Every European OCR software tool reviewed
15 rue des Halles, Paris, France
OCR is priced per 1,000 pages according to the pricing page; no OCR figure is shown on that page
Best for: Developers who need text from complex PDFs for AI pipelines
Mistral OCR is an optical character recognition API from the Paris company behind the Mistral language models. It takes images and PDFs as input and returns ordered text interleaved with images. Mistral says it understands tables, mathematical expressions and advanced layouts such as LaTeX, is natively multilingual and can return structured output when prompted. It is aimed at feeding documents into retrieval and analysis pipelines rather than at invoice capture.
The company is Mistral AI, a French limited joint-stock corporation incorporated in Paris under number 952 418 325, registered at 15 rue des Halles. The commercial terms say products are provided by Mistral AI or an affiliate specified in an Order Form, which is worth checking in a contract. The launch post says self-hosting is selectively available for organisations with highly sensitive or classified information.
It is ranked first because it is the most capable general document reader here and the legal entity is clear, but it is a model API: validation, review screens and accounting hand-offs are yours to build. The pricing page says OCR is priced per 1,000 pages and shows no figure.
What Mistral AI (Mistral OCR) does well
- Paris company with the registration number in its own terms
- Handles tables, equations and complex layouts
- Structured output from prompts
- Selective self-hosting for sensitive organisations
- Priced per 1,000 pages rather than by seat
Where Mistral AI (Mistral OCR) falls short
- A model API, not a finished invoice-capture product
- No OCR price figure on the pricing page
- Terms allow an affiliate as contracting party
- Hosting region for the OCR API not stated
Standout feature. It is the only option here that treats a document as a prompt, returning structured data from layouts other OCR tools flatten.
Laan Corpus den Hoorn 1, Groningen, Netherlands
Custom pricing on request; pay-per-document or annual licence models
Free trial with credits
Best for: Teams that want invoice, ID and receipt extraction with fraud checks
Doxis AI.dp is the platform formerly sold as Klippa DocHorizon. The vendor lists support for 100+ document types, including invoices, receipts, passports, ID cards and bank statements, 150+ languages and 20+ file formats, with output in JSON, CSV, XML, XLSX and UBL. It can be used as an OCR API, a mobile SDK or a no-code platform, and includes fraud detection and human-in-the-loop review.
The contracting company is Doxis AI Solutions B.V., which the terms place at Laan Corpus den Hoorn 1 in Groningen, with KVK number 74785834. The site states ISO 27001 and ISAE 3000 Type I, EU-based servers and that no data is stored by default. Klippa was acquired in 2025 by the Bonn-based group now also branded Doxis, per press coverage; both are European.
Pricing is on request, with pay-per-document or annual licence models and a free trial with credits. It ranks second because of its breadth of document types and certifications, but a buyer has to talk to sales to learn the cost.
What Doxis AI.dp (formerly Klippa) does well
- Dutch company with KVK number on its own site
- 100+ document types and 150+ languages
- ISO 27001 and ISAE 3000 Type I stated
- Fraud detection and human-in-the-loop review
- API, mobile SDK and no-code platform
Where Doxis AI.dp (formerly Klippa) falls short
- No published prices
- Brand is mid-rename from Klippa, so older names remain in use
- Country of the EU servers not named
- Part of a larger group since 2025
Standout feature. It combines extraction for 100+ document types with built-in fraud checks, which most OCR APIs here do not offer.
Asslar, Germany
No public price list; free discovery phase, pilots from €5,000, enterprise implementations from €15,000
Free strategic discovery phase, then a paid pilot
Best for: German enterprises that need document AI inside their own infrastructure
Konfuzio is document processing and workflow automation built around AI agents. The vendor describes it as going beyond OCR to handle extraction, validation, compliance checks and routing, across contracts, invoices and multi-document workflows in banking, insurance, healthcare and legal. It is aimed at enterprises, not at someone who wants to upload a PDF and get text.
Konfuzio is operated by Helm & Nagel GmbH, Rosenweg 5, 35614 Asslar, registered at the Wetzlar court under HRB 7706. The site says it is hosted in Germany or Europe and can run fully on-premises with no data outflow, or on German cloud providers Hetzner and Telekom or the major hyperscalers. It states ISO 27001 and GDPR compliance.
There is no price list. The vendor describes a free discovery phase, paid pilots from €5,000 and enterprise implementations from €15,000, then SaaS or on-premises licences by volume. It suits organisations that want the data kept in Germany, and it is a poor fit for small self-serve use.
What Konfuzio does well
- German GmbH with commercial register number on its imprint
- Full on-premises option with no data outflow
- German hosting stated
- ISO 27001 stated
- Free discovery phase before any spend
Where Konfuzio falls short
- No self-serve plan or public price list
- Pilots start at €5,000
- Enterprise-oriented, heavier than a simple OCR API
- Research and ranking claims rest on the vendor's own statements
Standout feature. It is the one tool here that offers fully on-premises operation next to German hosting, for organisations that cannot send documents out.
Hauptstrasse 134, Sissach, Switzerland
No prices on the pricing page; quote based
Demo and trial account, playground
Best for: Swiss and regulated firms processing bank, insurance and health documents
Parashift is a document AI vendor for regulated companies. It offers two routes: the Parashift platform as guardrail infrastructure for enterprise automation, and Dokumentli, its own vision-language model that it says reads business documents more precisely than generic frontier language models. Its solution pages cover banking dossiers and KYC, insurance claims and underwriting, and healthcare referrals and accounts payable.
The imprint names Parashift AG, Hauptstrasse 134, 4450 Sissach, Switzerland, with UID CHE-101.770.667. Switzerland is not in the EU or the EEA, so it counts here as European but not EU. The vendor also sells to software vendors under OEM licensing, for those who want to embed document AI in their own product.
The pricing page shows no figures, and a demo and trial account is offered instead. The hosting location was not stated on the pages checked.
What Parashift does well
- Swiss company with UID on its imprint
- Own vision-language model, Dokumentli
- Solutions for banking, insurance and healthcare
- OEM licensing for software vendors
- Demo and trial account available
Where Parashift falls short
- Switzerland is outside the EU and EEA
- No prices published
- Hosting location not stated
- Enterprise-oriented, not self-serve
Standout feature. It is the only option here built around its own document-reading model for banks and insurers, with OEM licensing for software vendors.
5 Boulevard des Bouvets, Nanterre, France
Free plan with 20 credits / Advanced €199 per month excl. tax, billed monthly, about €0.20 per page / Enterprise by quote
Free plan with 20 credits to test extraction
Best for: Small teams that want a published monthly plan and fraud scoring
Koncile is an OCR extraction platform with an API, SDK and MCP access, ready extractors for invoices, bank statements, identity documents, contracts, bills of lading and prescriptions, and a document fraud service. The fraud service gives each document a score from 0 to 1 computed from more than 150 signals, and is available under an Enterprise contract.
The legal notice names Koncile SAS, a simplified joint-stock company with its registered office at 5 Boulevard des Bouvets, 92000 Nanterre, registered with RCS Nanterre under number 948 056 205. The terms are signed by that company, with no non-European affiliate named.
Pricing is published: a free plan with 20 credits, an Advanced plan at €199 per month excluding tax (about €0.20 per page) with API, SDK and MCP access and unlimited extractors, and Enterprise by quote. Overages are billed as used. Payment accepts bank cards and SEPA direct debit.
What Koncile does well
- French SAS with the RCS number on its legal notice
- Published €199 monthly plan
- Free plan to test extraction
- Fraud score with 150+ signals
- Exports to SAP, Excel, n8n, Make and Power Automate
Where Koncile falls short
- API access requires the €199 plan
- Fraud detection only on Enterprise contracts
- Hosting region not stated on the pages checked
- Young company with fewer references than the larger vendors
Standout feature. It publishes a flat monthly price with an approximate per-page cost and unlimited extractors, which most enterprise-oriented tools here do not.
Bentsebrugata 31E, 0469 Oslo, Norway
Free $0 (50 pages per month) / Builder $40 per month billed annually (500 pages) / Pro $240 per month billed annually (5,000 pages) / Enterprise custom
Free plan, no credit card required
Best for: Automation teams building workflows in n8n, Zapier or Power Automate
Cradl AI describes itself as the document AI layer for automation workflows. It builds purpose-built agents that turn complex multi-page documents into structured data with line-level extraction, table extraction, splitting and classification, built-in guardrails and human review for exceptions. It integrates with n8n, Power Automate, Zapier and webhooks.
The contracting company is Lucidtech AS, trading as Cradl AI, with organisation number 918 345 787 MVA, at Bentsebrugata 31E, 0469 Oslo, Norway. Norway is in the EEA but not the EU. The privacy policy says primary hosting is in the EU/EEA, names Amazon Web Services for infrastructure, and says Google Analytics data goes to US servers, with standard contractual clauses for processing outside the EU/EEA.
Prices are published: Free at $0 for up to 50 pages a month, Builder at $40 a month billed annually for 500 pages, Pro at $240 a month billed annually for 5,000 pages, and Enterprise on request. Prices are in dollars.
What Cradl AI does well
- Prices published for every self-serve tier
- Free plan with 50 pages a month
- Table and line-level extraction
- Integrates with n8n, Power Automate and Zapier
- Norwegian company with organisation number on its terms
Where Cradl AI falls short
- Norway is EEA, not EU
- Prices are in US dollars
- Amazon Web Services named as infrastructure
- Small page quotas on lower tiers
Standout feature. It has the clearest self-serve ladder here, from a free 50 pages to 5,000 pages for $240 a month, built for workflow tools.
14 rue Charles V, Paris, France
Starter $44 per month billed annually ($529 per year), 6,000 credits per month / Pro adds live chat, unlimited seats and data processing localisation / Enterprise custom, 500,000+ credits per year
14-day free trial
Best for: Developers who want a self-serve API for invoices, receipts and IDs
Mindee is an API-first document processing platform. Its site lists models for invoices, receipts, resumes, passports, ID cards, driving licences, bank statements and barcodes, plus utilities to crop, split and classify documents. One processed page uses one credit, and a page with a confidence score uses 1.5 credits.
The terms of service state that, unless an order says otherwise, clients registered in the Eurozone contract with Mindee SAS at 14 rue Charles V in Paris, and all other clients contract with Mindee Inc., a Delaware corporation in San Francisco. The French entity is governed by French law with Paris courts. That split is why Mindee sits below the vendors that have no US contracting party.
Pricing is published in US dollars: Starter at $44 a month billed annually ($529 a year) for 6,000 credits a month, Pro with live chat, unlimited seats and data processing localisation, and Enterprise from 500,000 credits a year. There is a 14-day free trial.
What Mindee does well
- Published self-serve pricing
- 14-day free trial
- Models for invoices, receipts and identity documents
- Data processing localisation on the Pro plan
- French law governs the French entity's contracts
Where Mindee falls short
- Non-Eurozone clients contract with a Delaware company
- Prices are in US dollars
- Credits expire at the end of each period
- Overage billed at the unit rate plus 20%
Standout feature. It has a published credit-based plan from $44 a month, but the contracting entity depends on where the customer is registered.
Am Neuen Markt 9 E-F, Potsdam, Germany (Berlin office)
Per transaction completed: invoice processing from €0.25, order confirmations from €0.20, delivery notes from €0.20, order management from €0.20 (yearly workload up to 5M documents, volume discounts)
Best for: Finance teams that want to pay per processed invoice
Hypatos sells AI agents for the transactional layer of global business services: invoice processing, order confirmations, delivery notes, sales order management and dunning letters. Customers can use pre-packaged workforces or build their own for other processes. It is an enterprise product for finance operations, not a developer OCR API.
The imprint names Hypatos GmbH, c/o Office Club, Am Neuen Markt 9 E-F, 14467 Potsdam, with a Berlin office, a German VAT ID and a commercial register entry. The site does not state a hosting location on the pages checked.
Pricing is outcome-based. The pricing page lists invoice processing from €0.25, order confirmations from €0.20, delivery notes from €0.20 and order management from €0.20 per transaction completed, for a yearly workload of up to 5 million documents, with volume discounts. It charges for work completed, not seats or licences.
What Hypatos does well
- Published per-transaction prices
- Pay per outcome, not per seat or token
- German GmbH with imprint and VAT ID
- Covers invoices, orders and delivery notes
- Volume tiers stated
Where Hypatos falls short
- Figures are "from" prices for a recommended full-scope workforce
- Hosting location not stated
- Enterprise-oriented, quote needed for detail
- Not a plain OCR API for developers
Standout feature. It charges per completed document, from €0.20, so the price follows the work rather than seats or tokens.
Zollhofgarten 2, Heidelberg, Germany
Free: 25,000 requests per month / PRO $30 per month: 300,000 requests / PRO PDF $60 per month / Enterprise $999+ per month
Free API key, no payment
Best for: Developers who want a free or cheap OCR API with minimal data retention
OCR.space is a long-running OCR API with a free tier. It converts images and multi-page PDFs into text, returns JSON, can produce searchable PDFs, offers three engines including one for handwriting, and sells the PRO API as locally installable on-premise software. The free plan allows 25,000 requests a month with a 1 MB file limit and 3 PDF pages.
It is a service of a9t9 software GmbH, with offices at Zollhofgarten 2 in Heidelberg and a postal address in Walldorf, Germany. The privacy policy says the team headquarters is in Germany and European data protection law applies, uploaded documents are deleted after processing, searchable PDFs are kept for 60 minutes, and IP addresses are logged for a month. A signed GDPR data processing agreement is available for PRO PDF and Enterprise users.
Pricing is published in dollars: PRO at $30 a month for 300,000 requests, PRO PDF at $60 a month, and Enterprise from $999 a month. Server location is not stated.
What OCR.space does well
- Free API with 25,000 requests a month
- Uploaded documents deleted after processing
- On-premise option
- Signed GDPR agreement available for PRO PDF and Enterprise
- Low, published prices
Where OCR.space falls short
- Prices are in US dollars
- Free tier limited to 1 MB files and 3 PDF pages
- Plain OCR, with no invoice or ID field models
- Server location not stated
Standout feature. It is the only tool here with a free API at 25,000 requests a month and a stated delete-after-processing policy.
Völser Straße 11, Innsbruck, Austria
Free: 50 credits per month / Scholar €99 per year (900 credits) / Team €449 per year (1,500 credits, 5 seats) / Organisations by quote; prices include 20% Austrian VAT
50 free credits every month, no credit card
Best for: Archives, researchers and genealogists reading handwritten text
Transkribus turns handwritten and printed documents into searchable text. The site lists more than 100 supported languages, 500+ AI models, 300+ community models, layout detection, an editor, model training and search and publishing tools, with over 200 million pages processed. It is built for archives, universities, museums and family historians, not for invoice capture.
The operator is READ-COOP SCE, a European cooperative with limited liability at Völser Straße 11, 6020 Innsbruck, Austria, registered as FN 520187 g at the Innsbruck court, VAT ATU74983823. The site describes it as run by a cooperative with 250+ co-owners.
Pricing is published and includes Austrian VAT: Free with 50 credits a month, Scholar at €99 a year for 900 credits, Team at €449 a year for 1,500 credits and five seats, and Organisations by quote. Credits can be topped up without a subscription. API access is on paid plans. The server location was not stated on the pages checked.
What Transkribus does well
- Built for handwriting and historical scripts
- 50 free credits every month
- Cooperative owned, Austrian register number on its imprint
- Published prices in euros
- Credit top-ups with no subscription
Where Transkribus falls short
- Not suited to invoice or ID extraction
- Credit-based, so costs depend on page counts
- Server location not stated
- API only on paid plans
Standout feature. It is the only tool here built for handwriting, run as a cooperative with 250+ co-owners, with a free tier of 50 credits a month.