Every European nutrition tracking app reviewed
Paris, France
Free tier / Premium priced in local currency in the app
Free tier with barcode scanning, manual entry, goal tracking, activity logging and a limited set of recipes; 14-day withdrawal period on purchases
Best for: People who want a photo-based calorie counter whose vendor commits to EU-only hosting
Foodvisor is the only consumer calorie counter in this category whose privacy policy puts the hosting question beyond doubt. The policy states that personal data processed by Foodvisor services is exclusively hosted on servers located within the European Union, and adds that the company tries to use only technical tools whose servers are also in the EU. That is a sharper statement than any other consumer app here makes.
The company is FOODVISOR, a French simplified joint-stock company (SAS) registered with the Paris Trade and Companies Register under number 812 516 847, with its registered office at 40 bis rue Violet, 75015 Paris.
The terms are governed by French law, with a 14-day withdrawal period and the EU statutory conformity warranty. The free tier covers barcode scanning, manual food entry, goal tracking, activity logging and a limited set of recipes. Full recipes, daily nutrition courses, personalised coaching and macro customisation sit behind Premium, which the terms say is priced in the local currency shown in the app.
What Foodvisor does well
- Privacy policy states hosting exclusively on servers in the EU
- French SAS with a Paris register number and a stated registered office
- Free tier includes barcode scanning and manual entry
- Terms give a 14-day withdrawal period
Where Foodvisor falls short
- Premium price is shown only inside the app, not on the vendor pages checked
- No published certification such as ISO 27001
- Coaching and macro customisation require Premium
Standout feature. It is the only consumer app in this category that says in its own privacy policy that the diary is hosted only in the European Union.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Not published, quoted on request
Demo access on request for Healthcare, Research, Teaching and Commercial use
Best for: Researchers, clinicians and teachers who need a dietary-assessment tool hosted in Ireland
myfood24 is not a diary for personal use. It is a dietary-assessment platform that administrators such as researchers, healthcare professionals and teachers use to collect food records from participants or patients, with separate Healthcare, Research, Teaching and Commercial versions. Where an administrator runs a study, Dietary Assessment Ltd acts as a processor and the administrator is responsible for consent and project management.
The privacy policy names Amazon Web Services as server provider with servers in Dublin, Ireland, and says data is not transferred outside the EEA without prior written consent. The company is Dietary Assessment Ltd, registered in England under number 10568730, so it is a UK company with Irish hosting. The terms of use are governed by English law with the English courts. Pricing is not published and is quoted on request.
What myfood24 does well
- Named AWS servers in Dublin, Ireland
- Policy says no transfer outside the EEA without prior written consent
- Healthcare, Research and Teaching versions of the same platform
- Clear split of controller and processor roles for studies
Where myfood24 falls short
- UK company, so outside the EU
- No published price
- Built for administrators, not for individuals logging their own meals
Standout feature. It is the only tool here designed for studies and clinics, with the controller and processor roles written into the privacy policy.
Poznań, Poland
Free plan / Premium+AI, price not published on the site
Free plan with product database, barcode scanner, 38 nutrients, water tracker, exercise database and weight tracking
Best for: People who want a generous free plan from a Polish company that processes in the EEA
Fitatu is a calorie counter from Poznań with a free plan that includes a product database, a barcode scanner, tracking of calories, protein, fat, carbohydrates and 38 further vitamins and nutrients, a water tracker, an exercise database and weight and measurement tracking. A Premium+AI tier adds AI photo calorie estimation, an ad-free experience, full recipe access, intermittent-fasting schedules and Apple Watch integration.
The data controller is Fitatu S.A., ul. Stanisława Wyspiańskiego 10/5, 60-749 Poznań, registered in the National Court Register under KRS 0000635344 with NIP 7792444235. The privacy policy says data processed through its tools is as a rule processed on servers located within the EEA, then lists Google and Meta transfers under the EU-US Data Privacy Framework and names Google Cloud, including Vertex AI and the Gemini API, for its AI functions. No price for Premium+AI appears on the pages checked.
What Fitatu does well
- Polish S.A. with a KRS number, NIP and a stated address
- Policy says tool data is processed on EEA servers as a rule
- Free plan tracks 38 nutrients and has a barcode scanner
- Data protection contact published at iod@fitatu.com
Where Fitatu falls short
- AI features run through Google Cloud
- US transfers for analytics tools under the Data Privacy Framework
- Premium+AI price not published on the pages checked
Standout feature. It combines a free plan that tracks 38 nutrients with a privacy policy that states EEA processing as the default.
Berlin, Germany
Free fasting tracker / paid plans, prices shown at purchase and including German VAT
Free version with fasting tracker; 14-day withdrawal period on purchases
Best for: People who fast intermittently and want a food log in the same app, hosted in Frankfurt
Fastic starts as a fasting tracker and adds a water, food and step tracker and an AI-powered food tracker. It is the only app in this list whose primary job is not calorie counting.
The controller is Fastic GmbH, Pappelallee 78/79, 10437 Berlin, and the terms are governed by German law.
The privacy policy states that authentication, databases and functions run on Google Firebase and Google Cloud Platform in Frankfurt (europe-west1) and that media is stored on Cloudflare R2 with EU data residency. It then names American processors for other functions: Vercel for websites, Amazon Web Services for supplementary storage, Stripe, PayPal, RevenueCat, and OpenAI, Anthropic and others for AI. Transfers rely on standard contractual clauses with encryption as a supplementary measure. Prices are shown at purchase and include German VAT.
What Fastic does well
- Primary database in Frankfurt, stated in the privacy policy
- Media on Cloudflare R2 with EU data residency
- German GmbH with a Berlin address and German governing law
- Free version with the fasting tracker
Where Fastic falls short
- Names OpenAI and Anthropic as AI providers, so meal data can leave Europe
- Hosting is on Google Cloud, a US company, even in Frankfurt
- Calorie counting is secondary to fasting
- No price on the pages checked
Standout feature. It names both the Frankfurt region and the long list of American processors, which is more than most larger competitors say.
Erfurt, Germany
Free / Pro subscription through the app stores, from $23.90 for 12 months in the US App Store listing
Free version; Pro trial offered on the sign-up flow
Best for: People who want the widest consumer calorie counter from a German company and accept that the app host is not named
Yazio is a calorie counter with a food database, barcode scanner, meal plans and fasting, available on iOS and Android. It is the largest European name in the category, and its US App Store listing shows a Pro subscription from $23.90 for 12 months.
The company is YAZIO GmbH, Kartäuserstr. 13a, 99084 Erfurt, registered at the Amtsgericht Jena under HRB 507453, with managing directors Florian Weißenstein and Sebastian Weber and VAT ID DE282484511.
The privacy policy names dogado GmbH in Dortmund as the host of the website, but names no location for the app data. It also names OpenAI Ireland Ltd for AI functions, Zendesk Inc. in San Francisco for support, and Braintree and Apple Pay for payments, with transfers covered by the EU-US Data Privacy Framework or standard contractual clauses.
What Yazio does well
- German GmbH with a full imprint and register number
- Website hosted by dogado GmbH in Dortmund, per the privacy policy
- DPO named and reachable
- Free version plus Pro through the app stores
Where Yazio falls short
- Hosting of the app data is not named in the policy
- OpenAI and Zendesk are named US-linked processors
- Pro price is set through the app stores, in dollars on the US listing
Standout feature. It has the most complete imprint of the big three consumer apps and still leaves the location of the app data unstated.
Bremen, Germany
Free web diary / Premium €3.99 per month, €11.99 per 6 months, €19.99 per year (App Store listing)
Free registration; core tracking free in the app, Premium unlocks the AI food scanner and extended functions
Best for: German-speaking users who want a food database that is free on the web and a cheap Premium in the app
Fddb is a food database and diary that the site says holds 906,400 products and dishes, with a nutrition diary, recipe tool and calorie tables, free to register and available as an app for iOS and Android. Premium is sold in the app as Bronze, Silber and Gold at €3.99 for one month, €11.99 for six months and €19.99 for twelve months, according to its App Store listing.
The imprint names Food Database GmbH, Konsul-Smidt-Straße 23, 28217 Bremen, registered at the Amtsgericht Bremen under HRB 36669 HB, VAT ID DE294515975, with managing director Malte Voigt-Schier. The same company is named as controller in the privacy statement. The hosting location could not be verified, because the privacy pages on its help centre could not be retrieved, so no claim is made about it.
What Fddb does well
- German GmbH with Bremen register number and named managing director
- Free on the web, with iOS and Android apps
- Published Premium prices from €3.99 per month
- Data protection officer named in the privacy statement
Where Fddb falls short
- Hosting location not verified
- Database and site are German-first
- Prices are published in the app store listing, not on the site
Standout feature. It publishes the lowest annual price in the list, €19.99, from a company with a full German register entry.
Braga, Portugal
10-client plan $15 per month yearly ($179) or $25 monthly / Unlimited clients $25 per month yearly ($299) or $39 monthly
14-day free trial, no credit card required
Best for: Dietitians who need client management and meal planning from a Portuguese company
Nutrium is software for nutrition professionals: nutrition analysis, meal planning, appointment scheduling and client engagement, with a companion app for the client. It is the only tool in this list priced by the number of active clients, from $15 to $39 a month, with a 14-day free trial and no credit card required.
The company is HEALTHIUM, Healthcare Software Solutions, S.A., with its registered office at Rua Andrade Corvo 242, Braga, Portugal. The terms are governed by Portuguese law with the District Court of Braga. The privacy policy says storage, processing and backup are carried out at hosting and computing companies located mainly in Europe, without naming a country or provider, and names Google Analytics, PayPal and Mailjet as US processors.
What Nutrium does well
- Portuguese S.A. with a named registered office and court
- Published plan prices and a 14-day free trial
- Separate professional and client terms
- Data Processing Agreement published
Where Nutrium falls short
- Hosting stated as mainly in Europe, no country or provider named
- Prices are in US dollars for the plans checked
- Built for practices, not for individuals
Standout feature. It is the only dietitian practice tool here with plan prices and a Data Processing Agreement published on its own site.
Berlin, Germany
Free / Pro €7.99 per month or €29.99 per year
Free tier with food search, barcode scanning, recipes and limited AI trials, no ads
Best for: People who want an AI calorie counter and accept a sole proprietor on US-linked infrastructure
Mahlzait logs meals by photo, video, text, barcode or recipe link and, according to its site, searches the web when a food is unclear and cites the sources. Its database is stated as more than 10 million foods. The free tier covers food search, barcode scanning, manual entry, recipes, weight tracking and health-app integration without ads, and Pro costs €7.99 a month or €29.99 a year.
The imprint names Ruslan Adilgereev as a sole proprietor (Einzelunternehmen) at Am Tierpark 62, 10319 Berlin, not charging VAT as a small business under § 19 UStG. The privacy policy names Firebase and Google Cloud for authentication, database and storage, Vercel for the website, Microsoft Clarity, Meta Pixel and WhatsApp Business Cloud API, and says some providers may process data in the USA. No region is named.
What Mahlzait does well
- German-based, with a named person and address in the imprint
- Free tier without ads
- Published euro prices for Pro
- Sources cited for researched foods
Where Mahlzait falls short
- Sole proprietor, not a limited company
- No hosting region named and extensive US processors
- Session replay and advertising pixels named in the privacy policy
Standout feature. It cites sources for the foods it researches on the web, which no other app in this list claims.
Stockholm, Sweden
Free / Premium monthly or yearly, offered in EUR and USD, amounts shown at purchase
Free tier available
Best for: People who want a habit-focused tracker with a Swedish company behind it and accept an unnamed host
Lifesum describes itself as an AI-powered nutrition tracking app where meals are logged by photo, voice, text or barcode, with macronutrient and micronutrient breakdowns, meal plans and trackers for water, fruit and vegetables that sync with wearables. It offers a free tier and Premium on monthly and yearly billing in euros and US dollars.
The company is Lifesum AB, org. no. 556729-2841, Repslagargatan 17B, 118 46 Stockholm, under Swedish law with the Stockholm District Court as first instance.
The privacy policy refers to processors for cloud-based hosting and infrastructure without naming them, and says transfers outside the EEA rely on the EU-US Data Privacy Framework, Standard Contractual Clauses or Binding Corporate Rules. A data protection officer is reachable at dpo@lifesum.com. Subscriptions can be bought through the App Store, Google Play, Samsung Galaxy Store, Lifesum's website and Paddle.
What Lifesum does well
- Swedish AB with an organisation number and registered address
- Data protection officer contact published
- Free tier plus Premium in EUR or USD
- Subscriptions can be managed on several platforms
Where Lifesum falls short
- Policy names no hosting provider or country
- Transfers outside the EEA are covered by DPF, SCCs or BCRs
- Premium prices not stated on the pages checked
Standout feature. It is the Swedish entry in the list and discloses the legal basis for transfers outside the EEA but not the host.
United Kingdom
Starter free / Unlimited monthly or annual subscription, price shown at purchase and including VAT
Free Starter plan; 1 week free on the monthly plan, 2 weeks on the annual plan
Best for: People in the UK who count carbohydrates as well as calories
Carbs & Cals is a UK app for counting carbohydrates and calories, with a free Starter plan and a paid Unlimited plan on a monthly or annual subscription. Subscriptions include a one-week free trial on the monthly plan and two weeks on the annual plan, the price is shown at purchase and includes VAT, and the terms say a subscriber must be at least 16.
The legal entity is Chello Publishing Limited, registered in England and Wales under number 07237986, VAT 995652854. The app's privacy policy names the same company as controller and lists RevenueCat, Apple, Google Play and HelpScout as processors. It does not state where data is stored. The terms state the app is not intended to replace medication or the advice of a GP.
What Carbs & Cals does well
- Free Starter plan
- Trial of one or two weeks depending on plan
- Named company with a company number
- Clear medical disclaimer in the terms
Where Carbs & Cals falls short
- UK company, not in the EU
- No hosting location published
- Price shown only at purchase
Standout feature. It is the only app in this list built around carbohydrate counting, with the terms stating a minimum age of 16.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Membership options on the website and in the app
7-day free trial, after which restrictions apply until a subscription is bought
Best for: UK dieters who want a food database built on UK labels and a 7-day trial
Nutracheck is a calorie counter for the UK market with a database of over 350,000 UK foods with photos, barcode scanning in the app, a web diary and links to Fitbit, Garmin, Apple Health and Health Connect. New users get seven days of free use, after which restrictions apply until a membership is bought on the website or in the app.
The service is operated by NutraTech Ltd, a company registered in England under number 5093196, with a Nottingham address named in the privacy policy. The policy says the service is hosted on Amazon Web Services, without naming a region, and says website payments are handled by WorldPay. Users must be 18 or older. Membership prices are on a separate prices page that was not read for this entry.
What Nutracheck does well
- Database built around UK foods
- 7-day free trial
- Web diary as well as an app
- Named company with a company number
Where Nutracheck falls short
- UK company, not in the EU
- AWS named without a region
- No free plan after the trial
Standout feature. It is the only app in this list that says in its own terms that it is limited to UK-specific food data first.
Berlaar, Belgium
No free version / €9.99 per month or €49.99 per year (launch price, regular €99.99), billed through Apple or Google
3-day free trial on the monthly plan
Best for: People who want to log meals by photo with data stored in Amsterdam and accept US AI processing
Snapkin is a photo-based calorie and protein tracker for iPhone and Android in ten languages. The user photographs a meal, the app identifies items, estimates portions and returns calories and macronutrients without a barcode or food database search. Protein is prioritised with customisable targets.
There is no free version and the company says there will not be one; the monthly plan is €9.99 with a 3-day trial and the annual plan is €49.99 as a launch price, with a regular price of €99.99, billed through Apple or Google.
The company is Robot Studios IT Consultancy BV, Hemelshoek 277, 2590 Berlaar, Belgium, enterprise and VAT number 0732.991.584, under Belgian law with Belgian courts.
The privacy policy names Robot Studios as controller, states that data is stored with DigitalOcean in Amsterdam, and states that there are no ads, tracking pixels or data brokers. It also states that meal photos and context are sent to US-based AI providers (Google, OpenAI via OpenRouter and TypeSafe) for analysis, and that these providers do not train on the data. Deleted meals are kept 14 days and backups may hold data for up to 3 years.
What Snapkin does well
- Belgian BV with an enterprise number, address and Belgian governing law
- Storage location named: DigitalOcean, Amsterdam
- No ads, tracking pixels or data brokers, per the privacy policy
- Export and account deletion from inside the app
Where Snapkin falls short
- Every meal photo is analysed by US AI providers
- No free version, and the annual price is a launch price against a regular €99.99
- Backups may keep data for up to 3 years
- Estimates only: the terms say some numbers will be wrong
Standout feature. It is the only app in this list that names both its EU storage city and the specific US AI providers that see each photo.