Every European interior design software tool reviewed
Budapest, Hungary
Founded 1982
Subscription plans (Studio, Collaborate); see website for prices
Demo on request
Best for: Architecture practices that model buildings and derive their drawing sets from the model
Archicad earns the first position here on one criterion: drawings that follow from a building model. Change a wall and the sections, elevations and schedules change with it, and design options keep alternative layouts inside one project file. Graphisoft claims usage in 108 countries and 27 languages.
Graphisoft SE of Budapest signs the contracts, has been active since 1982 and appears in the Budapest-Capital Regional Court registry. The Nemetschek Group owns it. Studio is for solo architects and local teams, and Collaborate adds cloud teamwork for several disciplines. No plan price is printed on the pages checked, so ask for a quote.
What Archicad does well
- Vendor in business since 1982 with a BIM-only product line
- Studio plan lets a local team run BIMcloud Basic on its own server
- BIMx turns a model into an interactive walkthrough for clients
- Vendor offers educational licences and training
- Contract signed with Graphisoft SE, a Hungarian company
Where Archicad falls short
- Neither plan lists a figure on the pages reviewed
- Built for buildings, so poor fit for general 2D or mechanical drafting
- Parent company is the Nemetschek Group
- The imprint names an American firm as website host
Standout feature. Archicad lets a Studio team keep its BIM project server in-house.
Saint-Herblain (Nantes), France
Founded 2016
Free plan (one project); paid Personal, Pro and Enterprise plans, prices not readable server-side (see website)
Demo on request
Best for: Builders and remodelers who hand prospects plans and renderings
Cedreo is aimed at people who sell houses and renovations. One project moves from terrain and site plan to floor plan, cross-section, elevation and roof plan, with a surface area table. Renderings, inside and outside, pick a camera angle and a sun position on their own.
Saint-Herblain hosts CEDREO SAS, entered at the Nantes register as 824 623 409 with a share capital of 227,170 euro. The company register names SOFTNEXT, a Paris SAS, as president. Cedreo calls itself a certified B Corp and a mission-driven business since 2022, and has offices in Atlanta and Munich too. Personal plans are bought project by project, 20 rendering credits included.
What Cedreo does well
- French SAS with its Nantes register number on the terms (824 623 409)
- Plan set covers elevations and roof plans as well as floor plans
- One-project free plan to try the editor without a card
- Renderings choose camera angle and sunlight automatically
- Vendor states B Corp certification
Where Cedreo falls short
- Plain page text shows no prices
- After upgrading, a cheaper tier is no longer selectable
- Free plan holds a single project
- Hosting country goes unmentioned in the pages reviewed
Standout feature. Cedreo outputs roof plans and elevations from a browser tool, which most floor plan apps here leave out.
Rotterdam, Netherlands
Founded 2007
Free for up to 5 projects (SD exports with watermark); credit packs from $8.15 for 5 credits; basic, plus and pro subscriptions (see website)
Demo on request
Best for: Home owners, agents and shops that want a plan plus 3D pictures with no CAD installation
Floorplanner lives entirely in the browser. You sketch rooms, drag walls, drop in doors and windows, then check the result in a live 3D view and furnish it from a catalogue that the vendor sizes at over 260,000 models. Sharper exports and renders cost credits, and renders can reach 8K according to the vendor.
Dutch law governs the terms of FLOORPLANNER.COM B.V., a Rotterdam company at Stationsplein 45 with KVK number 24421263. According to its about page it is self-funded, profitable and about 30 strong, and architects and a civil engineer founded the product in 2007. Roomstyler and the Floorscanner phone scanner are its siblings.
What Floorplanner does well
- Opens in any browser, no plug-in needed
- Five projects stay free for as long as you want
- 3D library with roughly 260,000 models, per the vendor, open to every account
- Rotterdam company with KVK number, under Dutch law
- Credit packs let you pay per render, with no compulsory subscription
Where Floorplanner falls short
- Free exports are 960 by 540 pixels and watermarked
- Credit packs are priced in US dollars
- No hosting country appears in the pages reviewed
- Cannot produce construction documents
Standout feature. Floorplanner lets a free account keep five projects indefinitely and charges only for better output.
Lysaker (Bærum), Norway, Norway
Founded 2007
Free ($0, 2 credits); Pro $24/month monthly or $12/month billed $144 yearly; Team $70/month or $35/month billed $420 yearly; Enterprise on request. USD, excl. VAT
Demo on request
Best for: Agents, sellers and designers producing client-ready plans plus 3D visuals
RoomSketcher takes a single drawn plan and outputs 2D and 3D floor plans, Live 3D sharing, 3D photos and 360 views. Pro adds the full furniture library, custom branding and measurement tools, and agents can also commission plans that RoomSketcher staff draw.
RoomSketcher AS has organisation number 991008683 in the Norwegian register (Brønnøysund) and dates from 7 March 2007, with its seat at Lysaker. The company says it is privately held and names Argentum and Torrey Pines AS as backers. Norway is in the EEA and not the EU. All prices are in dollars before VAT.
What RoomSketcher does well
- Oslo-area company listed under organisation number 991008683
- Free tier gives 2 credits and one AI floor plan conversion
- Pro prints plans at scale and reports measured area
- One drawing yields 3D photos and 360 views
- Five interface languages, from English to Danish
Where RoomSketcher falls short
- Monthly credits cap how many renders you get
- US dollar prices, excluding VAT
- Privacy policy allows processing in the United States
- Project collaboration is limited to the Team plan
Standout feature. RoomSketcher is the entry that also delivers finished floor plans drawn by its own staff.
Bagnoli Irpino (Avellino), Italy
Founded 1989
not shown on the pages we read; trial and educational versions are listed in the site menu
Demo on request
Best for: Italian-speaking architects who want BIM design within a single vendor suite
Edificius is the BIM architectural design product of ACCA software, and its pitch is that cost estimating, energy, structural and site safety work live in the same vendor suite. The menu of the ACCA site lists trial, freeware and educational entries.
ACCA software S.p.A. is registered at Bagnoli Irpino near Avellino, and its company profile dates the company to 1989. We read the home page, terms, privacy policy and company profile but not the Edificius product page, so features, platforms and prices remain unconfirmed. The website terms cite Washington and California law, and the pages are mainly Italian.
What Edificius does well
- Registered in Bagnoli Irpino with a company history from 1989
- BIM architectural design is the stated purpose
- ACCA suite extends to cost, energy and structural work
- Menu lists trial, freeware and educational versions
Where Edificius falls short
- Cost of a licence is unknown to us
- Site and company text is mostly Italian
- Website terms cite US state law and courts
- We did not read the product page, so features are unconfirmed
Standout feature. Edificius connects BIM design to ACCA's cost, energy and structural programmes under one vendor.
France (street address not shown on the pages we read), France
Premium $25/month, Ultimate $45/month, Team $80/month for 2 seats (+$35/month per extra seat); 5 days free, card required
Demo on request
Best for: Homeowners and freelancers who draw in the browser and want rendered images
Space Designer 3D is a browser planner with a 2D editor, 3D walkthrough, AI rendering, floor plan templates and PDF export. Ultimate and Team add DXF export. An iPhone and iPad app runs next to the web version, and templates cover apartments, houses and bathrooms.
Asynth SAS is French, with French governing law and no street address in what we read. Premium costs $25 a month, Ultimate $45, Team $80 for two seats plus $35 a month for each extra seat. The five-day trial asks for a card, and the privacy policy places accounts and content in Google Cloud services (Firebase).
What Space Designer 3D does well
- French SAS under French governing law
- Premium, Ultimate and Team prices are printed on the site
- Ultimate and Team export DXF
- Works in the browser and as an iPhone and iPad app
- Templates for apartments, houses and bathrooms
Where Space Designer 3D falls short
- Dollar pricing and a card needed even for the trial
- Accounts and content sit in Google Cloud services
- Extra render credits cost more once used up
- No postal address in the pages we read
Standout feature. Space Designer 3D publishes a per-seat price for growing a team, $35 a month beyond two seats.
Ilmenau, Germany
Free edition; PRO has a 30-day trial, no price shown on the page we read
Demo on request
Best for: Interior designers and dealers who plan rooms with manufacturer product catalogues
pCon.planner is a CAD room planner from EasternGraphics in which you build walls, doors and windows and then fill the room with configurable manufacturer models. Renders and presentations come from the same scene, and the item list goes to Excel for quotations.
EasternGraphics GmbH sits in Ilmenau and is entered at the Jena local court (HRB 304052). You can download the free edition, while PRO comes with a 30-day trial and no visible price. The tool reads dwg, dxf, dwt and 3ds files, part of its model content comes through Trimble's 3D Warehouse, and operating systems are not stated.
What pCon.planner does well
- EasternGraphics GmbH register entry is published
- Free edition can be downloaded
- Manufacturer data comes with configurable models
- Opens dwg, dxf, dwt and 3ds files
- Item lists export to Excel
Where pCon.planner falls short
- PRO has a trial but no visible price
- Not meant for construction documents
- The page we read does not name operating systems
- Part of the model content arrives via Trimble's 3D Warehouse
Standout feature. pCon.planner brings manufacturer product data with configurable models into a free planner.
Rotterdam, Netherlands
Free use subscription
Demo on request
Best for: Hobbyists who decorate a single room and show it to a community
Roomstyler mixes a 3D room planner with a moodboard creator, then adds contests, a blog and galleries of popular rooms. According to its home page, more than 120,000 items from known brands can furnish a design.
Its page title credits Floorplanner as the engine, and the terms put FLOORPLANNER.COM in charge of the free use subscription, which makes the Rotterdam company FLOORPLANNER.COM B.V. the vendor. Anything you build under that subscription is licensed to the company, perpetually and non-exclusively, for publication and amendment. The free offer stays only as long as it is available to the public.
What Roomstyler does well
- No charge under the free use subscription
- Room planner and moodboard maker in one site
- Home page cites over 120,000 items from brands
- Terms name a Rotterdam company as the provider
- Design contests and shared rooms for inspiration
Where Roomstyler falls short
- Free-use designs are licensed to the vendor in perpetuity
- Single rooms only, no whole-building plans
- Run by the company that makes Floorplanner
- Hosting country unknown
Standout feature. Roomstyler pairs a room planner with a moodboard maker and a community that votes in contests.
Stuttgart, Germany
no price listed; free live demo offered
Demo on request
Best for: Joinery, bathroom and shop fitting firms that plan interiors and then build them
Palette CAD is 3D planning software for furniture and interior fit-out, with object and material catalogues. Palette CAM, Palette Rooms, Palette Cloud and Palette Showroom extend it towards production, room planning, cloud work and client presentation.
Palette CAD AG in Stuttgart is registered under HRB 785686. The vendor states 27,000 licences granted and an update every six weeks. The English home page and the German terms were the sources, and we found no price, platform or hardware requirements. A free live demo is offered, and the privacy policy names Google Analytics 4 for visitors who consent.
What Palette CAD does well
- Stuttgart AG with its commercial register number on the site
- Aimed at joinery, bathroom and shop fitting trades
- Catalogues carry original manufacturer data
- Live demo available at no charge
- Cloud and Showroom modules extend the core programme
Where Palette CAD falls short
- Licence cost is not disclosed on the site
- Supported platforms are not listed
- Site and legal text are mainly German
- Not designed for residential house design
Standout feature. Palette CAD couples interior planning with a CAM module for production in one vendor family.
Montigny-le-Bretonneux, France
PERSO free, limited to 20 hours of use; PRO 4,90 EUR VAT excl and GROUP 3,90 EUR VAT excl as listed (unit not stated in the text we read); phone support with remote maintenance 99 EUR VAT excl
Demo on request
Best for: Kitchen and bathroom designers who sell from manufacturer catalogues
Kitchen Draw designs kitchens, bathrooms and storage, and the vendor lists 1501 manufacturer catalogues. It produces quotations, photorealistic perspectives, 360 panoramas and supports VR headsets and several currencies.
Transtechnology SAS in Montigny-le-Bretonneux is registered at Versailles as RCS 853 715 530. The interface comes in English, Czech, Spanish, French and Hungarian. The PERSO tier is free for 20 hours of use. PRO at 4,90 EUR and GROUP at 3,90 EUR are excluding VAT, with no stated unit, and remote phone support costs 99 EUR excluding VAT.
What Kitchen Draw does well
- Registered in Versailles, with the postal address shown
- Catalogues from kitchen manufacturers are built in
- Quotations and commercial elevations come out of the design
- Supports VR headsets
- PERSO tier is free to try
Where Kitchen Draw falls short
- PERSO stops after 20 hours of use
- The PRO and GROUP price has no stated unit
- Kitchens and bathrooms only, not whole houses
- Platforms and hosting go unmentioned
Standout feature. Kitchen Draw turns manufacturer catalogues into a quotation inside the design session.
Aschaffenburg, Germany
not shown on the pages we read; offers come via contact or dealers
Demo on request
Best for: Joinery and furniture workshops that take a design all the way to production
Pytha is one programme for planning, presentation and production, and the site lists joinery, furniture design, shop fitting, interior design, exhibition construction and architecture as uses. Local dealers and user meetings support customers.
PYTHA Lab GmbH in Aschaffenburg is registered as HRB 4417 with managing directors named on the legal page. The pages we read give no price, feature list, platform or hosting statement, and offers arrive via contact or dealers. The website sets no cookies and no third-party tracking, while the privacy page is dated 2018.
What Pytha does well
- Legal page names the register number and the managing directors
- Planning, presentation and production sit in a single programme
- Use cases range from joinery to exhibition construction
- Site sets no cookies and no third-party tracking
- Dealers and user meetings in several places
Where Pytha falls short
- Pages we read quote no price
- They also give no feature list
- Not meant for residential house design
- Privacy page carries a 2018 date
Standout feature. Pytha runs a cookie-free website, which is rare among the vendors in this category.
Donneville, France
Free: 3 projects; Premium: 19 EUR (billing period not stated on the page we read), unlimited projects
Demo on request
Best for: Homeowners and small builders who want simple, cheap 2D plans
Archiplain is a 2D drawing app: walls on a grid with snap, an item library, plans, floor plans and elevations. Paying for Premium unlocks a quotation function, a rangefinder, HD pictures and plans to scale as PDF or DXF.
Donneville in France is home to SARL Fabiome Consulting, and its legal notice points to a French host in Roubaix, the OVH data centre. Three projects are free, and Premium costs 19 EUR with unlimited projects and no stated billing period. The newest blog posts date from 2020, and the same notice allows personal data to be kept indefinitely.
What Archiplain does well
- Free plan holds 3 projects
- 19 EUR Premium brings DXF export
- Plans are hosted by OVH in France
- Operator and address are published
- Premium adds a quotation function and rangefinder
Where Archiplain falls short
- Plans are 2D, with no full 3D design described
- Premium's billing period is not stated
- Blog posts stop in 2020
- Personal data is kept for an indefinite period
Standout feature. Archiplain combines a French host with a flat 19 EUR price for DXF export.