hardware first. It runs elsewhere, but the tuned kernel and drivers are the reason to choose it on a TUXEDO device.
What TUXEDO OS does well
- German GmbH with a full imprint
- No telemetry, advertising or bloatware stated by the vendor
- KDE Plasma with deep customisation
- Free to download, with live ISO for testing
- Steam and Proton support for gaming
Where TUXEDO OS falls short
- Update-server location is not stated on the product page
- Tuned for TUXEDO hardware first
- Built on Ubuntu, so it follows Canonical's release cycle
- Linux desktop: Windows-only applications do not run natively
Standout feature. It is the only desktop Linux here from a German hardware vendor that states no telemetry, no advertising and no bloatware.
Nuremberg, Germany
openSUSE free / SUSE Linux Enterprise Server subscription priced on request, no figure on the product page
openSUSE is free to use with no account
Best for: Organisations that want a certified enterprise Linux with a free community twin
SUSE offers two routes. SUSE Linux Enterprise Server is described as a resilient, secure Linux foundation across data centre, cloud and edge, with Common Criteria EAL4+ certification, a predictable lifecycle and support for ARM, IBM Power and IBM Z. openSUSE is the free sibling, with Leap as a stable release, Tumbleweed as rolling release, and Aeon and Kalpa as GNOME and KDE desktop flavours. openSUSE is described as free with no upsells, ads or mandatory accounts, with full-disk encryption, Btrfs snapshots and LVM available.
SUSE's privacy policy names SUSE Software Solutions Germany GmbH, Frankenstraße 146, 90461 Nuremberg, as the main controller, and states ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and ISO/IEC 27701:2019 certifications. The same footer also names SUSE LLC as a contracting entity, and the policy says data moves globally under standard contractual clauses and possibly the EU-US Data Privacy Framework. Anyone buying should check which entity signs the contract.
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server does not publish a price on its product page, so it is quote-based.
What SUSE Linux and openSUSE does well
- Common Criteria EAL4+ for SUSE Linux Enterprise Server
- ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and 27701:2019 stated for the company
- Free openSUSE with desktop and rolling-release options
- Supports ARM, IBM Power and IBM Z
- German controller entity at Nuremberg
Where SUSE Linux and openSUSE falls short
- SUSE LLC is also named as a contracting entity
- Privacy policy allows global data transfers
- No price published for SUSE Linux Enterprise Server
- Enterprise-first: the desktop experience is openSUSE, not the paid product
Standout feature. It is the only option here with Common Criteria EAL4+ certification on an enterprise Linux and a free community distribution next to it.
Dublin, Ireland
Core free / Pro one-time purchase, price not visible in the page text, no subscription
Core edition is a free download
Best for: People leaving Windows who want a familiar layout on Linux
Zorin OS is built on Ubuntu and comes as a free Core edition and a paid Pro edition. It offers customisable desktop layouts, through the Zorin Appearance app, that match the look of Windows, macOS or Linux, and lets users double-click .exe or .msi installers to run many Windows applications. Thousands of further programs are available through the built-in software store.
The company is Irish. The terms name Zorin OS Technologies Ltd., company number 591652, at the Guinness Enterprise Centre, Taylor's Lane, Dublin 8, under Irish law with Irish courts.
The privacy policy names the controller as Zorin Technology Group Limited with the same number and address. The two names differ in the documents and share a number. The policy also says data may be stored outside the EU, lists DigitalOcean and Netlify for web hosting, and lists Google Drive, Dropbox, Mailchimp and Freshdesk among processors.
Pro is a one-time purchase, not a subscription, and includes installation support for one computer. Business use needs a licence per computer. The OS sends an hourly census ping that users can disable at installation or in the terminal.
What Zorin OS does well
- Desktop layouts that imitate Windows or macOS
- Runs many Windows applications from .exe and .msi installers
- Free Core edition, one-time purchase for Pro
- Irish law and Irish courts under the terms
- Census ping can be disabled
Where Zorin OS falls short
- Privacy policy lists American processors and says data may leave the EU
- Two company names for one company number in the documents
- Business use needs a licence per computer
- Future major versions are a separate purchase
Standout feature. It is the one that looks most like Windows on arrival, with a one-time Pro price instead of a subscription.
Remscheid, Germany
OS ships on Volla devices: Quintus €719, Plinius €598 or €698, X23 €564, Tablet €698
Best for: People who want a phone without Google and no vendor account
Volla OS runs on Volla's own phones and tablet and is described as a minimalist system without Google Apps, Google Play Services or Google Cloud. No Volla account is required, and a security mode blocks untrusted apps and trackers. Volla devices can also run Ubuntu Touch, with multi-boot allowing both systems on one device. The vendor lists the Quintus at €719, the Plinius at €598 or €698, the X23 at €564 and the Tablet at €698.
The company is Volla Systeme GmbH, Kölner Straße 102, 42897 Remscheid, registered at Amtsgericht Wuppertal under HRB 28033, with Dr. Jörg Wurzer as managing director. The privacy policy names Strato AG in Berlin as website host and does not describe processing for Volla OS services. The vendor says data belongs to the user through distributed cloud technology rather than central data centres.
The pages checked did not state a licence for Volla OS, so no open-source claim is made here, though the vendor says its source code is available on GitHub.
What Volla OS does well
- No Google Apps, Play Services or Google Cloud
- No Volla account required
- Ubuntu Touch available as a second system
- German GmbH with a full imprint
Where Volla OS falls short
- Runs on Volla's own devices, with limited choice
- Licence terms not stated on the pages checked
- Privacy policy gives no location for Volla OS services
- Devices cost €564 to €719
Standout feature. It is the only phone system here that also lets the same device boot Ubuntu Touch.
Tampere, Finland
Sailfish OS licence €24.90 for legacy Sony Xperia devices / free trial version without Android AppSupport
Free trial version for compatible devices, excluding Android AppSupport and commercial components
Best for: People who want a mobile system that is neither Android nor iOS
Sailfish OS comes from Jolla in Tampere, Finland. The shop sells a Sailfish OS licence at €24.90, described as a commercial licence for legacy Sony Xperia devices that also supports development and community activities, plus a free trial version for compatible devices without Android AppSupport and commercial components. Jolla also sells the Community Phone and the Mind2 Personal AI Computer. The shop serves the EU, UK, Norway and Switzerland, and the products work globally with limited support elsewhere.
The documents name more than one entity. The terms give the provider as Jolla Group Ltd or Jolla Mobile Ltd at Polttimonkatu 3, 33210 Tampere, under Finnish law with Helsinki district court. The privacy policy names Jollyboys Ltd., business ID 3381425-4, at the same address as controller. It says personal data is stored on servers in the European Economic Area run by third-party providers and names none.
Payment partners Fastspring and Shopify act as joint controllers for shop transactions. The pages checked do not state a licence for Sailfish OS beyond the Sailfish EULA, so no open-source claim is made.
What Sailfish OS does well
- Independent mobile system, not Android and not iOS
- Finnish law and Helsinki district court
- Free trial version for compatible devices
- Privacy policy restricts personal data storage to the EEA
Where Sailfish OS falls short
- Three company names appear across the terms and privacy policy
- Server providers are not named
- Short device list; legacy Xperia licence is the main paid route
- Trial version excludes Android AppSupport
Standout feature. It is the only independent mobile operating system on this list that is not built on Android.
Roubaix, France
Operating system free / pre-installed devices priced separately
Free to install yourself with the documentation
Best for: People who want tracker blocking built in and a French vendor that sells ready-made phones
iodéOS is an Android-based system that removes tracking and data collection from the Android base and ships with shields against trackers in apps and the OS. The operating system is free, its code is on the vendor's own GitLab, and iodé sells 40-plus refurbished and new phones and tablets with it pre-installed. Users can also install it themselves from the documentation.
The company is iodé technologies SAS, registered at 2 rue Kellermann, 59100 Roubaix, RCS Roubaix-Tourcoing, VAT number FR56902577675, with an operating address in Pechbusque. The legal notice names OVH as web host and M. Antoine Maurino as publication director. The privacy policy says analytics use Matomo with IPs anonymised by at least two bytes, tracking cookies and profiling disabled, and analytics data deleted after 12 months. It does not state the physical location of servers.
Pricing is for devices, not the operating system.
What iodéOS does well
- Free operating system with open-source code
- Tracker shields built in
- Pre-installed on 40-plus refurbished and new devices
- French company with a full legal notice
Where iodéOS falls short
- Privacy policy does not state server location
- Phone-only, Android-based
- Smaller project than Murena /e/OS
- Device prices are set by the vendor, not by the OS
Standout feature. It is the only phone system here that is sold on refurbished handsets as a way to keep an old phone in use.
Bremen, Germany
Core Edition free / Nubus enterprise subscription from €35 per user per year (RRP) / UCS@school €4.20 per user per year
Free Core Edition
Best for: Organisations that want to replace Microsoft Active Directory with open source
Univention UCS is an open-source server and identity platform, described as the established all-in-one solution for open-source identity and access management on virtual machines and on-premises hardware. Univention states that Nubus can fully replace Microsoft Active Directory or run alongside it, and that it can run as a virtual machine or in Kubernetes on-premises, in a private cloud or at a service provider.
The company is Univention GmbH, Mary-Somerville-Str. 1, 28359 Bremen, registered in the Bremen commercial register under HRB 20755, with Peter H. Ganten and Stefan Gohmann as managing directors. Because deployment is customer-chosen, the hosting location is whatever the customer picks.
The Core Edition is free of charge, with security updates for six months after the next version releases. Nubus enterprise subscriptions start at €35 per user per year (recommended retail price) with up to seven years of maintenance per major release, and UCS@school is €4.20 per user per year. Support runs Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. CET, with 4/4/4/16 hour response times by severity.
What Univention UCS does well
- Free Core Edition with security updates
- States that it can replace Active Directory
- Customer chooses where it runs
- Up to seven years of maintenance per major release
- Education pricing at €4.20 per user per year
Where Univention UCS falls short
- A server and identity platform, not a desktop or phone system
- Core Edition security updates run six months past the next version
- Standard support is weekdays only; 24/7 is an extension
- Subscriptions are being moved under the Nubus product
Standout feature. It is the only option here that states it can fully replace Microsoft Active Directory.
Berlin, Germany
Free ISO download
Live ISO
Best for: Desktop users who want a company-backed Linux pre-installed on partner laptops
Manjaro is offered as live ISO downloads for x86 PCs and ARM devices, and is pre-installed on partner hardware including the Slimbook Manjaro III, the Zotac Gaming ZONE Pro and Star Labs laptops. The project describes itself as backed by Manjaro GmbH & Co. KG, an open-source driven company.
The legal entity is Manjaro GmbH & Co. KG, Kolonnenstraße 8, 10827 Berlin, registered at Amtsgericht Berlin-Charlottenburg under HRA 62804, a limited partnership whose liable general partner is Manjaro Verwaltungs-GmbH, HRB 263833. The privacy policy says contact-form mail uses its own mail server in Germany, says it does not sell, trade or rent personal data, and says comments are retained indefinitely for moderation. The download page lists no price and no update-server location.
Forum use is covered by a separate policy on forum.manjaro.org.
What Manjaro does well
- German limited partnership with a full imprint
- Live ISOs for x86 and ARM
- Pre-installed on several partner laptops and handhelds
- Mail server for contact forms stated to be in Germany
Where Manjaro falls short
- No update-server location stated
- Editions and base system not described on the pages checked
- Forum has a separate privacy policy
- Comments are retained indefinitely
Standout feature. It is the only desktop Linux here that ships pre-installed on laptops from three different hardware partners.
London, United Kingdom
Free / Ubuntu Pro free for up to 5 machines, Workstation $25 per machine per year, Server $500 per machine per year with unlimited VMs
Free download; Ubuntu Pro has a free 30-day trial
Best for: Teams that want the largest Linux package base and a long support window
Ubuntu is Canonical's desktop and server Linux. The current release is Ubuntu 26.04.1 LTS, free, with GNOME 50 and Linux kernel 7.0, available for Intel and AMD 64-bit and ARM 64-bit.
LTS means five years of free security and maintenance updates, extended up to 15 years with Ubuntu Pro. Ubuntu Pro is free for personal use on up to five machines, or up to 50 for active community members, then $25 per workstation per year, and $500 per server per year with unlimited VMs.
The company is British. Canonical Group Limited, company 0110334C, is at 5 New Street Square, London EC4A 3TW, and is the controller for personal data across the group. The privacy policy states that personal information is transferred to and stored outside the EEA and is processed by staff outside the EEA who work for Canonical or its suppliers.
It is listed because it is European-run and widely used, with that privacy caveat attached. It sits near the bottom of the ranking because of that statement.
What Ubuntu does well
- Free with five years of updates, up to 15 with Ubuntu Pro
- Ubuntu Pro free for up to five machines
- Releases for Intel, AMD and ARM
- Published pricing for Pro
Where Ubuntu falls short
- Privacy policy says data goes outside the EEA
- UK company, not an EU one
- Server Pro is $500 per machine per year
- Pricing is in US dollars
Standout feature. It is the only option here with a published five-to-fifteen-year support window and a published price list.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Free
Best for: Anyone running a Raspberry Pi, from a classroom to a home server
Raspberry Pi OS is the official operating system of the Raspberry Pi. It is Debian-based, maintained by Raspberry Pi's own software engineering team, continuously updated, available at no charge, and works with computers from the Raspberry Pi 1 to the Raspberry Pi 5. The pages checked do not detail x86 desktop availability, so none is claimed.
The company is Raspberry Pi Ltd, company number 08207441, at 194 Cambridge Science Park, Cambridge CB4 0AB, under the laws of England and Wales. It is a wholly owned subsidiary of Raspberry Pi Holdings plc. The privacy policy says information is stored on its own IT infrastructure without naming a region, lists Stripe and AI platform providers such as Inkeep among processors, and says transfers outside the UK and EEA use safeguards like standard contractual clauses.
It ranks low as a Windows or macOS alternative because it is built for one family of boards, and it is listed because it is the most widely used European-made operating system.
What Raspberry Pi OS does well
- Free and official for every Raspberry Pi
- Maintained by the board maker's own engineers
- Backwards compatible from the Pi 1 to the Pi 5
- UK company with registered number and address
Where Raspberry Pi OS falls short
- Built for Raspberry Pi hardware, not a general PC replacement
- Privacy policy names no data region
- UK law, not EU
- Licence terms not stated on the pages checked
Standout feature. It is the only operating system here maintained by the makers of the hardware it runs on.
Rheda-Wiedenbrück, Germany
Free
Live CD image and nightly builds
Best for: People who want an open-source system that runs Windows applications and drivers
ReactOS is designed to run Windows applications and drivers in an open-source environment. The current release is 0.4.16, released on 29 August 2026, with a new graphical installer, unified boot and live CD images, and improved video, audio, networking and storage support. Nightly builds are available, the code is on GitHub, and the project marked 30 years since its first commit.
The operator is ReactOS Deutschland e.V., a registered charitable association at Am Bach 11, 33378 Rheda-Wiedenbrück, represented by Matthias Kupfer, Daniel Reimer, Pierre Schweitzer and Colin Finck. The legal page says the website runs at an external host and that the operating system does not collect personal user data for automatic transmission to the maker or a third party.
It is last in the ranking because it is an ongoing project rather than a system most people can rely on daily, and no commercial support is listed.
What ReactOS does well
- Built to run Windows applications and drivers
- Free and open source
- States it transmits no personal user data
- German registered association with a full legal page
Where ReactOS falls short
- No commercial support listed
- A project, not a drop-in daily system for most users
- Hosting provider for the website is not named
- No published price or subscription, as it is free
Standout feature. It is the only system here that sets out to run Windows applications and drivers natively.